Challenging mystery boxes full of puzzles & ciphers with tales rooted in history

Plans as low as $27.50 / month

Madmen & Heroes reviewsReviews

Write a Review
8

Great Box!

Sep 05, 2019
Sarah G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very interesting story to follow. Loved all the puzzles and cyphers! Definitely a great box if you’re looking for something a little challenging but still fun.

Verified Purchase

No storyline thread - not worth the $

Nov 29, 2019
David W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Puzzles were ok, but no overall storyline. We solved the last of several unrelated puzzles and were done. We spent ten minutes trying to figure out what we missed. Nothing. Solve these unrelated puzzles and go about your business.

Not well done. Not worth the time or money.

Cancelled immediately after realizing we were done.

Verified Purchase
Madmen & Heroes said...Nov 29, 2019

We are so sorry our box didn't meet your expectations. This story line is based on what actually happened during this great historic event, so it won't have the same feel as the usual murder mysteries out there. Although some parts of the story are fictionalized to make the overall experience flow, part of our learning mission includes not directly contradicting real life events. Consequently, our boxes won't be the same experience as the pure fiction stories available, but for those who like a deep dive into historic events with a sense of being there for the unfolding of monumental events, there is a great deal of information to explore in the stories. We like to offer our subscribers a variety of experiences, so although...

Seller

Great fun!

Feb 10, 2019
Wendy F.
23 Reviews
1 Picture
24 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Lovely box with lots of detail and the real life history tie in made it so very interesting. Authentic looking collectibles make this box one of the more well made ones worth the price. I look forward to playing more mysteries with the Resystance in the future!

Verified Purchase

5 Stars!

Jun 15, 2018
Gordana R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Overall

In my review above, I forgot a very important sentence. When I said that I didn’t know the team by name, and that we’ve only ever communicated through email, I wanted to also says that they always make me feel like they honestly care about my experience.

Amazing customer service!

Jun 15, 2018
Gordana R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Overall

When my box came, I opened it up and was immediately intrigued by the contents, and cursing myself for promising to wait for my son so we could do it together.

History and puzzles and current technology all woven together in an experience that I absolutely love.

The puzzles aren’t too easy to solve, but also aren’t so difficult that you can’t figure them out without hints (although they do provide them if you need them, I very stubbornly refused to look!).

What stands out even more than the product itself are the people behind it.

I had some unique shipping hurdles to overcome. The team behind this product gave the best customer service I have seen in a LONG time. I don’t know any of their names, and my dealings have been always through email. They are quick and responsive, and really want to help you.

The only negative thing I can find, is that I didn’t know about them sooner.

If you like puzzles and cyphers, and history, without serial killers and horror, I would suggest joining the Resystance!!

Got my box!

Nov 30, 2018
Christina R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall

Looking forward to enjoying it!

Verified Purchase

Really Happy I Ordered- Quality Puzzles

Jun 13, 2019
Ashley B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE - There was an issue with my delivery and I emailed them. Received a human response right away, they were very kind and helpful.

I purchased the 3-month package as a gift for my boyfriend. We love mystery games/puzzle boxes and crush at escape rooms, so a subscription seemed like something we'd love. I had been wary in the past, worried that the experience and challenge might disappoint. Because Madmen & Hero's mixes puzzles in with real historical events I was really intrigued and took a chance - and I'm so glad I did!! We received our first box, and still working through it. It's very cool, very clever, I'm very satisfied with the level of difficulty and impressed by the thoughtfulness of the package. Many great at-home date nights to come!

Verified Purchase

Creative, Challenging Puzzles

Apr 11, 2019
Agnes P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We've done a couple of these boxes now, and they are very well thought through. We found a couple content issues, contacted them, and they were very prompt and thoughtful in their responses - they truly care about a fun and interesting experience! Looking forward to more!

Verified Purchase
Buying Options