The best science subscription box. All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $34.98 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Gwen
2 Reviews
33 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

This was such a fun and interesting box!

Nov 06, 2019
Matthew W.
15 Reviews
33 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really loved this box! What an amazing assortment of items that are interesting and fun to learn about, I do think the price is a little high, and would be much more likely to keep getting this if were a little bit lower, but it’s a fun box to get every now and then. If you have children or grandchildren, I can’t think of a much better box to get to be educational and fun.

Verified Purchase

Wonderfully unique

Dec 03, 2019
Stanton H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

MATTER is truly a unique & thoughtful gift. I love this concept so much & have gotten so much positive feedback from my recipients that I have given a gift subscription to three different people!! I hope they are able to remain so well curated & unique for years to come (I want them to succeed but I secretly hope too many people don’t find out about this!).

Verified Purchase

What you expect!

Jan 30, 2020
Skyla M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is awesome and exactly what you'd expect! A well put together box with nice items and cards that go along with each item. Everything in the box is high quality.

Verified Purchase

#1 gift request in our house

Oct 23, 2019
Jennifer V.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We LOVE matter boxes! We did a 6 month subscription for our teen son last Christmas and it's #1 on his list for this year. The seller ships out just as stated, emails are sent with tracking numbers (ships fast!), and if you EVER have a question about an item in the box or wish to purchase an additional box, the seller has AMAZING communication. Because of the communication alone, we've purchased additional special past boxes, as well as ones past our original subscription. The seller makes it very easy. The items are of great quality and there is always a card explaining each item. We've recieved things from Nasa, fossils, and items we've never heard of before, but are very interesting to learn about. If you love Science, you will look forward to this every month.

Verified Purchase

Amazing Customer Service!

Mar 04, 2020
Amanda S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Amazing customer service!

I ordered this as a gift for my Dad and he LOVED it. Unfortunately the box arrived late, but I was offered free shipping as consolation. Upon arrival, the box was full of super interesting artifacts and stones (I ordered the Holiday Box), however a couple items were damaged. To compensate, the company sent me a brand new box, Free of Charge, which arrived quickly and in perfect condition.

Despite some hiccups along the way, the staff were so helpful (I communicated with Terry Mudge) and the items were so cool! My dad absolutely loves this gift -- it is such a unique idea for the men in your life who are impossible to shop for!

We All LOVE This Box!!

Dec 30, 2018
Tesala B.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got this for my 11 year old Daughter for Christmas and she ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! When she opened it everyone stopped opening presents for about 20 minutes just to look at everything. I REALLY ENJOYED IT and so did everyone else! I really want to thank you for putting together such an AMAZING box! This is one of the most EDUCATIONAL, FUN and UNIQUE boxes I've come across yet. I suggest you find something to safely store all of your WONDERFUL FINDS and their INFORMATION CARDS. Or, you could even find a place to display your INTERESTING SPECIMENS of MATTER!! My daughter and I can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Original!

Apr 13, 2019
Rebecca R.
5 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

The best box for science lovers and for people that love to collect really special pieces!

Verified Purchase

Jan 31, 2019
Sandra S.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Gave subscription to MATTER to my grandson for Christmas.
He was thrilled, said it was one of his favorite presents...
It contained scientific MATTER with detailed explanations for all the objects in the crate. Very pleased with Cratejoy

Verified Purchase

Very interesting

Aug 12, 2019
Tomko
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really liked the cards that came with each item. Each item was very interesting and made you think more about the world around you! Can’t wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 23, 2019
Ceci R.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved the gift even said and I quote “best gift i’ve Had in a long time” then proceeded to examine his things... raccoon penis bone had me laughing. Great box!!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

May 11, 2019
Andrea H.
46 Reviews
35 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So cool. There I said it hands down the coolest box ever. For anyone who likes to learn and be fascinated. Beautifully curated well done guys!

Verified Purchase

Gave as gift -recipient loved it

Jan 15, 2019
Allan R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

Gave this to my father. He loves oddities and sciencey things. He was very skeptical, I think, but when he received the 1st box he absolutely loved it. Already considering renewing for his birthday

Verified Purchase

Great box!!

Jan 14, 2019
Andrea S.
4 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My 6 year old loves this box!! She collects rocks, crystals and fossils. So this is right up her alley. One of her favorites is the bird call in last month's box. I subscribed for 3 months. We have 1 box left and she asked today if we can keep getting it so I'll resubscribe after our next box arrives. Thank you!!

Verified Purchase

PLEASE REVISE PRIOR REVIEW....

Jan 01, 2019
Susan F.
5 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I had previously posted a 3 star review but after emailing customer service my rating has changed to 5 stars. Its excellent!!!! Can't wait until next month's box!!!

Verified Purchase

Interesting mix

Dec 24, 2018
Alesia S.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

MATTER holds our family's interest. Awaiting the next box with anticipation. Great to discuss scientific rules, etc. Was surprised at the range of items included!! Very cool!!

Verified Purchase

A beautiful collection of oddities!

Oct 09, 2018
Hannah V.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I can't believe I now have an authentic dinosaur tooth and a vial of cephalopod ink! This box is a real treat for anyone interested in science and natural history, and I can't wait to receive my next box. I promised myself I would only keep a subscription to a truly amazing box, and this one has exceeded my expectations! Thank you for making these artifacts available to us.

Verified Purchase

Unique and wonderful!

Aug 29, 2018