Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $5.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $5.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Haven't gotten my final shipment

Jul 29, 2020
Christina R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The books in this box were pretty good, but a few were in much worse condition than others. I was ok with that seeing as they are used books. I did wish it was easier to change my preferences as far as what genre books I got. You have to message the seller and make sure you do it in time before they prepare your box. I wish there was a way to do that within my Cratejoy account. When I messaged about changing preferences, I received a quick response.
My main issue was with the shipping of the boxes. I got my first 2 boxes about 3 weeks apart, and then nothing for 2 months. I paid for a 3 month subscription, but chose not to renew. My third box was supposed to have arrived over 2 weeks ago, and it still says it is being prepared. I have messaged the seller multiple times, and have only received 1 response saying that their book shipments were delayed and that my box would be shipping soon. That was 2 weeks ago. I have messaged again since then and still no response. It is strange to me that they would be so responsive in my desiring to change my genre preferences and then be silent when I ask when I'm getting the books that I have already paid for.
I would not recommend this subscription box based on their customer service...

Verified Purchase

Incorrect Subscription received

May 20, 2020
Madaline B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received someone else’s subscription. I’ve contacted the company three times and have yet to hear anything back. The quality of the book that I received was good, however not the genre I ordered and I paid for two books, not just the one I was sent.

Verified Purchase

The Girl from Junchow not really Romance

Feb 23, 2020
Stephanie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The book was very difficult to follow/get into unless you have a strong understanding of politics in the Soviet Union in the 1930s.

Verified Purchase

Okay-ish

Oct 01, 2018
Kyla M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

The subscription was decent considering the price. Most books received were close enough to the genre I asked for. Unfortunately my experience with their customer service was lacking. All I received from my August renewal was a packing slip. I notified them on 7 September, and was informed a replacement would be sent ASAP. 3 weeks have gone by, and there has been no replacement recieved and no shipment notification was provided.

Verified Purchase

Mixed choices

Oct 29, 2019
Sandi H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Update: I had issues with the books I received and have attempted 3 times to contact the seller with not even an acknowledgment of my questions.

While I love the idea of getting a selection of used books every month, the books in my first shipment were meh. Blue Gold is a book I had already read and there's no way you could know that but it was in the large print version.

My biggest disappointment was in the book Lesser Evils by Erin M. Evans from the Brimstone Angels series by Dungeons & Dragons. This is not a book I would classify as "fantasy". It's definitely more on the occult side of the scale. I would suggest that this should be a separate genre rather than lumped in with fantasy or sci-fi.

I really appreciate the other two choices - Back Roads by Tawni O'Dell and Blood Orchid by Stuart Woods. Both seem to be books I will really enjoy. I've read other books by Stuart Woods so I'm particularly looking forward to that one. All the books were in great shape with little to no wear at all. Getting the chance to read books that are a bit older is appealing, not just the constant stream of new releases.

Another plus is the re-use of packaging materials. My shipment came in a box that had obviously been retaped and that was so great to see.

Over time I hope that the books sent will be narrowed a bit to my reading...

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Dec 04, 2019

Thank you for the feedback. Let us know if our e-mail and solution were satisfactory.

Quality box,

Jun 29, 2019
Matt W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It had good books, just not my type of books, will try another month

Verified Purchase

Picky

Jun 01, 2019
Nicole A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

To start, I am a harsh reviewer and book picker but with the books I received, I wouldn't be surprised if I got the leftover stack. 3/4 books I don't know how they chose: a Christian fiction, a "Venetian goth" book, and some horrid mystery fiction. Not to mention, these three books are all part of a series and were not the first books. The fourth book, however, is a reasonable choice based on the description I left. I'm just left thinking how scarce their collection is that they would send these books and also just how picky/pretentious I am a reader! The price is great though so maybe this box/the picker just wasn't for me.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 02, 2019

Nicole, I think your sentiment that our subscription may not be for you is completely accurate. I have refunded your payment and cancelled your subscription. Thank you for giving us a chance. I’m sorry we fell short of your expectations.

Unsatisfied this time around

Feb 10, 2020
Haley K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I shared this subscription with a friend before loved It had to stop for a while decided to get my own this time but for whatever reason the books were horrible not a single one I liked/was interested in reading very disappointed this time :( hopefully next month is better

Verified Purchase

No books yet

Dec 30, 2019
Cheryl M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Quality
Curation

Haven't received my order yet

Verified Purchase

Disappointed in curation

Aug 29, 2019
Lizz H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

not a great selection at all. sandra brown? the yaya sisterhood? i was quite disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Russian History and From Beirut to Jerus

Aug 19, 2019
Denise S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received two books. One book I already own. I wrote immediately to let you know but still have not heard back. Am I supposed to mail it back to get another one? The other book was ok, though I probably won't read it.

Verified Purchase

Not worth the Cost

Aug 11, 2019
Rebecca V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I would really like to know why it takes two weeks to get, from the date it shipped, to get the books.

Verified Purchase

Aug 16, 2018