Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $5.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $5.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Meh.

Feb 06, 2020
Bethan W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just received my box today. I was originally impressed at the price, four books for $15!! And I received it in good time too. However upon opening the box I was really disappointed with the selection. I realise it is a ‘mystery box’ and they can only send what they have in stock, but the conditions of the books and the books themselves that I received was not great. I could see past the condition of the books if the content of the books was good but I specifically didn’t want any romance or children’s books and received both. Some of the books don’t even appear on a google search; that’s how obscure they are. I ticked boxes for several different genres so was shocked that they didn’t listen to any of the suggestions and just sent me random books from the categories I didn’t choose. Really disappointed & will probably have to donate them all :/

Verified Purchase

Never Again

Feb 13, 2020
Tasha L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I can't seem to get anyone to respond to me and I never get any notification when my book is shipped yall have my email but whatever I wish I could cancel but I contacted and guess what NO RESPONSE

Verified Purchase

annoyed

Jan 31, 2020
Amy G.
10 Reviews
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered and paid for the 2 book, but only received 1 book. I contacted the seller and got no response. I chose the two book envelope. because my boyfriend and i are aid readers. i thought having a book and bubble bath with two "new to us" books would be great. now we have to share. and i read faster. it sucks.

Verified Purchase

Never arrived

Dec 05, 2019
Brittany G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping

Messaged seller multiple times and have yet to receive a response. My order never arrived.

Verified Purchase

Not mystery

Oct 29, 2019
Giannina T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not what i thought i asked for mystery im thinking crime and suspense. I received a comedy not really mystery to me.

Verified Purchase

Not Worth It

Oct 12, 2019
Mary H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very disappointed. They didn't pay attention to a cancelled membership and still charged my card. Books look more then just used. They look in pretty bad shape and some just look gross.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Oct 15, 2019

You have opened 3 accounts and have cancelled just one. We did not "ignore" your request. We will send this last payment back to you

Seller

Does anyone work here??

Oct 01, 2019
Debbie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

I am only reviewing on the fact that I can not get any one from this place to respond to my email, my message on here or my message on their facebook page! It is very frustrating when I did this as a gift for my Mother and I can not find out any information about her subscription!

Verified Purchase

Recieved a textbook

Sep 05, 2019
Stephanie H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Curation

I received an actual textbook. Not what I expected from other reviews, so highly disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Did not get the genre I paid for

Jun 19, 2018
April S.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall

So I picked the horror/thriller option and got 2 dinosaur books. Neither are horror or thriller. I get that they can only send what they have but don’t advertise you have something you don’t! I paid for thriller/horror and got action dinosaur novels. I will not re subscribe or recommend this to anyone interested in the same genre as me

Verified Purchase

Every month is worse than the last!

Jun 19, 2018
Nadia S.
8 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I don’t know what happened to this subscription, it used to be good. My first couple boxes were full of good books but sadly now all they send me is odd, non-fiction and self help. When I get the email to review my latest box I state to NOT send me either of those genres and what happens...that’s all the sent me, yup my last box doesn’t have one single fiction book. My last few shipments have went straight to the donation pile, not a single book I wanted to read. :(.

Verified Purchase

Library book

May 10, 2019
Mirjam N.
6 Reviews
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping

I received my first book today. I didn’t know what to expect. But based on the reviews here I certainly did not expect to pay for an old library book with yellow pages. That wasn’t worth the money at all. For $1 dollar I could have bought this at the library booksale. Quite disappointed. Customer service wasn’t helpful either.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 19, 2019

Mirjam, I'm sorry you didn't like your book. I've made arrangements to send a replacement book free of charge.

Seller

Horrible selection.

Dec 18, 2018
Debora R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Glad I did month to month. One of the books I received was a puppy training book. Completely useless to me. There were some very old books in here as well. And they were all awful.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Dec 19, 2018

We are sorry you didn’t like your books. This can happen with the surprise nature of our service. Contact me at joe@usedbooksmonthly.com. We will discuss your genres in greater detail and get those books replaced.

Seller

Terrible!

Nov 10, 2018
Shirley G.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I ordered this for my grandmother who loves to read romance suspense books. She said the books have been horrible and they are the same books you can buy at the Dollar store. I am cancelling now.

Verified Purchase

May 13, 2019
Emilie H.
8 Reviews
1 Picture
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is just not for me I didn’t really like any of the books that were there so I will not be getting another box from them or from you

Verified Purchase

Never Sent My Selected Genres

Aug 27, 2018
Jennifer S.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I like the idea of this box but they did not execute it. I never received the genres I signed up for, even after e-mailing them and specifically asking them to stop sending me memoirs every month. Each month for 6 straight month (stupidly I prepaid); I got a box of 4 memoirs, bio/autobiographies--- I would never read. A lot of Nazi Germany memoirs, several D List Celebs (20 yr old memoir by Joan Rivers anyone?), memoir of a house carpenter who lost his job during the recession.
The most interesting book I, the one and only non-memoir was a dirty, yellow-stained, ripped copy of a book on the history of Bra's and the woman who wear them, including illustrations. I can almost bet you that a MAN runs this box, due to the books I received. The curation is sadly just no there. Disappointing.

Verified Purchase

Not Worth It

Jun 15, 2018