We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Maybe

Aug 23, 2019
Nicole J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received four books. Only two will work for my nephew. I wish you could chose boy or girl along with age. I will try another month and see if it gets better. The box was damaged and things were smooshed and torn inside the box. Not a lot of care taken.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Aug 23, 2019

Hi Nicole, I'm sorry that happened. It sounds like your box was beat up pretty bad in shipping. Shipping can really take a toll on the boxes especially in the summer. We are happy to replace it for free. Also, if you feel like a book isn't "right" for your child just email me and I'll happily replace it for at no charge. I look forward to helping further.

Seller

Meh ...

Aug 11, 2019
Lauren P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not interested in anything religious. (Veggie tales)
Nella and tree book were too advanced for a 16 month old.
Bunnies!!! book was great

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Aug 11, 2019

Hi Lauren,
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the mix this month. We have a very diverse audience and try to accommodate a wide selection of tastes. Our number one priority is to offer books with great stories. With that said we also try to remain sensitive to any subscriber's concerns over any book and will replace it for free no questions asked. Just email our service address at your convenience and will we gladly send a replacement or refund your money. We look forward to helping further!

Seller

Jun 23, 2018
Kibby D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

My gift arrived without a message stating it was from me, so my granddaughter had no idea who it was from. Also, I thought there was a small gift for Mommy in it. My daughter said there wasn't anything. Did I misread that?
Thanks

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Jun 25, 2018

Hi Kibby,

I’m sorry that happened. I’d going to refund your money for that box, and I’ll also send out a new box with a couple extra mommy gifts (Moms work hard they deserve a treat!). In addition, I’m going to also add a free month to your membership. If you aren’t satisfied, we aren’t satisfied. Please email me if I can be of further service. I’m here to help. -Danny

Seller

Jun 15, 2018
Genevieve
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

I got 1 book we enjoy but the rest I would have been okay changing out. Especially since it was a monster truck book and I have a little girl...

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Dec 21, 2017

Genevieve, Thanks for your feedback. We try to include a mix each month so that all children will find something that appeals to them. I’m sorry we had a couple of misses for your daughter this month. If you want, email service@myfirstreadingclub.com and we will send you a couple of replacements free of charge. Again, thanks for the feedback! Parent input like yours helps us make better picks each month! Joe

Seller

Jun 15, 2018
Quyen N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Received my first box last week. I saw some said they received a lot of marketing books. But I received books for my 5 year old boy related to television. There was also included an acitivity book. I think this is a fun way to get your children excited about reading because to them it's always fun opening packages

Verified Purchase

First box reaction

Jun 15, 2018
Heidi D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

So I absolutely love the idea of getting new books every month, however we are signed up for the "just starting out" level (my daughter is 18 months) and we received 3 hardcover books. The books are very nice quality however 2 of them are such long stories my daughter couldn't sit through 1 page, let alone the whole book. These will need to be shelved until she is quite a bit older which is disappointing because she loves to look at books and read together. I am hoping for some more age appropriate books in our next box.

Verified Purchase

Rhonda

Jun 15, 2018
Rhonda N.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My granddaughter is so happy every month with the books she receives. The shipments are very generous!
My daughter is so pleased that she has spread the word to the other parents at their daycare. It is a great opportunity to give a gift for many months at a very reasonable price.
Thank you.

Verified Purchase

Not what I expected...

Jun 15, 2018
Michele C.
47 Reviews
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall

I received my first box today. I had bought this for my four-year-old granddaughter and was surprised to find one paperback girl-oriented book from the Disney film "Frozen" ( it was nice), plus two VERY boy-oriented books: one about hockey and the other about a boy and a whale. There was a bonus book on how to draw caricatures, however this was nowhere near her age level. This would work out so much better if you could choose either girl, boy, or gender-neutral themed books when you sign up and if more care were taken to ensure that all the books are age-appropriate. Unfortunately I have cancelled my subscription due to these issues.

Verified Purchase

It's OK. There are issues

Jun 15, 2018
Christine R.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

We bought a 6 month subscription. We just received box 5 out of 6. 2 out of 5 have been duplicate boxes from previous months. The first time they resent to replace. This time I haven't heard back since I emailed today. You get 3 books and an activity book so it's a good price. One time I got a game manual for a game we don't even own. I guess they sent it because it had stickers in it? My daughter loves getting the books every month, but with how much I have to contact them over getting replacements for a duplicate box or the tracking number not working IDK if I want to renew and continue

Verified Purchase
Buying Options