Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $6.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $6.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Book selections

Today
Drenka M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box contains one book that is exactly the same as the book on our last month’s subscription. Also the box is for a 16 year old avid reader but another books sent was for a middle school child. They definitely do not read the comments when you order the boxes. I also sent an email to the company, did not hear back from them. Will not be ordering again.

Verified Purchase

Box Never Arrived :(

Nov 11, 2020
Johannah S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have a thing for used/old books and was beyond elated when I found this box.
I was genuinely looking forward to this subscription.
I won't be able to rate the book selection, as I have not received my order. I had reached out to customer service after my order had been heavily delayed and then returned to sender.
I haven't heard back from customer service in over 10 days and my package is not here.
It has been one month since I have ordered.

Verified Purchase

Poor communication and low quality books

Nov 19, 2020
Kaitlin S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have a couple of issues with this box. First of all, there is no communication from the seller. I sent an email several days ago. Additionally, I feel like someone walked into a thrift store and picked the 4 cheapest books on the shelf and threw them in a box.

Verified Purchase

such a disappointment

Nov 12, 2020
Glory C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I did 3 payments (3 subscriptions) and only received 2 books... I never received a book in the month of October and when I emailed them about it they were so useless and they tried to say that my October book was supposed to arrive Nov 5 (btw still no book, today is 11/12)...I kept trying to explain that I was STILL supposed to receive a book in October from the sep. subscription.... and they kept going on and on about November, very frustrating, I canceled and NOW they want to "mail" out the book lol I tried to track and it hasn't even been delivered. It's messed up because I was so happy and praised them so much on social media smh SUCH a disappointment!

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Nov 01, 2020
Joey B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very disappointed.. ended up canceling.
Never again.

Verified Purchase

Awful

Sep 29, 2020
Trisha D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awful books

Verified Purchase

None of the books were genre I selected

Jun 03, 2020
Jami T.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I contacted about the 4 book box I received right away and, recieved a email back asking if I wanted replacement or refund ..... I emailed back for refund , and never heard back from anyone and never received my refund. I've tried contacting several times since and received no response!!! Can someone please contact me back ASAP

Verified Purchase

Did not get the genre I paid for

Jun 19, 2018
April S.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall

So I picked the horror/thriller option and got 2 dinosaur books. Neither are horror or thriller. I get that they can only send what they have but don’t advertise you have something you don’t! I paid for thriller/horror and got action dinosaur novels. I will not re subscribe or recommend this to anyone interested in the same genre as me

Verified Purchase

Every month is worse than the last!

Jun 19, 2018
Nadia S.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I don’t know what happened to this subscription, it used to be good. My first couple boxes were full of good books but sadly now all they send me is odd, non-fiction and self help. When I get the email to review my latest box I state to NOT send me either of those genres and what happens...that’s all the sent me, yup my last box doesn’t have one single fiction book. My last few shipments have went straight to the donation pile, not a single book I wanted to read. :(.

Verified Purchase

Never received shipment & seller respons

May 10, 2020
Alicia M.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first shipment was made over 3 weeks ago and has yet to get to its destination. I ordered it for Mother’s Day and made sure to order it for enough time to get there, but now it won’t. When I emailed the seller about it, I never heard back. I’m so disappointed they couldn’t bother even responding to my inquiry.

Verified Purchase

Meh.

Feb 06, 2020
Bethan W.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just received my box today. I was originally impressed at the price, four books for $15!! And I received it in good time too. However upon opening the box I was really disappointed with the selection. I realise it is a ‘mystery box’ and they can only send what they have in stock, but the conditions of the books and the books themselves that I received was not great. I could see past the condition of the books if the content of the books was good but I specifically didn’t want any romance or children’s books and received both. Some of the books don’t even appear on a google search; that’s how obscure they are. I ticked boxes for several different genres so was shocked that they didn’t listen to any of the suggestions and just sent me random books from the categories I didn’t choose. Really disappointed & will probably have to donate them all :/

Verified Purchase

Library book

Apr 29, 2019
Mirjam N.
6 Reviews
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping

I received my first book today. I didn’t know what to expect. But based on the reviews here I certainly did not expect to pay for an old library book with yellow pages. That wasn’t worth the money at all. For $1 dollar I could have bought this at the library booksale. Quite disappointed. Customer service wasn’t helpful either.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 19, 2019

Mirjam, I'm sorry you didn't like your book. I've made arrangements to send a replacement book free of charge.

Horrible selection.

Dec 18, 2018
Debora R.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Glad I did month to month. One of the books I received was a puppy training book. Completely useless to me. There were some very old books in here as well. And they were all awful.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Dec 19, 2018

We are sorry you didn’t like your books. This can happen with the surprise nature of our service. Contact me at joe@usedbooksmonthly.com. We will discuss your genres in greater detail and get those books replaced.

Terrible!

Nov 10, 2018
Shirley G.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I ordered this for my grandmother who loves to read romance suspense books. She said the books have been horrible and they are the same books you can buy at the Dollar store. I am cancelling now.

Verified Purchase

Never Sent My Selected Genres

Aug 22, 2018
Jennifer S.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I like the idea of this box but they did not execute it. I never received the genres I signed up for, even after e-mailing them and specifically asking them to stop sending me memoirs every month. Each month for 6 straight month (stupidly I prepaid); I got a box of 4 memoirs, bio/autobiographies--- I would never read. A lot of Nazi Germany memoirs, several D List Celebs (20 yr old memoir by Joan Rivers anyone?), memoir of a house carpenter who lost his job during the recession.
The most interesting book I, the one and only non-memoir was a dirty, yellow-stained, ripped copy of a book on the history of Bra's and the woman who wear them, including illustrations. I can almost bet you that a MAN runs this box, due to the books I received. The curation is sadly just no there. Disappointing.

Verified Purchase

Terrible customer service!

Jul 14, 2020
Julie B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was subscribed for 2 months. First 2 books that I received I probably would not read. Decided to do another month to see if the books would eventually be to my liking. My subscription renewed however I never received a tracking notice for my July subscription. I tried to contact them multiple times in regards of where and when I could expect my books however I never got a response to my multiple attempts. Do not be persuaded by the price of this subscription and sign up. I do not recommend it and I regret signing up

Verified Purchase

Still waiting for May shipment

Jul 06, 2020
Shannon C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months