My Coffee and Book Box (12 Ounce Bag of Gourmet Coffee, 2 New Hardcover Books, and an eBook selection)

My Coffee and Book Box (12 Ounce Bag of Gourmet Coffee, 2 New Hardcover Books, and an eBook selection)

by My Coffee and Book Club
Savor Good Coffee and Explore Captivating Books! Ships Within 48 Hours!

Plans as low as

$31.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (113)

Not curated, not recommended

Oct 21, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Isabella L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

My first box was nice. They send me books that I would not buy otherwise. But the second box was not curated at all. They send me the same coffee as the first box, and a book that was part of a sequel (and I didn’t read the first one). Disappointing

Verified Purchase

Don’t buy this subscription.

Jun 22, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Debra T.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 days

Don’t buy this subscription. The ability to choose the coffee type and book genre is a lie. The satisfaction guarantee is a lie. I’ve sent 2 emails and gotten no responses. I bought this for Father’s Day and had to buy another gift because I couldn’t give this one. What a waste of money.

Verified Purchase

Not really impressed

Jan 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michael D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

No response from the seller

Verified Purchase

Hhhdhfhdjdjd

Nov 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cody B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

My coffee was busted open and I'm still waiting on you guys to get back with me about it

Verified Purchase

Bad box.

Nov 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Violet S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

My second box never came, so I emailed to find out if it was just behind but never got a response. I emailed a second time and still no response. Then a month late I got my box, with only 1 new book, coffee, and a coloring book. I didn't order coloring and a book. There are suppose to be 2 books. I emailed a third time, I don't expect a response.

Verified Purchase

3 mth subscription only received 1 box

Sep 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharene B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I placed a three month subscription as a gift to my employer for her birthday. She received the first box in July. First box shipped July 14th. The second box has had a status of being prepared for over a month now. I have sent countless emails requesting status, requesting a refund, requesting someone contact me, but nothing! I spend $107.97 for a three month subscription as a gift but only one box has shipped. It is now September 3rd, and it still shows status of 2nd box being prepared. This seems like a ripoff. I will never use this service again and neither will my employer as she was excited to get the rest of the subscription. She liked the first box.

Verified Purchase

Horrible years old books

Jul 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jamie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Old books. Years old. All the ones I received had a marker mark on the bottom. Left over books that didn’t get sold. I thought the coffee was terrible in the two boxes I received. I joined for 3 months. That was a mistake. Of the 4 books I’ve received only one was decent. The books in my second box weren’t even the same genre that I picked. It’s like they just toss in whatever book they have there. I don’t recommend joining this.

Verified Purchase

Horrible Experience, don't buy

Feb 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Alicia M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I ordered on Feb 13th. It says that the first box ships in 2 days, so far nothing. I've contacted the seller twice...and nothing. I'm starting to think this is a scam. Don't waste your money. Now I have to see about getting my money back. Unfortunate cuz this would have been a great gift..

Verified Purchase

Never got it

Dec 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Aaron S.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Still haven’t received the order and no communication from anyone at the company.

Verified Purchase

lies in the details

Apr 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Khaliah S.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 15 days

The description says boxes are shipped within two business days. I placed my order on 03/30/2020, yet here we are and still no shipped box. whats worse is I have reached out to the seller twice with no response. I placed an order from a different vendor and not only got a shipment update, but have already received my order. this is so frustrating to say the least.

Verified Purchase

Don’t give this as a gift

Feb 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Robin E.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Buyer beware, especially when giving as a gift.
I gave this subscription as a gift to my mom for 3 months/boxes. She enjoyed the first box and said the coffee was delicious and the books were good. However, her second box did not arrive the following month. I contacted customer service and they said that they were having issues with their coffee supplier. That was fine with me.
In the third month she received two identical boxes and that was the end of her subscription. I contacted the seller several months ago about the duplicate box, but they never responded. In fairness, I was not timely about contacting the seller, but like I said, I gave this as a gift and was not aware of what was going on until my mom mentioned.
UPDATE: After posting this review, the seller shipped out a third box to my mom. Thank you! She loved it.

Verified Purchase
My Coffee and Book Club said...Mar 08, 2020

Hi Robin,
Apologies for letting you down, I had no idea there was an issue. We will send a new box out tomorrow. I would like to find a way to make this right with you, please email me at your convenience.

Please let me Cancel

Sep 08, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mary C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I received my first shipment and I did not enjoy the books and the coffee was average. I have tried to cancel and Dan Schaefer the Co-founder said he would handle once he got to his computer? It has been days and no further communication from Dan. Now what? I wanted to like this, now I would just like to cancel.

Verified Purchase

Scammed me for months.

Sep 15, 2018
Overall
Daniel H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I was a subscriber for 5 months. Received 1 package, paid for 4. Emailed them twice, both times they assured me I would receive the books I paid for. Apparently not. They told me ”they found the problem” and that they resolved it. This was months ago. Never heard from them again.
Scammers? Or just not working?

Verified Purchase
My Coffee and Book Club said...Sep 17, 2018

Hi Daniel,
I’m sorry you had a bad experience with us. I looked up your account and it appears we did ship the boxes. Since you didn’t receive them, I have refunded the entire amount of your subscription.
I’m sorry again for any inconvenience this caused.

Cheap Feel to it All

May 15, 2018
Overall
Chelsea O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

The Coffee:
It was nothing to savor, but it is passable. I'm pretty sure that, despite being labeled differently, the coffee is all the same.
The DVDs:
They are the movies you get in the bargain bin at the thrift store.
The Books:
These are also thrift store books. MCBC is also not very good at following the genres you select. A few times the books arrived damaged.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it...

Apr 30, 2018
Overall
Shanna L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The books were books that you could get for around $3, none of which were really interesting or even seemed remotely intriguing. I got the same exact coffee in all 3 of the boxes (I guess I was expecting something different) and the movies were all $1 finds and really didn't tie together with the books except for the fact that they weren't interesting either.

Verified Purchase

Not exactly impressed

Feb 21, 2018
Overall
Amber H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I purchased this as a gift for my father-in-law, and we are on shipment #3. The first two shipments went to the wrong address, even after I contacted the seller twice to update. For the third shipment, I received an email on Feb 1 that it had been shipped, but he's still waiting 20 days later and the tracking number shows it hasn't even been given to FedEx for shipping yet. I've contacted the seller again, but it's frustrating that I've had to reach out for every single shipment so far.

Verified Purchase

Still waiting to be "shipped"

Feb 16, 2018
Overall
Danielle P.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I have been disappointed so far. It has been 10 days since the product was supposed to ship but I have not heard anything so far. I messaged the seller and they explained they shipped by day 7 and I would receive and email.
After reading all these other reviews, it seems like this is a common issue along with many other issues. I may be asking for a full refund if nothing happens in the next few days.

Verified Purchase

Not worth the price

Feb 13, 2018
Overall
Jennifer W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 28 days

Book can be bought online for $5 and DVD looks like it is from a dollar store. The order took >1 month to get here. The coffee does smell great, but overall, it is a better deal to grab a random book online and coffee from your local roaster. Plus, there was no additional gift, as described on Cratejoy. Disappointed.

Verified Purchase

I'm also still waiting for my shipment

Jan 31, 2018
Overall
Meagan A.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I literally have the exact same review as Katie. Ordered Dec 28, didn't ship after the 7 days, contacted seller, they say it was damaged, resent package, tracking information doesn't work. I have contacted them waiting for a reply, but I am so disappointed and upset. It feels vaguely like a scam at this point. I really hope this pulls through and someone from Cratejoy or even the seller contacts me, as I feel taken advantage of given my payment has already been fully processed but I have received nothing in return.

Verified Purchase

Still waiting for my first shipment...

Jan 29, 2018
Overall
Katie K.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

It's been nearly two months since I placed my order as a Christmas gift, and the first shipment has not arrived yet. They had tried to ship it once already and it was returned to them as "damaged or destroyed", but they did not communicate this to me up front - I had to reach out to them to ask where it was. Now, it's been shipped again but the tracking code I was given was incorrect and I can't actually track where it is. It sounds like a great idea, but it should not take two months to receive the first instalment. Really hoping that the actual package is worth it.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointed

Oct 07, 2017
Overall
Kathy C.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 24 days

I bought this as a gift for my son.First there was a shipping problem and when he received it, the box had no coffee at all and the books/movies were not the genre I chose.

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...