MATTER

by MATTER
The popular monthly box for serious science enthusiasts of all ages. All science, no fluff.
120 reviews

Plans as low as

$33.25/ month

Buying Options

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review
120

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase

Box of science fun and beautiful to disp

Dec 28, 2020
Allison T.
5 Reviews
3 Pictures
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very cool box of science.. neat to display or investigate! Detailed descriptions and history and science information on a card for each of items included.
Fast shipping and quality packaging. All the items are fantastic and varied.

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Gwen
1 Review
50 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

Delayed shipping but nice product

4 days ago
Tory J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Product is very nice, but never received a shipping notice and package came much later than expected. Would have had no problem if there was any communication from the company, or realistic expectations for shipping time. Reached out to the company when package hadn't arrived when expected and never heard back.

Verified Purchase

Excellent box for weirdos

Jun 10, 2021
Elizabeth F.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my absolute favorite box! My fiance and I look forward to opening our Matter Box every month. The collections are extremely well curated, with pieces in each that range from fun and silly to truly unique and bizarre. Each box has at least one item that makes us go "Whoa!" Each piece also comes with a card that describes the item, and we've learned a ton!
We're about to get our 8th box this month, and it's been a joy to watch the curation and design grow and improve as time goes. We're delighted with this team and all they've done in producing this subscription box, and we both look forward to each new box!
10/10, would highly recommend this box to anyone who has an interest in the strange and unusual.

Verified Purchase

Matter box is amazing!

May 07, 2021
Amber K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this as a present for my aunt who loves science, and she loved it! The pieces in the box are perfect for anyone who is interested about history, geology, science, space, and much more!

Verified Purchase

Delivers awesomeness, every time

Mar 15, 2021
Ellie G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I get totally geeked about this box every time. I now own a little piece of NASA, 100 millions year-old fosseis, and several unique minerals. I haven't quite figured out how to best store them all, but I love this crate!

Verified Purchase

Box of Matter

Feb 12, 2021
Lisa G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I enjoyed this box. Everything was interesting and I learned things.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Curation!

May 21, 2021
Natalie V.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gave my 17 year old science loving niece this box as a gift, she absolutely loved everything in it ! The curating was great!

Verified Purchase

The whole family enjoys every box!

Apr 18, 2021
M B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

For the scientific or just curious in your family. Each box gets shared with everyone from grandparents to grandchildren and always includes lots of oohs and ahs at weekly family meetings. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Apr 17, 2021
Jennifer M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My 10 year old son loves getting his box of matter. Interesting and fun items! It’s definitely sparked him to further explore all things science.

Verified Purchase

Renewed subscription

Feb 21, 2021
Lisa G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bought a 3 month subscription for one of my sons for Christmas. He likes it so much that I’ve renewed it for another 3.

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 20, 2021
Melanie B.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I loved the items i received, especially the tooth.

Verified Purchase

Geek Glory!!

Feb 15, 2021
Megan L.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awesome stuff, super neat to read the cards with my husband and kids. We're planning on making a display case for all the cool items you get that show the cards behind them. So exciting everytime we get a new box!!

Verified Purchase

Awesome

Feb 10, 2021
Crystal M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I thoroughly enjoyed my items and loved the info cards that came with them.

Verified Purchase

Great purchase for any age!!!

Jan 17, 2021
Greer S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My grandson is 9 years old. He loves receiving his Matter box each month. The items are interesting and professionally presented. I have recommended this box to a lot of people.

Verified Purchase

Perfect for aspiring geologists

Jan 17, 2021
Christina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My 13 year old son is an avid rock and fossil collector. I thought I had run out of gifts for his birthday after 10+ years of buying him science related kits and books. Then I discovered this product. The items in each kit have been interesting, exciting and age appropriate.

Verified Purchase

Our Family’s Favorite Box

Jan 16, 2021
Jayne K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is our whole family’s favorite box. We get so excited when it comes. We all open it together and spend hours with all the goodies. Then one of my daughters sets up the bookshelf display with all the past box items. Great conversation pieces! Truly special box!

Verified Purchase

A cabinet of curiosities

Jan 14, 2021
Deborah H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this subscription for my 8 year old son, which is a tricky age but it is a perfect fit. He loved every item (the mosasaur tooth, especially) and he's treating the included fact cards with a reverence normally reserved for Pokemon cards.
I love that these have the perfect feel of treasure that little boys love. If we lived near one, I'm sure his pockets would have baobob seeds in them, but seeing them in our box is a pretty good second.
The box is quite educational, and I think every item will grow with him and add to his collection of curiosities. Really glad I made the purchase.

Verified Purchase

VERY Impressed. Love the NFT

Today
Dave P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I especiialy like the research cards explaining all the items. My favorite thing has been the NFT. I wasn't sure what an NFT was when I heard about them, but thanks to MATTER, I know what they are and I also own one! They taught me how to start a digital wallet, and sent me an NFT for free. Great service!

nerd heaven

3 days ago
Bobby F.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Im impressed with the quality and attention to details each month. The products are actually decent quality and their online shop has even more. Im in nerd heaven.

Worth Every Penny

3 days ago
Amber P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

As an adult who is into science, let me just say FINALLY. Thank you for not dumbing this down. Adults like learning new things too! Worth every penny!

what more can I say?

3 days ago
Frank L.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Simply amazing

Parent of the year

3 days ago
Jj M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

100/10 best gift at the bday handsdown

better than I thought

5 days ago
James H.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just got my first box and like this is way cooler than I thought it would be. The older pics in the reviews don't do it justice. y'all put a lot of effort into this thanks