OurShelves

by OurShelves
High-Quality Diverse Children's Books Delivered to your Door
67 reviews

Plans as low as

$12.99/ quarter

Buying Options

OurShelves reviewsReviews

Write a Review
67

Big Fan, for Myself & My Daughter!

Dec 02, 2020
Quincy E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Only good things to say about OurShelves! There couldn't be a better mission, and I love that I learn new things from the books you send my daughter too. Your book subscription doesn't just make me a better mom for building a diverse bookshelf and teaching my daughter about how the world looks outside our family—it makes me a better person as well.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Dec 02, 2020

Quincy, thanks so much for these kind words! We, the grown-ups of OurShelves, completely agree with you -- our book selections are also impactful to us as grown-ups too! Thank you again for your wonderful support of diverse children's books and OurShelves!

Perfect gift for a school!

Nov 20, 2020
Sahra S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is an amazing service! I got an annual subscription for my child's preschool last year and they tell me all the time how amazing the books are. Just renewed for another year and honestly I can't imagine any better gift for a school!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 21, 2020

Sahra, thank you so much for sharing OurShelves diverse children's books with your child's preschool! We love that they are loving your gift of OurShelves books! We're so glad that you and your child's preschool are part of the OurShelves community!

You need this subscription!

Nov 16, 2020
Katie K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We now have beautiful, engaging books with diverse representation of all types of kids and families delivered every quarter. OurShelves is influencing the publishing industry, which is no mean feat, and they’re doing it in the most positive way possible. More books that are inclusive on every level now exist because of them.
My kids picked a book OurShelves sent one night when my folks were babysitting...they aren’t just opening conversations for kids; my kids taught their grandparents about gender identity. It’s a beautiful thing.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 17, 2020

Katie, thank you for these incredibly kind and supportive words! We love hearing that your OurShelves books are being enjoyed by three generations in your home! Thank you also for sharing that we both deliver curated and high-quality diverse children's books and that we're also advocating for the many more diverse books still needed. That dual mission is very important to us. We are so grateful to have such incredible members like you in our community!

Social Change through Bedtime Stories!

Oct 26, 2020
Claire D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

OurShelves is changing the way publishers think about children's books with characters from diverse backgrounds and with diverse experiences by proving that the market exists, in plenty, for these books. By subscribing to OurShelves, we are sending a clear message to publishers that we want more stories that show (but don't problematize) the incredible diversity of this country's children and families. This is a brilliant, beautiful business, run by an amazing woman (Alli Harper) who has experience creating large-scale systems change, passing laws, and lovingly parenting small children. My children, ages 6, 4, and 1, adore their OurShelves books, and I love reading the books with them!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Oct 31, 2020

Thank you for these very kind words that reflect our advocacy mission! As you share, every member of OurShelves both receives wonderful, high-quality children's books that include all kinds of kids and families AND also joins our collective effort to prove to the publishing industry just how many of us there are seeking these books! Thanks to you for your leadership in bringing these books to your family and also your support of our systems change vision and mission!

Impressive curation, great service!

Oct 04, 2020
Jacqueline S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I absolutely LOVE OurShelves! As a busy parent, I am thrilled to have this subscription box of beautiful books that are picked out for my son and sent to my door. Having diverse books in my home is something I strive for and I used to spend so much time looking for them, only to be sometimes disappointed with their story quality when I received them. With OurShelves, they are thoughtfully doing this for me and I feel like they have taken a huge task off my plate! The books are always excellent and my two-year-old son just can’t get enough, these are his favorite books! I also am VERY impressed with how responsive, pleasant and helpful Alli is! Seriously, go get a subscription box, you will not be disappointed!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Oct 04, 2020

Jacqueline, we are so glad to hear that you and your son are loving your OurShelves books! We know how busy parents (and other grown-ups caring for children) are, and we love that we can help support you in curating and delivering high-quality diverse children's books to your door. We're grateful for our Curation Team who share so much mind, heart, expertise and lived experience in the selection of the books we send in our boxes. Thanks to you for being part of the OurShelves community -- we're so glad you're here!

Best Gift from G'ma and G'pa!!!

Sep 26, 2020
Anne S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I subscribe to OurShelves, and have the books sent to our beautiful granddaughters, ages 7 and 3. We heard about this great service on a podcast, and thought it was a super idea. The books are curated and grouped by age. While we like the diversity part, we also like the fact that the stories aren’t about the disability/diversity, but rather those differences are just part of the story. The 7 year old especially can detect (and rejects) books that preach/moralize, so this is an important piece. We want to pass on our love of books and reading to them, as well as expose them to values such as love, empathy and compassion. This is an easy and effective way to do this. Our daughter and son-in-law love the books, too! The six of us give OurShelves 5 out of 5 stars!!!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Sep 27, 2020

Anne, thank you for these very kind words and being such awesome grandparents sharing your love of books and reading with your grandkids! We love having all six of you as special members of our OurShelves community. We're glad you're here!

Love this subscription!

Sep 09, 2020
Cilicia W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Our family has really enjoyed this book subscription. The books are very well chosen and are full of beautiful stories and illustrations that bring our children into the worlds of kids and families from so many diverse backgrounds. The books from these boxes are consistently at the top of the pile for bedtime stores that are read over and over. Thank you for making sure these stories are shared, OurShelves!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Sep 17, 2020

Cilicia, we are so glad to hear that your OurShelves books are at the top of your bedtime pile! It is important to us that children love the books we send that are filled with characters and families that are traditionally under-represented. Thank you so much for being a special member of the OurShelves community from our start!

Wonderful books

Sep 09, 2020
Hannah B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received OurShelves box as a gift. Both my children have really enjoyed reading the books and love the our library is now including a more diverse representation of characters and families, We enjoyed it so much we signed up for the subscription.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Sep 17, 2020

Hannah, we are so glad you enjoyed your gifted OurShelves books so much that you signed up for a subscription yourself! We also just reached out to you to learn what shipping issue you encountered so we can ensure we address it if it impacted your current book box at all and correct it for the future. We're also aware that USPS is facing some shipping delays due to the pandemic that we hope will improve sooner rather than later. Thanks again for your wonderful support of diverse children's books!

toddler book taught *me* mindfulness

Sep 06, 2020
Ruth W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribe to 3 books a quarter for my toddler, and it's everything I wanted and more. I'm so glad we can get high quality books featuring people from different backgrounds, without me having to spend any time doing research. My favorite pick so far is Ninos Mindful Rest & Relax, where you wiggle your toes, bend them tight, and relax, and repeat with different parts of your body. It makes *me* feel more relaxed when I read it to my toddler and do the actions. Thank you Ourshelves team.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Sep 06, 2020

Ruth, ha! We love this review! We as grown-ups deserve some calm every now and then too, don't we?:) We are so glad you and your toddler are loving your OurShelves books! We are so grateful for the expertise on our Curation Team; they are an incredible group that share so much mind and heart in reviewing the books selected to go in our boxes. We also love this new bilingual and age-appropriate mindfulness book that is perfect for toddlers and features all different kinds of kids relaxing their bodies. Thanks again for being part of our community -- we're so glad you're here!

Sunshine Box Fans

Aug 15, 2020
Yvonne T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We've been happy customers for over a year. We started with the Sunshine Box and are moving up to the Rainbow Box for our 3 year old. OurShelves does a wonderful job at picking out diverse, age-appropriate books. The board books have been great quality and really interesting reads. The book subjects vary - some are bilingual (we've received several books in Spanish and some Native American languages), some focus on body positivity, some showcase other cultures, some feature different types of families - but all are easy, fun reads.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Aug 16, 2020

Yvonne, thank you for growing with us over our first year and a half! Thank you for describing and appreciating the quality of the books we select for our boxes and sharing the varied representation we work to feature in our book boxes. Mostly, thank you for your wonderful support of our vision that all children and all families deserve a place on OurShelves -- we're so grateful that you're part of our community!

Excellent service and books

Aug 13, 2020
Jennifer P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was looking for a way to add diversity to my children's home library and this curated subscription fit the bill. I love that my children read stories that just happen to have two dads, or that explore mom's closet filled with khimars. I also love that my dollars are going towards supporting authors and publishers of these stories, proving that there IS an audience. The gift subscriptions and customer service responsiveness are also fantastic.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Aug 14, 2020

Jennifer, thanks so much for being part of our community from the start as both an OurShelves books recipient yourself and as a giftor to others! Thanks for sharing that you're enjoying our stories, and thanks for honoring our larger mission too -- of supporting traditionally under-represented authors and illustrators whose voices need to be shared and for proving to publishers the significant, though currently underestimated, audience for diverse kids' books. Together, as an OurShelves community, we are advancing and advocating for a world in which all children and all families have a place on OurShelves -- and are affirmed in being who they are. Thank you again for your wonderful support!

Excellent books and customer service

Aug 13, 2020
Elis C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got to know OurShelves at the bookriot website with a long list of very good book subscription for kids. OurShelves caught my attention through their statement of purpose and originality. I first signed up for Rainbow/3 books/quarter payment just to try it out. I LOVED IT! My daughter picked up the books they sent every.single.night for a month (yes, we do have plenty of other options). I am an anthropologist, immigrant, and Latina, and presenting diversity to my daughter at a very early age is really important to me as I believe that this is one of the ways to social justice! Due to the pandemic, we had to cancel our subscription and Alli sent a personalized message addressing that issue and trying to help. The message was so moving that we re-evaluated our budget and decided for the yearly subscription. They have the best customer service ever. I cannot wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Aug 13, 2020

Thank you for this very special review. We are so thrilled to hear that you and your daughter are loving your OurShelves books as much as we love them. Thank you for also sharing why diverse books matter to you, why you signed up for OurShelves, and why you're continuing with OurShelves even during this very challenging time. Your support means a great deal to us. We hope to continue to serve you well. Thanks again to you for your incredible support of OurShelves, diverse children's books, and raising a generation with ever-opening minds and hearts. Onward and upward we advance together.

Highly Recommend

Aug 11, 2020
Grace L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been a member of Ourshelves from the first box and I think they have only grown in strength. This recent summer box was fantastic. We loved every book. We got Jabari Jumps first and I think the kids had it read to them 6x in the first 24hours. The other books that followed have been read many, many times so far. Each has been a joy and we even bought "A Crow of his own" after getting "A Kid of their own". I am sure coordinating all of this in the time of covid is exceptionally hard and I wanted to let you know how much we appreciate Ourshelves.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Aug 12, 2020

Grace, thank you so much for growing with us over this last year and a half! We are so glad that you are loving your books and reading them again and again. Thank you also for your support during these challenging times. Mostly, thanks for your commitment to ensuring all kids and all families have a place on OurShelves. Together, we hope we can prove to publishers just how many people are craving more of these books so they produce the many more diverse books still needed. Thank you again for being with us from the start and your continued support!

High Quality Books and Skilled Curation

Aug 04, 2020
Sarah O.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Sometimes books that focus on representation lose a little in dimension and writing style (Anyone else remember the super dry mental health/counseling affirmation books or the "all these different kids" books that still didn't have queer kids in them?). The books curated for us were interesting, multidimensional, and we saw our family and community members reflected in them. "When Aidan Became A Brother" was the first book I have read featuring a trans kid and the story was not 100% about transitioning. It gives context and then moves on to Aidan becoming a big brother, and his complex emotions about it. Our other books were also well written and interesting. Absolutely recommend. Good quality, and truly thoughtful curation.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Aug 04, 2020

Thank you, Sarah, for this review. Our Curation Team -- sharing their expertise from academia, psychology, the library, the classroom, early childhood development, early childhood development of bias, and 100% of whom have the lived experience of seeking more, higher quality and "multi-dimensional" (as you say) representation of themselves, their children and others in kids' books -- works very hard at curating our books. Thank you for affirming this work. The Curation Team, and all of us, are also deeply committed to advocating for the many diverse children's books of the quality you describe that do not yet exist, but are greatly needed. We're grateful that you're part of our community as we prove to publishers the significant audience for these books so that they...

Delighted granddaughter

Jul 16, 2020
Forbes J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box were so wonderful. My granddaughter loves them and reads them every night. They are beautifully written and illustrated and she enjoys seeing pictures of familiar faces. Great customer service and emails were answered promptly. Keep up the great work. Again, thanks

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jul 17, 2020

Jeanne, thanks so much for taking the time to share how you're finding your OurShelves books and broader OurShelves experience. We're so glad to hear your grand-daughter is loving your OurShelves books and reading them regularly! Quality of text and illustrations/photography is very important to our Curation Team so I'm glad you're enjoying the quality of the books we choose for our boxes. Thanks again for being part of our community -- and most importantly for your commitment to ensuring all kids and all families have a place on OurShelves!

Stories that celebrate all identities!

Jun 05, 2020
Murray J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The books we have received from OurShelves have become some of my toddler's favorites, and some of my favorites too. It is so important that all children see characters from a diversity of backgrounds and identities in their books, and OurShelves is a powerful tool for making that happen. The books they send increase representation of underrepresented and oppressed groups, fight stereotypes of oppressed groups, and celebrate identities that are so often portrayed negatively by the media and our nation's dominant narrative. An OurShelves subscription is one small thing parents can do to help raise anti-racist kids who are ready to fight oppressions of all kinds.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jun 06, 2020

Murray, thank you so much for these wonderful words! We are so glad that our books support the values you're cultivating with your toddler -- and that they're some of your toddler's favorites! We are so grateful that you're a member of the OurShelves community -- both receiving our books and being counted as we prove to publishers the large audience seeking these books! Thank you again for your support!

Fantastic children's book subscription

May 13, 2020
Amaru D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you have a kiddo in your life, please consider gifting them an OurShelves book subscription. Our son has a subscription and has loved every book he's gotten. As a mixed race kid (who loves books!) with a Black daddy and queer mama, we try to be intentional that he is seeing not only characters and families like his, but also a variety of identities and experiences beyond his--racially and ethnically diverse characters, LGBTQ+, diverse religions and abilities, etc. The curation team is majority people of color and majority LGBTQ+ and they prioritize #OwnVoices stories (meaning stories that center characters with identities that the author/illustrator also share) when possible.
#recommendation #representationmatters #childrensliterature

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...May 13, 2020

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback! We're glad that you and your son are enjoying our books as much as we love them. Thank you for also mentioning our Curation Team who thoughtfully review our books -- they are a very special group and bring both professional and personal expertise and experience to the curation process. Mostly, thanks to you for being such a special Founding Member of OurShelves -- we're so glad you're part of our community and partnering with us to pursue our vision of ALL kids and ALL families having a place on OurShelves!

So GREAT!

Apr 29, 2020
Michelle T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've encouraged all my friends to order a subscription -- I love the dual mission, and the quality of the books is great!
We just got our first box of 3 yesterday, and our 6-year-old triplets were so excited to read! I always felt like I had to work too hard to FIND books like this -- showcasing the diversity of human experience -- and now someone is doing the work for me...one thing off my plate!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Apr 30, 2020

Thank you so much for these kind words about our dual mission and our book selections! We know how hard it can be to find high-quality children's books centering diverse characters. In fact, that's why we are here -- to share the expertise of our Curation Team with all of the incredibly busy grown-ups out there who are committed to cultivating inclusive values with the special children in their world. We want to make it easier to find these books. In turn, these books' sales will grow, which will encourage publishers to produce more and more of them. Thank you for your incredible support and being part of the OurShelves community!

Love these books!

Apr 21, 2020
Lily G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Our family has been loving OurShelves book boxes! The selected books have been fun, engaging stories with diverse characters that have helped broaden my children's understanding of the world they live in and all the beautiful people and families that we share it with. I also love that OurShelves is working to make diverse books more accessible with their dual mission of working with publishing companies to advocate for these stories to be put out into the world. Thank you for all of your hard work!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Apr 21, 2020

Lily and Owen, we are so excited that you are loving your OurShelves books as much as we do! We also love that you appreciate -- and partner with us in -- our advocacy mission to advocate for the many more diverse kids' books still needed! Thanks again for being such special members of the OurShelves community!

OurShelves

Mar 27, 2020
Larissa F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

OurShelves is AMAZING! I love that they are really making more diverse books available for kiddos. My son and I are SO excited whenever the package comes in the mail. The books they chose will really open his eyes to the world and influence his learning. The books are also really entertaining! He LOVES reading them and always requests them:). Keep up the FABULOUS work and we can't wait for our next arrival!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Apr 21, 2020

Thank you so much for this fabulous review! We are so happy that you and your son are loving our books as much we do! We try to find the books that are both highly engaging and entertaining and that also center traditionally under-represented characters and families. So we love hearing that our community -- especially the children in our community -- love to read them again and again! Thanks for your wonderful support -- it means so much to us!

Favorite Books!

Mar 10, 2020
Cedar B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love OurShelves! The books they send have fun, creative, loving, and inclusive stories. I appreciate the how strong and diverse the characters are. I believe these books will play a vital role in helping my child to feel fully free and loved in being herself - whomever that may turn out to be, and to support others in doing the same.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Mar 10, 2020

Thank you so much for these kind words and being such a special part of our OurShelves community committed to ensuring ALL kids and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Doing Good For Our World

Nov 20, 2019
Katy A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love OurShelves because we think it does good in the world.
The OurShelves team consistently asks for subscriber feedback; so if there are families or kids you are not seeing enough of in the boxes you receive, you have a direct line to the company-and they actually listen!
OurShelves is good for people who want to see themselves and their children reflected in the books they read and it is good for those who want to ensure their children are exposed to the many different ways human beings and families live and love.

Verified Purchase

Normalizing diversity with high quality

Nov 18, 2019
Kathryn M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Our white, christian boys, are growing up with a Mom and Dad in an affluent suburb of San Francisco. They NEED to be exposed to a wide variety of people and families through books. They need to see people who don't look like them, or pray like them, as positive role models. Different ways of life need to be normalized for them. Our boys love these books, and we love that OurShelves is making it so easy for us to build a high quality library of diversity for them.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 20, 2019

Kathryn, thank you so much for sharing about why OurShelves matters to your family! We are so glad that we have the opportunity to support you in building a wonderful library that reflects your family's inclusive values. Thank you so much for your commitment to ensuring ALL kids and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Love it - just renewed our subscription!

Nov 06, 2019
Jordan D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is such a fun subscription! My 3 and 6 year old are always excited to open the box and check out their new books. The stories and images are beautiful and inclusive. In the last week, we've had multiple bedtime story requests for ROCKET SAYS LOOK UP! and HARRIET GETS CARRIED AWAY, and my personal favorite is LITTLE NIGHT/NOCHECITA. I love the concept of kids being exposed to diversity through books - this is such a needed and appreciated service!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Nov 06, 2019

Jordan, we love hearing about kids requesting to read our stories again and again! We also love hearing the word, "fun," used to describe our books! Thank you for such kind words, and mostly for your commitment to ensuring ALL kids and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Such a great service!!

Oct 08, 2019
Krista S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This service is so wonderful; we've been completely thrilled with our OurShelves subscription. We've received some beloved family favorites - we all LOVE to read and look at the beautiful art in Thank you Omu and have A Different Pond in heavy rotation for bedtime. I am not sure we would have found these treasures on our own - thank you to OurShelves for the wonderful service.
It is so much fun to have a box of surprise books on the porch and even better that they have diversified our shelves.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Oct 08, 2019

Krista, thank you so much for your kind words! We are so grateful to be able to help in connecting high-quality diverse children's books to you and your family. We're also glad to hear you use the word, "fun," as we really value including fun, relatable, engaging stories! Thank you again for your commitment to ensuring ALL children and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!