Kay's Magic

by Kay's Magic
A box filled with magical items from across Texas (and the world) starting at only $5 per month!
117 reviews

Plans as low as

$5.00/ month

Buying Options

Kay's Magic reviewsReviews

Write a Review
117

Cute. But shipping his crazy

Apr 09, 2021
Brenda R.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been getting this box for about four months. Every month there is a giant delay in shipping. But I still have yet to receive march’s box..... super disappointed
Update it’s is now April 19 I still haven’t received March or April.

Verified Purchase

Theft.

Apr 13, 2021
Elizabeth A.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Terrible. Absolutely Terrible. I paid for 3 months and never got anything. I reached out to the company and Cratejoy multiple times. I never got a response. I asked for a refund and never got a response. I called the company and no answer. At this point, they have basically stolen my money.

Verified Purchase

DO NOT PURCHASE!!!

May 11, 2021
Andrea N.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping

I ordered a 3 month subscription of the $50 box a month ago as a treat, but haven't heard anything from the seller. The "standard" shipping date came and went with no communication. So, I started reading more recent reviews about this box and was horrified that I had just blown my money. I cancelled my subscription and emailed Kay's Magic asking for a refund. The VERY NEXT DAY after asking for a refund, a shipping label was magically created. The box still hasn't made it to the post office. No surprise there considering everyone else's experience. What a load of garbage.

Verified Purchase

This Company Has NO Integrity

Apr 28, 2021
Dawn H.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Horrible! I signed up for the small box and never received it. Then they renewed for the xxsmall box that I also never received. I canceled my subscription but they still haven’t and this month I received a single tea light candle!! Seriously?? I’m definitely reporting them to the BBB and I will have to have a stop payment with my bank. They also have NEVER replied to any of the emails I sent, I get the same automated response every time!!

Verified Purchase

RipOff

Apr 09, 2021
Amanda R.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really wanted to like this box. Till they screwed me over on my last box. I'm still owed a shipment and have received no response from customer service.
I cancelled the service due to financial reasons and it's very upsetting to be completely ripped off in my circumstances.
The shipping was consistently terrible also. That's how they managed to "move up" my subscription. My first box was so late, they decided to send the next months box instead. Even though I made sure to sign up well before the cutoff. I am very disappointed in the service. Buyer beware.

Verified Purchase

Kind Owners, but Not Worth the Money

Apr 06, 2021
Jessica C.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My March box had some shipping issue, which I imagine was partially due to weather issues and partially due to recent changes in staff due to COVID-19, but the owner was relatively responsive and sent an apology and a new box once they received my inquiry message.
Unfortunately, everything else about the box has meant that I will be choosing to spend my money elsewhere. As others here have said, my main issue is that the prices listed for the items don't match the retail, much less wholesale, price of these times (at least not a reasonable one). I paid for the $50 box and in it I received a tumbled tree agate (pretty, but nothing crazy), a low quality black T-shirt, a tiny crystal grid on balsa wood, a sample sized packet of tea, a packet of rose petals, a packet of incense, an oil blend, a green candle, and a vial of what I assume are small crystal pieces. This last item should have been the big ticket item - what was listed on the manifest as elderberry gummies - but I assume mine was swapped out due to needing a replacement box.
At the end of the day, although the quantity of items was decent, the quality of none of them was especially satisfactory and I'm skeptical that the retail price is more than $15-$20, which is outrageous for a $50 box.
I'm a witch born and raised in Texas and now living in New York, so...

Verified Purchase

Double paid.

Mar 08, 2021
Mikayla A.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I Would not recommend, I paid for this subscription in February, and it took out a second payment not even a week later. and I still have not gotten a box.. $50 later and still nothing I am cancelling my subscription..

Verified Purchase

NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY!

Mar 10, 2021
Ivy M.
7 Reviews
3 Pictures
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve been subscribed to many Witchy Boxes, boxes ranging from $10 to as high as $80 and let me tell you, for a $25 box, I literally got less items than the $10 box I’ve gotten! Poor items that you can find at a dollar store, I was honestly just very disappointed in this box. I’ve cancelled after my third month, I just can’t anymore, sorry.

Verified Purchase

Never Received My Box

Yesterday
Jeanene S.
7 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was charged on June 7, 2021 for an XL Box which still hasn't been sent to me. I was really excited and then they tried to charge me for another box which is $162.00. I am still waiting for an answer and have sent them messages. It's so sad that I really wanted to do business with this subscription and disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Total rip off

3 days ago
Sarah W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first box AFTER I was charged for a second box. I didn’t like the box and cancelled my subscription. I was already charged for another box and then NEVER received it. I have contacted the seller multiple times and never received a response.

Verified Purchase

No Customer service, item never received

Jul 19, 2021
Shereen D.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I cant leave a review on the items in my box, because I havent received one yet. It was supposed to be mailed out at the beginning of the month and nothing. Still showing as shipment being prepared. My payment for a second box has already been charged. I've emailed the owner to no reply. I'm giving the company a chance and waiting until the charge comes up again before I cancel. I really wanted to like this box but I cant like something I've never received, with no explanation.

Verified Purchase

were is my shipment very upset

Jul 16, 2021
Donna M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

were is my ship ment have not got them

Verified Purchase

Missing box

Jun 03, 2021
Alyssa B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

I’ve been getting my boxes on time, except May’s never shipped out. A label was printed, and an order number was generated, but USPS says they never received it. Messaged the seller multiple times with no response. Will be canceling my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Not what I thought

May 16, 2021
Brigitte L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This isn't a mailed product I've tried to cancel multiple times and it gets to the final page and will only let you contact seller and it doesn't finish canceling. So I keep being billed for services not used.

Verified Purchase

Rip Off

May 11, 2021
Jen S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The first box didn't show up on time because they never shipped it until I contacted asking where it was. The other boxes shipped later than they were supposed to. And the final box I got was missing the main item listed as worth $17. I contacted the seller twice and have still received no response a month later. I assume I can't get the product because I cancelled my subscription before receiving the last box with the missing item. So I'm not worth it to them because I had already cancelled. Do not recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

Not impressed with box

May 03, 2021
Phil S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was so excited to be getting a magick/witchy box. I was completely disappointed. First I never got an answer to many emails to their C/S.
Secondly the box was not magick nor witchy. I received a small candle. A bag of seeds for flowers, a bee charm on a string. A text sample, a small can of a lip balm, and a small crystal. Not much for $25.00
They send a card in the box with a list of contents. The items were priced way more than there value. There was nothing magick, or witchy included. Some things you might use, but more new age than magick. They call it a magic box. Not be worth the cost, I will not be buying another box. It was well packed, that was good. Packing does not a box make

Verified Purchase

Pandemic problem? Missing Magic?

Apr 19, 2021
Suzanna
4 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Revised. Mine and my daughters March boxes never made it to the PO. We received tracking numbers March 6th, but nothing beyond that. (Aprils box is moving along and we received those April 21st). When I emailed they were responsive initially and said they would look into and get back to me. When I inquired again a couple weeks later - I didn't get a reply. I still have not received a reply and Cratejoy was unable to even refund since they had been marked as shipped. THEY. NEVER. MADE. IT. TO. THE. POST OFFICE!! I'm hoping Kay's will make it right as it seems from the reviews that we are not alone. This could really damage their business.
The quality of items is not A+. One month I had wax melts with no smell. The last box I had seeds everywhere except in the seed packet. One month had moon water - that I already make myself. Some of the items have been good, but .... a few mis-steps.

Verified Purchase

Package said delivered but wasn’t

Apr 20, 2021
Kay G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I haven’t received my order, my package said it was delivered but I didn’t get anything, I’ve messaged the usps so hopefully this issue will be resolved quickly

Verified Purchase

How much!!

Mar 28, 2021
No O.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping

75USD for shipping - you must be joking!

Verified Purchase

Very cheap, and broken pieces

Mar 26, 2021
Ismarie R.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Some pieces came broken.

Verified Purchase

Never received it

Feb 22, 2021
Krystina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

Never received my order

Verified Purchase
Kay's Magic said...Feb 28, 2021

Hi Krystina!
I’m so sorry that your order was late in getting to you! This past month we (Kay’s Magic & USPS) were heavily impacted by the Texas Winter Storm that left us without power for 4 days! Many of our post offices were without power and that definitely slowed things down a lot. Many of our packages were already with the postal carrier when the storm hit, and they hadn’t been scanned into their system yet! I see your package was in transit with USPS for 13 days!! That is definitely not normal - typically we plan for our packages to arrive within 3 days and I do apologize deeply for that.
I do see now that your order has gotten to you. Again,...

Still haven't gotten anything

Feb 20, 2021
Irena W.
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I subscribed in the middle of January, so I expected a box at the beginning of February, since the info says they normally ship by the 5th. I've since been charged for another month and I still haven't gotten my first box. It still says my shipment is being prepared, and I can't get a hold of anyone to see what the problem is. I've wasted about $50 on this stupid box and I haven't gotten anything and I'm being ignored. I understand things might be a bit messed up because of all the covid stuff. But to not keep customers updated and actually ignore them is not ok. If I were you, I wouldn't waste your money on this because chances are, you won't get anything.

Verified Purchase
Kay's Magic said...Feb 28, 2021

Hi Irena!
I see that your box was delivered. If it’s possible that it was stolen from your porch, you should definitely contact the police because mail theft is a serious felony.
We were slightly delayed by covid this month (deliveries in general have been moving slower even when ordering in advance), but also by the HUGE winter storm that knocked out all of Texas’ water and power for almost a week - we were personally out of power for 4 days (almost 5 days!) in the middle of shipping boxes. Many of our boxes were also with our postage carrier already and didn’t make it out of Texas before the storm hit. We received an overwhelming number of messages during this time and we’ve been...

Sucks

Apr 19, 2021
Lynn M.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Very disappointed like super disappointed for $25 That is what I received the shipped took forever also you really should be ashamed of changing the price you do I was so excited to open my package until I seen what I received

Verified Purchase

Buyer's Beware!!!

Mar 28, 2021
April S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They took 2 different amounts out of my account for January and February. I received NO box. I sent 3 different email to several of the emails listed in different places. website, etsy, etc. Absolutely zero response. Tried a chat with zero response. Nothing!! Then after one week I received a box. Still owes me a box or refund. I also attached that I wanted to cancel several times. Absolutely zero response from this place. I guess if I get money taken out I will have to dispute it. This is ridiculous. I told my friends when asking to go else where.

Very disappointing

Dec 11, 2020
Linda W.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very disappointed. Took over a month to receive deodorant wipes. I ordered the $50.00 box and received a small candle incense sticks. Small sponge and charged$24.95 for moon water that I make myself!!! Returning and cancelling my subscription. So so very disappointed

Verified Purchase