Hedge Witch Magick + Rituals for the New Year

Plans as low as $8.00 / month

Magickal Folk reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Annoyed

Sep 05, 2019
Margaret C.
1 Review
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality

This is now my second time coming to cancel this subscription after noticing i got charged again.

Verified Purchase

A Disheartening Experience

May 30, 2017
Crystal
3 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

After a lot of thought and consideration I recently placed my first order with Magickal Folk. I decided to go with their largest box, The Good Golly Kit, and waited in anticipation for what I was positive would blow me away. The box was set in two shipments. The first one (the smaller of the two) was nothing special. It was "okay" for it was but I didn't mind. I knew I had a larger box coming and I figured that's where I would be amazed.

I got shipping notification for the "big box" and stalked tracking. When it arrived I was first of all surprised by the diminutive size of the box. I decided not to judge rationalizing that it could be filled with awesome quality products. I opened up the box and the first thing I noticed was the poor packaging. It looked like everything was shoved in there without much thought or consideration. It's a little thing but the care a company puts into their packaging says a lot.

I continued to hold out hope that the contents would wow me. I began pulling out the contents with anticipation ... excitement ... confusion ... disappointment. The box that was supposed to amaze me, the box I ordered specifically because it was the largest they had and I was expecting to be blown away, left me absolutely disappointed and dumbfounded. For what I paid for this box, ($78.50) I was expecting to be captivated and enchanted. You...

Verified Purchase

READ BEFORE BUYING! DO NOT BUY!!!

Nov 05, 2020
Nicole L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Do not get this subscription. The items in this box is not worth the price they are asking for. There is only like 4 items to the box and the items are not that special or great. I even got this box a couple of times to give a proper review.

In addition, I canceled this subscription and was still charged. Contacted customer service 4/5 times regarding this matter with no response or help. All they care is about the money. I had to call my credit card company to not only dispute this charge but to put a claim through to make sure that I would never get charged again from thus company.

If you are looking for a magical box try Goddess Provisions or Witch Casket. The items are better and wirth the money. Plus customer service is 100% better and they above and beyond to make their customers like they are the only customer they have.

Verified Purchase
The Fall Series by Magickal Folk said...Nov 10, 2020

I had to take a minute to think about this before I replying. With all the hate thrown all over the internet is this really worth engaging in? If your claims were true, and you had emailed 4 or 5 times and not received a response then I would apologize profusely. But this simply is not the case. You see, we have a customer service software that automatically replies when you create a ticket or reach out to our help desk. The help desk has all the tutorials and policies in place for you to learn how to log in to your account and make the changes you need. Our instant reply states " Hi!, Thank you for contacting the Magickal Folk Help Desk. Your...

Not it good company

Jul 09, 2020
Marvin S.
6 Reviews
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I sign up They took my money never got email never got a Box still waiting for my refund. They don't have good customer service they don't respond to you naga company

Verified Purchase
The Fall Series by Magickal Folk said...Jul 21, 2020

Hi Valerie,
We have a help center that records your email requests and our replies. When you originally email, we send you an invite to login just in case our replies are sent to your spam folder. You can find help information like this at our help center located in our website.

The Worst

Apr 24, 2019
Crystal L.
1 Review
1 Picture
13 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I ordered the large box and what a disappointment. 1 small candle stick, piece of small wood (supposedly from Ireland), small thing of loose incense, small oil, and a very scratched up star box. Looks like it came from the dollar store. Definitely not worth the money. Just awful. They could have at least thrown in a small tumbled crystal. I ordered the $39 after shipping it was $48.50.

Verified Purchase
The Fall Series by Magickal Folk said...May 16, 2019

My deepest apologies for your disappointment. Did you receive my emails?

Disappointed

Oct 28, 2018
Stefanie W.
2 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

This is my first time trying Magickal Folk and I have to say I am really dissatisfied. With shipping, this box cost me nearly $50 and all that was included were 2 packets of herbs, a candle poured into a cauldron, and a small dram of oil. I feel ripped off. I could have easily bought these items at a fraction of the cost at my local herb shop. I have subscribed to boxes that are half this price with double the assortment of items. I was so excited to have this for Samhain, I figured if you are going to advertise a special box for Samhain, it should be just that. Cancelled.

Verified Purchase

Horrible Service and Cheap Products

Aug 27, 2017
Aki
2 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

Customer service for magical folk is horrible. The owner is very snobby and rude if given any kind lf negative feedback, and fails to fix issues with shipped subscriptions. The boxes themselves are not worth their price as the quality of items is very low. Crystal specimens are quite small, the themes are not coherent at all 9 times out of 10, and again the quality is that of a below par thrift store. My recommendation is save your money and buy a different subscription box. items are cheap and sub par, what you get with the monthly themes never make sense, and the customer service is less than satisfactory. the owner cant take critisism and attack you in email as well as mock you publicly in her group, essentially creating a free for all digital lynch mob where you get attacked by members and herself because you are not sucking up to her and stroking her ego. issues dont get resolved. missing items are not replaced even though she claims to have sent replacements. Seriously, go with a different subscription box. If i could give my 4 months of experience that got worse and worse every month a negative star rating i would. Magical Folk is NOT worth your time.

Verified Purchase

Not worth anyone’s money trust me

Apr 24, 2019
Mariah P.
1 Review
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

9 dollars on tea.. I can get it for less than that at my mother in laws Wiccan shop.

Verified Purchase

Never recieved

Feb 21, 2019
Melody K.
2 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Never recieved the first shipment yet now being charged for a second.... Someine needs to contact me

Verified Purchase

Underwhelming

Dec 24, 2018
Shawn S.
1 Review
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

First impressions are everything - and this box missed the mark. I paid for the most expensive option ($39) and the items received did not even remotely reflect value. A bread starter, really?

Shipping was very slow.

I would not recommend this crate.

Verified Purchase

Witches Trunk Show did not deliver

Jul 22, 2018
Hayley L.
2 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

For $24, I received a single small quartz point and a black dragon hold a pentagram that you hang on a wall, which was missing one of it's horns. But even if the item wasn't damaged, the box wasn't even close to as advertised. Per the description, "Expect 3-5 high-quality items that you could use on the altar, in ritual, in meditation or on the go!" I'd love to know where my other 1 to 3 items are, and why they failed to come close to the expectation set in their description. Just save your money folks.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed in October Fall Series Box

Oct 28, 2018
Jocelyn T.
10 Reviews
3 Pictures
20 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I was really excited about this box but I was expecting something different than what I received. That might be my fault, but for the price I thought there would be more than a candle, one oil, a small print, and three herbs/incense blends. The whole experience has left me feeling extremely let down so I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing

Feb 08, 2018
Karin V.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I initially gave this a 5 star rating with my first trunk show box a couple months ago but it's been a big let down ever since. Instead of upgrading, I added on a few other subscriptions. When they shipped they all came together, which is fine. But I was missing my mediation kit and after several emails, it wasn't until I cancelled the subscription to it, did I get a response. In this same shipment, what was once an awesome thought out trunk show, was just a bag with 3 stones in it. If I wanted that, I would've gotten the kids crystal subscription or better yet, a subscription with a company that specializes in crystals. I had mentioned this with my complaint about the missing item. Although they replaced the meditation kit, they replied with a smug remark with little concern about my disappointment. I immediately cancelled my trunk show. It was too late to cancel the eclectic box for the month. But unless it WOWs me upon opening, I will be cancelling that one as well. I'm subscribed to several other witchy and enlightened subscriptions through other companies with much better quality items, and variety, and even themed boxes that more worth the money than this. I recommend checking out House of Rituals instead. Don't waste your money here. Rip off with less than caring customer service.

Verified Purchase

The boxes themselves are okay

Apr 23, 2017
Beth E.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Out of the four boxes I received, I really only truly enjoyed one of them, so obviously this subscription service and I don't match. However, most of the items included were good quality, and I felt I got my money's worth, for the most part.

I will caution against the social aspect here. When you subscribe, you will be given a list of groups to join and told that this is what the subscription is really about. If you want to enjoy your subscription, do not join the groups. Don't do it. The groups are very clique-y, shaming, and there's some cultlike behavior. They will completely ruin your experience, unless you like joining and being a part of "religious" groups.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

May 25, 2017
Kaylan C.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I got the eclectic witchery box. I was super excited about it, however the excitement was unwarranted.
First of all the shipping practices suck. I got a shipping notification, and it hadn't even shipped. I got this notif the same day a friend of mine did and she got her box a week before I got mine. Don't send a shipping notif, if you're not shipping it.
Finally I got the box. I paid close to $40 for it, so I expected to be blown away! Nope.
Nothing in the box is worth $40 or even $20 or even $10. Combined it *might* be anywhere from $10-$20 worth of junk.
Please, I'm begging you, save your money and just buy individual items online yourself. You'll be much happier. I want to ask for a refund, but am afraid to because an ex customer told me she only got a partial refund and rudely told she was banned from the groups and no longer allowed to buy the boxes.
So... save your money!

Verified Purchase

Oct 14, 2017
Blake B.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

I ordered the meditation and alchemy kits.
I'm extremely disappointed!
Overpriced for a low low low quality and worth of items! Each stone is less then 2$ anywhere else, the herbs weren't even at least in their own bag or pouch.
The candle was at least decent and the herbs it was made with will come very handy in a ritual I plan to do. But little herbal tea light candles are a dime a dozen.
Only thing that was actually nice was the oil, and it's the only thing that makes sense with the Samhien theme. But that's not what I ordered these kits for, I didn't want JUST the oil! I'll be taking my business elsewhere and I hope any newcomers reading this will do the same! Idk about their more expensive boxes, but if you're trying to be thrifty and save money, go order another create from someone else, you WILL be highly disappointed with Magickal Folk!

Verified Purchase

Magic witch trunk

Sep 09, 2017
Katya M.
11 Reviews
1 Picture
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Such a joke. It was the saddest thing I have ever got like wow. Do not buy!!!!

Verified Purchase

Just Tea

Mar 14, 2017
Lorident
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

Recieved Tea.....nothing really interesting about tea. Really disappointed. Expected more based on description.

Verified Purchase

Horrible

Mar 18, 2018
Tina A.
29 Reviews
23 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Last box received was horrible and was not worth $20. I got a stone, rose of jericho and an ostara oil. I own a witchery store and the products are not wrapped nicely and are not worth $20 at all.

Verified Purchase

Oct 23, 2017
Natasha K.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I really really wanted to love this box and I was really thrilled and super excited to get it,I was even going to do a you tube unboxing but my memory card was full!
Good thing because when I opened it I had an instant feeling of heaviness and regret. I knew instantly it was a mistake.
The box contained 3 different herbal small plastic bags a cheap wooden candle holder with a tiny cheap looking punched metal symbol. I was hoping for at least a nice wearable pendent,oh well.
There was a small white candle with some herbs stuck on it.
Also included was a lemon grass smelling oil had a pretty label.The smell didn't last more than 3 minutes on my skin also didn't smell good.
There was a somewhat small bag of tea,I tried it tonight and was disappointed in the flavor pretty bland.tge
The last item was bath salts in such a small container I almost threw it away in the box.The only reason I looked over and over for it is because I read on the paper of contained items it was included.

So many good reviews is why I tried this over priced box.
I feel that there are better boxes out there..
I will be unsubscribing.
I really feel guilty but I am not happy at all with my decision with Magical Folk.
Sorry to be such a downer but I wanted to help others like me who really had to sacrifice to get a box not have buyers remorse.

Peace and...

Verified Purchase

Don't waste your money! Rip off.

Jan 23, 2018
Tabitha D.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I ordered the complete theme box. For over $100. Not worth $20. I had cards explaining crystals that weren't in the box, the Epson infused salt was wet and smelled old. The salt was Yule theme. The soy candle had no description. There was a small blue CALOGNE tea light, a few small crystals and that is it. It's not a themed box. It's a box of extras. Not worth the money at all. Rip off. Very sad. This was going to be a gift..

Verified Purchase

Sep 28, 2017
Mariah S.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

I'm really disappointed.. this is the first crate I ever got and so many positive reviews.. I only got three items. A mortar and pestle, one powder incense and a single gem. I'm confused and I don't want to be upset.. but is it just me? Or do others get more?

Verified Purchase

Dont do it!!!!

Sep 11, 2017
Dianne L.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

A joke .... not even worth the shipping!!!! Try the Moon box better everything. I received a piece of wood a cheap necklace and some bath salts ..... nothing like the description....don't waste your money ...you might have more fun flinging a 10 out the car window.

Verified Purchase

Jan 19, 2019
Amanda L.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

For the cost associated with the product, I was remarkably underwhelmed for the past 3 months. Perhaps this is for novices who are looking for a random intro to different teas and candles.

Verified Purchase

Sep 29, 2017
Annette N.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

There are better boxes elsewhere.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options