My First Reading Club

My First Reading Club

by My First Reading Club
We Ship 2 or 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as

$17.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (351)

No one responds to my pleas for help!

Jun 30, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carol G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

This is a wonderful book club. However, I tried to contact them several times to change the subscription. Not only did I not get a response, they sent the last 6 months of my subscription to the wrong address. I still have not received a single response. DO NOT buy this subscription if you anticipate any problems. They will not contact you or answer any inquiries!!!!!!

Verified Purchase

Slow Shipping!

May 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dennis U.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

They ship when they want too, no type of schedule for shipping your packages. I will NOT renew my subscription; I will find a company that will respond questions and my concerns.

Verified Purchase

It's a scam. Don't purchase.

May 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terri R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

PLEASE DO NOT order from this company. I paid for a 12 month subscription and can't get my box shipped and can't get a response from this seller and Cratejoy has not been helpful either. I filed a complaint with BBB and they have a rating of an "F". I wish I had done my research before going through all the aggravation plus the hundreds of dollars I lost.

Verified Purchase

No delivery; no response

Jan 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pooja M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I gave this as a gift (3 month subscription) and still waiting for the second delivery apparently sent out on Dec 16. I have emailed the seller twice but no response so far.

Verified Purchase

Don't make the same mistake I did

Jan 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Traci S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

This is a scam. I've made several requests to have them cancel my account which have all been ignored. Don't do it.

Verified Purchase

They do what they want

Dec 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Morgan M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I did not give authorization to bill card on file (that is expired). I have canceled this subscription.

Verified Purchase

Would not recommend.

Dec 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Vaibhavi C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Stay away! I reached out multiple times to have this cancelled since the books were not that great. Never heard from anyone including Cratejoy. I would never get any subscription from cratejoy or this seller ever again.

Verified Purchase

Not a happy customer

Dec 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christina L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

I wasn’t happy that it took so long for me to get my package when I ordered it on November 12 and I just got it today on December 11. Also when I messaged the seller and the seller never messaged me back. I probably will never use this again.

Verified Purchase

Horrible Seller

Oct 11, 2021
Overall
Quality
Curation
Chelsey G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

At first this box was great. I am signed up for the 0-2 years box. I have gotten boxes full of age appropriate board books. However, my last box had nothing but preschool style text books that were not appropriate for my 1 year old. I tried reaching out to the seller for a refund and they have been completely unresponsive. Do not sign up for this box. If you have any issues the seller won’t care enough to respond.

Verified Purchase

Great Books - Terrible shipping!

Sep 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Misty C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Paid in full for a year's subsciption as gift for my great neice. With the exception of the first delivery - every other order has bben delayed and rerouted. I reached out to the seller and crate joy and have had little to no response from the seller. Cratejoy has had a similar experience with them.
It is unfortunate becasue the books are great - very age appropaite - and something that her parents looked forward to being able to share with her monthly. Very disappointing.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Sep 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bradley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Contacted the seller twice about Sept order. No response, no Sept delivery.

Verified Purchase

Won't answer emails re: shipping address

Sep 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Sharon K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This has been a nightmare. I signed up for this for my niece who is 2... I had been with Bookroo but some of the books were too old for her so decided to try this company. I have had nothing but trouble. They sent the first order to me instead of her. When I went in to my account to change it I just got a circle with a slash through it. Her address is there but it won't switch over to it.. I contacted them and right away was told to donate the ones I got and they would send another to her.. I repeated her shipping address and then heard nothing from them. Nor did she get a box. I've sent numerous emails (10? 12?) to them and the few that they answered I used the "reply" and then didn't hear anything more. Last month neither of us got a box. This month I, again, got the shipment. I canceled and it asked me why and I reiterated my problems begging them to CALL me as the emails are just not working. I've given them my phone number numerous times. I cannot find a telephone number for this company anywhere. Their customer service is awful. After receiving this latest box I tried to reinstate my order and then I was able to change the "ship to" name to hers but it looks like I'm supposed to repay. I tried to refute...

Verified Purchase

Poor customer service

Aug 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shelby G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Poor customer service.

Verified Purchase

No timely service

Jul 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa S.
17 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 days

I placed an order for my 9-year-old nephew, who is at a more advanced reading level. I placed an order on June 28. Ten days after the order, nothing, not even a shipping update beyond a label being created.

Verified Purchase

Do not use this subscription!!!

May 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicole L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

They sent me a shipping notification about a month ago and I haven’t received the box for my child. I tried reaching out twice and haven’t heard back from them. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS SUBSCRIPTION.

Verified Purchase

Books

May 03, 2021
Overall
Joanne M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I want a refund for this subscription. Made in error. Emailed several times with NO satisfaction. Terrible company!

Verified Purchase

Hard to rate

May 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brooke K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Can't really review when my first shipment from last month still has not arrived. Tried to teach out to someone at the start of April, still have not heard from anyone. Money wasted.

Verified Purchase

Not impressed

Apr 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bri H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I’m not impressed with the contents of this box. There are so many amazing children’s books out there, and it really seems like they scrape the bottom of the barrel for the ones in this box. They are not current books or relevant to what is going on that month (black history, etc). Also they didn’t seem very age appropriate. I have a 3 year old girl, and a lot of the books were clearly for a much older child.

Verified Purchase

very dissapointed

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

we continue to receive "baby" books for a 9 year old girl. i have contacted the seller and this is still not resolved. very disappointing for this child and i am not happy that i have spent this much money on what is a useless gift for this child

Verified Purchase

about dancing when you need to “wee”.

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Beverly R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

The age of my grandson is 7 y/o this month. The first book we read was about needing to urinate. He has been bladder trained since he was 3. Book is too young for him & most 6-8 y/o in my opinion. Very disappointed. Last years books were more age appropriate. How do I fix this problem. Is he in the wrong age group? Can we return the book? I did not read any of the other books. Not even age appropriate for his younger brother who is 3 1/2 & has been bladder trained for over a year. I want to continue his 6 mo subscription but I need for you to contact me regard age appropriate books. Thank you.

Verified Purchase

6 months, suddenly stopped sending boxes

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Destoni B.
2 Reviews
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

*UPDATE* - never received our July box. I have attempted to reach the seller through Cratejoy and through MFRC direct site (which they’ve responded to before).
I don’t know how or why they would skip one of our boxes 6 months in on a 12 month pre-paid plan. But I’m pretty upset, especially since they can’t even return an email.
Currently on month 9. Still never got a return email to my 4 emails regarding my missing box, and the problem was never resolved, we never got our box. This month, we received the 2 and under box when we subscribe to the 3-5 year old box. I won’t be renewing my box at this point. So disappointed, and really wish I hadn’t gone for the 12 month subscription.
Overall we are really happy with this box. There has been a couple books that have been a little over my kid’s head (2 1/2 and 4 years old). If you are getting it for the “gift” I wouldn’t bother.
The quality of books and the activity is worth the price though. We have got sticker books a couple times and my kids LOVE them!
Note if you order mid month you will receive the next months box and then no box the next month. For example I ordered mid January and received February’s box so we didn’t receive our next box till March. This is not outlined very well and took multiple attempts to reach someone concerning this. We thought we were jipped a...

Verified Purchase

Shipping and customer care sub par.

Apr 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carol H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Shipping and company contact are subpar. I will file a complaint with my credit card if this company renews my 6th month subscription. Tracking number was not accurate, said we are getting our third box, we have only received one thus far. Many emails back and fourth, cancelling seems like a charge will be attached.
I am waiting until the six boxes have been sent and will never use this service again.

Verified Purchase

Scammers

Apr 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sydney P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I am SO disappointed and highly recommend you look elsewhere for your little one for a book subscription. I purchased this for my daughter who is 10 months but has loved to be read to since she was in the NICU. Since were rereading a lot of books, I wanted some new ones to add to our collection. I purchased in 2/25/21. Received an email on 3/2/21 that it had shipped and received a tracking number thru USPS. After about two weeks, I still had received anything in the mail and went back to check the tracking which still had stated “label created but not yet in our system”. I sent an email asking what was going on and when it would actually be shipped. In return, I got an automated email that I should hear something within 48 hours, if not, it would automatically be escalated and someone would be in contact. It’s now 4/1/21, the tracking still states the same thing, I’ve sent another email, and still have not heard from anyone in regard to where my package is. I have received another email saying my second package is supposedly on the way, but now the tracking is thru another company. Unfortunately, I purchased the 6 month subscription, which I did for my niece with another company, Bookroo, which was AMAZING!, so I figured it would be fine to do with Cratejoy as well. VERY much regretting it. I understand there’s a ton of internet scams but to...

Verified Purchase

Not worth subscribing

Mar 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Olga K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Horrible!!! The customer service is ridiculous. I prepaid for a 3 month subscription and only got 1 month so far. Very disappointing to say the least.

Verified Purchase

Need clarification on how they do boxes

Mar 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gee F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

We must have received a starter box, but since we did not choose to get one I hope that does not count as our first month. Not really impressed with the box, or lack of response to my inquiry.

Verified Purchase