High-Quality Diverse Children's Books Delivered to your Door

Plans as low as $12.99 / quarter

OurShelves reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Diverse Literature for All!

Dec 16, 2020
Amber B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Hello fellow Reviewers...I read ALL the reviews I can before I make a purchase, even innocuous ones, so I must pay it forward. You must subscribe to Ourshelves if you want your children to be exposed to literature you may not find in mainstream stores! So far my family has received 3 boxes and we are very satisfied. My 8 month old daughter has now been exposed to LGBTQIA, Native American, and Spanish language books. In addition to that, she is able to see herself in the characters in books we have received. We are Black and we are not often represented in books that fly off the shelf. Ourshelves makes my family and I feel mainstream. Do your family a favor and subscribe to this affordable book subscription service!!!!

Verified Purchase

We love OurShelves!

6 days ago
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We still really love our subscription--after years of receiving books! We talk about social justice issues a lot in house and your books give us great areas to explore further. But I also love that so many of the books you include are just beautiful stories with beautiful characters—that aren’t experiencing oppression rather just finding joy in the world. I think this does so much to really set the tone for the roles that BIPOC and LGBTQ folks play in the world now and in the future. I also love that the books you send aren’t just the well known best sellers—those are great too—but they are books I wouldn’t easily find on my own.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...6 days ago

Sarah, thank you for describing so wonderfully how we try to feature all different kinds of kids and families in all different kinds of stories! We're so grateful you're a member of our community! Thank you for your wonderful support!

Best subscription by far

Feb 14, 2021
Tallulah R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love these books. In fact, this is the only subscription that I am keeping. Last year I signed up for you guys and then two other book subscriptions for my daughter and your subscription is the only one that every delivery has had high-quality books that she loves and I didn’t know about already.
I was a professional caregiver for over a decade before having my daughter so finding a children’s book subscription that is of such a good quality and are unique/novel has been really remarkable.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Feb 14, 2021

Thank you so much! These kind words mean so much coming from you as a parent and professional caregiver! We're so glad to have you in our community! Thanks for your wonderful support of diverse children's books!

Our family loves Our Shelves!

Jan 13, 2021
Elizabeth J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My family has subscribed to OurShelves book boxes for more than a year, and we recommend this subscription to other families regularly. My mom got a subscription for my nephew for Christmas, and she too was very impressed! You won't be disappointed!
As a parent who seeks out diverse children's books on my own, I am consistently impressed by the range and quality of the books in my Our Shelves box each quarter. They are much better than what I find on my own (both high quality printing, but even more importantly for me, wonderfully targeted at my son's age and understanding). Even during the shipping chaos of 2020, Our Shelves stayed in communication with subscribers and delivered books throughout the year like normal.
I also appreciate supporting a subscription that helps to make the case to publishers that there are lots of families who want to see greater diversity in children's picture books. We really do exist, and Our Shelves helps to make the case that there is a market for racial, gender, sexual orientation, cultural, disability, and other forms of diversity.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 13, 2021

Elizabeth, wow! Thank you so much for these incredibly kind words and for so beautifully describing what we're trying to do with our OurShelves dual mission. We both curate high-quality diverse children's books as well as advocate to the publishing industry for the many more diverse books needed -- including by proving just how many of us there are who are seeking these books! Thank you also for your kind words about 2020. Our members like you have been such incredible supporters during a very challenging year for all of us. We are so grateful to have someone like you in our community! Thanks for being an incredible partner working to ensure all kids and all families have a place on OurShelves!

I’m so grateful for OurShelves!!

Jan 13, 2021
Jenny P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Friends of ours subscribed and suggested we might like to as well. OurShelves has exactly the books we want to read our 10 month old child: books that reflect a diversity of ways of being in the world and highlight people and life choices less often reflected in mainstream literature. We are overjoyed to read a book that celebrates Pride, a book that shows kids of all backgrounds and abilities playing with toys (contrary to gendered stereotypes), and a book about Native joy. Finally, books I *want* to read to my baby. Easiest and best purchase I’ve made for my child all year.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 13, 2021

Jenny, thank you so much for these kind words and your wonderful support! We're so glad you're loving your OurShelves books and that you feel they're helpful in affirming your family's values! Thanks for partnering with us to ensure all kids and all families have a place on OurShelves!

Love it

Jan 11, 2021
Alissa W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What a great organization. I love that OurShelves makes books with diverse characters available to children and families while also demonstrating to publishers etc that there is demand for these stories! I have a subscription for my son and have also gifted OurShelves boxes to children of friends.
Beautiful stories. Would recommend without hesitation.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 11, 2021

Alissa, thank you so much for your wonderful support of OurShelves and for so wonderfully capturing our dual mission! Thank you for proactively bringing OurShelves diverse books into your home and also sharing them with others as well! We are grateful to partner with you in this work!

Love it!

Dec 27, 2020
Salanna R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have received 3 boxes so far and loved all of them! We have the board book subscription and some of the books have become my daughter’s favorites. There have been some that we already own, so we have saved those for gifts for friends.

Verified Purchase

So much fun to receive!

Dec 09, 2020
Brady J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love OurShelves! We get a mixed box every quarter...one book for my 6 year old, one for my 4 year old, one for our baby. It's of course always fun for the kids to receive mail, and we almost always sit down and read all 3 right away. I also love how OurShelves are simply GOOD STORIES that happen to have underrepresented protagonists and side characters in them. I really think I see a difference in my kids' behavior after reading them. For example, we just got a book called *Clive and His Babies* (about a little boy who loves to push two baby dolls around). Since reading it, I see my 18 month old and my 4 year old have been seeking out baby dolls to play with. Highly, highly recommend this either for your own family, for a personal gift, or even for a gift to a local or school library.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Dec 10, 2020

Brady, we're so glad your 6 year old, 4 year old, and 18 month old are all loving your OurShelves books! Thanks for sharing that great example about CLIVE AND HIS BABIES, one of our favorite books! It shouldn't be so rare to find a book about a boy who takes good care of his dolls. We're thankful to know about this British publisher that creates these books that age-appropriately challenge traditional gender norms. Thanks for your wonderful support of diverse children's books! We're so glad you're part of our community and enjoying your OurShelves books!

Big Fan, for Myself & My Daughter!

Dec 02, 2020
Quincy E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Only good things to say about OurShelves! There couldn't be a better mission, and I love that I learn new things from the books you send my daughter too. Your book subscription doesn't just make me a better mom for building a diverse bookshelf and teaching my daughter about how the world looks outside our family—it makes me a better person as well.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Dec 02, 2020

Quincy, thanks so much for these kind words! We, the grown-ups of OurShelves, completely agree with you -- our book selections are also impactful to us as grown-ups too! Thank you again for your wonderful support of diverse children's books and OurShelves!

Perfect gift for a school!

Nov 20, 2020
Sahra S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is an amazing service! I got an annual subscription for my child's preschool last year and they tell me all the time how amazing the books are. Just renewed for another year and honestly I can't imagine any better gift for a school!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 21, 2020

Sahra, thank you so much for sharing OurShelves diverse children's books with your child's preschool! We love that they are loving your gift of OurShelves books! We're so glad that you and your child's preschool are part of the OurShelves community!

You need this subscription!

Nov 16, 2020
Katie K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We now have beautiful, engaging books with diverse representation of all types of kids and families delivered every quarter. OurShelves is influencing the publishing industry, which is no mean feat, and they’re doing it in the most positive way possible. More books that are inclusive on every level now exist because of them.
My kids picked a book OurShelves sent one night when my folks were babysitting...they aren’t just opening conversations for kids; my kids taught their grandparents about gender identity. It’s a beautiful thing.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 17, 2020

Katie, thank you for these incredibly kind and supportive words! We love hearing that your OurShelves books are being enjoyed by three generations in your home! Thank you also for sharing that we both deliver curated and high-quality diverse children's books and that we're also advocating for the many more diverse books still needed. That dual mission is very important to us. We are so grateful to have such incredible members like you in our community!

Social Change through Bedtime Stories!

Oct 26, 2020
Claire D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

OurShelves is changing the way publishers think about children's books with characters from diverse backgrounds and with diverse experiences by proving that the market exists, in plenty, for these books. By subscribing to OurShelves, we are sending a clear message to publishers that we want more stories that show (but don't problematize) the incredible diversity of this country's children and families. This is a brilliant, beautiful business, run by an amazing woman (Alli Harper) who has experience creating large-scale systems change, passing laws, and lovingly parenting small children. My children, ages 6, 4, and 1, adore their OurShelves books, and I love reading the books with them!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Oct 31, 2020

Thank you for these very kind words that reflect our advocacy mission! As you share, every member of OurShelves both receives wonderful, high-quality children's books that include all kinds of kids and families AND also joins our collective effort to prove to the publishing industry just how many of us there are seeking these books! Thanks to you for your leadership in bringing these books to your family and also your support of our systems change vision and mission!

Impressive curation, great service!

Oct 04, 2020
Jacqueline S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping