Once Upon a Book Club Box (Adult Edition)

Once Upon a Book Club Box (Adult Edition)

by Once Upon a Book Club
Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!

Plans as low as

$61.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (520)

  1. Reviews for this product (393)
  2. Reviews for this seller (127)

None

Jan 30, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Mallory B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

No response to messages, haven’t received product or tracking information.

Verified Purchase

Didn't arrive on time, no communication

Jan 08, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Teresa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days

Didn't arrive on time, and no communication. Still waiting.

Verified Purchase

Do not recommend

Dec 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Juliana J.
71 Reviews
34 Pictures
82 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

Boxes take MONTHS to appear if they even do. It’s almost Christmas and I never received my Halloween boxes or Christmas boxes.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 20, 2021

Hi Juliana! Thanks so much for your feedback. We have posted daily updates about our boxes on our main website - we recommend checking it out in the future to stay up to date on all our seasonal boxes. We're so sorry for the delays and if you'd like a refund for any of the holiday boxes that are currently late, please contact our customer service team and we can take care of that for you.

Awesome if you're into credit card fraud

Dec 07, 2021
Overall
Tanya
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This company has charged my card for unauthorized purchases twice. I'm going to have to cancel my card to get them to stop.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 07, 2021

Hi Tanya! I apologize about any miscommunication on our part. I have refunded all unshipped orders back to you. We hope you give us another try in the future!

Buyer Beware

Nov 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tonya S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I have had terrible experiences with this box. The previous box had a strongly scented item that permeated every product in the box. It smelled terrible and the items were ruined because of it. I reached out to see if I could get non scented boxes in the future and received no response. My next box had a broken item. Buyer beware.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Nov 18, 2021

Hi Tonya! Thank you so much for your feedback - we are so sorry you didn't enjoy one of the scented items we've included! Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee our boxes will not include scented items in the future. We're sorry that it wasn't something you enjoyed! Regarding your damaged item, please make sure you're contacting our customer service directly so we can assist you (our customer service team responds to all emails within 2 business days, so if you never heard back, we never got it!)

Never got to try

Oct 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicole H.
4 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

Ordered in August. It is now October and I have never received my shipment. Customer service is horrible. Responses take days to receive. Promises are made and never fulfilled. All I want is my money back at this point but I can’t get a response from customer service. So disappointed cause I was really looking forward to trying this.

Verified Purchase

DO NOT BUY

Jul 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Norah S.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Have paid for three boxes now haven’t gotten one

Verified Purchase

Once Upon A Book Club

Jul 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rosalie C.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Payed for the Once upon a book club for 1 month and I never received it. Then, I got charged for a second month and have not received either one. Therefore, I will never use your company again. Very upset and truly disappointed. More sad then anything.

Verified Purchase

NO BOX!

Jul 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chrystal S.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 28 days

I ordered May 16th. Canceled before it renewed on June 24th. It is now July 1st and I STILL haven't received my first box. I got the email about them raising their prices. No box. I ordered another subscription box the same day (Succulent Box, check it out!) and received a box for May and June already. Still no box from Once Upon a Book Club (Adult Edition). Not worth the subscription if one never gets their box and that was before they raised their prices.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jul 01, 2021

Hi Chrystal! Thanks so much for your feedback - we have a shipping updates page on our main website that lays out the details of what's going on with each box and where it is in the shipping process. We're sorry if you missed this! We recommend checking out our main website as we have a lot more information there.

Not happy

May 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andrea P.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered back in March for a 3 month subscription, it’s May and I still have not received my first box and it is still saying order is being prepared but yet I am suppose to renew in June. I do not believe I will be signing up again. This is truly a disappointment for someone who loves to read. Don’t waste time or money on a subscription that makes you wait over a month after payment.

Verified Purchase

Sad days

May 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim S.
7 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I STILL have not recieved the box I paid for.
Altogether it came to $44.99 and i am still waiting!!! I was supposed to receive the Lost Apothecary book and whatever went with that. I didn't even get the box to look at.

Verified Purchase

Terrible customer service

Apr 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda P.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Honestly I love the idea of the subscription, but the customer service is terrible. It’s definitely one of those subscriptions that scams you. It says in multiple places on the website and checkout options that if you purchase a subscription you will be charged with an autorenewal next month. So, I purchased the boxes as “gifts” instead of a subscription. Well, they charged me anyway. Now I have a total of 4 boxes for $179 that I didn’t purchase. When I reached out to them, they were no help and kept telling me I purchased a subscription so it’s my loss. I guess I’m lying 😝....
For people thinking about purchasing this: definitely go with a Book of the Month subscription instead. I’ve had some shipping problems with BOTM books, and they’ve ALWAYS resolved the issue quickly and go above and beyond to make me happy and even give me a refund if they messed up. That’s an example of good customer service over this. While this idea is nice, it’s not worth a scam.

Verified Purchase

Best box out there!

Mar 28, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kate M.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Absolutely love it!

Verified Purchase

Seriously Always behind on shipment

Mar 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Roxanne C.
3 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Seriously behind all the time.....canceling before they take a 4th pmt tomorrow and I just received my 2nd box. Cheap things you undue when you get to the point of reading so many pages. You say the March shipment was looking to be shipped early after the February was late. Nope, wasn't early as you stated in your automated email. Will be lucky to get it on time. SAD, SAD, SAD...was a great concept but executed by the wrong people. Good luck going forward. Don't foresee this company staying in business for long.

Verified Purchase

Once Upon A Book Club

Mar 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Char M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I received my January box mid February. I have yet to get my February box and every time I email asking about my missing box, they tell me my March box will ship by the end of March???? That isn't helpful or what I am asking about.

Verified Purchase

Lost Order

Mar 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Donald H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Need to receive our order, to review.
Can you see what happened to order 3557568552

Verified Purchase

Boxes Never Ship

Jan 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tricia Q.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I signed up in time to receive my November box. They had some issues with one of the items to be included in the box so it was delayed. I totally get it, stuff happens. They finally ship on December 9th, but as it turns out they only created a label and USPS never received my shipment to deliver to me. It's now January and I haven't received my November box or December box. Never mind the fact that I've already paid for both. I've e-mailed customer service 3 times now and have yet to have the issue resolved. They continue to blame it on USPS although I haven't had a 4 week delay in any other shipment through USPS with any other company. I don't think it's USPS at this point. I've asked for a replacement or refund and still haven't gotten either.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jan 05, 2021

Thanks so much for your feedback Tricia! Unfortunately, as we've mentioned in several email/social media updates to our subscribers, USPS lost about 800 of our boxes prior to the holidays. We have fully refunded your order as requested and we hope you'll give us another try in the future.

No shipment delivered

Dec 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I have been charged twice and have not received a box at all. I left a message with no response.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 30, 2020

Hi Laura! We apologize if customer service hasn't gotten back to you yet - we are a bit behind but are working hard to catch up and make sure everyone receives a response ASAP! We hope you enjoy your box upon its arrival.

avoid this company all together

Dec 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amelia M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I’m so disappointed in this company. The communication is non-existent. We have not received any of our boxes and not a single
explanation has been given or an offer for a refund. There are book subscriptions that far exceed this one- I cannot recommend this to anyone- way to frustrating.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 30, 2020

Hi Amelia! We're so sorry for your frustration with our brand. I took a look at your customer profile and I'm seeing you ordered the December box which is currently shipping. We hope you enjoy it upon its arrival!

Unhappy Customer

Dec 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Jodi J.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I’ve contacted the seller and received no response. Was charged for a month on 11/21 but have received nothing so far. This is for a Christmas gift . I ordered on 11/17

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 15, 2020

Hi Jodi! Thanks so much for your feedback. As stated in the order receipt you received, the box you ordered on November 21st was for the December box shipping at the end of December. Orders for November closed on November 14th and our boxes always ship at the end of the month. We apologize if this information was missed but we hope your recipient enjoys their belated gift!

No show

Dec 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amy J.
6 Reviews
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I’ve waited almost 2 months and have not received a shipment.

Verified Purchase

An Unhappy Customer

Dec 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Douglas M.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

We ordered this as a one time shipment as a birthday gift for a friend of ours. Unfortunately, shipping was delayed several weeks due to a problem at the company so the gift arrived several weeks late. Furthermore, we were billed for additional months for which we did not order (nor did we receive shipment). We attempted to contact the company to rectify the situation but they were not willing to help at all. We will not be ordering from them again.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 01, 2020

Hi Doug! Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience with our company. Due to shipping delays caused COVID-19, our boxes have regularly been delayed a few weeks every month since Spring 2020. We have ensured that each month, we have sent updates to all our subscribers to keep them in the loop regarding these delays so they can stay up to date on when they can expect their boxes from us. We apologize if this communication didn't reach you! Regarding your multiple charges, our customer service team took a look at your account and we saw that you've received multiple boxes for each of the charges and we hope they've been enjoyed! Rest assured your subscription has been cancelled so no further...

Still waiting for it to show up

Oct 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I bought the September box and it still hasn't arrived !! It was a gift for my grandma for her birthday....and almost 2 months from when I bought it she still hasn't received it.

Verified Purchase

Terrible experience!

Oct 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lena D.
11 Reviews
2 Pictures
31 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered this box as a getaway and somewhat escape. On the website it said the book was about Egypt, adventure, travels, and love. When the box arrived, I got so excited I ordered another one for next month. Sadly, when I began to read the book it was all about hospice and people died from cancer... as somone who recently lost a close person to cancer it was absolutely terrible book for me. Since it was at least 1/3 of the book it should of been mentioned on the site... the items were extreemly cheap and useless. The pillow case that tore right when I fit the pillow unto it, a stone with hieroglyph, cheap photo in a cheap frame, and a mirror (the once you would see in a dollar store). I wrote to them about the dissapointing experience since I couldn't even finish the book. Never got a response. Only email that my future box was canceled.... Not even sorry, nothing. Complete waist of money that I work hard for at my job...

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Oct 12, 2020

Hi Lena! We're so sorry for your poor experience with us and that the book wasn't what you expected. We always welcome our subscribers to reach out to us via email or social media to find out the title of the book prior to it shipping in case there are circumstances or topics that our readers are wanting to avoid. We apologize again that this wasn't a box experience you enjoyed and we hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Don’t know yet

Oct 07, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Theresa M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Haven’t received my September shipment yet. They are having trouble with their distributors They are working on correcting

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...