Box of Matter

by MATTER
A monthly science box of collectible scientific artifacts and gadgets to feed your curious mind!
123 reviews

Plans as low as

$29.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (123)

Amazing!

Jul 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Audrey V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

These boxes are incredible, and the supplier is very easy to work with and flexible. They are not just for kids, as I learned a lot from them, too. Definitely reommend!

Verified Purchase

What you expect!

Jan 30, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Skyla M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

This is awesome and exactly what you'd expect! A well put together box with nice items and cards that go along with each item. Everything in the box is high quality.

Verified Purchase

A warning to British customers

Jun 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days

I am yet to receive my box. But I wanted to warn British customers about the additional shipping fees that unfortunately, in my eyes, make it not worth it.
I subscribed month-by-month so that I could get just 1 box for my partner's birthday. That cost $39.95.
Add on shipping, and it came to $51.97.
I then received a letter this morning saying I need to pay import tax of £17.78 (roughly $22.51) before I can receive the box.
That's $74.48 for one box.
I wish I had known this before even getting the month by month subscription. It's just not worth it.

Verified Purchase

cool

Sep 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cindy B.
4 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Absolutely cool little things that I enjoy. I gave away a few to family who enjoy them more, and now I'm a hero.

Verified Purchase

Our Family’s Favorite Box

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jayne K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

This is our whole family’s favorite box. We get so excited when it comes. We all open it together and spend hours with all the goodies. Then one of my daughters sets up the bookshelf display with all the past box items. Great conversation pieces! Truly special box!

Verified Purchase

Perfect for aspiring geologists

Jan 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

My 13 year old son is an avid rock and fossil collector. I thought I had run out of gifts for his birthday after 10+ years of buying him science related kits and books. Then I discovered this product. The items in each kit have been interesting, exciting and age appropriate.

Verified Purchase

Great purchase for any age!!!

Jan 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Greer S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

My grandson is 9 years old. He loves receiving his Matter box each month. The items are interesting and professionally presented. I have recommended this box to a lot of people.

Verified Purchase

Cool enough for my 14 yo nephew

Sep 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Myleena G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

My 14 yo nephew received this box. The boy with a murse who likes unusual “things”. I thought it would go great with his collection. It was a hit and now the rest of the crew wants one.

Verified Purchase

Pretty cool

Oct 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kendall M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 13 days

The things I got in here are pretty neat! If I was more into science stuff, I would most likely enjoy this more. But overall I'm pretty pleased with what I've gotten! thanks

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Oct 17, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristin W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

Not your same-old-stuff you can get anywhere. Interesting, informative, and highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic.

Oct 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
James S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

This box has been an absolute delight. I’m a teacher and there are so many cool things that I share with my class. Each item is well explained and widely varied. Also, this has arrived regularly despite the pandemic, which is more than I can say for lots of other things I order online. Love it.

Verified Purchase

Cool stuff

Oct 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heidi H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

All the items were interesting. I liked the the note cards that explained the items.

Verified Purchase

A cabinet of curiosities

Jan 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deborah H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I bought this subscription for my 8 year old son, which is a tricky age but it is a perfect fit. He loved every item (the mosasaur tooth, especially) and he's treating the included fact cards with a reverence normally reserved for Pokemon cards.
I love that these have the perfect feel of treasure that little boys love. If we lived near one, I'm sure his pockets would have baobob seeds in them, but seeing them in our box is a pretty good second.
The box is quite educational, and I think every item will grow with him and add to his collection of curiosities. Really glad I made the purchase.

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Apr 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

My 10 year old son loves getting his box of matter. Interesting and fun items! It’s definitely sparked him to further explore all things science.

Verified Purchase

The whole family enjoys every box!

Apr 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
M B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

For the scientific or just curious in your family. Each box gets shared with everyone from grandparents to grandchildren and always includes lots of oohs and ahs at weekly family meetings. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Best science box out there

Nov 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Troy W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Release your inner nerd. This box is awesome and totally worth the price. Every month I look forward to it. Definitely recommend.

Verified Purchase

Excellent subscription box

Dec 12, 2020
Overall
Quality
Tanya R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Bought for 13 year old niece- enjoyed by entire family! Nothing in there that didn’t hold their interest. They loved reading the cards about each item- it inspired them to do further research.

Verified Purchase

Awesome!!

Dec 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tonya V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

My teenage son LOVES this box and looks forward to it every month!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Curation!

May 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Natalie V.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

I gave my 17 year old science loving niece this box as a gift, she absolutely loved everything in it ! The curating was great!

Verified Purchase

Even better than expected

Jul 16, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tee L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I got this for my 75 year old Father and he loved everything in his subscription. So did all of his grandchildren. Every month we were amazed at the things that were packed in his MATTER box. He was sorry that it was only a 3-month subscription

Verified Purchase

#1 gift request in our house

Oct 23, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer V.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

We LOVE matter boxes! We did a 6 month subscription for our teen son last Christmas and it's #1 on his list for this year. The seller ships out just as stated, emails are sent with tracking numbers (ships fast!), and if you EVER have a question about an item in the box or wish to purchase an additional box, the seller has AMAZING communication. Because of the communication alone, we've purchased additional special past boxes, as well as ones past our original subscription. The seller makes it very easy. The items are of great quality and there is always a card explaining each item. We've recieved things from Nasa, fossils, and items we've never heard of before, but are very interesting to learn about. If you love Science, you will look forward to this every month.

Verified Purchase

"Could you sign me up for more?"

May 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marla V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Bought this box for our 11 year old son. When he opened it, he literally said "Are you going to write a review on Yelp or something like that? Because this box is really cool. Could you sign me up for more?" I actually rarely post reviews, so since he mentioned it, I thought I would. He showed me each item, and we read the cards to learn more. He especially liked the nuclear grade zirconium and the Baobab seeds. He said that the items are really special and rare not things you would get anywhere else. The box made him want to learn more about the items, and we looked some things up on the internet together. He liked telling me what he knew already or had learned about the objects. The items related to different areas of science - biology, chemistry, physics and also touched upon history and culture. Cool box - thank you and can't wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Worth it!

May 24, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Keirstyn H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

I absolutely loved my first box! The items were crazy awesome and with the cards that came with it made it a really fun way to learn! I will definitely subscribe to this box again to share with my younger sisters so we can all explore and learn together!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Stuff

Dec 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Taylen G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

My Wife and I Love This Box, She ordered it for me because I’m into History and Fossils and I enjoy getting excited to see what cool pieces of history I’m gonna get each month. 100% Worth it.

Verified Purchase

Geek Glory!!

Feb 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan L.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

Awesome stuff, super neat to read the cards with my husband and kids. We're planning on making a display case for all the cool items you get that show the cards behind them. So exciting everytime we get a new box!!

Verified Purchase