Modern Skyn Apothecary

by Modern Skyn Apothecary
Assortment of handcrafted, quality skincare delivered with love.
114 reviews

Plans as low as

$25.50/ month

Buying Options

Modern Skyn Apothecary reviewsReviews

Write a Review
114

Love it!

Aug 01, 2019
Brandy V.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just got my first box, and love the smells! I can't wait to start using them! Thank you!
I just received my second box! I really enjoyed my first box. These products are amazing! Thanks again!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful!

Nov 06, 2019
Tandy F.
7 Reviews
4 Pictures
16 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I LOVE this box!! This was my first order and I was a bit skeptical because I've ordered a lot of different subscriptions that ended up being very disappointing. This is by far one of my top favorites!
It was packaged very nicely. Nothing was broken and everything looks of good quality. The perfume oil is oh so ahhhhhmazing!!! I kept smelling my wrist all day! I love the glass jar packaging as well.
I'm definitely getting next month's box!

Verified Purchase

No Response on Damaged Product

Nov 13, 2020
Jayne V.
1 Review
3 Pictures
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Unfortunately, the second subscription box that I received arrived with leaking product. I took pictures of the box and product and immediately forwarded these to the seller asking about receiving a replacement. At this time, it has been over a week with no response from the seller. I have cancelled this subscription and will not re-order. It’s a shame the customer service is non existent as I enjoyed the products I’ve used so far, but I won’t be spending any more money with a seller who does not value the customers supporting their business.

Verified Purchase

totally worth the cost!

Jan 23, 2021
Sydney W.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

a joy to receive this order; a total of 7 items; aesthetically pleasing packaging; useful product; nice variety; authentic herbal smell; just call the owner to remind her of your order if you are eager to receive it; she will send it out promptly

Verified Purchase

Fed up

Jan 08, 2021
Connie E.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been a loyal customer for over a year and a half. The last 3 months this company has gone down hill. Items missing out of my orders. No resolution made after numerous promises I would be shipped my missing products. This last box the perfume is missing. Horrible customer service. Canceled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful products & Business!!!❤️

Dec 29, 2020
Karen O.
54 Reviews
15 Pictures
28 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is WONDERFUL! The products are SUPERB and definitely EXCEEDED the cost of the subscription! Their customer service is EXCEPTIONAL as well! I received the December Ritual Box which has a brochure listing the products, so I was afraid I was missing something, although what was received was more then I expected already! I called and was told that due to orders FAR EXCEEDING their expectations this month, then the unprecedented Holiday shipping delays this year they have been having to make variations and just trying to get boxes out to their customers as quickly as possible! I can honestly say they have MORE than made up for the inconvenience, which really wasn't a horrible experience... if you have an issue rather than get upset, all you have to do is call and they will make it right! My box was already valued well over what I spent, the products ARE QUALITY, far exceeded my expectations even with the products missing, but they are sending more than I was missing. This Company is honest and willing to go ABOVE and BEYOND for their customers! I will definitely continue to patronize this business in the future. This business is exceptional!!!

Verified Purchase

Best Organic self care box!!

May 24, 2021
Sierra R.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just received my first box and I’m so pleased! I received 6 products; 5 that were listed and one extra! ! Good sizes and varieties and well packaged... no leaks! The scents are very natural and beautiful! I’m in love with the baby’s breath body oil it smells amazing! If you are tired of the chemical filled beauty products are looking for handcrafted organic products that smell light and natural (no artificial perfume scents) then try this box! Indulge in some self-care, you won’t regret it!!
Update: After receiving my first box I placed an order for additional products at Modern Skyn’s website. I bought the starter kit for “normal” skin. I have very sensitive skin and am prone to acne. My skins been really dry since the start of spring and especially noticeable in my chin. After one day of the skin care routine, the dry skin was GONE! Fast forward a week and my skin looks and feels soooooo good! I couldn’t be happier! I’ve been wanting to switch to all natural skin care for awhile but was scared of breaking out. Anything containing oil freaked me out. I’m so glad I gave this box a try! They have a new forever customer!!

Verified Purchase

My favorite company

May 29, 2021
Sara S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really enjoy everything about these products! The quality is amazing and the owner is so nice and attentive if there's ever any issues. She really cares about her company and her customers! Plus look how gorgeous everything is.

Verified Purchase

No Show

Dec 26, 2020
Ashley H.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping

I ordered this box for a friend on 6 December thinking that would be plenty of time to get to her by Christmas, especially since the listing advertises shipment 2-4 days after purchase of the first box. Almost 2 weeks later and no shipment, I contacted the seller. No response. I contacted again. No response. 2 more attempts and still no response. Cratejoy escalated my concerns but the seller has yet to respond. It’s now the day after Christmas and the only progress on this purchase is a shipping label was created on 19 December, but nothing has been dropped off to USPS. I’m going to contact my bank to try and reverse the charges at this point. I do not trust this seller.

Verified Purchase

Very happy to find this company 💖

May 18, 2021
Debra N.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just love these products. The assortment was perfect. I'm looking forward to receiving my next package!

Verified Purchase

Amazing natural products

Apr 08, 2021
Michelle M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely love this box! I've recieved two and have no complaints whatsoever! Having extremely sensitive skin these boxes have caused no issues. Very pleased!!

Verified Purchase

Excellent Box

Mar 23, 2021
Danielle Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Excellent products. The hyaluronic serum has taken 10 years of wrinkles off my face. Good for sensitive skin.

Verified Purchase

Amazing customer service

Mar 04, 2021
Kathryn M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

In love! The quality is incredible. Every month I receive a new box is so exciting.
Their customer service is literally the best!

Verified Purchase

Outstanding Customer Service and Product

Feb 02, 2021
Jamie H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Customer service is absolutely outstanding!! One of the bottles in my first order was shattered. I emailed Kimberly and she responded quickly and fixed everything. This is a small, family owned business with amazing smelling products. The packaging is really beautiful! Thrilled with this box.

Verified Purchase

Amazing box!

Mar 06, 2020
Diane L.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This Feb box is so well made! Totally a good treat to yourself or gift. everything smells great, and looks beautiful!

Verified Purchase

Damaged

Jan 25, 2021
Hillary K.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I sent this box as a gift. The items arrived damaged and a lid was not on one of the products and it completely spilled out in the box. I contacted the seller twice with no response.

Verified Purchase

Horrible customer service

Dec 22, 2020
Brook C.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Curation

Advertised on Cratejoy as a company that will have box arrive by Xmas. I ordered a gift on 12/7. I contacted seller twice to check on when box was sent since I received no tracking information. No response to either email. I finally received a automated email on 12/20 saying the package shipped on 12/19. This was a lie. The company created a shipping label on 12/19, but did not provide USPS the package until 12/22. The gift will not arrive until at earliest 12/28. So disappointing. This company has horrible customer service, actually NO customer service! And it lies about when items will arrive so don't plan a gift for a birthday or event and expect it to be there. This company does not care about its customers experience at all.

Verified Purchase
Modern Skyn Apothecary said...Dec 23, 2020

Brook,
We are sorry that you are not happy. The only email we did receive from you was a threatening email stating that you expected a full refund if your order was not delivered on time. No other emails were sent to us. We responded to your email within our current 24-48 threshold apologizing with no response from you. Since then, we have carefully tracked your package and confirmed your package did arrive on December 23 at 10:26 am with a tracking number of 9405509205568928091180.

No good

Mar 17, 2021
Tiffini R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I had change my shipping address and the seller still shipped to the wrong address I paid for two boxes and only received one I never received any correspondence back from the seller and was never compensated for the fact that my package was shipped to the wrong address I would not recommend this seller and will not be purchasing another box from them again

Verified Purchase

Broken bottles and seller unresponsive

Feb 03, 2021
Warren M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The products seem OK, so far, however the box is a gift for someone and hearing second-hand. However, their shipment quality is lacking with broken bottles and no response from the seller (OR Cratejoy) after multiple attempts to contact them. I would never commit to a contract with the seller and, this being my fist use of Cratejoy, would be highly unlikely to use them given the lack of any support or confidence in their ability to resolve any issues.

Verified Purchase

Never received the package

Apr 10, 2021
Carey T.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I hate to leave a one star review but I never received my package. I cant rate a product I never received.

Verified Purchase

Sadly...avoid at all costs!

Mar 20, 2021
Robin R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Product Review from my sister: "Meh, they spent way more time on cute packaging than the actual formulations"
Customer Service Review from me:
Christmas gift arrived 2 weeks early. A 2nd box of identical stuff arrived at the end of December - even though it's supposed to be every other month. Now, 3 months later her 3rd box has still not arrived.
Neither Modern Skyn nor CrateJoy respond to emails -- just endless automated email responses from CrateJoy saying "we're working on it"
Hard pass.

Verified Purchase
Modern Skyn Apothecary said...Mar 20, 2021

We are very sorry that you are unhappy. After reviewing your account, it appears that the next box is to be shipped in March and not February. We also note that the boxes shipped at the end of the month (this is why your sister has not received the March box yet). Many boxes were shipped in December as soon as the orders were coming in (some later) because the USPS admitted to shipping delays (some boxes arriving a week or so late). If your sister received a second box that was identical, an email would have resolved this. We allow all customers to keep the duplicate box as well as receive a new box. We are more than happy to provide you with proof...

Looks like I will have to unsubscribe

Jan 23, 2021
Christine D.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Missing product no customer service

Verified Purchase

Business has lost a good customer.

Nov 04, 2019
Marla C.
3 Reviews
13 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Finally received my items along with a nasty email. Apparently she feels I had no right to want what I paid for or to say I would contact the Better Business Bureau if I didn't get my items after waiting 2 months. I would never order anything again as apparently the owner is doing you a favor by even allowing you to purchase her items in the first place.
Updated review: I canceled my subscription crate after receiving a box of lavender products I am allergic too.
I had been previously been told items would be substituted but they weren't. When I emailed the company I was ignored.
I gave the stuff away as I could not use it and decided to order 15 items directly from their website.
Two items were left out after weeks of waiting for my order. I have contacted them 4 times in 2 months and was told finally my items would ship right away. A month later and 2 more emails and I still do not have my items. I understand the owner has gotten sick but feel like I have been more then patient. She wasn't too sick to take my money. The customer service is awful and no one will reply. At this time maybe it would be best to close the business as you obviously are over your head. It's to bad; I did love the products. At...

Verified Purchase

Love love LOVE M.S.A !

Feb 06, 2021
Emily G.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Have been using these products for years and I LOVE them. Any time I have had questions, concerns, or any issues, I hear back from the seller in a timely manner. And honestly, you can’t beat the price for the quality and sizing of products !

AMAZING!!!

Feb 06, 2021
Kimberly D.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

As a knowledgeable skin care professional, this box is AMAZING!!! This box offers a variety of items for face, body, and relaxation.