Your new favorite sci-fi and fantasy monthly book club! We ship in less than 48 hours, no waiting!

Plans as low as $16.00 / month

My Sci Fi Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Amazing Box!

May 23, 2020
Daniel L.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I will make sure to upload a photo in the future but right now I am just amazed by how good this was. I wanted a book only box and was a little hesitant because I keep seeing how all these boxes are publisher overstock. I actually only subscribed to get the first box then cancelled, just to see how it was.
Publisher overstock does not mean bad at all! The first two books I got sound amazing and I am sure that the next ones will be as well. That's right! I resubscribed!
I uploaded pictures, I had to crop them but included the name and author.
I am confused why there are no other recent reviews on this box, it is very good.

Verified Purchase

Very nice!

3 days ago
Juliana J.
104 Reviews
54 Pictures
83 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very fast shipping! Great box and lovely books!

Verified Purchase

Thank you

Dec 13, 2020
Beverly S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So much fun and a little bit more

Verified Purchase

Very good

Dec 10, 2020
Audrey C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box arrived in excellent condition, with the two books wrapped cleanly in tissue paper. No extra fanfare. The books are intriguing and in excellent condition as well. Once I get through my backlog of books, I'll consider subscribing for a longer period of time

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Nov 08, 2020
Ian O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this for a gift for my brother and he said it was awesome and the 6month membership was enough books to last him two years!
Thanks

Verified Purchase

The Perfect X-mas Surprise

Dec 08, 2020
Alex R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this box for my husband as an X-mas gift after he read through Dune in just over a weekend. And there it was, a collection of Frank Herbert short stories! The other text was polar opposite tone and material wise, but I liked that variety and will probably borrow it from him.
My only complaint was the shipping/box. The tracking never updated and having "My Sci Fi Club" on the bottom of the box almost ruined the surprise because the mailman laid the package at an angle, visible.

Verified Purchase

never got box, impossible to contact

Jun 25, 2018
Tara N.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I purchased a 3 month gift subscription for my husband and only received 2 of the boxes. I reached out to the company when it had been over a month and never heard about my first box - never got a response. finally the first box came, and then the second - both of which were great - but that was it and it says my subscription has been completed. i once again reached out to the company with no response. Cratejoy was amazing and helpful and ended up refunding me because the company never got back to them either LOL. terrible! spend your money elsewhere!

Verified Purchase

Excellent Box and Excellent Service

Mar 13, 2019
Samantha S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I’ve been subscribed to this and My Thrill Club both for a long time now, and I highly recommend them! There’s a nice mix of titles and authors, and the value for the price is definitely there. I’ve had nothing but positive interactions when it comes to customer service (which I’ve only needed on two occasions, one of which is hardly worth mentioning) and I cannot give Dan enough positive feedback when it comes to fixing an existing problem.
This subscription provides 2 hardcover books, 1 ebook, tracking info, positive feedback if you experience problems, and very easy ways to pause, resume, and cancel your subscription. It has everything you need/want at a very reasonable price, in my opinion. I definitely recommend giving it a try.

Verified Purchase

I love this box!

Sep 26, 2017
Jaime A.
6 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

I tested the sci-fi and fantasy boxes and have to say I loved them both! There are so many book subscription boxes to choose from, but the boxes from this subscription company have the best value hands down! You really can't ask for more than 3 books/movies for the price. There are many genres to choose from, so I'm indecisive trying to pick which ones to get. I want them all every month!!

Verified Purchase

wow

Jun 16, 2017
Tammie T.
11 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

the book and movie that came with my 1st box was amazing thank you for sending it my way

Verified Purchase

Absolutely Amazing

Feb 14, 2018
Rachel L.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

My Sci-Fi box is awesome!!! The quality of the books and book selections each month is phenomenal!! I can’t believe the quality I get for such a low cost. I will with out a doubt be a lifetime member. If you are looking for a book subscription crate each month- you will not regret purchasing this crate! It’s value far out weighs the cost. They also sell “my thrill club” which I’m a member of as well and look forward to receiving my crates each month.

Verified Purchase

Lovin it

Dec 16, 2017
Dominque W.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

So im on my third month. I like that the package is tracked and it always arrives before its expected delivery date. Which is always before they take out the money for next months package. Plus i have loved all the books and dvds that have arrived. So far all the books have been hard back except for one paperback. And they all are brand new. It really is a great deal.

Verified Purchase

Brought back memories

Nov 17, 2019
Susan N.
19 Reviews
1 Picture
28 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The boys were very happy with their books however they still prefer kindle. If they vacant have the book and a code that would be awesome

Verified Purchase

Yesssss.

Feb 10, 2017
Abigail Y.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I don't understand how the creator of this box makes a profit. I got my first box today and it completely exceeded my expectations. Both books were hardcover and huge! And based off the sleeve summeries they both sound amazing. The DVD is a film I've never heard of but it looks great and Jeffrey dean Morgan is in it so I'm excited to watch it. Not only is this box affordable af, the contents are well chosen and great quality. Looking forward to the months to come!

Verified Purchase

Super excited!

Feb 05, 2017
Ashley C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I love sci-fi and fantasy! When I saw this book club, I jumped right in. I got my first box on the fourth, it was super fast, and the tracker to follow the progress on the site was fun. I started reading right away. Thank you for this great box!

Verified Purchase

Oct 15, 2017
Dominque W.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

Just got my first box and its awesome. Its such a great deal. Cant wait to read the books.

Verified Purchase

Great Customer Service

Feb 14, 2018
Rachel L.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Along with excellent books and DVDS, the customer service is excellent!! I’ve never had any problem not receiving my box on time or being able to get in contact with someone to answer my questions. They always reply almost instantaneously and are very nice and helpful! This is a way to run a business- these guys have it down and will continue to gladly do business with them!!

Verified Purchase

Yesssss.

Feb 10, 2017
Abigail Y.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I don't understand how the creator of this box makes a profit. I got my first box today and it completely exceeded my expectations. Both books were hardcover and huge! And based off the sleeve summeries they both sound amazing. The DVD is a film I've never heard of but it looks great and Jeffrey dean Morgan is in it so I'm excited to watch it. Not only is this box affordable af, the contents are well chosen and great quality. Looking forward to the months to come!

Verified Purchase

LOVE my 1st box

Sep 12, 2017
Sarah G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

I chose the surprise me box with 2 books and one movie and both books are very much so for Adults. I don't know why the other girl was complaining because I bet she didn't even give the books a chance and just wanted to complain. This is a great box, can't complain for the price either. I love getting lost in a new story, one of my books is even a hardcover by Elizabeth Blackwell. I'm super excited to read these books before I get my next box. I would put up a photo but it wouldn't let me sadly lol

Verified Purchase

Duplicate titles

Apr 15, 2019
April
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I had a subscription for 6 months to this box, and twice in that time they sent me duplicate books in consecutive months. I notified them the first time and got no response. Several of the books I've received have been good ones (one I even now have 2 copies of!), but others are clearly bargain bin castoffs. Also, I chose the scifi option, and I'd argue that several of the books I've gotten are decidedly fantasy. There's just not enough of a deal here for me to keep stockpiling multiple copies of books I don't want.

Verified Purchase

Wrong But Good?

Apr 07, 2018
Emily S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I received two books, both hardcover, interesting, and in extremely good condition. However the pamphlet inside the box said I was getting a book on Celtic fairy tales and I got another fantasy book instead. Not exactly complaining since the book was still good, but just odd I got a different book. Again, still amazing quality books and definitely worth subscribing! :)

Verified Purchase

Not a bad deal

Mar 12, 2017
Brian C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

Definitely good for the price, two hardback books and a DVD. Probably better for people who are starting a new collection. Still, I paid more for dinner last night than this box cost me and the contents were good quality items.

Verified Purchase

Very Slow Shipping

May 18, 2017
Tonya L.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

First, I ordered this box in April and states it ships the first week of the month but after it went into the second week and still no tracking information, I contacted them twice from this webpage and no response. I finally replied to an email I received for the MY THRILL BOX and ask them if they were the same owner and he said yes and told me my box would ship out that day or next day. After another week still no tracking information so I emailed again and he stated that item had been shipped. It finally showed up today. I am glad it showed up and I love the 2 books that were shipped and the DVD "Snow White" a version I had never heard of before, came in Blu-ray which was great, but I just wish when item are not shipped when supposed to be, an email would be sent saying there is a delay instead of just not responding. That was my only complaint that the shipping took so long.

Verified Purchase

Good value

Mar 14, 2017
Michele S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

2 hardcover books and a movie. Never heard of any of them, or even the authors or actors. Don't know yet if I'll enjoy them, but at first glance it seems to be a good value for$15 shipped.

Verified Purchase

Don't expect responses or on time boxes.

Nov 08, 2019
Mark D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great idea with terrible execution. I received my first box in a few days that included 2 books but no digital download code or link. They missed the next month and then sent me a September box. Again the promised digital download was absent. I was charged for another 3 shipments a couple weeks later even though I only received 2. My October box never arrived and I suspect it may never. I am now 5 months in and I've only received 2 boxes. They do not respond to messages so good luck if you have issues. I had to file a support request with Crate Joy to find out what is going on. We'll see how it goes but I recommend against supporting this seller.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options