We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Great gift!

Sep 19, 2018
Christina F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I personally don't receive the packages because I have them sent to my sister and her daughter in another city, but she tells me that my niece loves them! She gets excited every time she sees a new box, I'm so happy I decided to do this for a year!

Verified Purchase

All Brand New books!

Aug 24, 2018
Tyson C.
22 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

A lot of times I've found that these books clubs deliver used books, not MFRC. All brand new books and the activity books are wonderful. Love this club! Member for life!

Verified Purchase

Excellent for kids, excellent service!

Jul 20, 2018
Jennifer S.
12 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

My kids LOVE getting their box every month, and are finally excited to READ. My 5-year-old starts kindergarten next month, but he is already reading because of the books we get each month! The customer service is spot-on, too; they always get back to me really quickly whenever I have a question. Once, I didn't like one of the books that I got, and they sent me a new one for free!

Verified Purchase

Great Books! Fantastic Customer Service!

Jul 19, 2018
Coloring C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

These guys are great! The boxes are packed with great books and extras like activity books. But what really sets them apart from the other subscriptions I have tried is the customer service. When I had a question about the right reading level for my grand-daughter, the curator contacted me and worked with me to make sure she got books that engaged her!

Verified Purchase

....

Jul 16, 2018
Marybelle M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I bought this subscription for my daughter and the first box that we got back in May was awesome! Was very well packaged and had an extremely nice note. Since then, the boxes have been very sub par. The books were not great at all, could have gotten the same books from a flea market or dollar store.

Verified Purchase

Amazing!!

Jul 08, 2018
Patricia F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

We love this monthly subscription box and this company! Awesome books, an amazing price, a nice gift for mom & the most friendliest customer service! My kids get so excited every month and we have to read them all right away! I recommend my first reading club to everyone!

Verified Purchase

High Quality Books

Jun 15, 2018
Daryl B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I received my first box of books, and I was pretty disappointed. The books were chapter books and my son is just learning how to read (I'd chosen the "For readers 6-8 years old option"). I was able to change my subscription though to the "For readers 4-5 years old" option so next month will hopefully be more in his range. I also switched it so future packages will be addressed to my son to add a bit more excitement for him. The books, while not at the skill level for my son, were very high-quality books, and we will definitely be keeping them until he is able to read them. I am really looking forward to our next box.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Veronica P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Absolutely love getting our box every month!

Verified Purchase

What an incredible service <3

Jun 15, 2018
Rosa D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I've been thoroughly impressed right from the start. The founders are so engaged and attentive to their customers and what I think really seals the deal is the obvious joy they have for reading and sharing such a wonderful experience with the families that subscribe. I couldn't be happier with this service and I will keep raving about it until I'm sure that everyone knows how wonderful a gift this box provides. Keep up the good work. With every success you share, I become more excited than ever to be a subscriber.

Verified Purchase

Great value

Jun 15, 2018
Kimberly M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Our first box was in Jan and had all Valentine's books, my son wasn't too exciting about that but they were great quality books totally worth what I paid for. I ended up keeping 1 book & gifting 2 to co-workers and their daughters love the books.

Verified Purchase

Amazing box!

Jun 15, 2018
Amanda A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

They said I would receive 3-4 books and really I received 6! One was a box set of 4 board books for my son plus two others. He loved all the books he received and so did I! We had fun reading them. Looking forward to next month's box.

Verified Purchase

Great Book Choices!

Jun 15, 2018
Melissa L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I signed up my two kids (4 year old boy and 5 year old girl) for this club. We just got our first box last week, and the books we received were awesome! It was wonderfully packaged, and the small gifts for mommy were nice too (though I am not a lotion and bath salt kind of gal, I know plenty of other women who are). We received a funny alien mask cardboard book, a reusable Guardians of the Galaxy sticker book, and two story books (Andy and Apples, Apples, Apples). My son is still obsessed with the alien book, and my daughter loved the apples book (which is both seasonally appropriate and educational).

Tracking this package wasn't the easiest because I didn't know what service they were using, and there was not an easy "click here!" link that took you straight to the tracking page in my email confirmation. Maybe it was just my browser? A small nitpick in comparison to what you get in the end - a very thoughtfully crafted box with educational and fun choices for a very nice price. It blew me away! Keep up the great work, MFRC! My family thanks you!

Verified Purchase

My grandson love the books

Jun 15, 2018
Norma R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I gave this to my grandson who loves to read, he has so far loved all the books he has gotten and no duplicates of what he has already.

Verified Purchase

My daughter loves the books

Jun 15, 2018
Mike P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Great value for these books, my daughter is 5 months old and loved her first box. The books were age appropriate and textured which she loves as well. I would recommend this subscription to any and all parents.

Verified Purchase

Box O Fun!!

Jun 15, 2018
Heidi H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Well, I started out with one box for my two grandsons 6 & 7. When I found out they got 3 books and an activity book and their mom was excited, the kids were excited, I was happy as a clam! I immediately signed up for another subscription for my granddaughter age 5. When she gets her box she will be absolutely elated!!! How fun is this!!! It reminds me of my grandma doing this for me when I was young, and I loved getting the books each month, this was many, many years ago, but the memory is is a fond one. Thank you!!!

Verified Purchase

So far, it's perfect!

Jun 15, 2018
Michelle M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

We just received our first shipment today and my daughter was absolutely thrilled! The books and activity book are of great quality and they're all centered around a Valentine's Day theme, which my daughter loved. If this is what we have to look forward to every month, we'll remain loyal subscribers for years to come.

Verified Purchase

Just starting out box

Jun 15, 2018
Melissa D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

We got our first box today! We ordered the "just starting out package" and it is awesome! It came with three hard cover quality books aswell as a gift for mom!
It was a little late but I contacted the owner and the response was almost instant!
Great books and great customer service! Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Definitely recommend!

Jun 15, 2018
Gabrielle D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I decided to try this book club for my 3 year old. She absolutely loved everything inside and was perfect for her age! It arrive super quick and well worth the price! Very satisfied family :)

Verified Purchase

Dont do IT!

Jun 15, 2018
Kristi G.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

This was terrible and a huge waste of money. The books were complete junk and books that I would never spend money on. Next time I will just go to the store and pick out my own books. Save your money!

Verified Purchase

Amazing customer service!!

Jun 15, 2018
Ayumi E.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

My mom bought a 12month subscription for my kids. I love their choise of books every month, but what I like the most about this company is their customer service!! They always reply within a day or so, and they are very generous! Love it!

Verified Purchase

Getting better and better

Jun 15, 2018
Nosizwe M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

According to the recipient and her mother (this a gift subscription), this box, the fifth, is the best so far. My niece is six, and some of books were appropriate for a ten year old more than a 6 year old...so she's got books for a few years hence, and some to share with her older brother, but this month's books are ones she can read herself, a big win-win! Thank you!

Verified Purchase

What a Great Subscription!

Jun 15, 2018
Jennifer M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

We just received our first shipment and it was wonderful! The books were very age appropriate and my grandson was thrilled with them. He is seven and reading very well so we was very happy to have new books coming each month. The activity book was a fun addition as was the little gift for his mom. VERY worthwhile. Thank you!

Verified Purchase

Attention to detail, please

Jun 15, 2018
Nosizwe M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

The idea is lovely, but there have been a couple of issues, namely, the first delivery was a month late, as the order was overlooked /forgotten/lost, and as it was for a six year old's birthday, it would have been more significant for it to have been closer to the time, and secondly, the books being sent are very nice, but they are not books she can read on her own, as she's a Level E reader, and these have to be read to her, which is frustrating for her. In addition, I think she'd like books more tailored to her gender, and not necessarily books for boys.
I have sent this review to.....a nameless person, hopefully connected to Cratejoy, thru the only means that I could see. Hopefully, I'll get a response, or, better yet, the boxes will have more appropriate content in them from now on.

Verified Purchase

Wanda

Jun 15, 2018
Wanda J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Love the great customer service this company provides. My granddaughters love the books and activities. We love the excellent quality of the books! Totally recommend this book service!!

Verified Purchase

So far so good!

Jun 15, 2018
Casey A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I just signed up for My First Reading Club a couple months ago. We got our first box in November and it was great! I could tell that the box came with books that were beneficial to boys AND girls and my girls loved the books even if one or two of them were “boy.” Young kids don’t care about that kind of thing. Anyway, I never received one for December and I was disappointed. However, I contacted Dan Schaefer this evening and had a response within minutes. He was great and sent me the tracking info immediately. Turns out fedex was just behind. Definitely excited to see what’s in store for January!

Verified Purchase
Buying Options