We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Canceled after two months

Jun 15, 2018
Kristina R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months 3 days
Overall

I was happy with the first box. All three books were age appropriate and overall good fits. The second month was a little disappointing because the books looked super cheap and none of them were good for reading to him. Both mommy gifts were lotion which I wasn’t excited about. I also don’t like that I pay for it on the 15th of every month and it ships two weeks later.

Verified Purchase

Bad shipping

Jun 15, 2018
Andrea D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month 12 days
Overall

First box hasnt arrived and I was already charged for the second monthly box without a warning.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 19, 2018

Hi Andrea, I am so sorry we let you down. Our shipments to Puerto Rico take much longer to arrive and I’m sure that alone can be frustrating. Combine that with a subscription that renewed before your product arrives and I can see why you left this review. Why don’t I refund your money, let you receive the first box that’s on it’s way and if you like it we can work something out that accommodates the extra time it takes to ship to Puerto Rico? Thank you for calling this to my attention. -Dan

Seller

First box reaction

Jun 15, 2018
Heidi D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months 15 days
Overall

So I absolutely love the idea of getting new books every month, however we are signed up for the "just starting out" level (my daughter is 18 months) and we received 3 hardcover books. The books are very nice quality however 2 of them are such long stories my daughter couldn't sit through 1 page, let alone the whole book. These will need to be shelved until she is quite a bit older which is disappointing because she loves to look at books and read together. I am hoping for some more age appropriate books in our next box.

Verified Purchase

Not what I expected...

Jun 15, 2018
Michele C.
46 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 months 24 days
Overall

I received my first box today. I had bought this for my four-year-old granddaughter and was surprised to find one paperback girl-oriented book from the Disney film "Frozen" ( it was nice), plus two VERY boy-oriented books: one about hockey and the other about a boy and a whale. There was a bonus book on how to draw caricatures, however this was nowhere near her age level. This would work out so much better if you could choose either girl, boy, or gender-neutral themed books when you sign up and if more care were taken to ensure that all the books are age-appropriate. Unfortunately I have cancelled my subscription due to these issues.

Verified Purchase

Auto renew

Jun 15, 2018
Dana M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months 10 days
Overall

I got this as a gift for someone. I thought I was buying a one time thing and didn't realize the small text saying it would auto renew. We had not yet decided if we were going to sign up for more or not, but this auto renew has made me decide that I will not be making any purchases from this site.

Verified Purchase

Did not receive

Jun 15, 2018
Kim K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months 18 days
Overall

Did not receive second shipment.

Verified Purchase

Same books

Jun 15, 2018
Traci L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months 1 day
Overall

I ordered a 6month subscription for my son and the 2nd time it was delivered, it was all the same books or items. I was not impressed that I paid for the same books twice, hopefully its not the same each month.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Genevieve
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

I got 1 book we enjoy but the rest I would have been okay changing out. Especially since it was a monster truck book and I have a little girl...

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Dec 21, 2017

Genevieve, Thanks for your feedback. We try to include a mix each month so that all children will find something that appeals to them. I’m sorry we had a couple of misses for your daughter this month. If you want, email service@myfirstreadingclub.com and we will send you a couple of replacements free of charge. Again, thanks for the feedback! Parent input like yours helps us make better picks each month! Joe

Seller

Not my favorite

Jun 15, 2018
Delina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months 22 days
Overall

I like the ideas behind these boxes, but this months felt a little more centered around little girls

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Rachel
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

Honestly I was so excited for these books to arrive. We bought “just starting out” for our 13 month old. However, we received a bunch of tv show books we never even heard of. One of these had tiny flaps. We also received frozen books, and I do not think any of these are age appropriate for a 1 year old. One of the shows isn’t even on anymore. I’m disappointed, because for $16 I could buy him 2 books at the store that he would actually like.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options