Immerse yourself in the best science subscription box for adults! All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $25.00 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Gwen
1 Review
38 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

Awesome Fossils

Jun 19, 2020
Dan B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Originally got this box as a fun activity for my son and I. Very disappointed to not get a fossil since all of the advertised boxes have some sort of fossil. My son and I are mesozoic era buffs, but we're also big fans of the cenozoic and hadean eras as well....but to not get anything was a big let down. Aside from the meteorite sample the rest of the items were 'meh'.

I understand that the box is meant to always be a surprise and could literally be anything (with a box called 'matter'), but was still expecting a fossil of some sort.

On a 3 month plan, so I'll change my review if the next boxes are better.

Ok the next boxes contained some awesome fossils that still catch my sons' and I's attention to this day. Renewing the 3 month plan for the COVID summer months!

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 28, 2019

Hi Dan, Sorry if we didn't live up to your expectations this time. We try to include a fossil in most months, but due the rare nature of fossils it isn't always possible. Good news though, our September box will include a fossil!

A warning to British customers

Jun 16, 2020
Laura S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am yet to receive my box. But I wanted to warn British customers about the additional shipping fees that unfortunately, in my eyes, make it not worth it.

I subscribed month-by-month so that I could get just 1 box for my partner's birthday. That cost $39.95.

Add on shipping, and it came to $51.97.

I then received a letter this morning saying I need to pay import tax of £17.78 (roughly $22.51) before I can receive the box.

That's $74.48 for one box.

I wish I had known this before even getting the month by month subscription. It's just not worth it.

Verified Purchase

Worth it!

May 24, 2020
Keirstyn H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I absolutely loved my first box! The items were crazy awesome and with the cards that came with it made it a really fun way to learn! I will definitely subscribe to this box again to share with my younger sisters so we can all explore and learn together!

Verified Purchase

"Could you sign me up for more?"

May 01, 2020
Marla V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bought this box for our 11 year old son. When he opened it, he literally said "Are you going to write a review on Yelp or something like that? Because this box is really cool. Could you sign me up for more?" I actually rarely post reviews, so since he mentioned it, I thought I would. He showed me each item, and we read the cards to learn more. He especially liked the nuclear grade zirconium and the Baobab seeds. He said that the items are really special and rare not things you would get anywhere else. The box made him want to learn more about the items, and we looked some things up on the internet together. He liked telling me what he knew already or had learned about the objects. The items related to different areas of science - biology, chemistry, physics and also touched upon history and culture. Cool box - thank you and can't wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

What you expect!

Jan 30, 2020
Skyla M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is awesome and exactly what you'd expect! A well put together box with nice items and cards that go along with each item. Everything in the box is high quality.

Verified Purchase

Amazing Customer Service!

Mar 04, 2020
Amanda S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Amazing customer service!

I ordered this as a gift for my Dad and he LOVED it. Unfortunately the box arrived late, but I was offered free shipping as consolation. Upon arrival, the box was full of super interesting artifacts and stones (I ordered the Holiday Box), however a couple items were damaged. To compensate, the company sent me a brand new box, Free of Charge, which arrived quickly and in perfect condition.

Despite some hiccups along the way, the staff were so helpful (I communicated with Terry Mudge) and the items were so cool! My dad absolutely loves this gift -- it is such a unique idea for the men in your life who are impossible to shop for!

We All LOVE This Box!!

Dec 30, 2018
Tesala B.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got this for my 11 year old Daughter for Christmas and she ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! When she opened it everyone stopped opening presents for about 20 minutes just to look at everything. I REALLY ENJOYED IT and so did everyone else! I really want to thank you for putting together such an AMAZING box! This is one of the most EDUCATIONAL, FUN and UNIQUE boxes I've come across yet. I suggest you find something to safely store all of your WONDERFUL FINDS and their INFORMATION CARDS. Or, you could even find a place to display your INTERESTING SPECIMENS of MATTER!! My daughter and I can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Original!

Apr 13, 2019
Rebecca R.
5 Reviews
16 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

The best box for science lovers and for people that love to collect really special pieces!

Verified Purchase

Jan 31, 2019
Sandra S.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Gave subscription to MATTER to my grandson for Christmas.
He was thrilled, said it was one of his favorite presents...
It contained scientific MATTER with detailed explanations for all the objects in the crate. Very pleased with Cratejoy

Verified Purchase

Very interesting

Aug 12, 2019
Tomko
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really liked the cards that came with each item. Each item was very interesting and made you think more about the world around you! Can’t wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 23, 2019
Ceci R.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved the gift even said and I quote “best gift i’ve Had in a long time” then proceeded to examine his things... raccoon penis bone had me laughing. Great box!!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

May 11, 2019
Andrea H.
46 Reviews
38 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So cool. There I said it hands down the coolest box ever. For anyone who likes to learn and be fascinated. Beautifully curated well done guys!

Verified Purchase

Gave as gift -recipient loved it

Jan 15, 2019
Allan R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

Gave this to my father. He loves oddities and sciencey things. He was very skeptical, I think, but when he received the 1st box he absolutely loved it. Already considering renewing for his birthday

Verified Purchase