The best science subscription box. All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $25.00 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

decent

May 09, 2019
Tana E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Neat box, some items are very cool and you can only get them through this box, such as the more scientific items, but some items fell short and for the price point was not worth it in the end.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...May 09, 2019

Hi Tana. Sorry we missed the mark with you. Thanks for giving us a shot nonetheless. Stay curious!

Seller

We All LOVE This Box!!

Dec 30, 2018
Tesala B.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got this for my 11 year old Daughter for Christmas and she ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! When she opened it everyone stopped opening presents for about 20 minutes just to look at everything. I REALLY ENJOYED IT and so did everyone else! I really want to thank you for putting together such an AMAZING box! This is one of the most EDUCATIONAL, FUN and UNIQUE boxes I've come across yet. I suggest you find something to safely store all of your WONDERFUL FINDS and their INFORMATION CARDS. Or, you could even find a place to display your INTERESTING SPECIMENS of MATTER!! My daughter and I can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Original!

Apr 13, 2019
Rebecca R.
5 Reviews
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

The best box for science lovers and for people that love to collect really special pieces!

Verified Purchase

Jan 31, 2019
Sandra S.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Gave subscription to MATTER to my grandson for Christmas.
He was thrilled, said it was one of his favorite presents...
It contained scientific MATTER with detailed explanations for all the objects in the crate. Very pleased with Cratejoy

Verified Purchase

Gave as gift -recipient loved it

Jan 15, 2019
Allan R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

Gave this to my father. He loves oddities and sciencey things. He was very skeptical, I think, but when he received the 1st box he absolutely loved it. Already considering renewing for his birthday

Verified Purchase

Great box!!

Jan 14, 2019
Andrea S.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My 6 year old loves this box!! She collects rocks, crystals and fossils. So this is right up her alley. One of her favorites is the bird call in last month's box. I subscribed for 3 months. We have 1 box left and she asked today if we can keep getting it so I'll resubscribe after our next box arrives. Thank you!!

Verified Purchase

PLEASE REVISE PRIOR REVIEW....

Jan 01, 2019
Susan F.
5 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I had previously posted a 3 star review but after emailing customer service my rating has changed to 5 stars. Its excellent!!!! Can't wait until next month's box!!!

Verified Purchase

Interesting mix

Dec 24, 2018
Alesia S.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

MATTER holds our family's interest. Awaiting the next box with anticipation. Great to discuss scientific rules, etc. Was surprised at the range of items included!! Very cool!!

Verified Purchase

A beautiful collection of oddities!

Oct 09, 2018
Hannah V.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I can't believe I now have an authentic dinosaur tooth and a vial of cephalopod ink! This box is a real treat for anyone interested in science and natural history, and I can't wait to receive my next box. I promised myself I would only keep a subscription to a truly amazing box, and this one has exceeded my expectations! Thank you for making these artifacts available to us.

Verified Purchase

Unique and wonderful!

Aug 29, 2018
Rachel R.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I purchased a three-month subscription for my father - a dedicated science, history and overall knowledge junkie - earlier this year, and he loved it. The items were excellently curated (and now housed in a display case on his wall) and well-packaged, and just really, really cool. I would absolutely recommend this box to any-/every-one.

Verified Purchase

Amazing - beautiful and smart

Jun 15, 2018
Wendy N.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

All the things you loved at the natural history museum when you were a kid? All the things that inspired and fascinated you? They're here - and you can touch them and learn about them at your leisure. The Matter box is our favorite monthly subscription so far because it blends history, science, and aesthetics. It is beautifully presented with sizable specimens and useful information. We thoroughly enjoyed learning and examining each item in the box, and have started our own miniature natural history display at home! Highly recommended. (And, no, I didn't get comped - I chose to purchase the subscription, and I really do love it!)

Verified Purchase

Box #1

Apr 10, 2019
Dana H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

Cool stuff...

Cool

Apr 08, 2019
Dennis O.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Much cooler than I thought. I have given as a gift twice to teenagers. They loved them

Verified Purchase

Super COOL!

Apr 07, 2019
Amy C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall

My 10 yr. old girl absolutely LOVED this box and so did I!! It makes learning science fun and it provides something tangible to remind her of what she has learned. The information cards are highly informative and detailed (I appreciate that). Thank you Terry for making and executing a great product. We are already looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

An incredible gift!

Jan 13, 2019
Mandy M.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

This was my favorite gift that I gave to my husband for Christmas! He loved how unique everything is and he can’t wait to display it! Thank you, Matter Box, for making these special pieces accessible to the world!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Product and Customer Service

Dec 23, 2018
Amy G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

My husband flipped when he received a dinosaur tooth in his first box! Most things we've gotten have been very cool and educational. Also, I made an order error and they immediately fixed it for me. I highly recommend this box and this company.

Verified Purchase

This is the best!!

Dec 11, 2018
Stacey C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I absolutely love the Matter Box. As a scientist I am fascinated with the items and really appreciate the informational cards that explain each piece.

Verified Purchase

Dec 10, 2018
Rebecca T.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Purchased a three month subscription for myself. Everything was very well packaged and each item came with a nice little summary card. Each box held different items like a dinosaur tooth, a civil war bullet--it ran the gauntlet and nothing was ever the same. I enjoyed each and every last item.

Verified Purchase

Love it second box was my favorite

Jun 15, 2018
Beverly L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The cards are extremely well made that describe each object sent in your box. I'm extremely pleased. The UV light and uranium was my favorite. I love the unusual .

Verified Purchase

Amazing...First of its kind

Jun 15, 2018