Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $5.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $5.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not mystery

Oct 29, 2019
Giannina T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not what i thought i asked for mystery im thinking crime and suspense. I received a comedy not really mystery to me.

Verified Purchase

Not Worth It

Oct 12, 2019
Mary H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very disappointed. They didn't pay attention to a cancelled membership and still charged my card. Books look more then just used. They look in pretty bad shape and some just look gross.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Oct 15, 2019

You have opened 3 accounts and have cancelled just one. We did not "ignore" your request. We will send this last payment back to you

Seller

Does anyone work here??

Oct 01, 2019
Debbie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

I am only reviewing on the fact that I can not get any one from this place to respond to my email, my message on here or my message on their facebook page! It is very frustrating when I did this as a gift for my Mother and I can not find out any information about her subscription!

Verified Purchase

Recieved a textbook

Sep 05, 2019
Stephanie H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Curation

I received an actual textbook. Not what I expected from other reviews, so highly disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Aug 02, 2019
April J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I never recieved anything. I signed up on July 20th for the 4 book box, it's now Aug 2nd. I got an email on the 24th saying it had shipped but the tracking number says USPS never got the actual box, only a label was printed. I have tried to email but no response. I hope I can get my money back and cancel the subscription.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Aug 02, 2019

We have had an issue with the post office on package pickups. The order will ship and you will be refunded. I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

Seller

Never got my box, 4 emails still no resp

Aug 01, 2019
Candace T.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

i got a email saying my box was o. the way,then one asking ne how i liked my box!! I NEVER GOT MY BOX, AND WHEN I TRACK IT IT STILL SAYS PRE SHIPMENT!! I EMAILED THE CO,4 TIMES AND THEY HAVE NOT RESPONDED!! I WANT MY BOX OR MY MONEY BACK!, HAD HIGH HOPES,BUT CANCELED, BEFORE I WAS CHARGED AGAIN,FOR SOMTHING I NEVER GOT!! DISSATISFIED AND DISAPPOINTED!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Aug 02, 2019

We have had an issue with the post office on package pickups. The order will ship and you will be refunded. I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

Seller

Books Were Old And All Discolored.......

Jul 26, 2019
Jody J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The books were so old the pages were discolored, and not anything I would even read. There is no way you went by my genre. I couldn't even sell these books if I wanted to, or to offer a giveaway for these three very used and ancient books would be an embarrassment to me. I would not recommend this box if you want a halfway decent set of books or ones that were published in this decade, sorry but true.

Verified Purchase

Did not get the genre I paid for

Jun 19, 2018
April S.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall

So I picked the horror/thriller option and got 2 dinosaur books. Neither are horror or thriller. I get that they can only send what they have but don’t advertise you have something you don’t! I paid for thriller/horror and got action dinosaur novels. I will not re subscribe or recommend this to anyone interested in the same genre as me

Verified Purchase

Library book

May 10, 2019
Mirjam N.
6 Reviews
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping

I received my first book today. I didn’t know what to expect. But based on the reviews here I certainly did not expect to pay for an old library book with yellow pages. That wasn’t worth the money at all. For $1 dollar I could have bought this at the library booksale. Quite disappointed. Customer service wasn’t helpful either.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 19, 2019

Mirjam, I'm sorry you didn't like your book. I've made arrangements to send a replacement book free of charge.

Seller

Horrible selection.

Dec 18, 2018
Debora R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Glad I did month to month. One of the books I received was a puppy training book. Completely useless to me. There were some very old books in here as well. And they were all awful.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Dec 19, 2018

We are sorry you didn’t like your books. This can happen with the surprise nature of our service. Contact me at joe@usedbooksmonthly.com. We will discuss your genres in greater detail and get those books replaced.

Seller

Terrible!

Nov 10, 2018