Immerse yourself in the best science subscription box for adults! All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $39.98 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Can't Reach Them Any Other Way?

Aug 24, 2020
James W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It looks like this is the only way to reach them, as I've tried sending them messages via CrateJoy and their own site.
My first box has been lost in the Postal system for 12 days now, and I can't get this vendor to respond to my calls for help. Caveat Emptor!

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 25, 2020

Hello,
I apologize for the delay. Due to the current situation with the USPS, our 3-person team has been inundated with a deluge messages just like yours.
We have received your email and we are responding to them all in the order received. We are sending out replacements for boxes that have been delayed as long as yours. But there is nothing we can do to speed up the boxes that have already left our facility, and unfortunately we cannot guarantee the replacements will arrive any sooner than the first boxes.
We appreciate your patience while we diligently work to make sure all of our customers receive what they paid for. We appreciate you supporting our small business that relies directly upon a functioning postal service.
Terry, Founder @...

just amazing

Dec 10, 2020
Wendy R.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I mean...come on. No other subscription comes close. So happy with matter

we love matter

Oct 12, 2020
Monica P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

my husband and daughter are both huuuuge science nerds. their monthly box of matter is their special bonding time. our family looks forward to exploring the new crazy items every month.

Perfect

Oct 12, 2020
Michelle W.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Literally the best purchase I've ever made

my new favorite crate

Sep 09, 2020
Jake A.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

im not typically a review guy, but this is easily the coolest thing I've ordered on the internet.

so cool :)

Sep 08, 2020
Deborah L.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I never thought I'd own an actual dinosaur tooth. I'm blown away every month

Worth Every Penny

Aug 25, 2020
Shawn R.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've never done a subscription box before but I decided to give this o ne a try. I'm so happy I did because every box has been beyond all expectations. Super cool stuff.

Love it

Aug 18, 2020
Dave R.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely the best box out there

We All LOVE This Box!!

Dec 30, 2018
Tesala B.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got this for my 11 year old Daughter for Christmas and she ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! When she opened it everyone stopped opening presents for about 20 minutes just to look at everything. I REALLY ENJOYED IT and so did everyone else! I really want to thank you for putting together such an AMAZING box! This is one of the most EDUCATIONAL, FUN and UNIQUE boxes I've come across yet. I suggest you find something to safely store all of your WONDERFUL FINDS and their INFORMATION CARDS. Or, you could even find a place to display your INTERESTING SPECIMENS of MATTER!! My daughter and I can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Original!

Apr 13, 2019
Rebecca R.
5 Reviews
19 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

The best box for science lovers and for people that love to collect really special pieces!

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 23, 2019
Ceci R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved the gift even said and I quote “best gift i’ve Had in a long time” then proceeded to examine his things... raccoon penis bone had me laughing. Great box!!

Verified Purchase

Jan 31, 2019
Sandra S.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Gave subscription to MATTER to my grandson for Christmas.
He was thrilled, said it was one of his favorite presents...
It contained scientific MATTER with detailed explanations for all the objects in the crate. Very pleased with Cratejoy

Verified Purchase

A beautiful collection of oddities!

Oct 09, 2018
Hannah V.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I can't believe I now have an authentic dinosaur tooth and a vial of cephalopod ink! This box is a real treat for anyone interested in science and natural history, and I can't wait to receive my next box. I promised myself I would only keep a subscription to a truly amazing box, and this one has exceeded my expectations! Thank you for making these artifacts available to us.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Fossils

Aug 19, 2019
Dan B.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Originally got this box as a fun activity for my son and I. Very disappointed to not get a fossil since all of the advertised boxes have some sort of fossil. My son and I are mesozoic era buffs, but we're also big fans of the cenozoic and hadean eras as well....but to not get anything was a big let down. Aside from the meteorite sample the rest of the items were 'meh'.
I understand that the box is meant to always be a surprise and could literally be anything (with a box called 'matter'), but was still expecting a fossil of some sort.
On a 3 month plan, so I'll change my review if the next boxes are better.
Ok the next boxes contained some awesome fossils that still catch my sons' and I's attention to this day. Renewing the 3 month plan for the COVID summer months!

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 28, 2019

Hi Dan, Sorry if we didn't live up to your expectations this time. We try to include a fossil in most months, but due the rare nature of fossils it isn't always possible. Good news though, our September box will include a fossil!

Very interesting

Aug 12, 2019
Tomko
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really liked the cards that came with each item. Each item was very interesting and made you think more about the world around you! Can’t wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Awesome science box

Aug 05, 2019
Kristen L.
8 Reviews
17 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping