Penspiration and Planning + Stationery Box by Cloth & Paper

by CLOTH & PAPER
Features combined contents from both our Penspiration and Planning + Stationery boxes.

Plans as low as

$50.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (290)

  1. Reviews for this product (97)
  2. Reviews for this seller (193)

Nice quality but mostly useless

Apr 18, 2018
Overall
Allie J.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I received both boxes for several months. I gave two stars because I enjoy the products they make. I have a planner of theirs and many inserts. But I'd rather just buy directly from the website and choose what I want. This box is just stuff that they make and have on their website so it isn't really worth being surprised (like other boxes that introduce you to new companies), especially since the things they send are usually really impractical. Lots of different pads for instance, with various layouts, which might be great if you don't use a planner and want your lists to just sit on your desk. I rarely used any of the things they sent me. Some of the products are not very well thought through (like compliment cards, cute idea, but with no envelopes or way to store them in your purse without getting dirty). Also the iconic rollerball they make is pretty but doesn't write well at all. I ended my subscription because I rarely used the items they sent. Additionally, this company has the worst customer service of any box I receive. The box comes with no description or explanation of the items inside. I don't have any other boxes that don't send an explanation of the items. You get a bunch of random pens with no explanation even though there are other printed cards inside that are almost all self promotion. It feels lazy and inconsiderate. You obviously had time to print cards......

Verified Purchase

Very disappointed with quality

Aug 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Wow, really surprised at how bad this is. I collect pens, quality pens. But these are not quality. Since they don't have any English words on them, I looked a few up to see how I would document them. Sold for pennies on china goods websites. Several of them have leaked, and they haven't even been used. Created a big mess. Very disappointed.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Sep 02, 2021

Hi Elizabeth,
We are so sorry that you've had an unsatisfactory experience with our subscription box, and we want to do everything we can to help. We are always looking for ways to improve our subscription box service and we value your feedback for that reason. We reached out to you via email earlier this week and would be happy to resolve the issues with any damaged or leaking pens, as well as assist with your subscription. We look forward to your reply.
Again, we sincerely apologize for any disappointment and dissatisfaction with our subscription box service and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your feedback is incredibly valuable and helps us determine how we can improve upon our...

Lynda Schaffer

Dec 08, 2018
Overall
Lynda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Very disappointed in this box. In the months I received my boxes I only got pens so I canceled it. I wish I had received planning and paper items.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Dec 12, 2018

Hi Lynda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry to hear that there was some confusion on the product that you signed up for. We offer three subscription products: one for pens, one for stationery/ planner goods, and one that delivers both boxes at a discount. When you signed up, you selected only the Pen Box, which is why we only shipped pens to you. We would love to know what we could have done to make the sign up process more clear so we can avoid this issue in the future for other customers. We are looking forward to hearing from you and assisting you in any way possible.

Where do I put the inserts?

Jan 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shauwea H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The packaging is gorgeous. I really like the pens - the diversity of pen type but the consistency of the color palette. Where I get confused in the box is how to use the paper inserts - what do I insert it in to? When I signed up I said I didn't have a planner, but these inserts lead me to believe that maybe I need a planner to make use of this box? Also, even as a true paper lover - I don't know what to do with purchase tracker sheets or all of the appointment notes/pads. It felt a little bit like a box of leftovers.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Feb 08, 2021

Hi Shauwea, thank you for your questions and feedback -we'd love to help! Our boxes are curated to include accessories and planning inserts in a specific size, based on the size of the planner being used. We offer the option for subscribers to select "I don't own a ring or disc-bound planner" which means that you will be sent the same products as other subscribers, and any inserts will be unpunched. The idea here is that subscribers with this option can punch the inserts to their liking or use them in alternative ways if they do not have a binder or disc-bound system. Some subscribers like to use dashboards on bulletin boards or vision boards. We also recommend taking a look at our YouTube channel...

Good, a few tweaks could greatly improve

Jul 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Reviewing the pen box - I haven’t been happy with the pen box. A lot of the time they’re pens readily available on AliExpress for much cheaper and every month so far at least three of the pens skip heavily. A couple of times I’ve also received really crazy colors. I love pens so I won’t be unsubbing just yet, but I would love to see better quality pens in black or maybe blue. I don’t need teal and yellow.
As for the planner insert box - Overall I am a fan of this box. There are some things I don’t care for. Such as the laundry guide and conversions dashboard. These just seem like cheap after thoughts to fill the box and are nothing I would ever buy. I had a discussion about this in a group chat with other planners and they all agree. I would really love to see these items replaced with useful items. I’ve also noticed the paper quality of the sub box inserts always seem to be lesser quality than inserts bought directly from Cloth & Paper. I may be wrong in this - full disclosure, only some of my planner friends agreed with me. To me it feels much grainier and not nearly as smooth as the inserts from the site. I’m also not a fan of the recent wishlist / password tracker inserts with the thick black bar running down the side. The inserts are fine but that bar is just ugly....

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Jul 28, 2020

Melissa,
We are sorry that you have not been please with the box for the 4 months you have renewed it. Our customer service team has reached out to you to help you resolve this and help you with updating your account. We definitely don't want you to receive anything you aren't happy with.

Cheap uninteresting pens

May 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jason R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I've received two out of the three boxes I subscribed to of the Penspiration subscription, and so far I am pretty disappointed. The first month, I got a glue pen that barely works, a mechanical pencil that has .7mm lead (does anyone actually willingly choose .7?) and just had one short starter lead in the pencil, no extra. There were also three other pens, all of which felt incredibly cheap, were all the same color, and one of them barely wrote. Throwing them in a chintzy plastic pen case (literally just folded plastic that barely holds together) and adding a piece of card stock to test your pens does NOT elevate this to being worth over $15 per crate.
I was very disappointed, but decided to wait until the next crate to decide if I was going to keep the subscription after it ends. It could have been a fluke, after all. However, I got the next crate, and again, the pens feel cheap and plasticy. There WAS a different color ink finally, so that was at least nice. I got five pens that feel basically the same, and four of them are black ink, one of them is blue. Not terribly exciting. The second crate felt like it was marginally higher quality, but only barely so, and still didn't feel like $15 worth of pens. It felt like I could get the same quality by going to the dollar store,...

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...May 05, 2021

Jason, we are so sorry that you've had a negative experience with our subscription box, and we want to do everything we can to help. We are always looking for ways to improve our subscription box service and we value your feedback for that reason.
When we curate our monthly boxes, our team strives to include items that are both fun and functional and often revolve around a theme which results in some month carrying more black ink pens than other months. Again, we will be sure to let the team know that our subscribers that are interested in seeing a wider variety of ink colors. Thank you again for providing such valuable feedback and giving us such important insight.