New Hobby Box

Need a new hobby? We got you.


$29.99+ / month

Subscriber Reviews

15
3.1 of 5 stars
Worst customer service
by Ashly written today
I originally signed up for the new hobby box just based of some arrivals and liking the idea. That was a mistake. After submitting my payment I began to read reviews such as the ones on here and decided I better cancel. I cancelled with two hrs of signing up. The money was still taken out of my account and I have yet to receive a response from their customer service on when I will be reimbursed. I am guessing they are not answering my emails because they will not be returning my money.
Verified Purchase
Wish I had read reviews first!
by Kania written Jun 01, 2018
I agree with all the low star reviews. Cheaply made products with no instructions. I decided to try one box. The very day the box arrived and I saw the products, I cancelled the subscription, but it was already too late to not be forced to pay for (and receive) the next month’s box. After over a week of leaving emails and comments to their support forum, I finally received an email back. I had not opened the second box and offered to ship it back for a refund. No luck. save your money, skip this box.
Verified Purchase
Horrible Customer Service and CHEAP
by Cassie written Aug 16, 2017
Do not waste your time with this one. The boxes come with very cheap supplies at an exorbitant rate. $37 per box for something I could buy at a craft store for $10. They do not include instructions so you have to go online and learn about how to use the kit - inconvenient. Not to mention, I NEVER received an email from them announcing the upcoming month's box. Meaning, last month I got their fishing hobby box. I am a vegetarian who does not believe in hurting animals. But okay, that's fine, just email them asking if you can return it for a credit for the next box, right? WRONG. They refused to give me a refund or credit and said that "perhaps this subscription is not for you." Then, when I canceled my subscription in July, they proceeded to sent me August's hobby box anyway. When I emailed to tell them I already canceled the subscription, they claimed I was falsifying information and they could pass me on for fraudulent activity but I was simply "not worth the energy." I have NEVER been treated so poorly by a customer service department for requesting something that, quite frankly, was very reasonable and sound. Think twice before giving them your credit card at all because you'll just keep getting charged with no respect to you as a human being.
Verified Purchase
Ripoff
by Melissa written May 27, 2017
I received my first box which is suppose to be "Eco printing" but is little more then a bunch of cheap things you probably have around your house. $29.99 for what is literally a plastic jar, a few washers, few pieces of beige cloth, and a sprig of Eucalyptus plant. Don't like the box you get? Well you can purchase another one for $34.99 which is ridiculous. Oh but they offer you free shipping, like that's a good substitute. Please save your money and skip this one.
Verified Purchase
No instructions
by Jimmy and Esther written May 24, 2017
Box does not have any instructions, instructions are not on website.
Verified Purchase
Terrible-box not meant for everyone
by Shelby written Apr 20, 2017
This was the worst box to receive for my first shipment. Bee keeping?! How can this be suitable for every household? I do not live in an area where I can plant seeds and wait for flowers to bloom, then order bees to have buzzing around my apartment building... so disappointed. If I wasn't already charged for next month I would cancel!
Verified Purchase
Love the tools and setup
by Julie written Mar 30, 2017
I've had 2 deliveries so far and am eagerly looking forward to the 3rd. I even bough the lockpicking hobby as an individual purchase. I love that you can buy some of the previous months you missed. (I'm thinking about getting the astronomy one, too!) The March delivery was wire wrapping, it it came with an amazing toolkit in an easy to carry case. I want to show it off to people because of how cool and organized it is. With this and the previous hobby (Coptic book binding), I really feel prepared to start something.
Verified Purchase
by Sara written Feb 22, 2017
Just got my first hobby box. Very disappointed that you have to go online to find the instructions! I want to be able to learn a new hobby with my daughter without the need of technology! That's part of the allure to me- get away from the phones, tablets, etc... for a little bit!
Great boxes-Top notch service!
by Emilee written Feb 10, 2017
I ordered New Hobby Box for my fiancée this Christmas! We absolutely love the concept and the boxes we have received are FULL of fantastic finds. We ran into a snag with one of the boxes, so we emailed the contact on their website. It wasn't much later that we received a very kind reply. Following a couple more emails back and forth, everything was taken care of well beyond our satisfaction!! Thank you for such great care and concern for your customers! We will definitely be renewing our subscription when this one is up!
Verified Purchase
5 star customer service
by Cam written Jan 14, 2017
I unfortunately had to unsubscribe in the middle of a six month subscription. Emailed the address given on their site and was really impressed by how they handled the situation.... For this, I will resubscribe in the future.
View Details