Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $5.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $5.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Great Service

Apr 12, 2019
Michelle B.
1 Review
2 Pictures
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Update: This continues to be the best ever book club I could ever dream of! I get introduced to new authors for some great new reading and it's extremely convenient for me as I don't have to go and scour the local bookstores for books they won't have. I still highly recommend joining because you will not regret it!!

I'm going on my third box with U.B.M and I have to say that's been great…but it did have a tiny snafu that was the post offices', fault not Joe's because he was great. And I'm assuming he's the owner. When my second month didn't show up...even after the post office showed it was delivered, I contact them and was told that I'd have to wait about a month or so to just to file a "lost mail report" and they'd look into it. And pink elephants fly. They also said that there was no guarantee that anything could be done about it. Shocker. Umm what? They lost it so therefore they should pay either Joe or me back for it. But nope. I contacted Joe and he fixed the problem at no cost and taking a loss himself (which I feel super bad about). He was wonderful and worked with me. We stayed in constant contact and I got my second package resent in no time. Though I am super curious about what books he had picked out for me. I'm so very happy about this and his customer service that...

Verified Purchase

First Box, happy customer! 😃

Jul 02, 2019
Brandy M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Everything was exactly how they said it would be. Shipping was quick and they were promptly responsive to questions. I love this box, because these books are not books I would have picked off the shelf for myself. After reading the backs they all seem like books I will enjoy. I also appreciate the care taken when curating. I mentioned in the survey that I like cats and they sent me a book that’s a cat detective series! How awesome is that?!

Verified Purchase

Glad I subscribed!

Aug 13, 2019
Vile R.
4 Reviews
2 Pictures
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love it. I’ve scanned the first few pages and it’s a great pick. A comedy that’s actually funny. Book is in great shape and arrived quickly and in good condition.

Verified Purchase

Great way to expand tastes

Feb 11, 2019
Kelly C.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The books selected for me were both historical fiction, which was one of my selected categories, but beyond that I’m not sure how else the selection was made. The books are not the types of authors I typically read (I lean heavily toward dark humor and irony), but it will be a great way to get out of my comfort zone and read a selection of books I might otherwise have missed!

Verified Purchase

Ehhh....

Jul 10, 2020
Shannon G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box. It shipped very fast and was packaged well. The only thing is i dont care for the books. There is a child's book from school that has notes written in it and has dumb book written on the sides. Ehh..
I received taming of the shrew, sophocles antigone(interesting), and a Heather Graham novel. I dont hate the books I will read them, just not wowed.

Verified Purchase

Great quality!

May 04, 2020
Rebekah S.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Received my first box of 2 books! They are both in excellent condition - they don’t even look used. Both books have good reviews on Good Reads. I’m especially excited to read Black Star Renegades! Thank you!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

5 days ago
Madeline J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality

I loved the books they sent me! They were perfect for the description I gave them of what I like to read. Can't wait until my next shipment!

Verified Purchase

Amazing!!

Aug 01, 2020
Hannah A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is amazing! The books are in incredible shape and they shipped so fast! The books look very interesting, they aren't ones I would have chosen for myself, so I'm super excited to broaden my reading horizons!

Verified Purchase

Wonderfully Curated

Jun 21, 2020
Patricia J.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Things shipped slower than usual due to Covid-19, but I received my order within 30 days and I was beyond pleased with the curation and how the curator took into account the notes I sent along with my order. I was not set on renewing until I saw how perfectly curated my order was. My only qualm is that one of my books looked a bit dirty, but I am going to look past that, because the book is a great find. I highly recommend Used Books Monthly to anyone who is a serious reader or writer. I have now renewed my subscription for 4 books, even though I already have a stack of reading to get through, because they did so well with the first order.

Verified Purchase

4 Stars!

3 days ago
Madeline C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m looking forward to reading these books! I’m going to narrow my book settings since one of the books I’m on the fence about, but the books were in near perfect condition.

Verified Purchase

First Order Arrived Today

Jul 29, 2020
Kristen L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My order shipped super fast. I was expecting it to take some time due to COVID but my first box got here within two weeks of me starting my subscription. I chose the 4 book box and all the titles seem to fit my preferred genres. I got 3 paperback and 1 hardcover. The quality is fantastic, they all look new. The titles are a bit obscure but I ordered with the intent to try new things. Overall great subscription.

Verified Purchase

A curated venture beyond predilection

Jul 19, 2020
Thomas W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This subscription box is such fun. I picked the genre I like and I get two books each month in that genre, but which I wouldn’t pick out and buy on my own. That’s what’s fun about it in addition to the surprise of what shows up. I’m now reading books I probably wouldn’t have read. They’re in better than expected quality and the curation exposes me to new-to-me authors and stories at a price that puts the risk of not liking a book at an “I don’t mind” cost. Thus far, I haven’t disliked anything I’ve received.

Verified Purchase

Great Subscription :)

Jul 12, 2020