Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $6.79 shipped!

Plans as low as

$6.79/ month

Buying Options

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Ehhh....

Jul 10, 2020
Shannon G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box. It shipped very fast and was packaged well. The only thing is i dont care for the books. There is a child's book from school that has notes written in it and has dumb book written on the sides. Ehh..
I received taming of the shrew, sophocles antigone(interesting), and a Heather Graham novel. I dont hate the books I will read them, just not wowed.

Verified Purchase

Good selection overall

Mar 01, 2021
Melissa P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I selected Fantasy as one of my genres, and I didn't realize I had to specify "no YA fantasy" because there's also a YA genre. So half my box was two books in the same YA series. I'd like to be able to make changes to my preferences to avoid this in future, since I signed up for a six-month subscription, but there doesn't seem to be a way to do this. Everything else about the experience was great, and I love the other two books.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 08, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Melissa! I understand your dilemma, many of the books we have on the shelves in the fantasy genre also fall into the YA genre as well as most books fall into more than just one genre. I'll put a note on your packing slip that you do not wish to receive any that fall into the YA category. Again, thank you and keep reading!!

Out of the Easy & Fires in the Dark

Feb 19, 2021
L S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

would not have chosen these titles in a book store or at the library but i think the choices fit close to the genres i have interest in

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 19, 2021

Hello, and thank you for your feedback! I'm glad our curators are finding books that fit the selections you made. The randomness of the selections is what we think makes it exciting. You have an opportunity to discover a new favorite author or character!! Please don't hesitate to ask any questions you may have or to let us know of any problems.

Didn't get the book

Feb 01, 2021
Claudia B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I didn't get the book for January.
What's going on?
Do i need to sign in every month?

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

Hi Claudia!
I am so very sorry that you missed the January book!! We sent your January order out on February 1st and hopefully you have received it by now. I will move your name to the front of the line so that we can send out your February book early next week. Thank you for letting us know about the issue. Please let us know if you have any other problems. Have a great weekend!

Good Stuff!

Jan 19, 2021
Dorothy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm very pleased with the books I received and the quality of their appearance. I look forward to many more months of the books I will get.

Verified Purchase

Great job. Happy with my books!

Jan 11, 2021
Tim B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this for a birthday present, and noted the types of books that the person having the birthday liked. I couldn't be happier. I got thoughtfully chosen selections from the genres I'd chosen. I felt like the seller had really listened to what I wanted. I will buy this again in the future.

Verified Purchase

Good value!

Sep 09, 2019
Amanda B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first purchase through CrateJoy. I chose Used Books Monthly because of the value and assortment of genres to choose from. I received my box about 2 weeks after purchasing. I got a good selection from the genres I picked. The books are in good used condition. I've been looking for affordable reads and this fits the bill. I'm excited for my next box!

Verified Purchase

Used Books

Jul 04, 2019
Amanda P.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These books were in almost new shape. Both were hardback.

Verified Purchase

Do not know

Nov 10, 2020
Marcia M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

This is a gift subscription for my mother. She was pleased with the first book she received. She told me it was published about ten years ago. Can you provide her with some good books that are perhaps a bit newer? She was pleased with the package.
Thank you.

Verified Purchase

Used Books first shipment

Nov 01, 2020
Amy F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am not a fan of Tony Hillerman novels and was disappointed to receive it. The other book is interesting so far.

Verified Purchase

Good bit of fun

Aug 10, 2020
Crystal
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 6 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got an extra book, which you can't argue with, but honestly it's exactly what one should expect for this kind of thing. A stranger whom you can only share small amounts of information about your reading tastes, is picking out books from what is available to suit you. You can tell though, that he does take into account what you explain of yourself and I greatly appreciated that, but not knowing a person, he can only perform small miracles. So, given that, there are some hits and there are some misses and if you're okay with that for the element of surprise, it will deliver. There is also a mix (at least in the box I received) of different levels of the term "used". I received two that looked brand new and one that was very old (my personal favorite). Of my five books, two went instantly into my donate pile, one was a nostalgic keep for me until I can get a nice hardcover edition of (already on my list previous to getting the box), one was interesting enough to try but I don't expect to really love it and the other sounds exactly up my alley. It's cheap fun for a month, but not something I'll be sticking around for.

Verified Purchase

4 Stars!

Aug 05, 2020
Madeline C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality