OurShelves

by OurShelves
High-Quality Diverse Children's Books Delivered to your Door
67 reviews

Plans as low as

$12.99/ quarter

Buying Options

OurShelves reviewsReviews

Write a Review
67

Broadening our family's perspective

Sep 25, 2019
Matt B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We've been a member of OurShelves since the beginning of this year and I love the variety this adds to our library! Our boys are currently 5 and 3, and story time is an important part of our daily life. With so many children's books centering around animals or construction vehicles, the selections from OurShelves is a welcome change, introducing us to new cultures, people, traditions, and sharing stories of kids who are just like our boys even if they seem different in some ways.
Consider the words of Myron Thompson: "You need to define your community, and community is never about what separates you from each other - your race or your culture - it's about what binds you together." Sharing stories that include children from all walks of life is a great way to help your kids grow up with a broader perspective of family and community.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Sep 26, 2019

Matt, thank you for sharing what OurShelves means to your family. Thank you also for sharing this quote and vision about how "sharing stories that include children from all walks of life" can be an important way of broadening our children's notion of family and community. So grateful to have Founding Members like you! Thank you again for your commitment to ensuring ALL children and ALL families have a place on OurShelves!

Fabulous in Every Way

Jun 21, 2019
Jennifer B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm so glad I found OurShelves, and been able to broaden my sons' horizons with these inclusive stories. Being white folks in a rural town in Maine, my sons don't get to experience a lot of diversity first-hand just yet. I'm so glad to have this small way to open their eyes to the greater world around them. It's opened up rich conversations in our house, and a number of these books have already become family favorites - and they are books we might never have found on our own.
The Founding Membership was well worth the cost, and has been the Christmas gift that keeps on giving... We love opening the new shipments and exploring all of the beautiful stories curated in OurShelves.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jun 22, 2019

Jennifer, this feedback means so much to us! Thank you for your commitment to ensuring ALL children and ALL families have a place on OurShelves! Truly, we feel honored to do this work in partnership with members like you!

May 14, 2019
Ari M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this subscription book service! Such beautiful children's books that illustrate the inclusive values that I want to teach my son.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...May 15, 2019

Thank you so much for being an OurShelves Founding Member committed to the idea that ALL children and families deserve a place on OurShelves!

So excited about OurShelves!

Feb 06, 2019
Alicia A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I am so excited about this service! My family is multi-racial and multi-cultural and it is so hard to find books that reflect this kind of family experience, so I am thrilled that this service exists. We got our first box of books and loved it and I can't wait to see what we get in the second box. I look forward to my children growing up with this service.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Feb 12, 2019

Thank you, Alicia, for this wonderful review and feedback! We are so excited that you are loving your books as much as we love them. Thanks again so much for being an OurShelves Founding Member committed to the vision that ALL children deserve a place on OurShelves!

Jan 29, 2019
Molly D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Our family loves the beautiful, diverse books we received from OurShelves! They offer many different age-range options to tailor to your child's needs at different price points, making it accessible to all different families.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 29, 2019

Molly, thanks so much for your feedback and support! We're proud that you're an OurShelves Founding Member working with us to ensure ALL children have a place on OurShelves!

So incredibly important

Jan 25, 2019
Michelle C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

This service is an excellent way to fill your book shelf with beautiful, inclusive books for children. My little one is just developing an understanding of the world, and knowing that she will continually read stories about diverse children in diverse families is so important to build empathy and understanding. Even though our family looks traditional, including stories from indigenous families, single sex parents, and children ignoring societal norms will help us to start important conversations and foster a sense of respect and understanding for our children.
I am so thankful for this organization taking the time to find this beautiful literature. As a working mom, I haven't been able to spend the time locating such important books. I highly recommend the book box to anyone hoping to foster these inclusive feeling in the children they love.

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 28, 2019

Thank you so much, Michelle, for these kind words and for expressing so beautifully what we're trying to accomplish with OurShelves! Thanks for being an OurShelves Founding Member and for joining us in working towards ALL children having a place on OurShelves!

Outstanding!! Exceeded expectations.

Jan 17, 2019
Sandra K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I was absolutely delighted by the books that my family received in our first subscription box, so were my children. Each story was told in a different style, had meaningful cultural significance, beautiful illustrations, and represented diverse communities. My heart sang as I read the books to my daughters. OurShelves is definitely filling a hole in the market with substance, inspiring content, and a carefully-curated selection of offerings. I love that the business is woman owned. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase
OurShelves said...Jan 29, 2019

Sandra, we are so joyful that you and your children are loving our books as much as we do! Thank you for being an OurShelves Founding Member and for joining us in ensuring that ALL children have a place on OurShelves!

Great gift idea

Jan 15, 2021
Abigail R.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Finally books that represent our family! Our daughter is so excited to see two moms in her books. We love that the characters teach our daughter about the diversity of the world around us. Living in a rural, white state it is hard to teach and introduce your child to the differences that there are. We absolutely love the curated boxes that OurShelves provides. Looking forward to the next box.

OurShelves said...Jan 26, 2021

Abigail, thank you so much for these kind words! We are so glad that you're loving your OurShelves books! As the founder of OurShelves and as a parent who also has kids with two moms, I can relate to how special it feels to finally show a book to our kids that affirms our family type, as well as so many other kinds of kids and families! Thank you again for joining our community -- we're so glad you're here!

Great for Children

Dec 22, 2020
Faith P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this subscription service. I work for a school system, and we have been working hard to showcase diversity with our book selections. Ourshelves makes it so easy. The owner has personally worked with me to ensure that I am getting the books that meet the needs for my students. This is a wonderful company to support.

LOVE this book subscription

Nov 28, 2020
Lisa M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Truly wonderful books!!! Such a great array of stories, characters, and we just really appreicate the diversity of people and experiences portrayed in the books. The stories and illustrations are great! We look forward to the shipments and read the books over and over and over. HIGHLY recommend!

OurShelves said...Nov 29, 2020

Lisa Marie, we are so glad you're loving your OurShelves books and that your children want to read them again and again -- that's our goal! Thanks for joining us in ensuring that all children and all families have a place on OurShelves!

Amazing books and excellent service

Nov 10, 2020
Melanie K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We are so grateful my aunt gifted us a subscription to OurShelves! My kids love these books- but maybe more (or at least equally) important, I love them too! i'm thrilled to introduce my kids to a diverse group of stories and authors, and the books are actually good! which is so important when your kids ask you to read the same story for the 1,000th time;) Can't recommend this highly enough!

OurShelves said...Nov 10, 2020

Melanie, yes, the quality of the books we read is everything, particularly on the 1,000th reading as you mention:)! At OurShelves, we're curating books that are both excellent books -- and feature all kinds of kids and families to create a more kind, gentle, and fair world. Thank you for your wonderful support!

We love OurShelves

Sep 16, 2020
Danielle G.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

OurShelves has been such an amazing addition to our book collection. My 3-year-old loves to read, and I love that we're able to surround him with diverse stories that he may not have been exposed to otherwise. He is always so excited to get the shipment, and all of the books have been incredible stories and are continuing to be some of his favorites. When I moved and changed my address right around the time of a shipment, the owner of OurShelves even personally reached out to ensure we received our books. Such amazing customer service. We love OurShelves so much!

OurShelves said...Sep 16, 2020

Danielle, we are thrilled to hear that you and your three-year-old are loving your OurShelves books! The quality of the books we choose is very important to us, and we are grateful to have such an incredible Curation Team critically reviewing the books that end up being sent to you. Thank you also for your kind words about our customer service -- our members, including you, are very special to us, and we want you to know and experience the appreciation we have for you. Thanks again for your wonderful support of diverse children's books and OurShelves!

Fantastic selection

Sep 01, 2020
Erica F.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We received a subscription as a gift and my 2.5 year old has made me read her the 3 books we received every night since they arrived (over 2 weeks!). In fact, we had been eyeing one of them online and it was sold out elsewhere and then...it showed up in our box! Would DEFINITELY recommend OurShelves.

OurShelves said...Sep 01, 2020

Thank you so much, Erica, for sharing this feedback! We love that your little one is asking for these books over and over again. Our Curation Team works hard to find the highest quality books for our members -- while also advocating for the many more high-quality diverse kids' books still needed. Thank you so much for being part of our community -- we're so glad you're here!

Happy Three Year Old!

Jul 03, 2020
Emily C.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My three year old loves her diverse book boxes! They are consistently her favorite books and the ones that she goes for in her bookshelf. It's been so great to take the pressure off of me to research at length and find diverse books (I still do this, but not with such urgency!) We look forward to our books arriving regularly every few months. I can't say enough about OurShelves. If you're thinking about purchasing a subscription I'd highly recommend it!

OurShelves said...Jul 03, 2020

Thank you so much, Emily, for these kind words! We're so glad to hear that OurShelves is valuable to both you and your three-year-old! We aim to send books that children love -- so they enjoy reading them, and we aim to support grown-ups (parents, teachers, librarians, healthcare providers, religious institutions) in making it easier to find these excellent books! And hopefully together, at the same time, we'll prove to publishers the incredible demand for these books so they perceive opportunity, rather than risk, in creating the many more still needed. Thanks again for your commitment to ensuring all kids and all families have a place on OurShelves! We're thrilled that you're part of our community!

The very best book subscription for kids

May 26, 2020
Ær Q.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been getting this subscription for my now two year old since they started and I absolutely love it. I'm a non-binary single parent, and my child's other parent is a transgender woman, so that is not a family structure that you can't find hardly anywhere in children's literature. Fortunately though we have gotten so many books that show so many different families from as many different backgrounds that you can imagine that it is easy for me to show my child that just because a family looks different from ours, it is no less of a family.
I also love that my AMAB, blond haired blue eyed child sees so many children that DO NOT look just like them in these books. I am so glad that I can use these books as a starting point to normalize the humanness of everyone, and not just people who might look like us, or just speak our language.
This is truly amazing and definitely worth it

OurShelves said...May 27, 2020

Wow, thank you so much for these kind words and for being such a special member of the OurShelves community! We are so happy to know your two-year-old is loving our books! Thank you for describing so well what we're trying to do -- affirming the "humanness of everyone." Mostly, thank you for joining us in our work to ensure ALL kids and ALL families have a place on OurShelves. We are so grateful that you're part of our community!

BEST kids subscription

Oct 07, 2019
Carrie B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Living in a small town in Wyoming, our kids have limited exposure to lots of things.  Given this, it's especially important to us that our kids experience the richness our diverse world and its people beyond what we see here at home.  Since travel is expensive, we need great books!  The books we receive through Our Shelves normalize and elevate people and life experiences that our kiddos might otherwise miss out on.  The books are beautiful and fun.  I also love knowing that our purchases are helping put positive pressure on the publishing industry to be more inclusive.  All kids should see themselves and their stories represented in beautiful literature.  Our Shelves helps make that a reality.

OurShelves said...Oct 07, 2019

Carrie, thank you so much for this review. We are so proud to have members throughout the country who are so committed to ensuring their book shelves include ALL kids and ALL families! Thank you for supporting both parts of our mission -- both to connect high-quality diverse kids' books to those seeking them AND also to prove to the publishing industry the significant, yet largely untapped, market demand for these books. Together, we can advance the children's book industry from a trickle of diverse books each year to the abundant outpouring needed and warranted by the significant audience seeking such books! Thank you again, Carrie!

Feb 15, 2019
Sarah H.
1 Review
Overall

Every child is born with an expansive and loving heart and mind. Ourshelves nurtures children's hearts and minds and helps us, as caring parents, friends, and family members, make manifest the world we want to see. This is a wonderful organization with a brilliant mission. Consider your subscription or gift more than a purchase - it's a way of changing the culture, asking more of publishers, and creating more possibilities for peace, love, equality, and acceptance.

OurShelves said...Feb 17, 2019

Sarah H, yes, yes, and yes - "Every child is born with an expansive and loving heart and mind." Perfectly stated. Thank you for your beautiful description of OurShelves. We are so grateful to have you as one of our Founding Members.