Magical Reads Crate YOUNG ADULT Monthly Crate - all sales from this website are final please make note of this before making a purchase.

by Magical Reads Crate
Monthly Young Adult book crate catered to adults!
95 reviews

Plans as low as

$34.00/ month

Buying Options

Magical Reads Crate YOUNG ADULT Monthly Crate - all sales from this website are final please make note of this before making a purchase. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
95

They just want their money

Aug 29, 2019
Susan N.
19 Reviews
1 Picture
30 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wanted to cancel box due to health issues and bills that suddenly came it (the box wasn’t shipped) they said this was against. Guidelines. It didn’t matter that I have cancer The box wasn’t even shipped yet. They wouldn’t budge. Very upset with this company. Wouldn’t give them a try

Verified Purchase
Magical Reads Crate said...Jun 11, 2020

Hello, your crate was already in the process of shipment and could not be cancelled. We let you know this via email, we begin shipping the 28th of the month and a cancellation the 29th of the month is too late. Also as it does say on our website, faq, and terms and conditions all crate purchases are final sale. We thank you for giving us a try at Magical Reads Crate.

Bad Customer Service

Sep 11, 2020
Chenoa M.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bad Customer Service, Unfriendly, and Not Helpful!!! Don't expect anything from this company if you have an issue. They are not here to appease or resolve any of your issues, BAD BAD BAD - I Do Not recommend ordering from this company, the items are cheap anyway

Verified Purchase
Magical Reads Crate said...Sep 11, 2020

Hello, as we told you via email we cannot cancel a box when it is already being packed at our fulfilment center. This policy is very clear on our website. It is very unfortunate that you chose to leave a 1 star review because we could not break our rules for you. You threatened to leave a negative review if we did not comply but we will not be bullied. This is especially sad for us after we replaced your lost/stolen box for free for you at your word. Thank you for giving us a try. -Team Magical Reads Crate

Beware

Nov 01, 2020
Jaira H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I subscribed for this box in early April, I like others was spending more time at home and figured this would be a great form of entertainment and some excitement. However I was not very impressed with the box, my first box took a long time to arrive and when it did there was a broken mug. I had a 3 month subscription. Fast foreword to August it auto renewed and I kicked myself for not cancelling beforehand but it was fine I went on and cancelled. I did not get an email confirming the cancelation which I thought was odd but at least it was over with. Today my subscription AUTO RENEWED AGAIN. Y'all beware before subscribing and giving your card information, they make it difficult to unsubscribe, I requested a refund but of course no luck.

Verified Purchase
Magical Reads Crate said...Nov 01, 2020

Hello, we we let you know via email today that your account was never canceled. Once you cancel you get a cancellation email and it does not renew again. Also we never sent out a mug to you so I am sure you are confusing this box with another box by mistake. We also emailed you your account history which shows no cancellation was ever made on this account. We have not had any emails from you regarding this account until today which we responded instantly to.
Thank you,
Team Magical Reads Crate

Disappointed

Jan 12, 2021
Lori R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Quality
Curation

I was very disappointed how political this last box was. It was certainly not for my 12 year old.

Verified Purchase
Magical Reads Crate said...Jan 12, 2021

Hello, we are a book box for adults our books are all rated young adult ages 14+. You ordered the secrets pride and feminism December box and that is the box that was sent to you. Please read cratejoy listings fully before placing an order to avoid this type of confusion. The photo and description of the box you received was posted on the listing when you ordered. Thank you team Magical Reads Crate

Not age appropriate

Mar 10, 2021
Sherilyn V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I enjoyed the items, but I got this box for my 12 year old daughter, and the book selections were not appropriate for her by any means.

Verified Purchase
Magical Reads Crate said...Mar 10, 2021

Hello, while we are glad you enjoyed all the items we would like to point out that this is a book box for adults as our listing states. A book box catered to adults for adults that love to read YA. All of our books included are young adult and all are rated for ages 14+. We also state on the listing that we proudly include young adult books with lbgtq characters and authors of color. It is important to read a shops listing prior to making a purchase.

SUPER DISAPPOINTED: Items & overall box

Apr 09, 2021
Andy G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super disappointed. For how expensive this box is compared to other box subscriptions I've tried, this doesn't have much value to me. I also think it's confusing to the subscriber. I thought I was getting a different box and instead my box came with:
- A (cheaply made) Frozen lip scrub (I care nothing about Frozen so this was odd to have in my box...)
-A bookmark (it was cute)
-A hardcover book (looks like a good read)
-2 bathbombs (again, cheaply made and tiny)
-2 individual packets of tea (weird)
-1 turtle bracelet
-1 frozen sticker thing????
Not a great box. I chose YA book box because I love the genre and thought of YA such as The Host, Shadow & Bone, The Selection, Divergent, etc. This box was more middle-grade student geared. I think that whoever assembles the items should coordinate with whoever is marketing them so a clear image is presented.

Verified Purchase
Magical Reads Crate said...Apr 09, 2021

Hello, we'd like to thank you for giving our box a try. Our YA box theme for March was Frozen, so we are confused why you would purchase the frozen box if you had no interest in it as it was described as having frozen items in it. The african bathbombs included are actually luxury bathbombs, the handmade lip scrub from an etsy shop is a very large size that can last a long time, the hardcover novel by itself is $18 and also came with a letter from the author and a signed bookplate from the author, plus the other items included in the box bookmark, sticker, bracelet, and tea for sipping while reading your new novel, and a...