Magickal Folk is currently sold out!
Celebrating Home & Hearth Magick of Fall

Plans as low as $4.00 / month

Magickal Folk reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Shipment not received

Jun 15, 2018
Suzanne B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The original delivery date was 12/7, by using the USPS tracking site, I saw the package was undeliverable and returned to the merchant. Due to my error, my original shipping address was incorrect. I take full responsibility for the bad address. I updated my address at Cratejoy and contacted the seller to see about gettng redelivery.

I was told by the merchant to go to their direct website and update my address information, as well as, send additional postage money via paypal before my shipment could be resent.
I tried to login and update my address information at magickalfolk.com; however, you cannot create an account/login until you select a subscription and checkout.

I responded to the merchant explaining I updated my address information at Cratejoy and was concerned that establishing an account at the merchant's direct website would create a duplicate subscription. I was again told to go to their website and using my email address as my login name to update my address, that it wasn't necessary to place an order. Once more, I tried to get to account options to accurately input my address. I repeatedly made attempts to bypass the cart and credit card information fields, but the only way the site creates an account is to have all fields filled with valid information and checkout.

In addition to the above, I tried asking for a password reset, I never did get an email with instructions. Not surprising since you need to be an existing customer with...

Verified Purchase

May

Jun 15, 2018
Mariola S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

I got "a magical tea".

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Renee K.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Disappointed in this month's box. Not the kind of stuff I would spend $20 on.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Melissa L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Kind of disappointed since I thought I'd be getting raw crystals in the alchemy kit, but I do like the essential oil roller. It is only $10/month so I think I'll stick with it for the Essential oils. (It is a plastic ball, but hey, it's only $10)
I'll probably try the bigger kits at some point too!

Verified Purchase

No one answers emails

Jun 15, 2018
Aravelis P.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I ordered the witches trunk which in the description say it ships right out, that was a week ago and no email or tracking number. I've also been reaching out to the magical folks for about a week with no response. I ordered 3 different boxes from them and wanted to discuss a few things but I can't seem to be able to reach anyone, no matter how many emails I write.
I'm sure the box is great but there is no customer service. How are you to know or be able to remedy any situations that your customers may have if you never reply?!
No matter how good your box is when it does arrive, I will be canceling because this lack of acknowledgement to this particular customer is completely unacceptable.

Verified Purchase

Good some months...eh

Jun 15, 2018
Maya S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I get the meditation kit. This month (May) I got an herbal/flower mix packet, a small andalusite and a blue lace agate stone. The presentation is nice but I feel like the "incense" part of the package is always a waste that I won't use (Last month I got rose petals, the month before a small packet of powder incense, I've never gotten sticks or cones), and that the two stones I get every month combined aren't worth the $10 I pay because they're often small and pretty common. I live in Hawaii where stones are often much more expensive because of shipping and if I were to buy the same two stones I got this month at a local store they'd be around $6 together, and probably cheaper on the mainland.
I enjoy the surprise but every month I feel uncertain on whether or not I want to continue my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Dont do it!!!!

Jun 15, 2018
Dianne L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

A joke .... not even worth the shipping!!!! Try the Moon box better everything. I received a piece of wood a cheap necklace and some bath salts ..... nothing like the description....don't waste your money ...you might have more fun flinging a 10 out the car window.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Jun 15, 2018
Jennifer G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

$20 plus shipping for the Witches Trunk Show. I received 4 items that look like they came from the 99 cent store. I cancelled immediately after one box. It all went in the trash. I am very angry and disappointed. Such a rip off. Save your money and buy what you want. Don’t let someone scam you into thinking you’re getting amazing things you can’t get in your own.

Verified Purchase

The boxes themselves are okay

Jun 15, 2018
Beth E.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Out of the four boxes I received, I really only truly enjoyed one of them, so obviously this subscription service and I don't match. However, most of the items included were good quality, and I felt I got my money's worth, for the most part.

I will caution against the social aspect here. When you subscribe, you will be given a list of groups to join and told that this is what the subscription is really about. If you want to enjoy your subscription, do not join the groups. Don't do it. The groups are very clique-y, shaming, and there's some cultlike behavior. They will completely ruin your experience, unless you like joining and being a part of "religious" groups.

Verified Purchase

SCAM

Jun 15, 2018
Dian J.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I purchased a January box then get an email 2 weeks later stating that they were all sold out. So now I get an email saying they are charging my account AGAIN. So 2 charges NO BOX. SCAM

SCAM

SCAM

SCAM

don't open a company if you can't process your funds correctly!!!!!! Very upset and want my money back!!! Take me off your subscription box

SCAM

Verified Purchase

Disappointed.

Jun 15, 2018
Danielle A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

I ordered the $5 crystal box which was supposed to include four stones and one crystal. I only received the four stones and no crystal. I'm very disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Just don't.

Jun 15, 2018
Annette N.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I started off liking Magickal Folk just fine. The boxes were okay, and there is a cute little community on Facebook. But over the months, the quality of the boxes wavered significantly. Each time the box sucked, I just credited to the theme not being something I'm into.

But the September Eclectic Witchery box was just horrid. First, a handmade Odin's cross. Okay, cute. Nice thought to hand make that. I can appreciate that.

Second,a buffalo horn, hollowed out and carved with a spiral at the tip. Hm. Okay, now I feel like we've entered into a practice I don't have. Whatever.

But then I saw the madder powder which was to be used to inscribe symbols on a coyote bone. Seriously, you read that right. Coyote. As in a North American animal that has absolutely nothing to do with the Norse pantheon. Zilch. Oh, there were also a few sprigs of some unnamed evergreen. Seriously. Those had to have been thrown in on a whim because they had nothing else to do.

When I went to the nice little Facebook community and pointed out that Coyote has nothing to do with and that you can't just willy nilly use any old bone without considering the animal, I was promptly exiled from the island. My comment was deleted. This is what Magickal Folk has devolved into: a community that panders to...

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jun 15, 2018
Dawn L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I got my package today and obviously I wasn't expecting a lot for the cheaper boxes but I wanted to see what they looked like before I ordered the more expensive ones. My oil was leaking all over the inside of the package and my pendulum was falling apart :(

Verified Purchase

Crystal Alchemy Kit

Jun 15, 2018
Amber L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I just received my first Crystal Alchemy Kit, and I'm not horribly impressed. I was excited about this subscription because it was highly recommended by a few of the gals in my coven. However, when I open a package and have pine needles and sunflower seeds dump into my lap being called an herbal incense, I'm not exactly going to be very happy and that is how my morning started. The oil was nice, and it smelled beautiful, but the rotting hazelnut I received wasn't so fantastic.

Verified Purchase

not worth the price

Jun 15, 2018
Jennie M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I have no need for random dried herbs in a little bag or some small bottle of mystery oil with no label. Granted an email goes out explaining whats in the envelope but nothing is labeled and I wasnt thrilled. We get monthlies from other places and this one was a waste of money.

Verified Purchase

Nope

Jun 15, 2018
Sara U.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Wouldn’t recommend. For the $30 I received two wax melters (the same ones) and two small candles. No info on what they are for or what is in them. Also. This isn’t listed as a candle subscription. The candles were small als NOT worth $5 a piece... very sad.

Verified Purchase
Magickal Folk said...Apr 23, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Sara. I am focused on providing the highest quality and ethically sustained products I can find. We work with partners who use organic, all natural ingredients for our handmade products. I took a look at your subscription and found that you had chosen the handmade spell candles as your pick in the $20 witches trunk show. I'm sorry to hear this box wasn't a good fit for you but am wishing you all the best.

Seller

Basic

Jun 15, 2018
Larissa V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got the basic pagan kit. And I realize it's an into into the world type of box but I wasn't impressed at all. I got a bracelet and dried herbs and such. Now I appreciate the packaging but I am a little sadden by the fact that it's 25 bucks with tax 29 .Maybe I'm subscribing to the wrong type of kit . I will give it one more shot. Maybe I got a "boring" month. I just hope it's more of a variety and not just herbs in a bag

Verified Purchase

Eclectic Witchery

Jun 15, 2018
Cynthia
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

A friend told me about the Eclectic Witchery box and Cratejoy. March was my first box and I was very excited to receive it, but, very disappointed in what was in the box. It was geometry. There was a little metallic key, a small bag of herbs, a blank book to write in (I saw one almost identical at Dollar Tree) a small black bag and set of clear glass shapes. I didn't feel it was worth $39. I'm hoping the April box makes up for it, otherwise I'll be canceling my subscription that same day.

Verified Purchase

Tea subscription

Jun 15, 2018
Maggie S.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Overall

I have only been subscribed for two months now. The amout of tea in the package qas larger tham I expected and that was nice, but to give an honest review I will sau the Novmber 2017 tea Cauldron of Posey was bland. The December 2017 Nirvana countained allergens for me and so I could not enjoy it personally so I stuck it in a gift bag I assembled for a witchhy friend. I wish there was a way to know in advance if the the teas coming at me contained thing I am allergic to so I can cancel my order for that month.

SCAM

Jun 15, 2018
Dian J.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I purchased a January box then get an email 2 weeks later stating that they were all sold out. So now I get an email saying they are charging my account AGAIN. So 2 charges NO BOX. SCAM

SCAM

SCAM

SCAM

don't open a company if you can't process your funds correctly!!!!!! Very upset and want my money back!!! Take me off your subscription box

SCAM

Verified Purchase

Had to unsubscribe because of low qualit

Jun 15, 2018
Kaycie92
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months