The best science subscription box. All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $29.99 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

PLEASE REVISE PRIOR REVIEW....

Jan 01, 2019
Susan F.
5 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I had previously posted a 3 star review but after emailing customer service my rating has changed to 5 stars. Its excellent!!!! Can't wait until next month's box!!!

Verified Purchase

Interesting mix

Dec 24, 2018
Alesia S.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

MATTER holds our family's interest. Awaiting the next box with anticipation. Great to discuss scientific rules, etc. Was surprised at the range of items included!! Very cool!!

Verified Purchase

A beautiful collection of oddities!

Oct 09, 2018
Hannah V.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I can't believe I now have an authentic dinosaur tooth and a vial of cephalopod ink! This box is a real treat for anyone interested in science and natural history, and I can't wait to receive my next box. I promised myself I would only keep a subscription to a truly amazing box, and this one has exceeded my expectations! Thank you for making these artifacts available to us.

Verified Purchase

Unique and wonderful!

Aug 29, 2018
Rachel R.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I purchased a three-month subscription for my father - a dedicated science, history and overall knowledge junkie - earlier this year, and he loved it. The items were excellently curated (and now housed in a display case on his wall) and well-packaged, and just really, really cool. I would absolutely recommend this box to any-/every-one.

Verified Purchase

Amazing - beautiful and smart

Jun 15, 2018
Wendy N.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

All the things you loved at the natural history museum when you were a kid? All the things that inspired and fascinated you? They're here - and you can touch them and learn about them at your leisure. The Matter box is our favorite monthly subscription so far because it blends history, science, and aesthetics. It is beautifully presented with sizable specimens and useful information. We thoroughly enjoyed learning and examining each item in the box, and have started our own miniature natural history display at home! Highly recommended. (And, no, I didn't get comped - I chose to purchase the subscription, and I really do love it!)

Verified Purchase

Fascinating to all ages

May 12, 2019
Holly S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to this box mostly to share with my grandchildren, but their parents were equally interested in the contents. 5 star reviews all around the table and multiple "very cool" comments.

Verified Purchase

May 02, 2019
Mike Z.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great box. I got this for my 11 year old son's birthday. He loved getting a box every month and the 3-month subscription was worth the $100.

Interesting items that I wouldn't think of getting myself. The cards that explain the items were also great! If possible, we'd like to learn more but we just googled stuff and found plenty.

Verified Purchase

Cool

Apr 08, 2019
Dennis O.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Much cooler than I thought. I have given as a gift twice to teenagers. They loved them

Verified Purchase

Super COOL!

Apr 07, 2019
Amy C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall

My 10 yr. old girl absolutely LOVED this box and so did I!! It makes learning science fun and it provides something tangible to remind her of what she has learned. The information cards are highly informative and detailed (I appreciate that). Thank you Terry for making and executing a great product. We are already looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

An incredible gift!

Jan 13, 2019
Mandy M.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

This was my favorite gift that I gave to my husband for Christmas! He loved how unique everything is and he can’t wait to display it! Thank you, Matter Box, for making these special pieces accessible to the world!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Product and Customer Service

Dec 23, 2018
Amy G.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

My husband flipped when he received a dinosaur tooth in his first box! Most things we've gotten have been very cool and educational. Also, I made an order error and they immediately fixed it for me. I highly recommend this box and this company.

Verified Purchase

This is the best!!

Dec 11, 2018
Stacey C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I absolutely love the Matter Box. As a scientist I am fascinated with the items and really appreciate the informational cards that explain each piece.

Verified Purchase

Dec 10, 2018
Rebecca T.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Purchased a three month subscription for myself. Everything was very well packaged and each item came with a nice little summary card. Each box held different items like a dinosaur tooth, a civil war bullet--it ran the gauntlet and nothing was ever the same. I enjoyed each and every last item.

Verified Purchase

Amazing...First of its kind

Jun 15, 2018
Nicole T.
9 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

This box was the first box I have ever received like this its amazing and so educational. Its like having little pieces of the museum that you are allowed touch & play with. My kids loved it and these specimens intrigued them to look up more info on our pieces of matter. * I received this box at no cost for review purposes* But my opinions are my own & I am not affiliated with this company.

Verified Purchase

Love it second box was my favorite

Jun 15, 2018
Beverly L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The cards are extremely well made that describe each object sent in your box. I'm extremely pleased. The UV light and uranium was my favorite. I love the unusual .

Verified Purchase

Awesome

Jun 18, 2019
Sabrina R.
8 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is probably the coolest subscription box I've ever come across. I'm a huge science nerd and I love this.

Verified Purchase

Great gift!

Jun 07, 2019
Richard F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We are beyond satisfied with our subscription. Every box has a handful of real, interesting, educational, stuff. We all love it, from my 5 year old to my 46 year old.

Verified Purchase

A treasure trove of info & goodies!

May 13, 2019
Leeann
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have now received my second box of matter, it has been so very interesting and quite mind blowing to be able to hold some of the things I have received, I have loved this box by far more then any other, thank you Terry. 🥰

Verified Purchase

Even better than expected

Jul 16, 2019
Tee L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall