Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $5.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $5.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Disappointed in curation

Aug 29, 2019
Lizz H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

not a great selection at all. sandra brown? the yaya sisterhood? i was quite disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Russian History and From Beirut to Jerus

Aug 19, 2019
Denise S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received two books. One book I already own. I wrote immediately to let you know but still have not heard back. Am I supposed to mail it back to get another one? The other book was ok, though I probably won't read it.

Verified Purchase

Not worth the Cost

Aug 11, 2019
Rebecca V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I would really like to know why it takes two weeks to get, from the date it shipped, to get the books.

Verified Purchase

Quality box,

Jun 29, 2019
Matt W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It had good books, just not my type of books, will try another month

Verified Purchase

Picky

Jun 01, 2019
Nicole A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

To start, I am a harsh reviewer and book picker but with the books I received, I wouldn't be surprised if I got the leftover stack. 3/4 books I don't know how they chose: a Christian fiction, a "Venetian goth" book, and some horrid mystery fiction. Not to mention, these three books are all part of a series and were not the first books. The fourth book, however, is a reasonable choice based on the description I left. I'm just left thinking how scarce their collection is that they would send these books and also just how picky/pretentious I am a reader! The price is great though so maybe this box/the picker just wasn't for me.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 02, 2019

Nicole, I think your sentiment that our subscription may not be for you is completely accurate. I have refunded your payment and cancelled your subscription. Thank you for giving us a chance. I’m sorry we fell short of your expectations.

Seller

Okay-ish

Oct 01, 2018
Kyla M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

The subscription was decent considering the price. Most books received were close enough to the genre I asked for. Unfortunately my experience with their customer service was lacking. All I received from my August renewal was a packing slip. I notified them on 7 September, and was informed a replacement would be sent ASAP. 3 weeks have gone by, and there has been no replacement recieved and no shipment notification was provided.

Verified Purchase

Aug 16, 2018
Larissa Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

Sadly underwhelmed with my first box. One of the books has what looks to be coffee stains throughout and the others have bent pages and ripped corners. I’m sure it’s not a bad subcription but I believe my first box was a total flop and that wasn’t the greatest first impression.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Samantha R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I really wanted to like this box. I got a 3 month subscription and my first box was okay. But my second and third boxes are both awful. I could only read 1 book in my second box because the other 3 were all in the middle of different random series. My third box was filled with mostly mass market paperbacks that are again apart of different random series.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 23, 2018

Samantha, we are sorry that your boxes fell short. We always hope our subscribers are elated with our selections, but sometimes we miss the mark. I’ve sent an email with a solution we hope makes you happy. Thank you for subscribing!

Seller
Buying Options