Box of Matter

by MATTER
A monthly science box of collectible scientific artifacts and gadgets to feed your curious mind!
120 reviews

Plans as low as

$29.99/ month

Buying Options

Box of Matter reviewsReviews

Write a Review
120

Sean P, WA

Nov 13, 2020
Sean P.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very unique! Cool items. We're using some of this stuff for stocking stuffers for the kids this year (b9 and g11) versus just a bunch of candy. The curation is great and the items truly feel unique.

Verified Purchase

Amazing...First of its kind

Apr 15, 2018
Nicole T.
7 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

This box was the first box I have ever received like this its amazing and so educational. Its like having little pieces of the museum that you are allowed touch & play with. My kids loved it and these specimens intrigued them to look up more info on our pieces of matter. * I received this box at no cost for review purposes* But my opinions are my own & I am not affiliated with this company.

Verified Purchase

Love it second box was my favorite

Jun 08, 2018
Beverly L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

The cards are extremely well made that describe each object sent in your box. I'm extremely pleased. The UV light and uranium was my favorite. I love the unusual .

Verified Purchase

Cool

Apr 08, 2019
Dennis O.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Much cooler than I thought. I have given as a gift twice to teenagers. They loved them

Verified Purchase

May 02, 2019
Mike Z.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great box. I got this for my 11 year old son's birthday. He loved getting a box every month and the 3-month subscription was worth the $100.
Interesting items that I wouldn't think of getting myself. The cards that explain the items were also great! If possible, we'd like to learn more but we just googled stuff and found plenty.

Verified Purchase

Fascinating to all ages

May 12, 2019
Holly S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to this box mostly to share with my grandchildren, but their parents were equally interested in the contents. 5 star reviews all around the table and multiple "very cool" comments.

Verified Purchase

An incredible gift!

Jan 13, 2019
Mandy M.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

This was my favorite gift that I gave to my husband for Christmas! He loved how unique everything is and he can’t wait to display it! Thank you, Matter Box, for making these special pieces accessible to the world!

Verified Purchase

Super COOL!

Apr 07, 2019
Amy C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My 10 yr. old girl absolutely LOVED this box and so did I!! It makes learning science fun and it provides something tangible to remind her of what she has learned. The information cards are highly informative and detailed (I appreciate that). Thank you Terry for making and executing a great product. We are already looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

Awesome

Jun 18, 2019
Sabrina R.
7 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is probably the coolest subscription box I've ever come across. I'm a huge science nerd and I love this.

Verified Purchase

Great gift!

Jun 07, 2019
Richard F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We are beyond satisfied with our subscription. Every box has a handful of real, interesting, educational, stuff. We all love it, from my 5 year old to my 46 year old.

Verified Purchase

Matter box is amazing!

May 07, 2021
Amber K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this as a present for my aunt who loves science, and she loved it! The pieces in the box are perfect for anyone who is interested about history, geology, science, space, and much more!

Verified Purchase

Box of Matter

Feb 12, 2021
Lisa G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I enjoyed this box. Everything was interesting and I learned things.

Verified Purchase

A treasure trove of info & goodies!

May 13, 2019
Leeann
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have now received my second box of matter, it has been so very interesting and quite mind blowing to be able to hold some of the things I have received, I have loved this box by far more then any other, thank you Terry. 🥰

Verified Purchase

Did Not Disappoint

Aug 10, 2019
Sharyl R.
3 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is so cool.

Verified Purchase

Delivers awesomeness, every time

Mar 15, 2021
Ellie G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I get totally geeked about this box every time. I now own a little piece of NASA, 100 millions year-old fosseis, and several unique minerals. I haven't quite figured out how to best store them all, but I love this crate!

Verified Purchase

#1 gift request in our house

Oct 23, 2019
Jennifer V.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We LOVE matter boxes! We did a 6 month subscription for our teen son last Christmas and it's #1 on his list for this year. The seller ships out just as stated, emails are sent with tracking numbers (ships fast!), and if you EVER have a question about an item in the box or wish to purchase an additional box, the seller has AMAZING communication. Because of the communication alone, we've purchased additional special past boxes, as well as ones past our original subscription. The seller makes it very easy. The items are of great quality and there is always a card explaining each item. We've recieved things from Nasa, fossils, and items we've never heard of before, but are very interesting to learn about. If you love Science, you will look forward to this every month.

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Jun 11, 2019
Roxanne Y.
6 Reviews
3 Pictures
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is amazing!!!! I can't wait to share this with my granddaughters. Things are smaller than I would have expected but what they are and where they came from is just amazing.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Box

Sep 13, 2019
Catherine C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Got this for Father's day for my son and his dad. They loved the boxes so much that we subscribed for another full year. We love the variety of scientific fields covered in each box!

Verified Purchase

Loved it

Oct 15, 2020
Ali M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It was so cool!

Verified Purchase

Renewed subscription

Feb 21, 2021
Lisa G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bought a 3 month subscription for one of my sons for Christmas. He likes it so much that I’ve renewed it for another 3.

Verified Purchase

Incredible!

Aug 15, 2019
Dave P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super interesting. Simply amazing!

Verified Purchase

Amazing!

Jul 15, 2020
Audrey V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These boxes are incredible, and the supplier is very easy to work with and flexible. They are not just for kids, as I learned a lot from them, too. Definitely reommend!

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 20, 2021
Melanie B.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I loved the items i received, especially the tooth.

Verified Purchase

What you expect!

Jan 30, 2020
Skyla M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is awesome and exactly what you'd expect! A well put together box with nice items and cards that go along with each item. Everything in the box is high quality.

Verified Purchase

A warning to British customers

Jun 16, 2020
Laura S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am yet to receive my box. But I wanted to warn British customers about the additional shipping fees that unfortunately, in my eyes, make it not worth it.
I subscribed month-by-month so that I could get just 1 box for my partner's birthday. That cost $39.95.
Add on shipping, and it came to $51.97.
I then received a letter this morning saying I need to pay import tax of £17.78 (roughly $22.51) before I can receive the box.
That's $74.48 for one box.
I wish I had known this before even getting the month by month subscription. It's just not worth it.

Verified Purchase