We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Customer service?

Feb 02, 2021
Kate F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I'd be happy to give CrateJoy a better review as their customer service (once I figured out how to submit a ticket) was great. "My First Reading Club; however, I'd like to give a lower review. I sent 4 emails and CrateJoy tried to contact them as well. Not one reply. My money was finally just refunded. It's a shame too because they picked out great books and had great quality. I purchased on Amazon for the same pricing. It's too bad their customer service is so bad.

Verified Purchase

Great box, questionable shipping

Feb 11, 2021
Joy J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My niece loves her books and my sister in law said they are great quality. However, processing and shipment does not go smoothly. I am three months into a subscription and have only received 2 boxes. I left a message about the missing box with customer service and it was never answered.

Verified Purchase

Gift for mom? May as well leave it out

Feb 11, 2021
Rose L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

The gift for mom is a tiny body wash sample, which is laughable as a selling point for starters, but is also a questionable choice to be included in a box for infant to 2-year-olds....

Verified Purchase

purr-fect valentine

Feb 11, 2021
Rita S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

1 book arrived damaged. Still waiting for replacement book.

Verified Purchase

Received 2nd shipment

Jan 10, 2021
Mary M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

My 3-year-old granddaughter loves these books and is so excited when she gets the shipment.
This month's box, as always, had great books. However, the version of Little Red Riding Hood that was included was a bit rough. Fortunately there was a note from the author that this was an original version and actually intimated that the Grandma and Little Red Riding Hood were actually "no more" because the wolf ate both of them.
My daughter tried to prepare the kids before they read the story but she said my 5-year-old grandson will still "a little freaked" that the wolf ate them. I'm not convinced this book should be included in a box for this very young age.

Verified Purchase

Mary

Jan 07, 2021
Mary B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

It was delivered to the wrong address. You sent it to ME not to Addy Villwock as directed.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Dec 16, 2020
Ava S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Odd assortment for a three year old girl. The puppy book is great but Ninja Turtles and Lady Liberty are a complete miss. Disappointed

Verified Purchase

My first book club

Aug 09, 2020
Tracy P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought it for my granddaughter as a gift . The books were good quality , and age appropriate. She was very excited to receive a package every month. The (little )gift for mom is a nice idea . I was disappointed that the activity book that was said to come with the order, was never received. Not once was there a activity book sent with any of the packages .

Verified Purchase

All books

Jul 18, 2020
Dawn B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This selection is too young. What is the next age group books?

Verified Purchase

Wish the books were a little better

Feb 10, 2020
Melissa H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased a 6 month subscription for MFRC. Initially I was pleased to see that the books were titles that my kids had never heard of before. Unfortunately the books did not quite capture my kids' interest and I will probably regift many of these books to friends who might enjoy them more. Also, the "parent gift" was a sweet touch, but not necessary.

Verified Purchase

Maybe

Aug 23, 2019
Nicole J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received four books. Only two will work for my nephew. I wish you could chose boy or girl along with age. I will try another month and see if it gets better. The box was damaged and things were smooshed and torn inside the box. Not a lot of care taken.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Aug 23, 2019

Hi Nicole, I'm sorry that happened. It sounds like your box was beat up pretty bad in shipping. Shipping can really take a toll on the boxes especially in the summer. We are happy to replace it for free. Also, if you feel like a book isn't "right" for your child just email me and I'll happily replace it for at no charge. I look forward to helping further.

Meh ...

Aug 11, 2019
Lauren P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not interested in anything religious. (Veggie tales)
Nella and tree book were too advanced for a 16 month old.
Bunnies!!! book was great

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Aug 11, 2019

Hi Lauren,
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the mix this month. We have a very diverse audience and try to accommodate a wide selection of tastes. Our number one priority is to offer books with great stories. With that said we also try to remain sensitive to any subscriber's concerns over any book and will replace it for free no questions asked. Just email our service address at your convenience and will we gladly send a replacement or refund your money. We look forward to helping further!

Jun 23, 2018
Kibby D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

My gift arrived without a message stating it was from me, so my granddaughter had no idea who it was from. Also, I thought there was a small gift for Mommy in it. My daughter said there wasn't anything. Did I misread that?
Thanks

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Jun 25, 2018

Hi Kibby,

I’m sorry that happened. I’d going to refund your money for that box, and I’ll also send out a new box with a couple extra mommy gifts (Moms work hard they deserve a treat!). In addition, I’m going to also add a free month to your membership. If you aren’t satisfied, we aren’t satisfied. Please email me if I can be of further service. I’m here to help. -Danny

Rhonda

Apr 04, 2018
Rhonda N.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My granddaughter is so happy every month with the books she receives. The shipments are very generous!
My daughter is so pleased that she has spread the word to the other parents at their daycare. It is a great opportunity to give a gift for many months at a very reasonable price.
Thank you.

Verified Purchase

Not what I expected...

Aug 12, 2017
Sharon C.
39 Reviews
18 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall

I received my first box today. I had bought this for my four-year-old granddaughter and was surprised to find one paperback girl-oriented book from the Disney film "Frozen" ( it was nice), plus two VERY boy-oriented books: one about hockey and the other about a boy and a whale. There was a bonus book on how to draw caricatures, however this was nowhere near her age level. This would work out so much better if you could choose either girl, boy, or gender-neutral themed books when you sign up and if more care were taken to ensure that all the books are age-appropriate. Unfortunately I have cancelled my subscription due to these issues.

Verified Purchase

It's OK. There are issues

Jul 25, 2017
Christine R.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

We bought a 6 month subscription. We just received box 5 out of 6. 2 out of 5 have been duplicate boxes from previous months. The first time they resent to replace. This time I haven't heard back since I emailed today. You get 3 books and an activity book so it's a good price. One time I got a game manual for a game we don't even own. I guess they sent it because it had stickers in it? My daughter loves getting the books every month, but with how much I have to contact them over getting replacements for a duplicate box or the tracking number not working IDK if I want to renew and continue

Verified Purchase

Dec 20, 2017
Genevieve
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

I got 1 book we enjoy but the rest I would have been okay changing out. Especially since it was a monster truck book and I have a little girl...

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Dec 21, 2017

Genevieve, Thanks for your feedback. We try to include a mix each month so that all children will find something that appeals to them. I’m sorry we had a couple of misses for your daughter this month. If you want, email service@myfirstreadingclub.com and we will send you a couple of replacements free of charge. Again, thanks for the feedback! Parent input like yours helps us make better picks each month! Joe