Home > Family & Kids > Baby & Toddler > My First Reading Club > My First Reading Club reviews
We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Jun 23, 2018
Kibby D.
1 Review
Overall

My gift arrived without a message stating it was from me, so my granddaughter had no idea who it was from. Also, I thought there was a small gift for Mommy in it. My daughter said there wasn't anything. Did I misread that?
Thanks

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...

Hi Kibby,

I’m sorry that happened. I’d going to refund your money for that box, and I’ll also send out a new box with a couple extra mommy gifts (Moms work hard they deserve a treat!). In addition, I’m going to also add a free month to your membership. If you aren’t satisfied, we aren’t satisfied. Please email me if I can be of further service. I’m here to help. -Danny

Jun 25, 2018

Not what I expected...

Jun 15, 2018
Michele C.
46 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Overall

I received my first box today. I had bought this for my four-year-old granddaughter and was surprised to find one paperback girl-oriented book from the Disney film "Frozen" ( it was nice), plus two VERY boy-oriented books: one about hockey and the other about a boy and a whale. There was a bonus book on how to draw caricatures, however this was nowhere near her age level. This would work out so much better if you could choose either girl, boy, or gender-neutral themed books when you sign up and if more care were taken to ensure that all the books are age-appropriate. Unfortunately I have cancelled my subscription due to these issues.

Verified Purchase

First box reaction

Jun 15, 2018
Heidi D.
1 Review
Overall

So I absolutely love the idea of getting new books every month, however we are signed up for the "just starting out" level (my daughter is 18 months) and we received 3 hardcover books. The books are very nice quality however 2 of them are such long stories my daughter couldn't sit through 1 page, let alone the whole book. These will need to be shelved until she is quite a bit older which is disappointing because she loves to look at books and read together. I am hoping for some more age appropriate books in our next box.

Verified Purchase

It's OK. There are issues

Jun 15, 2018
Christine R.
3 Reviews
Overall

We bought a 6 month subscription. We just received box 5 out of 6. 2 out of 5 have been duplicate boxes from previous months. The first time they resent to replace. This time I haven't heard back since I emailed today. You get 3 books and an activity book so it's a good price. One time I got a game manual for a game we don't even own. I guess they sent it because it had stickers in it? My daughter loves getting the books every month, but with how much I have to contact them over getting replacements for a duplicate box or the tracking number not working IDK if I want to renew and continue

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Genevieve
1 Review
Overall

I got 1 book we enjoy but the rest I would have been okay changing out. Especially since it was a monster truck book and I have a little girl...

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...

Genevieve, Thanks for your feedback. We try to include a mix each month so that all children will find something that appeals to them. I’m sorry we had a couple of misses for your daughter this month. If you want, email service@myfirstreadingclub.com and we will send you a couple of replacements free of charge. Again, thanks for the feedback! Parent input like yours helps us make better picks each month! Joe

Dec 21, 2017

Jun 15, 2018
Quyen N.
1 Review
Overall

Received my first box last week. I saw some said they received a lot of marketing books. But I received books for my 5 year old boy related to television. There was also included an acitivity book. I think this is a fun way to get your children excited about reading because to them it's always fun opening packages

Verified Purchase

Rhonda

Jun 15, 2018
Rhonda N.
2 Reviews
Overall

My granddaughter is so happy every month with the books she receives. The shipments are very generous!
My daughter is so pleased that she has spread the word to the other parents at their daycare. It is a great opportunity to give a gift for many months at a very reasonable price.
Thank you.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options