Book Club Box (Adult Edition)

by Once Upon a Book Club
Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!
365 reviews

Plans as low as

$47.50/ month

Buying Options

Book Club Box (Adult Edition) reviewsReviews

Write a Review
365

Unprofessional On Facebook

Jan 23, 2019
Jamie H.
2 Reviews
20 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I am highly disappointed in how unprofessional they were on the facebook business page. Instead of addressing the concern, they turned off the comments after stating that they only want positive comments on that page. That is sad considering any business should welcome honest feedback and address the issue in a respectful manner. I have unsubscribed and will NEVER go back. Disrespectful and rude-

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jan 24, 2019

Hi Jamie! I am so sorry if you felt that we were disrespectful or rude in our Facebook group. We are always accepting and open to all feedback anyone has regarding our boxes, however, we do ask that negative feedback not be posted on our social media publicly and instead is messaged to us privately either via email or private message on Facebook to our business page so we can best resolve the situation! I sincerely apologize if you felt that we were rude or disrespectful in anyway, and truly do appreciate your feedback regarding our boxes.

Just ok, not worth the price.

Mar 06, 2017
Amy S.
1 Review
19 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I purchased a 3 month subscription because I was just so excited by the concept of this box. After receiving 3 boxes now, all I can say is it is a huge disappointment. The books themselves are ok, I have read all 3 but none of them were anything that really grabbed me. The included items are often cheap/poorly made or things that I would never use (cheap costume jewelry, an old fashioned nurses apron and a pack of trident gum) . I really wanted to like this box, but it just didn't meet my expectations.

Verified Purchase

Blah

Dec 21, 2016
Cindy C.
1 Review
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

The idea is great. When you reach a certain number of pages, you open a gift that is related to the novel. However, it's poorly executed. The gifts are lame!! In the November box, I received a pack of gum and an instagram photo of the " character" in the novel. The rest of the other gifts were not any better. Will not be renewing unless the gifts got better.

Verified Purchase

Boxes Never Ship

Jan 05, 2021
Tricia Q.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I signed up in time to receive my November box. They had some issues with one of the items to be included in the box so it was delayed. I totally get it, stuff happens. They finally ship on December 9th, but as it turns out they only created a label and USPS never received my shipment to deliver to me. It's now January and I haven't received my November box or December box. Never mind the fact that I've already paid for both. I've e-mailed customer service 3 times now and have yet to have the issue resolved. They continue to blame it on USPS although I haven't had a 4 week delay in any other shipment through USPS with any other company. I don't think it's USPS at this point. I've asked for a replacement or refund and still haven't gotten either.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jan 05, 2021

Thanks so much for your feedback Tricia! Unfortunately, as we've mentioned in several email/social media updates to our subscribers, USPS lost about 800 of our boxes prior to the holidays. We have fully refunded your order as requested and we hope you'll give us another try in the future.

No shipment delivered

Dec 28, 2020
Laura L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been charged twice and have not received a box at all. I left a message with no response.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 30, 2020

Hi Laura! We apologize if customer service hasn't gotten back to you yet - we are a bit behind but are working hard to catch up and make sure everyone receives a response ASAP! We hope you enjoy your box upon its arrival.

avoid this company all together

Dec 27, 2020
Amelia M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m so disappointed in this company. The communication is non-existent. We have not received any of our boxes and not a single
explanation has been given or an offer for a refund. There are book subscriptions that far exceed this one- I cannot recommend this to anyone- way to frustrating.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 30, 2020

Hi Amelia! We're so sorry for your frustration with our brand. I took a look at your customer profile and I'm seeing you ordered the December box which is currently shipping. We hope you enjoy it upon its arrival!

Not happy

May 03, 2021
Andrea P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered back in March for a 3 month subscription, it’s May and I still have not received my first box and it is still saying order is being prepared but yet I am suppose to renew in June. I do not believe I will be signing up again. This is truly a disappointment for someone who loves to read. Don’t waste time or money on a subscription that makes you wait over a month after payment.

Verified Purchase

Sad days

May 02, 2021
Kim S.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I STILL have not recieved the box I paid for.
Altogether it came to $44.99 and i am still waiting!!! I was supposed to receive the Lost Apothecary book and whatever went with that. I didn't even get the box to look at.

Verified Purchase

Terrible customer service

Apr 01, 2021
Amanda P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly I love the idea of the subscription, but the customer service is terrible. It’s definitely one of those subscriptions that scams you. It says in multiple places on the website and checkout options that if you purchase a subscription you will be charged with an autorenewal next month. So, I purchased the boxes as “gifts” instead of a subscription. Well, they charged me anyway. Now I have a total of 4 boxes for $179 that I didn’t purchase. When I reached out to them, they were no help and kept telling me I purchased a subscription so it’s my loss. I guess I’m lying 😝....
For people thinking about purchasing this: definitely go with a Book of the Month subscription instead. I’ve had some shipping problems with BOTM books, and they’ve ALWAYS resolved the issue quickly and go above and beyond to make me happy and even give me a refund if they messed up. That’s an example of good customer service over this. While this idea is nice, it’s not worth a scam.

Verified Purchase

Best box out there!

Mar 28, 2021
Kate M.
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely love it!

Verified Purchase

Seriously Always behind on shipment

Mar 25, 2021
Roxanne C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Seriously behind all the time.....canceling before they take a 4th pmt tomorrow and I just received my 2nd box. Cheap things you undue when you get to the point of reading so many pages. You say the March shipment was looking to be shipped early after the February was late. Nope, wasn't early as you stated in your automated email. Will be lucky to get it on time. SAD, SAD, SAD...was a great concept but executed by the wrong people. Good luck going forward. Don't foresee this company staying in business for long.

Verified Purchase

Once Upon A Book Club

Mar 23, 2021
Char M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I received my January box mid February. I have yet to get my February box and every time I email asking about my missing box, they tell me my March box will ship by the end of March???? That isn't helpful or what I am asking about.

Verified Purchase

Lost Order

Mar 21, 2021
Donald H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Need to receive our order, to review.
Can you see what happened to order 3557568552

Verified Purchase

The wait not worth it.

Sep 08, 2020
Eileen S.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am so disappointed in the box that I received. The gifts are cheap and useless. I would be embarrassed to gift anyone with them. As a thank you for my patience in waiting for this box, I received some stickers (wow). Book is okay. Complete failure.

Verified Purchase

No update.... VERY LATE & NO RESPONSE

May 04, 2020
Meg M.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Curation

Contrary to what your website says, I am beyond unhappy that the order I placed on APRIL 12 will not be delivered.... YOUR WEBSITE STATES ALL ORDERS MADE BEFORE THE 12th of the month will be delivered On the 17-20th of the SAME MONTH. This is inexcusable to me, as this was a gift for my newly widowed mother. Your response and refund will not replace her gift.
Margaret Seymour

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...May 04, 2020

Hi Meg! Thank you so much for your feedback of our boxes. We sold out of our April boxes on April 2nd. We're seeing your order was placed on April 12th which means this was for our May box, shipping at the end of May. This information was mentioned in the email receipt you received to confirm your order; we apologize if that was missed! We've gone ahead and fully refunded your order as it will not arrive in time for Mother's Day. We hope you'll give us another try in the future! - The Once Upon a Book Club Team

Don't bother

Jul 14, 2020
Amy R.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never received my first box and I doubt I'll receive my second. When I contacted them via email, they said there was no account under my email even though I paid through Crate Joy. It pisses me off because I was really excited and looking forward to this box. :(

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jul 15, 2020

Hi Amy! Thanks so much for your review! We are definitely working to resolve this issue with you privately, but please do let us know your shipping address so we can try to locate your account that way, as we truly are not finding the email address you provided us in our system. I do apologize about that but are looking forward to helping you to locate your order and see what's going on with it!

Not worth it for me

Aug 19, 2020
Carol L.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

All I can say is just don't waste your money. I will say that the company absolutely did reply within 48 hours to my emails as they have said they will. They also sent me a complimentary book for my inconvenience...so I truly appreciate that. However, it is August 19th and I still have not received my June box. I was sent an email explaining why, however, it is way too much trouble to have to go through for something that is designed to be enjoyable.

Verified Purchase

Wont let me cancel

May 25, 2020
Erika M.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They won't let me cancel my subscription. They are charging me for next month before my box even arrived.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...May 25, 2020

Hi Erika! We're so sorry that you haven't been able to cancel your subscription with us. You're welcome to email us anytime and our team will get back to you to to help within 48 business hours to get this resolved for you! Thank you so much!

Never Received

Feb 22, 2019
Rhonda
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Post office marked it delivered, but I didn't receive it. Company made me stay on hold for 40 minutes so I could report this to the post office. Post office keeps saying they delivered it. So since it's the customer's responsibility to contact the post office, instead of the sellers, I'm canceling. And they won't refund.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Feb 25, 2019

Hi Rhonda! We're so sorry for any miscommunication regarding this issue. USPS did mark your package delivered today and we opened a case with them on our end regarding what happened, whether the package was lost, stolen, or damaged in transit. We always recommend to our customers that they also call the post office to file a claim on their end so both sides of USPS can be investigating this issue so we can prevent this from happening again! Very frequently, USPS does marks things delivered and actually deliver them the next business day instead. We are more than happy to send a replacement for this box to you as we discussed, and will have that on its way to you within 24 business hours....

No show

Dec 09, 2020
Amy J.
9 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve waited almost 2 months and have not received a shipment.

Verified Purchase

An Unhappy Customer

Dec 01, 2020
Douglas M.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We ordered this as a one time shipment as a birthday gift for a friend of ours. Unfortunately, shipping was delayed several weeks due to a problem at the company so the gift arrived several weeks late. Furthermore, we were billed for additional months for which we did not order (nor did we receive shipment). We attempted to contact the company to rectify the situation but they were not willing to help at all. We will not be ordering from them again.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 01, 2020

Hi Doug! Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience with our company. Due to shipping delays caused COVID-19, our boxes have regularly been delayed a few weeks every month since Spring 2020. We have ensured that each month, we have sent updates to all our subscribers to keep them in the loop regarding these delays so they can stay up to date on when they can expect their boxes from us. We apologize if this communication didn't reach you! Regarding your multiple charges, our customer service team took a look at your account and we saw that you've received multiple boxes for each of the charges and we hope they've been enjoyed! Rest assured your subscription has been cancelled so no further...

AWFUL

Jun 26, 2018
Taylor R.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

ordered this as a birthday present for my best friend. here we are almost a month later, with no box shipped. feels great to spend 100+ dollars with a company to get nothing!
BUYERS BEWARE

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jun 26, 2018

Hi Taylor!

We're so sorry about the delay in shipping this month. We sent an email notifying subscribers that our last item for our June box was custom designed, but arrived misprinted. Not wanting to send a gift that wasn't up to our standards, we are receiving replacements and let all our subscribers know in a mass email a few days prior to their originally scheduled shipping date. I'm so sorry if that email missed you!

Boxes are departing as soon as the reprinted gift arrives, which according to tracking, is on the truck to us right now! We thank you so much for your patience, and we're so sorry for the delay again! Please feel free to reach out to us with any additional questions or...

Beware

Apr 22, 2019
Karen B.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I canceled my subscription on March 30th and today got notification that they took money out of my account and sent another box.....3 weeks AFTER canceling

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Apr 22, 2019

We apologize for any confusion and want to be as transparent as possible with our customers. We do have the following stated on our website's FAQ's:

New subscribers have until the 14th of each month to enroll in our next box. Once the charge has been processed, all boxes for the next immediate month will be shipped, however, subscribers can cancel their account anytime. Simply email us at info@onceuponabookclub.com prior to the 25th and we can process a cancellation for you and adjust any remaining funds as necessary.

All subscribers will be charged on the 25th of each month. This includes all 1/3/6/12 month subscription boxes. Any cancellations after the 25th will not be refunded. They will receive one final box and then will no longer be...

Not worth the money

May 01, 2019
April M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I was very excited when I signed up for this box. I love to read and the idea of opening surprises to correspond with the book sounded great. I received my first and last box this month. First problem I was going to be billed a second time before receiving the box so no time to review before being billed a second time. Second problem 2 of my 4 items were damaged when I opened. I did enjoy the book and the book items would have been great if they weren't damaged. Overall just not worth the money for me. Really bummed!

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...May 10, 2019

Hi April!
We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our boxes! We did ship our boxes late last month due to an item not arriving on time as initially planned. We made sure to announce this on social media and to our subscribers via email, so we're so sorry if this was information was missed! We're happy to provide a refund for the second month if you'd prefer not to receive it, so please do email us so we can sort this out for you!
We're always happy to replace any items that are damaged, as we completely understand that things happen in transit and gifts may need to be replaced! Please do send us an email to info@onceuponabookclub.com and...

Don’t know yet

Oct 07, 2020
Theresa M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Haven’t received my September shipment yet. They are having trouble with their distributors They are working on correcting

Verified Purchase