H2BAR Monthly Beauty Box

H2BAR Monthly Beauty Box

by How To Be A Redhead
'Redhead Friendly' approved products delivered right to your doorstep every month!

Plans as low as

$22.42/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (76)

Stuff from Walmart

Sep 04, 2018
Overall
Holly H.
14 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

I received my how to be a redhead box today in the mail and I was so excited because last months box was awesome this month I feel like I received my Walmart beauty box early ... this months box was absolutely horrible I really think that I may cancel I don’t understand why .... I received foil packets of shampoo and conditioner,then dry shampoo, hairspray ,drawing salve ,some bobby pins and nail polish, udderly smooth hand cream, a brow pencil, and pimple( spot corrector) ....absolutely disappointed in this box

Verified Purchase
How To Be A Redhead said...Sep 04, 2018

Hi Holly, We wrote you immediately after receiving an email from you.

Every box is different, this month we wanted to focus on the H2BAR Beauty Award winners because we received thousands of positive reviews about the products. We carefully chose each item and they’re truly ‘Redhead Friendly’ — especially the redhead Bobby pins.

The value of the box is $85+ and we do hope to read the info card to see why the products were chosen!

We also want you to check out our Instagram page: www.instagram.com/h2barbox <http://www.instagram.com/h2barbox> to see products from the past — so you know each box is made with so much love and consideration for our subscribers.

My first box

Jul 09, 2018
Overall
Tina L.
2 Reviews
9 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 days

Arrived today with the self Tanner broken in a unsealed bag and all over everything had to throw it and two other items away along with staining my bedspread completely disappointed in this subscription

Verified Purchase

Just haircare products I wouldn't buy

Nov 03, 2017
Overall
Lauryl D.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

This is my first box and I was excited to see what was in it. Just some Paul Mitchell haircare products, not specific to redheads and not designed for my curly hair. Nothing else. Disappointed and hope it gets better or I will cancel.

Verified Purchase
How To Be A Redhead said...Nov 03, 2017

Hi Laurel! This is the only box that has been taken over by a company in 2017 — most of the time the box is full of different caterogies for red hair. We encourage you to check out our H2BAR Box Instagram to see what we feature each month: www.instagram.com/h2barbox We would also encourage you to use the Paul Mitchell Invisiblewear line. Adrienne & Stephanie both have curly hair & they wanted to feature the line for a reason! First and foremost, Paul Mitchell was a sponsor for the “How to be a Redhead” book tour because the brand itself donates a lot of their marketing dollars to end bullying — which is why they were our partner for the 2016 November box too, but...

"Just OK About Sums It Up

Feb 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patty C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Products are really random and it doesn't seem like there was much thought put into them. I know that H2BAR isn't one of the big ones like Ipsy or Boxy, or, even Allure, but nothing really seems geared toward people with red hair.
There was all this gushing about sensitive redhead skin, but the amount of essential oils in the cleanser I got in the January 2022 box could be bad for someone with really sensitive skin. The eyeshadow palette in that box was all blues or browns and really disco era in the amount of shine most of the colors had. And the shampoo and conditioner set was extremely heavily fragranced. Ugh.
The February box wasn't much better, The highlighter/bronzer duo is not great, and the contoured look is out of style. The packette of conditioner is laughably tiny, and I can't imagine that the founders, with their own long heads of hair would have been happy to receive such a tiny sample if they were just subscribers.
March is mu last box and I will have to make sure to cancel ASAP after it ships.
This is a neat idea, but the curation leaves MUCH to be desired.

Verified Purchase
How To Be A Redhead said...Feb 04, 2022

Hi Patty, Thank you for your review! I am one of the co-founder's, Adrienne. I am sorry you're so unhappy with your H2BAR Boxes. We love each and every item we include. We mull over what would be best and we make sure they're tested on a redhead for 10+ days; we go through a grueling process to vet each item.
Cratejoy subscribers only purchase a monthly H2BAR Box for $21.98 (free shipping too). The purpose of the monthly H2BAR Box is to deliver redhead-approved products -- and you are to receive 2+ full size items and the rest will be samples. We think you'd LOVE the Deluxe H2BAR Box. That is sent quarterly; has 10+ full-size items. Some of the samples you want to...

Paul Mitchell box

Nov 30, 2017
Overall
Rachel M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I don't see the connection between how to be a redhead and Paul Mitchell. I am a feisty redhead and the last box was a huge disappointment. I am glad the brand supports anti-bullying, but Paul Mitchell isn't the only brand who makes products for us redhead gals. Anyway I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Really didnt love it like I expected

Dec 06, 2018
Overall
Chasity W.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Enjoyed the redhead shampoo and conditioning mask, but thats the only part of the box that was redhead related.

Verified Purchase

Meh

Dec 10, 2018
Overall
Kimberly H.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Products were decent for the price, but several were something I could not use. I had to be very careful as some products contained wheat/gluten. Cancellation guidelines contradict themselves. Plan to cancel TWO months before renewal if you have a 3/6/12 month plan. If that had been clear, I would have cancelled right after receiving my second box.

How To Be A Redhead said...Dec 12, 2018

Hi Kimberly,

I wanted to personally write you because I just saw you 2 star review come in on Cratejoy. Please know how many hours Stephanie and I, and our entire team, work to get H2BAR Boxes prepped and sent out.

I see you signed up in September and you certainly did not need to cancel then to have cancelled your subscription by December. The only reason we request a few weeks longer is because our prep for January begins now. So, your label was sent to our warehouse for processing yesterday. We really pride ourselves on getting boxes to redheads by the 1st of the month and a lot of time and work has to be done in advance to do so.

We’re also sold out of...