My First Reading Club

My First Reading Club

by My First Reading Club
We Ship 2 or 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as

$17.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (350)

A great reminder from Grandma

Dec 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandy P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months

Great fir my grandkids. A few books were too old for the age range of my grandkids age 7 and 5 but for the most part they loved the books. I love reading and books and have since I was a child and I like to instill that in my grandchildren.

Verified Purchase

Great books, but messy shipping!

Dec 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jamie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

The book selection is amazing and the quality is great! Shipping took 14 days which was longer than usual and tracking showed that they were at my local post office for half that time. It’s also holiday season, so I can understand the delay. Also, I received a small tube of lotion, which I thought was a great little gift, but it spilled in the box. Thankfully we got all board books, so the mess was easy to clean up.

Verified Purchase

Kid books

Mar 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Linda F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

My grandkids loved them

Verified Purchase

Books are good, gift not so much...

Feb 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tyler S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

We've gotten 2 months of a 6 month order of this as a gift, and the books have been nice so far. Since that's the main thing that is the most important part and it has been fine. However, this "gift for mom" is a literal joke. For two months in a row, the "gift" has been a hotel size body wash, and it was the EXACT same one twice! What the heck?! It's become a joke in our family, but if you're ordering this box over another book box because of the "gift for mom" you should go with a different box hahaha

Verified Purchase

My First Book Club

Dec 31, 2020
Overall
Diane K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

The crate came in a timely fashion, however, I tried to cancel the subscription and bought one from another of your vendors. Tell me how to cancel the original order please.

Verified Purchase

Books are great

Nov 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carolann W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

The books and selection are great. The communication and delivery process not so much. I purchased a one year box set for my grandson. I was told they would arrive monthly around the 15th. With no email note etc. no box until the 31st of the month. When I tried log back into my account I was told no matching email? So I was not able to search for my gift.

Verified Purchase

Pretty good ( have had 3 boxes so far)

Nov 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah B.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I have a first grader and she’s liking the younger book set. The older set was more chapter books then she was ready for. So far the mom gift has always been a small travel size lotion.

Verified Purchase

Books are good!

Jun 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Airi M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

The delivered books are good and beautiful. I could not select good books for my 4-year-old son. But when I got the books from this company, my son could enjoy them. At first, the delivery was later than I expected. I was very worried about the delivery. But when I asked the question to this company, then the staff replied very soon. I could get the shipping track number, and I knew when the books were delivered. About shipping, I felt it was late. But the qualities of the books they selected were good and I look forward to the next delivery. For me this was the first time to use subscription service. Such an book subscription service is amazing. I believe that this subscription is very reasonable because the books from this company are very good like I uploaded pictures! But one thing you can keep in mind, shipping is a little later than you expect when you order this.

Verified Purchase

good value, good books

Nov 08, 2020
Overall
Quality
Curation
Glam'ma ..
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 3 months

Very nice books, good quality and nice selection.
( most were advanced for age 4, it’s okay will hold onto until later )

Verified Purchase

Great subscription for my autistic child

Sep 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terrilyn L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Happy with our book box.

Verified Purchase

1st time purchaser

Feb 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kalissa R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

Shipping was fast and easy. I like the books I received. They are nicely illustrated, the wording is a little lengthy for my 10 month old, but she loves playing with the pages and seeing the pictures. Very happy with my first purchase and can't wait to see next month.

Verified Purchase

Could be better!

Oct 26, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Xian L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Nice box, but I recieved a non pic fiction book for my 2 years old kid which is beyond his age, other three were perfect!

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Oct 27, 2019

Hi Xian, I've emailed you a number of timed without response. I tried to explain our shipping in those emails and also explain how we are on time with your shipment. Further, I answered your email within 10 minutes of you sending it so I'm not sure why you feel like you "didn't receive a response." - I wish there was something I could do to help you...

Still waiting on next gift box

Oct 05, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ellie S.
1 Review

We enjoyed the first box we received as part of a six month gift subscription for our one year old and have been looking forward to our next box however its been over a month and we have not received any indication that our second box will ship. Very confused by this process and disappointed that it does not seem to be straightforward.
In terms of books, Bunnies! has been a big hit but not interested in books with religious overtones (Vegitales). Some seemed a bit older for a one year old but we've put them aside for now.

My First Reading Club said...Oct 05, 2019

Hi, I'm glad you are enjoying MFRC overall, maybe this explanation on shipping will help. We ship every new subscriber’s first box early (within 48 hours after they sign up). Then every subsequent box goes out with our regular monthly shipment the first few days of each month (your new box went out Friday but Fedex hasn't updated the tracking yet). This sometimes creates more than 30 days between your first and second box depending on when you signed up but after that they come every 30 days like clockwork.
When you signed up, the box for that month already shipped so we shipped you the next month's box. If we shipped another box to you that month it would be a duplicate of what...

Feb 11, 2019
Overall
Abigail S.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered the youngest box for my 18 month old. We read a lot of boxes so I wish I had ordered up an age. To develop a love of reading, this would provide such a wide range and good quantity of books while young readers are still honing what quality of books they love.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 12, 2019

Hi Abigail,
Thank you for your kind words. We can adjust the reading level anytime you want and in fact we are happy to do it for you. If you will email me here dan.schaefer@ussampleworks.com<mailto:dan.schaefer@ussampleworks.com> I’ll make sure it is set to your preference.
If myself or anyone else at MFRC can be of service to you, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

Overall we enjoyed it.

Mar 09, 2019
Overall
Katy K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

We jut got our 12th and final box. We really enjoyed the subscription but it was a bit of a letdown that our final box contained two books that were in our 10th box. And the “fun” books was a dud and a bit juvenile for the age group. Other than this issue, I think it has been worth the money.

Verified Purchase

Oct 13, 2018
Overall
Amanda H.
12 Reviews
29 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

I was getting this box for a bunch of months for my boys. One day my card wasn’t charged and that was still 17.99 then because the price went up. Now I see it’s 26.99 with free shipping so it’s drastically gone up from the price I started which at the time was 14.99. I know the demand for higher but that’s a huge jump. I cancelled it because it was getting higher

Verified Purchase

Yes!

Aug 17, 2018
Overall
Tailor
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years

We have been receiving the the age group 3 year olds, and I can honestly say every time he sees the box he gets so happy and can’t wait to read every single book. As a mother I love seeing the excitement. The books are wonderful. And truly age appropriate. Thank you!

Verified Purchase

Great books, info needs more accuracy.

May 02, 2018
Overall
Lexie H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

My first reading club is a great subscription that I chose for my son. Just wish they would fully inform you of the pricing for it and let you know that its not actually 9.99 a month. I didn't know until it was charging my card for a different amount. Other than that the selection is great quality.

Verified Purchase

Great books and quick shipping!

Mar 18, 2018
Overall
Emily H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

My first reading club came within two weeks of ordering and was filled with great books! They were however all “character” books from different popular kid tv shows. My best friends 3 almost 4 year old loved them all! I hope in the future that the boxes are a mix of these character and some original stories.

Verified Purchase

Confused

Mar 13, 2018
Overall
Linda M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years

Just received my first months box today. Was happy with the books just thought I was supposed to receive and extra activity or coloring book? Am I not understanding some thing?

Verified Purchase

Wrong gender but over all great!

Dec 08, 2017
Overall
Shannon H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

Books were in great condition! Age appropriate. We even received a set of 4 so 6 books in total! My only disappointment is that the set of books is for a girl and I have a son. Other then that this is a great book club!

Verified Purchase

First Delivery

Sep 21, 2017
Overall
Melissa D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

We received our first "my first reading" club box today. Kids love 2 of the 3 books so far. They included a classic Robin Hood, too long for my kids and pretty much available anywhere. The others were new to us and excited to read them. Love the little extra like lip balm and lotion!!

Verified Purchase

Sep 12, 2017
Overall
Stephanie W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Ordered for my nephew.

Verified Purchase

Great Deal, Not Best Book Choices

Aug 01, 2017
Overall
Caitlin H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

This month we got 4 books! 2 hardcover books that truly keep my son's attention, 1 paperback (that we happened to already have) and 1 how-to-draw Adventure Time book that really wasn't age-appropriate for my son. We are subscribed to the 2-3 year-old pre-readers (even though my son just turned 4.) He's not drawing characters yet! So that book didn't make sense for us. The quality of the books are super nice. The mom gift was really nice, too!

Verified Purchase

Great Book Box

Jul 26, 2017
Overall
Jennifer B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I am very happy with the boxes I have been receiving for the past few months for my 2 year old son. The books are always good quality books. It's a great box for the price.

Verified Purchase