Chocolate Subscription

by Chocolate Subscription
Creamy truffles, chewy caramels and artisan chocolates delivered to your door each month.
363 reviews

0Buying Options

Reviews (363)

DO NOT BUY

Jan 23, 2019
Overall
Victoria C.
1 Review
20 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

SCAM ALERT. I ordered a Jackie's Chocolate subscription as a Christmas gift for my brother. I received immediate customer service when placing my order. I placed my order and was told I would be receiving a free box to try as well. I was then asked to leave a review before I even received the order. I gave three stars, because I hadn't tasted the chocolate. I told the seller that I would update the rating once my brother and I received the chocolates and had a chance to taste them. They replied by pressuring me to give me five stars. I replied saying that I was surprised that they would ask me to do that. They responded by canceling my order that same day in November WITHOUT TELLING ME. I had no idea. So I gave my brother the certificate for Christmas and he expected to receive the order (as promised) on January 5. He obviously didn't get anything so two weeks later I contacted them to ask where the order was. NO RESPONSE. This is a total scam. It appears that this company only follows through on orders for customers who give them five stars. Do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY.

Verified Purchase

Do not order this box

Mar 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Susan R.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Sounds like something is going on with this company because they haven't shipped any of the boxes past the first one in December. Cratejoy tried to get a refund for me from them, but they weren't able to do so. That's almost $200 I spent for a 6 month subscription lost. I called Jackie's Chocolate and they were very mean and unhelpful.
My bank issued me a refund so I got my money back.

Verified Purchase

DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS SUBSCRIPTION

7 days ago
Overall
Shipping
Lena K.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I highly recommend that you DO NOT sign up for this subscription. I got this subscription as a gift for my husband and he received the first box in a timely manner. The next two we did not receive so they sent us two of the same month (as apposed to two different themes for two months). At that time I forgave them because we were right in the middle of COVID and I knew that many businesses were having staffing issues and the supply and delivery chains were having trouble. But then, two months go by again. I emailed them and said that if they couldn't deliver on their end of the deal, then they needed to refund me for three boxes. I soon received two of the same boxes and no reply to my email. For the last box, I emailed them a reminder to send my chocolates because they would inevitably be late. This was my first experience with a CrateJoy subscription and it makes weary to sign up for another subscription. It makes me question if they even vet the subscriptions they offer. Also, how often do they review the feedback of their existing subscriptions?

Verified Purchase

DO NOT ORDER!

Jan 26, 2019
Overall
Brandi B.
1 Review
12 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

I warn you! Do NOT order. They will NOT ship your boxes. I bought a 6 month subscription. The first 2 boxes arrived as they were supposed to. The remaining 4 boxes only shipped after I contacted customer service each time. Then the company automatically renewed for a second 6 months (which I would have loved to continue IF they actually sent my boxes without me having to email them each time!). I had to contact them when I did not receive my first 3 boxes of my second subscription. I am 1 week away from the next renewal date, have contacted customer service several times, and have not received a response, nor have I received any of the final 3 boxes. The bad thing is, the chocolates are very good. The problem is that they do not seem to actually ship your chocolates unless you contact them

Verified Purchase

Have not been receiving shipments.

Jun 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lisa B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I spent almost $200 last Christmas on this gift and just realized I only got the first shipment and have not received any others. If this company has gone out of business, CrateJoy is should be responsible for reimbursing their customers as they are the company representing all of these independent small businesses. I just sent my request to them so we will see what happens. Very disappointing as the chocolates were beautiful and tasty.

Verified Purchase

Unreliable

May 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I purchased a 6month subscription as a gift for my parents at Christmas. The ship chocolate box arrived immediately. Then deliveries stopped. Each month, I've had to contact the seller to get the next shipment sent, which then takes a week. By May, this subscription should've been complete, but I'm still emailing to get the 5th order. Although my parents have enjoyed the chocolate (which doesn't have much variety), I couldn't be more disappointed in the service, timeliness, and wasted money and time on a product my parents aren't receiving unless I stay on top of it. I completely regret purchasing this Jackie's Chocolate subscription.

Verified Purchase

DO NOT USE - BOXES REPEATEDLY NEVER SENT

May 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leah G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

DO NOT ORDER THIS SUBSCRIPTION.
These chocolates are delicious and beautiful on the rare occasions when they arrive; problem is, after the first one, they never do.
I ordered this as a holiday gift for my sister. The first box arrived in December; then by the end of February - when she should have received 2 more - none had arrived. I contacted the seller and she promptly sent a box. Now it is May and there have been no boxes since February. So a six month subscription started in December that should be done in May has only received 2 of 6 shipments. THIS IS A SCAM; DO NOT BUY SUBSCRIPTIONS FROM THIS SELLER.

Verified Purchase

Poor communication & shipping timeframes

May 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Beth M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Shipping in accordance with subscription and communication regarding order issues is very poor and disjointed. Ordered 3 month subscription in December - recipient received in December. Did not receive any shipments in January, February, or March. Took several weeks for company to respond to my inquiry about the order. Recipient received 2nd and 3rd month shipments in April.

Verified Purchase

Great Chocolate, if they send it.

Jul 17, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joseph H.
1 Review
11 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 months

I ordered this for my wife for Christmas, and the first box showed up promptly on time for gifting. This was the only box that came without having to email them. It's good chocolate, but either they are hoping you forget you have a subscription or they are just really bad at shipping.
Update:. After this review my next order arrived containing three boxes and a note that they had sent extra boxes for free as a consolation for the problems. However, the order history shows the two "free" boxes as counting against my subscription. Very dishonest!

Verified Purchase

Horrible

Jun 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Chloe W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

The customer service was horrible! And I could tell the chocolates I was sent were old based on the cloudy look of them. Would never buy from here again. Ever.

Verified Purchase

Poor customer service

Jan 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Jennifer W.
1 Review
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I have ordered in early December and the recipient has not yet received my gift. I allowed weeks longer than the promised delivery date to elapse before contacting the seller. when inquiring, the seller was snippy and snarky in their response. The seller was unable to track my order using the tracking number provided by cratejoy, and has not worked to resolve the issue or provide any remedy. I can't speak to the quality of the product or the curation - but the customer service was rude and lacking.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed does not begin to describe.

Jan 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leslie G.
1 Review
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

My order was forwarded to Jackies Chocolates for fulfillment. It was not delivered as promised, and customer service has been very poor for a resolution. There only response has been to threaten mail fraud. Can not recommend against this company more strongly.

Verified Purchase

Fulfillment/Shipping Problems

Feb 03, 2019
Overall
Alaine B.
1 Review
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Unfortunately, my overall experience with Jackie’s Chocolates has not been good. I prepaid a six-month subscription and was initially and pleasantly surprised when my first box arrived within a couple weeks of my order.
Since then, it’s been a completely different story. When my second box was not shipped within the disclosed time frame, I contacted customer service and did not receive a response...so I waited to see if they would ship it the following month. When no boxes had been shipped for two months in a row, I contacted customer service again, This time, I did receive a response. Two boxes were sent at the same time, and they arrived a couple weeks after I contacted customer service.
When the fourth box of my six-month subscription was not shipped within the disclosed time frame, I contacted customer service again and said that I am
cancelling my subscription due to poor customer service, and I asked them to fix whatever problems are going on in the fulfillment/shipment areas. They did send a box after I sent this message to them.
The fifth box of my subscription has not yet been shipped, and it is past the disclosed time frame again. I sent another message to customer service and have yet to receive a response. At the minimum, they should either send the box or refund the money for the remaining two boxes. As much as I like the chocolates, the customer service and the problems with the fulfillment and shipping departments are not...

Verified Purchase

Total scam or completely incompetent

Jan 04, 2019
Overall
Kevin G.
1 Review
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

I ordered the prepaid year long monthly subscription for valentines day. So far my wife has only received 5 shipments out of what should be 12. The first shipment showed up a week early. All subsequent shipments that did ship only shipped after I logged a complaint and asked why I had to remind them when the months changed. The full amount for 12 months was charged to my card at the beginning of the subscription and my wife has received less than half the value of the gift. I would go with zero stars if it was possible. Since I can see the shipping information in the cratejoy account settings I hold them partially responsible, if they have the shipping information they should follow up with their vendors when shipments don't occur. Right now I have crate hate.

Verified Purchase
Chocolate Subscription said...Jan 07, 2019

Thank you for your order. Please don't wait 6 months to let us know there may be an issue with your shipments. Our team is available 24/Call: 7 (866) 316-27177 (866) 316-2717

Customer Service is Pure Trash

May 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carl V.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Jackie's Chocolate has the most absolute trash customer service I have ever seen. A masterclass in how not to communicate.
On the Friday afternoon before Mother's Day weekend, I paid extra for overnight delivery. They were unable to send it on time, so instead sent it on Monday. Keep in mind, their website advertised *Mother's Day* chocolate, and nowhere on the website do they explain what "overnight" means to them.
When I asked for a refund on only the shipping, they immediately berated me with FAQ and shipping pages (that still don't explain their policy), told me weekend shipping doesn't exist anywhere in the country (it does), and told me I am never permitted to order again (lol they don't need to worry about that)!
Literally: "You placed your order at 4pm. That's past the deadline for all courier pickups. Your order was shipped the very next business day via overnight shipping. We will not issue a refund. And you are not permitted to place any new orders."
Stay away.

Only received 1 mo. of a 3-mo. subscript

Mar 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie M.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I ordered a 3-month subscription through Cratejoy for Jackie's Chocolate in late December 2020. I received my first shipment the first week of January, but it is now mid-March and I still haven't received the February shipment, nor the March one. I emailed the customer service email for Jackie's Chocolate a week ago, and they said they'd look into it, but I haven't heard anything since. I then called their customer service number, but they said that since I ordered the subscription through Cratejoy rather than directly through them, I'd have to deal with Cratejoy to resolve the problem. I looked for a customer service phone number or email for Cratejoy but couldn't find one; all I found was a series of FAQs. So I spent $89 on a 3-month subscription but only received one month. $89 for 12 chocolates, which, by the way, were nothing special.
I will never order a subscription through Cratejoy again (or Jackie's Chocolate, for that matter).

Verified Purchase

Downhill after the first month

Feb 13, 2019
Overall
Katie O.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Sent this as a 6 month Christmas gift. Recipient loved the first box, however never received second or third month boxes. Contacted seller multiple times through email to finally receive a reply that it was to arrive this past Monday, yet nothing arrived. I’ve disputed the charge with my credit card to obtain a refund but would recommend avoiding the hassle all together

Verified Purchase
Chocolate Subscription said...Feb 14, 2019

Thank you for your order. Your first 2 shipments have been delivered. You can view your tracking numbers at any time by logging into Cratejoy.com. Your third shipment is not scheduled to ship yet. Our subscription only ships once per month.

Great gift... when they actually show up

Mar 05, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Devin L.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

Updated 6/2/19:
I am editing my previous 5 star review to warn potential new buyers... I bought a years worth of chocolates for my dad and they were delivered as promised for the first 3 months. The following 3 months he has not received anything from them. I’ve written them twice now to no response. It’s quite unfortunate because their chocolates are delicious, but perhaps don’t count on them to actually follow up on their end of the deal.
Also they say they’ll send you a free box of chocolate if you leave a review. I did that, sent them my address, and nothing showed up. I had to email them AGAIN to ask what was up and THEN they sent the free box out. Shady shady.
Original: My dad is notoriously difficult to shop for. He is the man who has everything! But he is also a huge fan of chocolate. A year’s subscription to Jackie’s chocolates was the perfect gift for him! A gift that keeps on giving throughout the year, and delicious to boot! Highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Do not order!!

Mar 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lexy S.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This company is a scam! Do not order from them. They will not send your boxes, and their customer service is not reachable. I ordered a 3-box subscription, and only my first box was delivered, 3 months ago. I have contacted them numerous times but cannot get an answer. They are refusing to refund me.

Verified Purchase

Ridiculous

Feb 20, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jake K.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Wow...what a waste. The chocolate is good but I have to email customer service to every 35-45 days and remind them to ship out my box. Boxes are typically delayed by 1 month with constant email reminders about them to ship. Bogus. Don't buy this box. Seriously. Your better off making the box yourself and sending it to yourself.

Verified Purchase

DO NOT ORDER

Mar 20, 2019
Overall
Brianna A.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 months

I repeat, DO NOT ORDER. I have had nothing but a fight with Jackie's Chocolate since the beginning. I ordered a subscription of 1 box of chocolate every month for a year. After noticing my dad was not getting his boxes every month like I PAID for, I decided to reach out. I have tried and tried to get answer out of Jackie's Chocolate as to my tracking numbers. But no one has ever got back to me. I finally reached out to cratejoy and they were able to provide my tracking numbers right away. So here is how I received my chocolate. June 11, July 30, Aug 13, Oct 22, Oct 22, Dec 24, March 16, March 16, March 16, March 16.
So now he has 4 boxes of chocolate in 1 month because they forgot to send out chocolates other months. Ridiculous. I paid for a box of chocolates each month, not 4 boxes of chocolate in 1 month.
The only reason I got 4 boxes in March is because I called and complained on March 16th. Hmmm weird how they just happen to send out his boxes the same day that I called.
Anyways, buys beware! DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING FROM JACKIE'S CHOCOLATE, unless you want a headache.
I also turned them into the better business bureau, that was before my dad got the package on Tuesday with the 4 boxes of chocolates in it (which I am not happy about at all).
In response to what Jackie's Chocolate said: The...

Verified Purchase
Chocolate Subscription said...Mar 21, 2019

Thank you for your order. You can view your shipment tracking numbers at any time simply by logging into your Cratejoy.com account. We do stop shipments if a shipment is returned to us as UNDELIVERABLE or NO FORWARDING ADDRESS by the USPS. Sometimes recipients no longer want the subscription and mark RETURN TO SENDER rather than reaching out to the gift sender. If you require immediate assistance, our team is available 24/7 (866) 316-2717

Don't waste your time or money!

Feb 20, 2019
Overall
Teresa H.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Bought a 6month (monthly) subscription in August.
Delivery 1: August 23rd chocolates were completely melted due to poor packaging.
Delivery 2: November 8th. I emailed in September and October and did not receive a response to either email.
Delivery 3: November 8th. No, I did not accidentally type the same date twice. The giftee received 2 boxes on the same day after not receiving their "monthly" chocolates for more than 2 months!
Delivery 4: December 12th. Incredibly, I didn't have to call or email for this delivery.
Delivery 5 & 6 have not shipped.
I called the 24/7 customer service line last Wednesday (2.13) and requested a refund for the 2 months that were not received and was told that the person who could process a refund was not available and would be in contact within the next 2 business days. I did not receive a call or email.
I just reached out to Customer Service again and was told again that someone would be in contact.
I regret ever doing business with this company. The whole point in giving a subscription box as a gift is that it's supposed to be easy!!!
Save yourself the TIME and subscribe to a box that doesn't have multiple 1 star reviews about inconsistent shipping and lack of customer service & communication!
Yes, this is the 2nd time I have left a 1 star review but it is simply to (hopefully) get the ball rolling for a refund and to warn others that this is not a business of integrity.
Good luck!

Verified Purchase

They haven’t been shipping my items

Jan 20, 2019
Overall
Mandee B.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I ordered a 3 month subscription for my friends 30th birthday. First shipment I didn’t have any details. I had to call and email multiple times to get an estimate of arrival. I was finally sent tracking info and it was delivered November 19. Nothing was shipped in December. I emailed multiple times and no answer.
It is January and another email asking what’s going on. They finally write back addressing a DIFFERENT order. Not the gift I’m inquiring about. Did they even read my email? I reply back saying I’m inquiring about my order placed on Crate Joy. I send screenshots and info. No answer. I paid $68, where are my chocolates. I’m actually embarrassed by the fact that this was a gift to my friend and she has to tell me she hasn’t been receiving anything.
This has been by far the worst customer service I’ve ever dealt with.
I’d love to get my chocolates ASAP or money back so I can get my friend a proper gift from a real chocolate shop.

Verified Purchase
Chocolate Subscription said...Jan 21, 2019

Thank you for your order. Please make sure to provide the correct shipping address for gift orders. Invalid or incomplete addresses will cause the shipment to be returned to us.

Took my money.

Oct 05, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah S.
10 Reviews
1 Picture
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

Paid for a 12 month subscription in 2018. Only recieved 4 months. Where the rest on the months. I want a refund. Its been over a year since my last box. No communication, just took my money, no chocolates!

Verified Purchase

DO NOT ORDER. TERRIBLE FULFILLMENT

May 27, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christopher L.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I ordered a 6 month subscription for my girlfriend for Christmas. The first two boxes came right on time for December and January. But once February came, everything went downhill. Her February box did not show up until MARCH and she hasn’t received the March, April, or May boxes. They all say they are being prepared but we haven’t received anything. We’ve tried contacting customer service multiple times with no responses. 2/3 times the chocolate selection was the same, so there wasn’t much variety, but the chocolate itself is good. I wish I could just get a refund because all of this hassle is not worth it. I spent almost $100 on this and have only gotten 3 boxes, and one of them was EXTREMELY late. Would never recommend this box to anyone.

Verified Purchase