Reading Tree Monthly

by Reading Tree Monthly
An Affordable Monthly Kids and Adult Gently Pre-Loved (Used) Subscription with FREE SHIPPING!
15 reviews

Plans as low as

$8.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (15)

A thriller!

Feb 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Renee K.
7 Reviews
6 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

A thriller! I’m really excited to sink my mind into this book. I don’t read nearly enough thrillers or mysteries. Shipping from New Jersey to Texas was reasonably quick. I got an ex-library book which is completely fine with me. I’m sure I’ll order from these people again.

Verified Purchase

Highly recommend

Aug 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Roshni S.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 days

Such a great price! I love the idea of a monthly book subscription box and the element of surprise when receiving a book! The seller was very courteous and I am not too sure what the bad reviews are referring to - I had no trouble contacting the seller. I highly recommend this box for those who want to explore new books while saving the environment.

Verified Purchase

The closest thing to book fair!

Aug 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Erin K.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 days

Wow! Every book was a hit with my daughter. How did they know Scooby Doo is her favorite! The library markings add to their charm. Love it! A wonderful surprise and shipped quickly.

Verified Purchase

Amazing! Much Better!

Dec 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chester R.
1 Review
1 Helpful

They really stepped up their curations! Definitely great! Their customer service is phenomenal. I emailed with a question and received a response within half an hour! Give them a try!

Verified Purchase

A Pretty Good Subscription

Jul 31, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 25 days

As a person who is open with book genres, I thought the choice of Killer by Jonathan Kellerman was a good start of the subscription! I liked that the condition of the used book wasn’t that badly worn at all and the book was securely packaged!

Verified Purchase
Reading Tree Monthly said...Aug 12, 2020

Hi Laura,
We hope you are well and safe! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed the title! We hope to continue to try our best to provide quality books that you will love!
Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns!
Thank you,
Reading Tree Monthly

Very happy with my first book

Apr 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Diane G.
6 Reviews
4 Pictures
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 days

Thank you! Received my excellent condition book, The Never List by Koethi Zan, and I'm looking forward to diving in. The book blurb describes it as "thrilling, super smart, witty.."
It's a used library book which I love because they're in that sturdy protective cellophane-type cover and I like to know , don't ask me why, that the book I'm reading has been read and enjoyed before.

Verified Purchase

Very nice books at a great price.

Mar 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mickky K.
7 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 18 days

I am very pleased with this book subscription. I reached out regarding a shipping issue and they responded very quickly. I am also pleased with the two books I have received so far. They are in very good condition and this is a nice way to read new authors that I may never have known before. Knowing that I am recycling books also makes me feel great. I highly recommend giving them a try.

Verified Purchase

Lockdown Bibliophile

Feb 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amber D.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

I personally love used and thrifted books! One of the things I miss most about life pre pandemic was buying discarded books from my local library book sale. With this subscription I get to do that! Granted, I let someone pick for me, but it's been exciting waiting to see what I get. I have received 2 monthly shipments so far and I haven't been disappointed! I was even able to get my boyfriend to sign up! (We have different tastes in genres lol) Thank you O3 books!!

Verified Purchase

Great subscription

Dec 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nikita S.
1 Review

I am happy with the books I was sent! I like the added touch of a bookmark as well.

Verified Purchase

Very old and non classic children’s book

Aug 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mrs K.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 15 days

I did attempt to first contact the seller over a week ago without a response. Every book was very old and not a single one my son would read :( I wasn’t expecting the latest and greatest but there were no classics and nothing newer than 10+ years old, possibly 20. Very disappointing

Verified Purchase
Reading Tree Monthly said...Aug 12, 2020

Hi Mrs Kristen,
We hope you are well and safe! We are very sorry you were disappointed with books you received. Its unfortunate we could not make your son excited to read any of the books we provided. We try our best to get all the newer books to our customers but processing through 50K-100K a month its hard to keep track of all the old and new books. We will definitely figure out a way to work in removing dated books in the categorizing process.
Lastly, We are sorry for the communication issue. But to be honest we did not receive anything from you in our end.
Try using the cratejoy messaging system. If this is what you used, then try reaching out to the cratejoy support...

Book subscription

Aug 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephanie G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I think for the price it's a good subscription. Yes they are used books but it doesn't matter.

Verified Purchase
Reading Tree Monthly said...Aug 12, 2020

Hi Stephanie,
We hope you are well and safe! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We want to provide the lowest subscription prices we possibly can. Its good to know that you believe the price is just right! We hope to continue to try our best to provide quality books that you will love!
Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns!
Thank you,
Reading Tree Monthly

Book club

Apr 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
K M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Great! Enjoy the books!

Verified Purchase

Wish there was a way to personalize!

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paula M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 16 days

I really love the idea of getting used library books, giving them a good home. The subscription was for my son though I trying to get him excited to read. However these selections were definan definitely not for him. The type of book was good, basic picture books good for beginners. But the curation the selections were not to his taste. They we're almost a barn yard theme, where as he is until super heros, ninjas, comedy and gaming related. I was just a little disappointed bc he was super excited too receivethe box on his name- and even realizing that the surprise was books- but his face fell a bit when he sorted thru them. He stuck to books from our home library for his independent reading time.
If you were able to individualize singe boxes or use a theme style box geared toward their interests I would purchase another subscription.
The shipping was fast easy the box arrived immediately. I was just hoping for titles that would excite a 7yr old boy.
Thank you
Paula waters

Verified Purchase

Hour game by David Baldacci

Jul 30, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Geneva W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 days

I don't like the book at don't think it's was my from my genre

Verified Purchase
Reading Tree Monthly said...Jul 30, 2020

Hi Geneva,
I hope you are well! I am very sorry you were not satisfied with your book.
So the title of the book you received was "Hour Game" by David Baldacci.
I just wanted to address a few things, so we do not have any confusion. The type of genre you chose was Crime/Mystery/Thriller. The book you received is, in fact, in that category. It is okay if it is hard to differentiate what book is in what genre. We take extra precaution in our sorting to make sure the contents of a book has a majority representing a genre before we place it into that category. We do this by reading the copyright page, reading the blurb, or a simple google search, and acquiring the information...

Definitely a surprise

Aug 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karley P.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 days

Not so happy with the first package picking, slightly disappointed because the books seem older and not like something I'd buy. But still going to give them a try and finish out my subscription, hope the next one are more intriguing

Verified Purchase
Reading Tree Monthly said...Sep 06, 2020

We are so sorry you were not happy with your first set of books. We are for sure learning from all the feedback we are receiving. First, we would like to thank you for your review and feedback. Secondly, we will ensure you that your next box will contain books with more recent books. Lastly, we will continue to learn and refine our subscription box. We hope to keep the price affordable and be able to provide high quality newly or recently published books not dated ones. Thank you and stay safe!
Best,
Reading Tree Monthly