Summer Series of Witchcraft and Magick

Plans as low as $7.00 / month

Magickal Folk reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Annoyed

Sep 05, 2019
Margaret C.
1 Review
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality

This is now my second time coming to cancel this subscription after noticing i got charged again.

Verified Purchase

Magical folk box

Apr 08, 2020
Diane M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

We haven't received it yet. But am looking forward to it. The pics you have look awesome so im sure we'll love it

Verified Purchase

No way is this worth looking at

Feb 26, 2020
Erika O.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very very disappointed!
Not worth the effort or the money.
Thanks

Verified Purchase
Magickal Folk said...Feb 29, 2020

Hi Erika! I understand the international shipping fees to South Africa being double the cost of the tea you ordered plus VAT would make this very expensive for you. My apologies, I wish I could ship to South Africa for less:( I do have combo options available to make the cost of shipping worth it. If you get a chance, please reach out to me and I will try to accommodate your needs in a affordable way!

A Disheartening Experience

Jun 15, 2018
Crystal
3 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

After a lot of thought and consideration I recently placed my first order with Magickal Folk. I decided to go with their largest box, The Good Golly Kit, and waited in anticipation for what I was positive would blow me away. The box was set in two shipments. The first one (the smaller of the two) was nothing special. It was "okay" for it was but I didn't mind. I knew I had a larger box coming and I figured that's where I would be amazed.

I got shipping notification for the "big box" and stalked tracking. When it arrived I was first of all surprised by the diminutive size of the box. I decided not to judge rationalizing that it could be filled with awesome quality products. I opened up the box and the first thing I noticed was the poor packaging. It looked like everything was shoved in there without much thought or consideration. It's a little thing but the care a company puts into their packaging says a lot.

I continued to hold out hope that the contents would wow me. I began pulling out the contents with anticipation ... excitement ... confusion ... disappointment. The box that was supposed to amaze me, the box I ordered specifically because it was the largest they had and I was expecting to be blown away, left me absolutely disappointed and dumbfounded. For what I paid for this box, ($78.50) I was expecting to be captivated and enchanted. You...

Verified Purchase

The Worst

May 06, 2019
Crystal L.
1 Review
1 Picture
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I ordered the large box and what a disappointment. 1 small candle stick, piece of small wood (supposedly from Ireland), small thing of loose incense, small oil, and a very scratched up star box. Looks like it came from the dollar store. Definitely not worth the money. Just awful. They could have at least thrown in a small tumbled crystal. I ordered the $39 after shipping it was $48.50.

Verified Purchase
Magickal Folk said...May 16, 2019

My deepest apologies for your disappointment. Did you receive my emails?

Never recieved

Feb 21, 2019
Melody K.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Never recieved the first shipment yet now being charged for a second.... Someine needs to contact me

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Oct 28, 2018
Stefanie W.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

This is my first time trying Magickal Folk and I have to say I am really dissatisfied. With shipping, this box cost me nearly $50 and all that was included were 2 packets of herbs, a candle poured into a cauldron, and a small dram of oil. I feel ripped off. I could have easily bought these items at a fraction of the cost at my local herb shop. I have subscribed to boxes that are half this price with double the assortment of items. I was so excited to have this for Samhain, I figured if you are going to advertise a special box for Samhain, it should be just that. Cancelled.

Verified Purchase

Not worth anyone’s money trust me

Apr 24, 2019
Mariah P.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

9 dollars on tea.. I can get it for less than that at my mother in laws Wiccan shop.

Verified Purchase

Underwhelming

Dec 24, 2018
Shawn S.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

First impressions are everything - and this box missed the mark. I paid for the most expensive option ($39) and the items received did not even remotely reflect value. A bread starter, really?

Shipping was very slow.

I would not recommend this crate.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed in October Fall Series Box

Oct 28, 2018
Jocelyn T.
10 Reviews
3 Pictures
18 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I was really excited about this box but I was expecting something different than what I received. That might be my fault, but for the price I thought there would be more than a candle, one oil, a small print, and three herbs/incense blends. The whole experience has left me feeling extremely let down so I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Witches Trunk Show did not deliver

Jul 22, 2018
Hayley L.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

For $24, I received a single small quartz point and a black dragon hold a pentagram that you hang on a wall, which was missing one of it's horns. But even if the item wasn't damaged, the box wasn't even close to as advertised. Per the description, "Expect 3-5 high-quality items that you could use on the altar, in ritual, in meditation or on the go!" I'd love to know where my other 1 to 3 items are, and why they failed to come close to the expectation set in their description. Just save your money folks.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Jun 15, 2018
Kaylan C.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I got the eclectic witchery box. I was super excited about it, however the excitement was unwarranted.
First of all the shipping practices suck. I got a shipping notification, and it hadn't even shipped. I got this notif the same day a friend of mine did and she got her box a week before I got mine. Don't send a shipping notif, if you're not shipping it.
Finally I got the box. I paid close to $40 for it, so I expected to be blown away! Nope.
Nothing in the box is worth $40 or even $20 or even $10. Combined it *might* be anywhere from $10-$20 worth of junk.
Please, I'm begging you, save your money and just buy individual items online yourself. You'll be much happier. I want to ask for a refund, but am afraid to because an ex customer told me she only got a partial refund and rudely told she was banned from the groups and no longer allowed to buy the boxes.
So... save your money!

Verified Purchase

Horrible Service and Cheap Products

Jun 15, 2018
Aki
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

Customer service for magical folk is horrible. The owner is very snobby and rude if given any kind lf negative feedback, and fails to fix issues with shipped subscriptions. The boxes themselves are not worth their price as the quality of items is very low. Crystal specimens are quite small, the themes are not coherent at all 9 times out of 10, and again the quality is that of a below par thrift store. My recommendation is save your money and buy a different subscription box. items are cheap and sub par, what you get with the monthly themes never make sense, and the customer service is less than satisfactory. the owner cant take critisism and attack you in email as well as mock you publicly in her group, essentially creating a free for all digital lynch mob where you get attacked by members and herself because you are not sucking up to her and stroking her ego. issues dont get resolved. missing items are not replaced even though she claims to have sent replacements. Seriously, go with a different subscription box. If i could give my 4 months of experience that got worse and worse every month a negative star rating i would. Magical Folk is NOT worth your time.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Blake B.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

I ordered the meditation and alchemy kits.
I'm extremely disappointed!
Overpriced for a low low low quality and worth of items! Each stone is less then 2$ anywhere else, the herbs weren't even at least in their own bag or pouch.
The candle was at least decent and the herbs it was made with will come very handy in a ritual I plan to do. But little herbal tea light candles are a dime a dozen.
Only thing that was actually nice was the oil, and it's the only thing that makes sense with the Samhien theme. But that's not what I ordered these kits for, I didn't want JUST the oil! I'll be taking my business elsewhere and I hope any newcomers reading this will do the same! Idk about their more expensive boxes, but if you're trying to be thrifty and save money, go order another create from someone else, you WILL be highly disappointed with Magickal Folk!

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Natasha K.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I really really wanted to love this box and I was really thrilled and super excited to get it,I was even going to do a you tube unboxing but my memory card was full!
Good thing because when I opened it I had an instant feeling of heaviness and regret. I knew instantly it was a mistake.
The box contained 3 different herbal small plastic bags a cheap wooden candle holder with a tiny cheap looking punched metal symbol. I was hoping for at least a nice wearable pendent,oh well.
There was a small white candle with some herbs stuck on it.
Also included was a lemon grass smelling oil had a pretty label.The smell didn't last more than 3 minutes on my skin also didn't smell good.
There was a somewhat small bag of tea,I tried it tonight and was disappointed in the flavor pretty bland.tge
The last item was bath salts in such a small container I almost threw it away in the box.The only reason I looked over and over for it is because I read on the paper of contained items it was included.

So many good reviews is why I tried this over priced box.
I feel that there are better boxes out there..
I will be unsubscribing.
I really feel guilty but I am not happy at all with my decision with Magical Folk.
Sorry to be such a downer but I wanted to help others like me who really had to sacrifice to get a box not have buyers remorse.

Peace and...

Verified Purchase

Jan 19, 2019
Amanda L.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

For the cost associated with the product, I was remarkably underwhelmed for the past 3 months. Perhaps this is for novices who are looking for a random intro to different teas and candles.

Verified Purchase

Fall Series Kit

Oct 27, 2018
Janeen S.
10 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

This was my first box and I have to say was quite disappointed. With shipping this box cost me $47.50. I was expecting more than 5 items. A cauldron that was turned into a candle, 3 herbs and an oil that leaked out in the box and what was left does not have much smell to it. I subscribe to 2 other boxes that are about $5 more than this with a lot of items and a detailed description to how to use them. I will be canceling. I was so hoping this box would be grand since reviews are good, but this is not worth almost $50.

Verified Purchase

Hello!? Is there anyone out there?

Oct 15, 2018
Yadira A.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I sent at least 5 different emails, spammed their Instagram, and was ignored repeatedly. I wasnt even asking for a refund, just for them to deliver my box since what appears to have happened is that it was delivered from and to the same location. An accidental error and something easily fixed, but it was never addressed and after a month of being ignored? Yeah, I'm done.

Verified Purchase
Magickal Folk said...Oct 15, 2018

Good Morning, Happy Monday! The first email I have from you came to me late Friday afternoon that said "Hey, This is my 2nd email about this subject. I'm asking for a refund, or for help locating my Sept box. Anything you can help me with would be greatly appreciated." In this case, its unfortunate that we are closed on the weekends and I apologize for the frustration. Today is the first day of receiving your email & cratejoy review. I have not received any messages on social media though?! I received your box back with a postal tag that said "refused" so a refund has already been issued. It is possible the post office delivered it to the wrong address and it was refused...

Disappointed

Sep 19, 2018
Matthew B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I contacted Candice and their customer service email twice, and never received a response. There was an item missing from my September subscription box, but clearly no cared enough to even give me the time of day by apologizing. Because of this I will be canceling my subscription to Magickal Folk. There are many other places to spend my money where they actually care about customers.

Verified Purchase
Magickal Folk said...Sep 26, 2018

Hi Matthew!
I am a work in progress! I do apologize for missing an item in your box and am happy to send out a replacement. I did get your email regarding a missing item, I just haven't received a response to know what was missing! I thought, well maybe he found the missing item? Hope to hear from you soon! Its only been about a week or so since your box was delivered so your probably busy? Please email me back! -candice

Jul 25, 2018
Wanda T.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I was a little disappointed. Only received 2 items in my box. Will see what next month brings before I make a decision on cancelling.

Verified Purchase

Cancelled after a few months

Jul 24, 2018
Spring A.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

My first month was pretty impressive, but it went downhill from there, to where I only received 2 items in my Witches Trunk Show (advertised as 3-5 items), a broken plastic dragon decoration and a crystal, and when I emailed I did not get a response. Super disappointed!

Verified Purchase
Magickal Folk said...Jul 25, 2018

Hi Spring, I apologize to you and everyone who received a broken dragon in their witches trunk this month. I have already created replacement orders for all 15 broken dragons:( I sincerely wish you had a better experience upon opening your witches trunk. Nearly 10% of the dragons broke in shipment meaning I failed to keep them safe in route. They are made of resin but should have held up better. Either way, a replacement box is on its way. You will receive a tracking email by tomorrow. Whether you decide to continue subscribing or not I hope the replacement box lifts your spirits and wipes away any and all the disappointment you are feeling now.

Also, I searched my database and have not found...

Last shipment

Jul 22, 2018
Toni C.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I am very disappointed in the last shipment. Feel not worth the money it only had 1 crystal and 1 roll on oil that was also sent out a while back.
I am really thinking about canceling my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Just don't.

Jun 15, 2018
Annette N.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I started off liking Magickal Folk just fine. The boxes were okay, and there is a cute little community on Facebook. But over the months, the quality of the boxes wavered significantly. Each time the box sucked, I just credited to the theme not being something I'm into.

But the September Eclectic Witchery box was just horrid. First, a handmade Odin's cross. Okay, cute. Nice thought to hand make that. I can appreciate that.

Second,a buffalo horn, hollowed out and carved with a spiral at the tip. Hm. Okay, now I feel like we've entered into a practice I don't have. Whatever.

But then I saw the madder powder which was to be used to inscribe symbols on a coyote bone. Seriously, you read that right. Coyote. As in a North American animal that has absolutely nothing to do with the Norse pantheon. Zilch. Oh, there were also a few sprigs of some unnamed evergreen. Seriously. Those had to have been thrown in on a whim because they had nothing else to do.

When I went to the nice little Facebook community and pointed out that Coyote has nothing to do with and that you can't just willy nilly use any old bone without considering the animal, I was promptly exiled from the island. My comment was deleted. This is what Magickal Folk has devolved into: a community that panders to...

Verified Purchase

Magic witch trunk

Jun 15, 2018
Katya M.
12 Reviews
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Such a joke. It was the saddest thing I have ever got like wow. Do not buy!!!!

Verified Purchase

Disappointing

Jun 15, 2018
Karin V.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I initially gave this a 5 star rating with my first trunk show box a couple months ago but it's been a big let down ever since. Instead of upgrading, I added on a few other subscriptions. When they shipped they all came together, which is fine. But I was missing my mediation kit and after several emails, it wasn't until I cancelled the subscription to it, did I get a response. In this same shipment, what was once an awesome thought out trunk show, was just a bag with 3 stones in it. If I wanted that, I would've gotten the kids crystal subscription or better yet, a subscription with a company that specializes in crystals. I had mentioned this with my complaint about the missing item. Although they replaced the meditation kit, they replied with a smug remark with little concern about my disappointment. I immediately cancelled my trunk show. It was too late to cancel the eclectic box for the month. But unless it WOWs me upon opening, I will be cancelling that one as well. I'm subscribed to several other witchy and enlightened subscriptions through other companies with much better quality items, and variety, and even themed boxes that more worth the money than this. I recommend checking out House of Rituals instead. Don't waste your money here. Rip off with less than caring customer service.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options