We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Canceled My Subscription

Sep 19, 2019
Carly O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I signed up over a year ago to start collecting books for my little one. For the first year shipments came within the first week or so of the month and were great. But for the past 3 months, shipments haven't been sent out until the last week - I'd already been billed for the next month before the current month even shipped out. I emailed to enquire about my July shipment and was told shipments were late due to summer and staff vacations...ok, but maybe let your subscribers know?? Then my August shipment was late - I emailed again and received no response. Finally, the first week of September, what I assume was supposed to be my August box, arrived. But it was a carbon copy of the July books. I canceled that day. I had already been billed for September, but I highly doubt I will be receiving a box for September. This started out great, with some very unique books, then customer service and selection fell. I've been researching other book subscriptions for my kids.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Sep 19, 2019

Hi Carly, I owe you an apology. We have struggled this summer with labor but have fixed it as of last week. Everything will be on time moving forward. We've also struck a deal with two new publishers we are really excited about. they will be delivering some critically acclaimed children's books to us across all the genres. As part of my apology (I know I can't make up for the recent mistakes completely), I would like to add three free months to your membership. I will reach out to you today with confirmation. Thank you again for your understanding and for being such a long time subscriber. If I can do anything else to be of service please don't hesitate to reach out-Dan

Seller

Price increase?!?!

Mar 24, 2019
Louise
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

For over a year my daughter and I have enjoyed this service and my credit card has been charged 16.99 and now I find out after reviewing my bank statements they are now charging 26.99 and have been for the last three months — I am not happy and also don’t believe the four books you get per month are worth 27 dollars . If I was going to pay that I would have signed up for the activity collection from this other company I didn’t becuse I was not willing to pay almost 30 for it. I joined so she could enjoy opening something up with me but now I am connicerding boxing books I buy up myself and she can open them up for under 10 a month !! It’s the increase with out knowing that really bothers me - I’m sure they sent an email however they email all the time so I would have just thought it was another ad....

Verified Purchase

Terrible Service

Jun 15, 2018
Craig B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I bought this for my nephew thinking it would be an amazing gift to open every month. At first it was, although we specially ordered the box to arrive for his birthday (which it didn't) he loved what was inside. Over the next two months the packages came at the end of the month, considering he was receiving Halloween books the day before Halloween.... November came and once again the package arrived at the end of the month. December we received NOTHING. Then come January 3rd we receive a parcel request to pick up a package from the post office, when we get there we were told we needed to pay a $40.00 charge as the box had been marked with a total cost of $600.00! This was INSANE. we sent the package back. This is a great idea if you get what you paid for on time. Who wants Christmas books in January??? Trying to get some help is also disappointing, saying that information will be passed off to managers and then hearing nothing back doesn't really solve anything. We are very disappointed in this box and will NOT be continuing the membership when it expires.

Verified Purchase

Not my favorite

Jun 15, 2018
Delina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I like the ideas behind these boxes, but this months felt a little more centered around little girls

Verified Purchase

Canceled after two months

Jun 15, 2018
Kristina R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I was happy with the first box. All three books were age appropriate and overall good fits. The second month was a little disappointing because the books looked super cheap and none of them were good for reading to him. Both mommy gifts were lotion which I wasn’t excited about. I also don’t like that I pay for it on the 15th of every month and it ships two weeks later.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jun 15, 2018
Rhonda J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall

I wish there was a questioneer to fill out with the kids interests of something. My son was only interested in 1 of the 3 books. To top it off it was supposed to include a customized birthday note and it didn't even though I email customer service to confirm. My son loves books but we just did not feel like this was a good fit.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Rachel
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

Honestly I was so excited for these books to arrive. We bought “just starting out” for our 13 month old. However, we received a bunch of tv show books we never even heard of. One of these had tiny flaps. We also received frozen books, and I do not think any of these are age appropriate for a 1 year old. One of the shows isn’t even on anymore. I’m disappointed, because for $16 I could buy him 2 books at the store that he would actually like.

Verified Purchase

Not satisfied with the first selections

Jun 15, 2018
Flora D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I just received my first order and I was a little disappointed that there was only 1 book my grandchildren could read by themselves. The book on Egypt and the United States, although interesting, was not written for a 6-8 year old 1st and 2nd grader. I hope the other books that come will be age and grade appropriate.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options