Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $6.79 shipped!
316 reviews

Plans as low as

$6.79/ month

Buying Options

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review
316

Great Service

Apr 12, 2019
Michelle B.
1 Review
2 Pictures
16 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Update: This continues to be the best ever book club I could ever dream of! I get introduced to new authors for some great new reading and it's extremely convenient for me as I don't have to go and scour the local bookstores for books they won't have. I still highly recommend joining because you will not regret it!!
I'm going on my third box with U.B.M and I have to say that's been great…but it did have a tiny snafu that was the post offices', fault not Joe's because he was great. And I'm assuming he's the owner. When my second month didn't show up...even after the post office showed it was delivered, I contact them and was told that I'd have to wait about a month or so to just to file a "lost mail report" and they'd look into it. And pink elephants fly. They also said that there was no guarantee that anything could be done about it. Shocker. Umm what? They lost it so therefore they should pay either Joe or me back for it. But nope. I contacted Joe and he fixed the problem at no cost and taking a loss himself (which I feel super bad about). He was wonderful and worked with me. We stayed in constant contact and I got my second package resent in no time. Though I am super curious about what books he had picked out for me. I'm so very happy about this and his customer service that...

Verified Purchase

First Box, happy customer! 😃

Jul 02, 2019
Brandy M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Everything was exactly how they said it would be. Shipping was quick and they were promptly responsive to questions. I love this box, because these books are not books I would have picked off the shelf for myself. After reading the backs they all seem like books I will enjoy. I also appreciate the care taken when curating. I mentioned in the survey that I like cats and they sent me a book that’s a cat detective series! How awesome is that?!

Verified Purchase

Ehhh....

Jul 10, 2020
Shannon G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box. It shipped very fast and was packaged well. The only thing is i dont care for the books. There is a child's book from school that has notes written in it and has dumb book written on the sides. Ehh..
I received taming of the shrew, sophocles antigone(interesting), and a Heather Graham novel. I dont hate the books I will read them, just not wowed.

Verified Purchase

Great way to expand tastes

Feb 11, 2019
Kelly C.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The books selected for me were both historical fiction, which was one of my selected categories, but beyond that I’m not sure how else the selection was made. The books are not the types of authors I typically read (I lean heavily toward dark humor and irony), but it will be a great way to get out of my comfort zone and read a selection of books I might otherwise have missed!

Verified Purchase

Awesome!!! I’m in love.

Feb 07, 2021
Christina J.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was the coolest little box to get! I’ve been wanting to expand my library and they did not disappoint. I got two books I haven’t read from a favorite author, a book I kept meaning to pick up but never did, and two new books to branch out into new topics! I’m hooked.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

Thank you very much Christina! We will work hard to keep you "hooked". Please let us know if there is ever an issue. Keep reading!

Amazing curation, gorgeous books

Feb 08, 2021
Renee K.
6 Reviews
5 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am ecstatic with the books I received from Used Books Monthly. They sent two books that I’ve never even heard of but I knew immediately that they’re perfect for me. Their service is excellent, too. I got their 4 count box a couple of times through their website but I switched to Cratejoy because I like the flexibility of buying myself a gift subscription and not having to think about cancelling. I’m a SAHM, I don’t work, so spending money on a box is luxury I can’t always afford.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

Thank you very much Renee! We are "book people" and passionate about what we do! Please let us know if you ever have any issues. Keep reading!

Subscribe if You Love Books!!

Aug 25, 2020
Ellie M.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is a great way to build your library. I filled out the accompanying survey about my book interests and most of the selections are spot on. I am a tad apprehensive about the Beck book but we shall see. Even if that book does not turn out to be my favorite, I am especially excited about the other books. I am almost done with I'll Be Gone in the Dark and it is great. The books have not had any visible indication of being secondhand that I've seen so far. The curaters definitely took my interests into account. I can't wait to see what I get next month!

Verified Purchase

Glad I subscribed!

Aug 13, 2019
Vile R.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love it. I’ve scanned the first few pages and it’s a great pick. A comedy that’s actually funny. Book is in great shape and arrived quickly and in good condition.

Verified Purchase

Great deal

May 25, 2021
Sarah T.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Books are like new. All seem.right up my alley. Cant wait to dive in.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 04, 2021

Sarah, thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased that you are enjoying your books. Please let us know if there are any ways we can improve your experience.

Still has the new book smell!!!

Sep 04, 2020
Pamela C.
5 Reviews
4 Pictures
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These books still smell brand new!! They both are in excellent condition.. great communication concerning when they were shipped and very fast shipping..not sure which one to start on first they both look really good, great choices..looking forward to my next shipment .. thank you!!!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 01, 2021

Pamela, thank you very much for your feedback! Don't you just love that new book smell?!?!

Great

2 days ago
Cathy B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Excellent job on picking books I would like.

Verified Purchase

I love my books!

Jun 13, 2021
Kylie J.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I feel like the curator really paid attention to what I like. I was sent new authors I have never read that are very similar to what I was already reading. Can't wait to experience these new authors! I feel like care was put into my book box and I am definitely looking forward to the next one. Thank you!

Verified Purchase

Books

May 30, 2021
Felica H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love my box

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 04, 2021

Hi Felicia. Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you are enjoying your book subscription!

Terrible customer service

Jun 16, 2021
Terry A.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So I have two subscriptions one for myself and one for my sister. We had one month where her choices were sent twice and I didn't receive mine. I contacted customer service thinking it was no big deal and at best could maybe get a refund for the books I didn't receive. The customer service guy answering emails did not understand me and frankly ignored my emails. I don't have time to be chasing after someone to do their job over 12$. I'm canceling this subscription for myself.

Verified Purchase

First time

May 14, 2021
Kristi F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awsome book

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 17, 2021

Thank you...Awesome subscriber!

Best thing I did during the lockdowns

Mar 29, 2021
Lorna F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Highlight of my month. So convenient when you have small children. Very inexpensive. Its a great way to branch out when in a book rut. It was a godsend during the lockdowns when libraries were closed. Shipping was delayed during lockdowns but received emails on status and replies to my questions in a timely fashion.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 31, 2021

Lorna, I am so happy that we could be a bright spot during the lockdown! It also warms my hear to hear that we helped you to explore new reading opportunities!! Keep reading.

Very pleased

Mar 15, 2021
Jamie D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first month with receiving two books a month, currently reading the first book and I am extremely satisfied with the books that were chosen for me.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 16, 2021

Thank you for trying us out, Jamie! We love hearing that we've made good matches.

gift for grandson

Mar 15, 2021
Norm B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

this was a gift for my grandson. he has recieved three shipments so far and he has really enjoyed every one.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 16, 2021

We are so happy to hear that your grandson is enjoying his subscription!

Good quality great price

Mar 14, 2021
Bobbie B.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very nice books at a good price. Thank you

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 16, 2021

Thank you for your review, Bobbie! We are book people and love hearing when people enjoy our picks for them.

EXCELLENT!

Mar 06, 2021
Ann S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So far these have been great books that I would never have found on my own. Love it!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 08, 2021

Ann, I'm so happy to hear that the subscription is going well for you! Please let us know if you have any issues or if you know of any ways we can improve the customer experience!

Great subscription!

Feb 24, 2021
Shannon G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Books are in amazingly good condition! Great picks for my request

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 24, 2021

Shannon, thank you for your review! Our curators will be happy to hear this. They aim to please!!

Thank you!

Sep 21, 2020
Claudia A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My book came quicker than the tracker said!! Im really excited to read the book I was sent. It looks exciting. I look forward to the next book!!
Update! I have to unfortunately cancel my subscription because i cant read all of these books quick enough!! i will be back in the future. thank you for all the wonderful reads you have sent me.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 24, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Claudia! I'm so glad our curators selected books that matched with you. We'll miss you but come back again when you run out of reading to do.

Love my curator so much!

Jan 13, 2021
Robin W.
6 Reviews
3 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

2/21/21: Updated after my 2nd box arrived. I could not have chosen better books if I picked them out myself. Thanks again for a spot on box.
This has quickly become my favorite subscription box and I have several! I couldn't choose better books if I picked them out myself! If the book is part of a series, they send me multiple books of a series. I love my curator so much!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 22, 2021

Robin, thank you for your feedback! I am so thrilled that our curators are hitting the nail on the head with their selections for you! Please let us know if you ever have any issues.

Perfect gift

Feb 20, 2021
Elizabeth B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a gift for my mom. She is a voracious reader and relies on book trading, but it's sporadic in regards to quality reads. She LOVES the books she's gotten and I really appreciate that they've been all large print as requested. We now know she really requires the larger print. I'll be ordering again!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 21, 2021

Thank you, Elizabeth, for your feedback. I am so happy that this has been a positive experience for your mom!! We are book people at heart and it will warm our curator's hearts to read this. Thank you again and keep reading!!

BEST EVER

Feb 17, 2021
Selena J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Hands down most amazing subscription-box I've ever found. I am an avid book worm and when I stumbled across this I was very skeptical but when I got my box!!! 😶😶 I was shooketh.
They were in perfect condition and my Anne Rice book was FREAKING SIGNED!!!!
Way worth the money.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 17, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Selena! I'm so glad you were pleased with your box! Our curators take pride in their selections like a chef does with a culinary creation. Please let us know if you ever have any issues.