High-Quality Diverse Children's Books Delivered to your Door

Plans as low as $14.99 / 1 box every 3 months

OurShelves reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Doing Good For Our World

Nov 20, 2019
Katy A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love OurShelves because we think it does good in the world.

The OurShelves team consistently asks for subscriber feedback; so if there are families or kids you are not seeing enough of in the boxes you receive, you have a direct line to the company-and they actually listen!

OurShelves is good for people who want to see themselves and their children reflected in the books they read and it is good for those who want to ensure their children are exposed to the many different ways human beings and families live and love.

Verified Purchase

Normalizing diversity with high quality

Nov 18, 2019
Kathryn M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Our white, christian boys, are growing up with a Mom and Dad in an affluent suburb of San Francisco. They NEED to be exposed to a wide variety of people and families through books. They need to see people who don't look like them, or pray like them, as positive role models. Different ways of life need to be normalized for them. Our boys love these books, and we love that OurShelves is making it so easy for us to build a high quality library of diversity for them.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 20, 2019

Kathryn, thank you so much for sharing about why OurShelves matters to your family! We are so glad that we have the opportunity to support you in building a wonderful library that reflects your family's inclusive values. Thank you so much for your commitment to ensuring ALL kids and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Seller

Love it - just renewed our subscription!

Nov 06, 2019
Jordan D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is such a fun subscription! My 3 and 6 year old are always excited to open the box and check out their new books. The stories and images are beautiful and inclusive. In the last week, we've had multiple bedtime story requests for ROCKET SAYS LOOK UP! and HARRIET GETS CARRIED AWAY, and my personal favorite is LITTLE NIGHT/NOCHECITA. I love the concept of kids being exposed to diversity through books - this is such a needed and appreciated service!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 06, 2019

Jordan, we love hearing about kids requesting to read our stories again and again! We also love hearing the word, "fun," used to describe our books! Thank you for such kind words, and mostly for your commitment to ensuring ALL kids and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Seller

Such a great service!!

Oct 08, 2019
Krista S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This service is so wonderful; we've been completely thrilled with our OurShelves subscription. We've received some beloved family favorites - we all LOVE to read and look at the beautiful art in Thank you Omu and have A Different Pond in heavy rotation for bedtime. I am not sure we would have found these treasures on our own - thank you to OurShelves for the wonderful service.

It is so much fun to have a box of surprise books on the porch and even better that they have diversified our shelves.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Oct 08, 2019

Krista, thank you so much for your kind words! We are so grateful to be able to help in connecting high-quality diverse children's books to you and your family. We're also glad to hear you use the word, "fun," as we really value including fun, relatable, engaging stories! Thank you again for your commitment to ensuring ALL children and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Seller

Broadening our family's perspective

Sep 25, 2019
Matt B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We've been a member of OurShelves since the beginning of this year and I love the variety this adds to our library! Our boys are currently 5 and 3, and story time is an important part of our daily life. With so many children's books centering around animals or construction vehicles, the selections from OurShelves is a welcome change, introducing us to new cultures, people, traditions, and sharing stories of kids who are just like our boys even if they seem different in some ways.

Consider the words of Myron Thompson: "You need to define your community, and community is never about what separates you from each other - your race or your culture - it's about what binds you together." Sharing stories that include children from all walks of life is a great way to help your kids grow up with a broader perspective of family and community.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Sep 26, 2019

Matt, thank you for sharing what OurShelves means to your family. Thank you also for sharing this quote and vision about how "sharing stories that include children from all walks of life" can be an important way of broadening our children's notion of family and community. So grateful to have Founding Members like you! Thank you again for your commitment to ensuring ALL children and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Seller

BEST kids subscription

Oct 07, 2019
Carrie B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Living in a small town in Wyoming, our kids have limited exposure to lots of things.  Given this, it's especially important to us that our kids experience the richness our diverse world and its people beyond what we see here at home.  Since travel is expensive, we need great books!  The books we receive through Our Shelves normalize and elevate people and life experiences that our kiddos might otherwise miss out on.  The books are beautiful and fun.  I also love knowing that our purchases are helping put positive pressure on the publishing industry to be more inclusive.  All kids should see themselves and their stories represented in beautiful literature.  Our Shelves helps make that a reality.

OurShelves said...Oct 07, 2019

Carrie, thank you so much for this review. We are so proud to have members throughout the country who are so committed to ensuring their book shelves include ALL kids and ALL families! Thank you for supporting both parts of our mission -- both to connect high-quality diverse kids' books to those seeking them AND also to prove to the publishing industry the significant, yet largely untapped, market demand for these books. Together, we can advance the children's book industry from a trickle of diverse books each year to the abundant outpouring needed and warranted by the significant audience seeking such books! Thank you again, Carrie!

Seller

Fabulous in Every Way

Jun 21, 2019
Jennifer B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm so glad I found OurShelves, and been able to broaden my sons' horizons with these inclusive stories. Being white folks in a rural town in Maine, my sons don't get to experience a lot of diversity first-hand just yet. I'm so glad to have this small way to open their eyes to the greater world around them. It's opened up rich conversations in our house, and a number of these books have already become family favorites - and they are books we might never have found on our own.

The Founding Membership was well worth the cost, and has been the Christmas gift that keeps on giving... We love opening the new shipments and exploring all of the beautiful stories curated in OurShelves.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jun 22, 2019

Jennifer, this feedback means so much to us! Thank you for your commitment to ensuring ALL children and ALL families have a place on OurShelves! Truly, we feel honored to do this work in partnership with members like you!

Seller

May 14, 2019
Ari M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this subscription book service! Such beautiful children's books that illustrate the inclusive values that I want to teach my son.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...May 15, 2019

Thank you so much for being an OurShelves Founding Member committed to the idea that ALL children and families deserve a place on OurShelves!

Seller

So excited about OurShelves!

Feb 06, 2019
Alicia A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I am so excited about this service! My family is multi-racial and multi-cultural and it is so hard to find books that reflect this kind of family experience, so I am thrilled that this service exists. We got our first box of books and loved it and I can't wait to see what we get in the second box. I look forward to my children growing up with this service.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Feb 12, 2019

Thank you, Alicia, for this wonderful review and feedback! We are so excited that you are loving your books as much as we love them. Thanks again so much for being an OurShelves Founding Member committed to the vision that ALL children deserve a place on OurShelves!

Seller

Jan 29, 2019
Molly D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Our family loves the beautiful, diverse books we received from OurShelves! They offer many different age-range options to tailor to your child's needs at different price points, making it accessible to all different families.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 29, 2019

Molly, thanks so much for your feedback and support! We're proud that you're an OurShelves Founding Member working with us to ensure ALL children have a place on OurShelves!

Seller

So incredibly important

Jan 26, 2019
Michelle C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

This service is an excellent way to fill your book shelf with beautiful, inclusive books for children. My little one is just developing an understanding of the world, and knowing that she will continually read stories about diverse children in diverse families is so important to build empathy and understanding. Even though our family looks traditional, including stories from indigenous families, single sex parents, and children ignoring societal norms will help us to start important conversations and foster a sense of respect and understanding for our children.

I am so thankful for this organization taking the time to find this beautiful literature. As a working mom, I haven't been able to spend the time locating such important books. I highly recommend the book box to anyone hoping to foster these inclusive feeling in the children they love.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 28, 2019

Thank you so much, Michelle, for these kind words and for expressing so beautifully what we're trying to accomplish with OurShelves! Thanks for being an OurShelves Founding Member and for joining us in working towards ALL children having a place on OurShelves!

Seller

Outstanding!! Exceeded expectations.

Jan 17, 2019
Sandra K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I was absolutely delighted by the books that my family received in our first subscription box, so were my children. Each story was told in a different style, had meaningful cultural significance, beautiful illustrations, and represented diverse communities. My heart sang as I read the books to my daughters. OurShelves is definitely filling a hole in the market with substance, inspiring content, and a carefully-curated selection of offerings. I love that the business is woman owned. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 29, 2019

Sandra, we are so joyful that you and your children are loving our books as much as we do! Thank you for being an OurShelves Founding Member and for joining us in ensuring that ALL children have a place on OurShelves!

Seller

Feb 15, 2019
Sarah H.
1 Review
Overall

Every child is born with an expansive and loving heart and mind. Ourshelves nurtures children's hearts and minds and helps us, as caring parents, friends, and family members, make manifest the world we want to see. This is a wonderful organization with a brilliant mission. Consider your subscription or gift more than a purchase - it's a way of changing the culture, asking more of publishers, and creating more possibilities for peace, love, equality, and acceptance.

OurShelves said...Feb 17, 2019

Sarah H, yes, yes, and yes - "Every child is born with an expansive and loving heart and mind." Perfectly stated. Thank you for your beautiful description of OurShelves. We are so grateful to have you as one of our Founding Members.

Seller
Buying Options