My First Reading Club

My First Reading Club

by My First Reading Club
We Ship 2 or 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as

$17.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (351)

Unhappy

Jul 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Thomas T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

Our niece loves the books and that's the only reason I renewed. The renewal was advertised at the price I bought the original subscription for but then it charged my card almost $30 more. Cratejoy is impossible to contact and my issue didn't fit their automated systems cookie cutter headings. I would cancel if she didn't love getting the books... which are not consistent at all of when they arrive

Verified Purchase

Frustrating Websie

Jul 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Laurel W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

The website is difficult to navigate. I have been unable to locate the order to change a shipping address. Help was not very effective. It is extremely frustrating to the point I probably will never use Cratejoy again!

Verified Purchase

figure out your shipping issue...

Jan 26, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Robin G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

the shipping takes WEEKS with no updates or tracking (the number you send tells you it goes to an outside carrier and to view updates... but there is NEVER updates... we end up buying new ones before we get the old ones.... i cancelled and will go with a company that cares if the products ever get there at all let alone even in the same BILLING CYCLE! HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED.

Verified Purchase

Try Before You Buy

Nov 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christal K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I chose the box by age group. My daughter is 6, and unfortunately she won't be able to make any use of at least 2 of the books for at least the next 2-3 years. They are chapter books meant for 3rd grade and up. Shipping time was ok since there was no rush, but still not received as soon as the description says. I only purchased 1 month since I wanted to make sure it was a good choice for my child, but I won't be renewing.

Verified Purchase

It’s okay for where we are now

Oct 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Yelaine W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

The books are a but advanced for my son. He’s not on chapter books yet. Would be great if you could state child’s age instead of a range.

Verified Purchase

Two of the books are the same

Oct 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Merrie W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days

I got two of the exact same books.

Verified Purchase

Spring

Jul 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandra T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days

Books were nice but I received spring and Easter books in july

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jun 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Halana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

I purchased 3 annual subscriptions for each of my children’s families in December ages newborn to age 5. The books are sweet and the kids love them but are at times religiously chosen which conflicts with our beliefs. Also one family moved and although we sent in change of address prior to the move the books went to old address and despite several messages to company have not yet been resent to correct address. Customer service is lacking.

Verified Purchase

Did not like book selection

May 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mridula W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The books this time were not good.

Verified Purchase

Not great

Apr 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nancy L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Some of these books are much too simple for my kids (3&5), so maybe I chose the wrong set? Also don’t love the content of many of the books. Wouldn’t do this again.

Verified Purchase

2nd box

Mar 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Renee S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

My granddaughter was not thrilled to get this box like I thought she would. The books did not seem to draw her into reading. Will get my third shipment but plan to cancel subscription.

Verified Purchase

First box

Mar 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon G.
1 Review

The first box arrived today. The books look good, however the gift for Mom was a lollipop?
This was The first month of a six month subscription, I am hoping the next ones are good.

Great box, questionable shipping

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joy J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

My niece loves her books and my sister in law said they are great quality. However, processing and shipment does not go smoothly. I am three months into a subscription and have only received 2 boxes. I left a message about the missing box with customer service and it was never answered.

Verified Purchase

Gift for mom? May as well leave it out

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Rose L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

The gift for mom is a tiny body wash sample, which is laughable as a selling point for starters, but is also a questionable choice to be included in a box for infant to 2-year-olds....

Verified Purchase

purr-fect valentine

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rita S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

1 book arrived damaged. Still waiting for replacement book.

Verified Purchase

Customer service?

Feb 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Kate F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

I'd be happy to give CrateJoy a better review as their customer service (once I figured out how to submit a ticket) was great. "My First Reading Club; however, I'd like to give a lower review. I sent 4 emails and CrateJoy tried to contact them as well. Not one reply. My money was finally just refunded. It's a shame too because they picked out great books and had great quality. I purchased on Amazon for the same pricing. It's too bad their customer service is so bad.

Verified Purchase

Received 2nd shipment

Jan 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Mary M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

My 3-year-old granddaughter loves these books and is so excited when she gets the shipment.
This month's box, as always, had great books. However, the version of Little Red Riding Hood that was included was a bit rough. Fortunately there was a note from the author that this was an original version and actually intimated that the Grandma and Little Red Riding Hood were actually "no more" because the wolf ate both of them.
My daughter tried to prepare the kids before they read the story but she said my 5-year-old grandson will still "a little freaked" that the wolf ate them. I'm not convinced this book should be included in a box for this very young age.

Verified Purchase

Mary

Jan 07, 2021
Overall
Mary B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

It was delivered to the wrong address. You sent it to ME not to Addy Villwock as directed.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Dec 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ava S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Odd assortment for a three year old girl. The puppy book is great but Ninja Turtles and Lady Liberty are a complete miss. Disappointed

Verified Purchase

My first book club

Aug 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tracy P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

I bought it for my granddaughter as a gift . The books were good quality , and age appropriate. She was very excited to receive a package every month. The (little )gift for mom is a nice idea . I was disappointed that the activity book that was said to come with the order, was never received. Not once was there a activity book sent with any of the packages .

Verified Purchase

All books

Jul 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dawn B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

This selection is too young. What is the next age group books?

Verified Purchase

Wish the books were a little better

Feb 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I purchased a 6 month subscription for MFRC. Initially I was pleased to see that the books were titles that my kids had never heard of before. Unfortunately the books did not quite capture my kids' interest and I will probably regift many of these books to friends who might enjoy them more. Also, the "parent gift" was a sweet touch, but not necessary.

Verified Purchase

Maybe

Aug 23, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicole J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

I received four books. Only two will work for my nephew. I wish you could chose boy or girl along with age. I will try another month and see if it gets better. The box was damaged and things were smooshed and torn inside the box. Not a lot of care taken.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Aug 23, 2019

Hi Nicole, I'm sorry that happened. It sounds like your box was beat up pretty bad in shipping. Shipping can really take a toll on the boxes especially in the summer. We are happy to replace it for free. Also, if you feel like a book isn't "right" for your child just email me and I'll happily replace it for at no charge. I look forward to helping further.

Meh ...

Aug 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lauren P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Not interested in anything religious. (Veggie tales)
Nella and tree book were too advanced for a 16 month old.
Bunnies!!! book was great

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Aug 11, 2019

Hi Lauren,
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the mix this month. We have a very diverse audience and try to accommodate a wide selection of tastes. Our number one priority is to offer books with great stories. With that said we also try to remain sensitive to any subscriber's concerns over any book and will replace it for free no questions asked. Just email our service address at your convenience and will we gladly send a replacement or refund your money. We look forward to helping further!

Jun 23, 2018
Overall
Kibby D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

My gift arrived without a message stating it was from me, so my granddaughter had no idea who it was from. Also, I thought there was a small gift for Mommy in it. My daughter said there wasn't anything. Did I misread that?
Thanks

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Jun 25, 2018

Hi Kibby,

I’m sorry that happened. I’d going to refund your money for that box, and I’ll also send out a new box with a couple extra mommy gifts (Moms work hard they deserve a treat!). In addition, I’m going to also add a free month to your membership. If you aren’t satisfied, we aren’t satisfied. Please email me if I can be of further service. I’m here to help. -Danny