Low priced romance or mystery used books delivered right to your door! Starting at $6.25+ a month!

Plans as low as $6.25 / month

Literary Dream Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

I wouldnt even buy at a garage sale

Jan 23, 2020
Ashley W.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Quality

I typically do not review things good or bad but I felt strongly about doing so about this subscription. I've tried two other book boxes and was pleasantly surprised so I decided to try this one.
I purchased a 3 month subscription and my first months came yesterday. I was so excited to open it and get to reading, only to be very VERY disappointed. I opened my package to find 2 very beat up and dusty books that looked like they had been shoved into boxes over and over again.
I then looked at the genres and looked up the reviews/ratings from readers..and was again very upset. Both books had 2 out of 5 stars and they are both 12-14 years old. I really hope my other two months are better but I'd rather spend an additional $5-10 a book to get brand new books I'll enjoy.

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Jan 23, 2020

I'm very sorry to hear that you were upset with the books you received. If you would please email us privately I would be happy to send you replacements that cater more to your taste. And again, I sincerely apologize.

Seller

What fun

May 19, 2019
Christine M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What fun to get a surprise in the mail each month! Quality of the books are good; about 75 percent of the books look new, the other 25 percent look well loved. Selection so far is spot on. So glad I subscribed!

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Mar 26, 2019
Nicole S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

It’s like Christmas each month. Received 2 quality books in my box. One a hardcover, one a paperback. Good quality and genre I requested. Overall very happy with my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Jan 26, 2019
Kimberly
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Really liked the books they choose for me and they were barely used, if at all. Great deal for the price.

Verified Purchase

Great Way to Get More Books!

Jan 23, 2019
Samantha Z.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I have a few book subscriptions and I loved that this is a used book one, especially since LDC is very open about trying to buy from quality sources like libraries! Also, all of the books I have received have been in practically new condition. Minus the bindings having the library feel, I would've had no idea it was used. And looks just as good on my shelves!

Also bonus points to the customer service of LDC who are very quick to reply and seem to be very invested in getting their subscribers books and authors that they want to read, even though the process is random.

Haven't received a duplicate book that I've already owned or read either, which is pretty cool. Great way to get new-to-you books! And for very reasonable prices!!

Verified Purchase

Jan 21, 2019
Felecia D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My daughter received this as a gift, and she was so surprised! She is really looking forward to reading the books that were shipped to her! I can't wait to see what will happen when she gets her books next month.

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Jan 22, 2019

Thank you for the great feedback! We’re so glad you’re daughter enjoyed the selections! And we hope to keep up the good work!

Seller

Jan 20, 2019
Debbie S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Like my first box. can wait to get another.. want more James Patterson....Books

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Jan 22, 2019

Thanks so much for the review. We’re glad you liked your first box! We will be sure to send you more James Patterson next month!

Seller

Awsome!

Dec 15, 2018
Nicole M.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

If you love to read, then this subscription is def for you! I love the books ive been recieveing. Im loveing that i can exspand my library! Great books so far 😊 $10 a month is so totally worth it!! Im sure im goint to jeep this going!

Verified Purchase

Horrible

Dec 15, 2018
Sarah A.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I was under the assumption that I’d be getting new books and first of all I received books that I’d never read. I hate Danielle Steel and I received used books not new ones. I will definitely not be getting another box. Also you made the boxes in your pics look great I got 3 horrible books 2 tea bags and a very cheap book mark. For $20 more I get amazing boxes from Fae Crate and Second Star Books and they’re first editions with tons of swag.

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Dec 17, 2018

I’m very sorry that you did not like the product that was sent. My intention is never to trick my subscribers with my product photos. The books in those photos are gently used. In my listing it relays that the books are in used condition, some may be like new, but others are more used. I have never claimed to send new books to subscribers. I’m also very sorry that you do not like the authors I had chosen. I would love to send you like replacement books. Again, I am very sorry for your experience! I hope we can rectify this situation and make sure your experience can be improved.

Seller

Very Affordable!

Nov 27, 2018
Nicole M.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I like that i acctually found books i cant seem to put down! Its awsome! I may need to get the alrger print tho.

Verified Purchase

Grandma loved it

Nov 12, 2018
Kayla C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I got it for my Grandma after her surgery as she couldn't get out of the house to get books. She loved it we kept the subscription after she recovered. They even decreased the price with no change to quality! I was so shocked.

Verified Purchase

Great subscription for some peope

Oct 22, 2018
Laura B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

This is a great box for people looking to expand their reading collections and exposer to different genres. The tea is lovely and the bookmarks are adorable. I am a huge collector of bookmarks and would love just boxes packed with bookmarks and tea!

Great costumer service and very willing to work with you. I hope only for the best of this subscription manager.

Verified Purchase

Great Value

Oct 18, 2018
Kimberly O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

Such a great way to send virtually new books to people wanting to try something different. The fantasy book was one I had on my list to read. I wouch choose 2 hardbacks over 3 paperbacks or trade fiction sizes, but that’s because I collect books.

Verified Purchase

First Time ;)

Oct 16, 2018
Brenna P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

Yesterday i received my first box from LDC. I love it. I've never even see the books before even though i follow one of the authors. Though the type (hardcover or paperback) dont particularly matter to me...i received one of each and both were in great condition. I can't wait to start on them and im excited to see whats in next month's.

Verified Purchase

Nice Books

Sep 18, 2018
Peggy K.
17 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Thank you for my shipment. I like the paper backs I received. A hard cover would be nice but I do not mind because the books I received I have not read before but know the authors well.

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Sep 18, 2018

Thank you so much for your honest review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed the books you received and will be sure to send you a hard cover next month!

Seller

Great Books & Great Price

Aug 28, 2018
Michelle W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

I absolutely loved this little crate! Received 2 (gently used) books that were in great shape and appeared to be exactly the genres I read. Both were hardcovers and packed very well. I love the idea that it's a way to cycle through used books and give them new homes. Great crate with a great price, totally worth it!

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Aug 28, 2018

Thank you so much for the honest review! We appreciate your business and are pleased you enjoyed your Crate! We will continue to send quality books your way!

Seller

Awesome !!

Aug 22, 2018
Jaclyn M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

By far the best book subscription I’ve received yet. Much more personalized than others that I have tried! Thank you!!

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Aug 20, 2018

Thank you for the great review, however, is there a reason you gave us a 1 star rating? We’d like to improve your experience!

Seller

Pretty Good Used Books Subscription

Apr 01, 2019
Rinda M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I've received the two book envelope for several months now. The first month I received a book I already read years ago but thoroughly enjoyed. The second book was the third in a series. My local library doesn't have the first two books and the price was VERY high to purchase online, so I won't end up reading it. Both books were in good condition. For the me the first month was kind of a bust because I won't read either book. I contacted the seller to ask if it's normal to receive books that aren't first in a series and they responded right away and said this was a oversight and they offered to send me out a replacement book free of charge. Great customer service.

The second month I again received a book I already read years ago but I loved it so I'm happy to add it to my bookshelf. My second book was not something I would have chosen for myself and will probably never read. Both books were in good condition however the second book was a discarded library book and had the library stickers on the spine and inside, along with stamps on the inside from the library.

The third month I received the wrong romance rather the the YA I has signed up for. I contacted the seller and was sent out replacements in YA romance.

After spending $47 over four months I ending up receiving two books I will read.

Prior to...

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...May 03, 2019

Our subscription service is a randomized book service so tailoring to customer tastes is difficult and I am very sorry you did not recieve you books you enjoyed, and as for the library book our listing clearly states that we purchase library books to give back to the community!
As a long time customer of our subscription I am very sorry that you were upset with how your service ended. It was an oversight on my part as the notes are only saved on the merchant portal which I was not aware of. However, I would like to formally apologize that my email was abrupt and upsetting. Please contact me as I would like to rectify the situation in any way that I can!

Seller

Worth it.

Jan 15, 2019
Kimberly A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I really enjoyed having this subscription, I received book I didn't know I would even like too. There was one 1 book that I ever received that I was super into. But that's why I enjoy this subscription, with others I've tried I rarely got a new up to date good book. Anyways if you enjoy reading I highly recommend!

Verified Purchase
Literary Dream Crate said...Jan 15, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind review! I’m glad you enjoyed our service!

Seller

Great gift for book lovers,

Jun 19, 2019
Donna F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you enjoy book mail, this is a wonderful purchase for you or a gift for another book lover. I received two books in very good condition.
You get a surprise each month as you receive your books. Its almost like Christmas.
And it encourages you to try new authors you may not have read otherwise.

Absolutely AMAZING Service!

Dec 15, 2018
Michaela S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I got a subscription for my mom, and she absolutely adored the product! The owner was super kind and made sure all the books were of high quality for her. Literary Dream Crate is by far one of the best start-up businesses, and I recommend it to anyone who loves to read! It’s a great price, as well! Thank you!!!

Great Mother's Day gift

May 21, 2019
Rosalie W.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a gift from my son and daughter-in-law for Mother's Day. The books in the first shipment were not ones I had read. I flew through the first one, and am into the second already.

I'd not heard of Cratejoy before, but it's a great way to share a gift combo while using items already in existence.

Beyond worth it

Dec 17, 2018
Devon K.
1 Review