Murphy's Bulk Books

by Murphy's Bulk Books
Great preloved books for all ages right to your door every month.
25 reviews

Plans as low as

$5.00/ month

Buying Options

Murphy's Bulk Books reviewsReviews

Write a Review
25

Love this Subscription

6 days ago
Allison G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We've been really happy with receiving our Murphy's Bulk Books subscription. It is so fun to get a random assortment of books every month! We are signed up for the board books and have a young child (<1). *Note: make sure you read the description when you sign up as it provides guidance on what type of book to request based on the age of the child, etc.* We have received a mix of used books including classics (i.e., Eric Carle) to contemporary (i.e., Frozen-themed books). We've also received a number of education books (i.e., learning words, telling time, different modes of transportation). We've also received some holiday books corresponding to the relevant upcoming holiday.
In the past 6-months of our subscription, we've only received 1 repeat, which I think is pretty exceptional. While some books are for a toddler or older infant, we don't mind at all because we know they will grow into them. The seller provided information on how to get in touch with them and how special requests can be made. We haven't taken advantage of this yet, but I think we'll make a special request for our child's upcoming birthday. While the books are used, the majority we've received have been in excellent quality, and when we have seen one that is a bit more "loved", it's usually a rarer book or a book that would have retailed for a much higher price. We value sustainability in our home and it's nice to know these...

Verified Purchase

Good, but needs to be more specific

Feb 13, 2021
Lori P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

There was a duplicate book in this shipment, identical to one of the books we received in the last shipment. Also, I wish there were a way to specify likes and dislikes to help with curation. We keep getting princess books and my son hates them.

Verified Purchase

Happy Bookworm Mom !!

Apr 02, 2020
Ashley S.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very pleased I received the package super quickly. I know they offer lots of books online but I grew up reading lots of books and I wanted to share that with my daughter and Murphy’s used books have made that very easy without having to make a trip to the store and the preloved books are in excellent condition and a great variety. My daughter loves all books and I was super excited to see books of all kinds !
We look forward to many more books each month ! Thanks cratejoy for making it easy to search and find Murphy’s Used Books !

Verified Purchase

Make it right!

Dec 07, 2020
Kalysta S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first order, after ordering... the technology glitches and I received an incorrect type of book. I contacted them, they offered to send me a new set of books (I declined), and just wanted it right for my next order.
I received my second order right on time with beautiful hard cover picture books... better than I had expected.
As a consumer, I don’t expect perfection, I just want to be seen and heard. They met my expectations and have earned my business for the foreseeable future!
***UTA*** unfortunately I have to cancel because unless I contact them every single month, they send me the wrong books. The last two times they have sent the wrong books, they haven’t even replied. I am so sad, because this is such an amazing service especially as a homeschool family - and having our libraries closed. But I am done arguing with them, rather... they have completely ignored me now and I am over it.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointed

Feb 21, 2021
Alicia H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I signed up for 0-3 age board books and I got bigger kids books that were wrinkled and bent. I reached out to createjoys customer service and to the phone number given in the package. I did not get a response and when I checked my subscription they had delete the age range I had paid and signed up for and switched me to a different group. Very unsatisfied!

Verified Purchase

Horrible customer service. Ok books.

Feb 15, 2021
Melissa A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you need to get a hold of anyone, it is a horrible, painful process. I actually never recieved correspondance back from the company, only Cratejoy. How they ship is weird, and took about a full month after I recieved notification that it has shipped. I ordered for a full year and it appears that I am one shipment behind, but we will see at the end of the year.
The books themselves, come as described, used, which I am ok with.
The books picked are suitable for my son's reading level, and are varied on type. However, I was hoping for better books. Books that are award winning, or something off the beaten path, if that makes sense. A couple he recieved he's already read, but that is not their fault. My son just reads a ton.

Verified Purchase

Amazing option!

May 18, 2019
Nichole A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m so excited that there is an affordable book subscription for kids. All the books were in wonderful shape and my daughter is enjoying them all. Great selection too

Verified Purchase

Amazing value for such high quality!

Oct 21, 2020
Angeliq
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is an awesome company doing great work both for our children, and for our planet.
My only suggestion is to send less books! The subscription price they charge for these superp quality and beautiful picture books is just too low! Even if you send half the number of books I think this subscription would still be an incredible value. I don't need 5 new books a month, but I love this company's mission so I keep the subscription going and just donate the excess books to my son's school.
Thank you!

Verified Purchase

Great Box, Bad Customer Service

Oct 20, 2020
Melissa F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first box was great and came very fast and the books were in great shape and my son loved them. This month is my second month and I was charged at the beginning of the month, but they still show they are preparing my box. I tried to reach out but haven't heard back. Its a shame because we loved this box but I think we might have to cancel if we are charged with no product.

Verified Purchase

best book bundle

Oct 06, 2020
Sara K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son loves the books selected. Truly a great deal.

Verified Purchase

Thank you!

May 25, 2020
Abril L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Thank you, the books are in great condition and the kids love them!

Verified Purchase

I'm already recommending Murphy's

May 06, 2020
Michelle M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The picture board books we received were in great used condition. We just received them last night and we've already read them 2 and 3 times. My daughter is so excited. There is one book that is not in my taste preference and we might get rid of but the other four are fantastic. I've already been recommending Murphy's Used Books!

Verified Purchase

A wonderful book subscription

May 01, 2020
Ana S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son is turning five this week and this will no longer be receiving books from the Dolly Parton Imagination Library. His monthly book is always a treat he looks forward to, so I wanted to make sure I could keep the tradition alive. I looked at all of the options and I am so glad I chose this subscription. He loved reading all his new books! The quality was great, and it was a nice diverse blend of stories for us to enjoy. One of my favorite things about this box is that the books are gently used, as recycling is a value I want my son to grow up with. Some of the books had inscriptions in them, which I personally love finding in my used books. I can’t wait to see what we get next month!

Verified Purchase

Love it

Mar 19, 2020
Angela R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My daughter loves her books. They are in great shape and age appropriate.

Verified Purchase

Love

Nov 09, 2019
Chrissy L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great start to my baby's library! So exciting to get my first box of books. Love it.

Verified Purchase

Great value and a good variety of books.

May 16, 2019
Kat S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My nephew loved the 10 lb box of books. This is a terrific value!

Verified Purchase

Kids like the books

Mar 15, 2019
Amanda H.
13 Reviews
24 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

The books have all been perfect because my son will be in kindergarten next year and my boyfriends daughter will be in pre k. My oldest is 9, so I would have to get a bigger set for his age. I don’t think they can do two different levels.

Verified Purchase

unhappy

Sep 26, 2020
Honey E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

sent the wrong kind of books
these need to be changed or i need a refund

Verified Purchase

Low prices can cost you more

Jul 21, 2020
Jessica B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Prepaid for a year. July is my third month. Still haven't received it, which would be perfectly fine, but I can not find a way ro contact Murphy's Books and they haven't reached out to let me know that the box is late or when to expect it. Also, my last box had an asian book with inaccurate translations and was a story of a "fat girl" that I won't read to my 3 daughters. Worse still, the other book was so badly damaged that the spine is detached. It's missing pages, and the pages that sutvived the devastation are ripped in half, making it unreadable. When you pay a large amount of money for a monthly book box, you expect books, and you don't want to hold your breath every month wondering if your purchase will even arrive. No tracking number, no phone number to call, no reassurance that you haven't wasted your money, and books that are beyond salvageable. This is my first review of any product in 33 years of purchases.

Verified Purchase

Floppy books.

Feb 24, 2020
Deborah M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

A nice variety of “floppy” books. I’m glad to be building a library of books for my kids as they grow. Some of the books are for kids with longer attention spans.

Verified Purchase

Happy but hoped for more

Dec 13, 2019
Steven D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Books were in very good used condition as I expected. I was a little disappointed that 2 of the books had $1 prices printed on them to buy new. The other 3 books were good and overall was an okay value.

Verified Purchase

The Grand

Jul 10, 2018
Athena H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall

Thanks Murphy's Books for the great box of gently used books you sent to my granddaughter. There were so many books she shared them with several of her friends and family. We look forward to more boxes of great books!

Verified Purchase

Don't waste your time

Nov 23, 2020
Megan L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I placed in order on October 4th. I made the mistake of ordering the wrong children's book bundle age. I immediately cancelled my order thinking I could go in and re-order the correct age. I still got books in the mail...fine. I have attempted to reach out to the seller in various methods of communication, numerous times with no response. I didn't get any books in November, but I sure didn't get any kind of refund on my card. So, do I have an active subscription or not? EXTREMELY unhappy with the lack of customer service I've gotten!

Verified Purchase

Horrible Customer Service Issues

Jun 03, 2020
Mary G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I contacted the seller through Cratejoy immediately after I checked out because the wrong age group was indicated on the order confirmation (I'm not sure if it was my error or the system's). I asked them to just change the order to board books instead of older children's books. No response for several days.
I emailed support not through the website again a few days later asking if I should cancel or if they could just update it for me - no response.
When I saw the order had shipped, I sent a third email again asking for my order to be updated, since my children are 1 and 3 and we wouldn't have much use for chapter books.
This was the response I recieved, after several communications, with no offer of remedy.
"We're sorry for the delay, we were experiencing a customer service issue with our email service. We're sorry that we missed your messages and were unable to change your subscription before shipping. Your subscription can always be updated by logging into your account at any time. Again we apologize for this issue. We hope that you consider us again in the future!"
I responded and asked if they could send the correct age group package for us, and that I would keep my subscription active if the first order could just be corrected. That was six days ago now, so I've canceled my subscription.
Bummed because I really like the idea of this subscription.

Verified Purchase

Could be better

Aug 10, 2019
Pam M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Beware this box ships the beginning of the month so if you order after that they will charge you but not send the items until the next month. Also I received 5 books that all had price tags of $2 each which would be $10. I paid $15 for the subscription. The books that came were in perfect condition.

Verified Purchase