Baking fun!

Baking fun!

by Red Velvet NYC
DIY Baking Kits! Includes ALL ingredients for 2 delicious Pinterest-perfect desserts each month!

Plans as low as

$49.42/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (151)

Great Recipes and Perfect Packaging!

Mar 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lynette C.
1 Review
3 Pictures

I've really enjoyed this subscription box and look forward to it every month! I received it as a gift for Christmas and the red velvet cupcake was my favorite recipe so far closely followed by the biscotti with the lovely essence of orange from the orange peel. The recipes are easy to follow and I love the fact that they post them on their website in case I want to make it again.

Shipping

Dec 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Curation
M R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 days

Product was delivered in what looked to be a very organized way however some of the contents was damaged from shipping. I contacted the seller about the product and how it was delivered and immediately they responded and took care of the issue.

Verified Purchase

Delicious and easy!

Mar 28, 2019
Overall
Danielle T.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I've tried other subscriptions like this but this beats them 1000x over! The packaging is gorgeous, the recipe cards are gorgeous, everything is just amazing. The only bummer is that the measurements aren't on the recipe cards so there's no way of recreating the delicious goods 😭

Verified Purchase
Red Velvet NYC said...May 07, 2019

Thank you so much, Danielle! We so appreciate your kind words. We offer every recipe with full quantities and measurements on the website in our RECIPE tab via the footer. So you can recreate these whenever you want. Let us know if you need anything else! Thank you :)

First box

Oct 27, 2018
Overall
Anna R.
4 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I wish I could post a video of my utter and sheer joy of this box. My first box ever came in the mail and I couldn't tear it open fast enough. The month of october was pumpkin cupcakes and a chocolate pecan torte. I followed each recipe according to given instructions the only thing I changed was I didn't use the included spices with the pumpkin cupcakes I used a spice called five spice since I personally find it makes pumpkin anything amazing. Both desserts turned out amazing. So perfect and so happy! I think this is perfect for kids and adults of any skill level!

Verified Purchase

Absolutely divine at a great value

Jul 19, 2018
Overall
Gabrielle L.
1 Review
4 Helpful

I have tried numerous baking boxes and this is the best one by far. Not only do you get 2 recipes (not 1 like almost every other box out there), but you get recipes that feed your family. 18 cupcakes, or cakes that feed 10-12 people. The packaging is premium and the recipes are just as high end as Martha Stewart or Bon Apetit magazine. I am so impressed month after month!

Red Velvet NYC said...May 14, 2019

Thanks so much, Gabrielle! We're so glad you are impressed and we love having you bake with us. Excited to get you some more Martha Stewart style recipes :)

First Box

Sep 10, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andrea W.
8 Reviews
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

The box was packaged beautifully! Everything was neatly sorted into a bag for each of the two recipes. So far I have only made the cookies. I was amazed at the result, I felt like a pro. My husband took them to work and they were a huge hit. I can’t wait to make the cake that also came in the box. And I for sure can’t wait for next month. Amazing job guys! I have gotten tons of different subscription boxes and this is probably the best I have ever received.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful subscription!

Mar 15, 2018
Overall
Amanda D.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

The Red Velvet NYC box was was excellent for this non-baker. I can honestly say the cupcakes were simple to make, beautiful to look at and delicious to eat!!!

Verified Purchase

Delicious recipes

Mar 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Purvi P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Order it for yourself or as a gift. Highly recommend it!!!

Verified Purchase

Very Cute!!

Feb 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andrea S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Fridge items in the box so make sure you take those out when received 😬

Verified Purchase

Excellent gift

Feb 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dennis O.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

My daughter loves it!! Best gift we have given her over the past two years

Verified Purchase

A must have boxed

Jan 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karrie C.
9 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

We love this box! Beautifully presented with a red ribbon, a very sweet hand written encouragement note and tucked in white tissue paper. Two different recipes that are amazingly delicious and easy. Perfectly labeled and measured ingredients. We were just amazed by this crate.
Thank you for the sweet note.

Verified Purchase

Worth it 100%

Jun 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Maggie H.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 14 days

Absolutely adorable. Fun and super easy. Thank you!!

Verified Purchase

Mother’s Day Gift

May 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Darian F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days

I got this box as a gift for my fiancé’s mother and my mother. They were both really excited when they opened it. My mom was glad about the exact measurements and ingredients.
I also got to try the desserts they made, they were delicious.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing and NOT worth $49

Apr 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ashley M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 29 days

We were EXTREMELY unimpressed from the moment we opened the box. The box itself was punctured, but that could very well have happened in transit so I'm not dinging the company for that. First, the vanilla had leaked all over the inside of one of the bags, but thankfully we had our own. Then, the butter wasn't even cold. It looked like the cold packaging was not adequately sealed and thus not cold when it arrived. So packaging is an issue for this company, it seems.
As for the producuts: we received recipes and ingredients for a coconut cake and a lemon tart. We made the coconut cake tonight and even after carefully following the instructions, it didn't rise--not even a little. My guess is that the baking powder was old or had been frozen at some point. Now we're left with two coconut pancakes to frost instead of a two-layer cake. The taste of the cake was nothing special or impressive, either. Maybe the lemon tart will wow us...but I'm not holding out much hope.
Bottom line: This was super basic, the freshness of the ingredients was questionable, and the packaging was not temperature appropriate. Basically, I just paid $49 for what would cost, at most, $15 if I'd bought the individual ingredients myself.

Verified Purchase
Red Velvet NYC said...Apr 03, 2020

Hi Ashley, We're really sorry to hear about your experience with the Coconut Cake. This is of course, not what we aim for -- we want our bakers to be happy! I'm personally disappointed to hear that you wrote a very negative review (we've never received 1 star) without even trying to bake the second baking kit. During this immense time of crisis, we ask for patience and understanding in regards to shipping. FedEx and UPS are doing the best they can and it sounds like they damaged your box and treated it so roughly that an ingredient broke in transit. We are always happy to replace anything that gets broken or damaged but you did not contact us to do so so we have...

The BEST way to bake + amazing gift!

Oct 16, 2017
Overall
Gabrielle M.
1 Review
1 Helpful

These make the best gifts! Everything in the baking kit is so beautifully packaged and makes the process super easy. Great way to learn how to bake, and give someone a unique and fun experience. The ingredients are of top quality yet it's incredibly affordable!

Easy To Make

May 22, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Geoff B.
1 Review
1 Helpful

If I can do it, anyone can make these cupcakes. I was looking for something to give my wife for mother's day. My wife had ordered from the company in the past, so I decided to surprise her with a dessert made by me and our daughter. It did not disappoint. All the ingredients were high quality, which is important to my family, especially my wife. The cupcakes were really fun to make with Hailey, they were delicious and looked really nice. My wife was so happy and surprised. Either I or my wife will order again. thank you for making cupcakes that rock, and letting a dad hang out with his daughter.

Red Velvet NYC said...May 28, 2019

Thanks so much for your review! So glad to hear that your cupcakes turned out well, and that you were able to bake with your daughter - there's nothing we like to hear more than families baking together :) We hope you keep enjoying baking with us! Feel free to send or post pictures, Geoff! Thanks again for being a great customer!!

So happy I ordered!

May 13, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Annie W.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I am not a baker, but I needed a delicious dessert for an event. I decided to order Red Velvet after one of my friends recommended the company, and I couldn't have been more satisfied. First of all, portions are huge! Every single person got a dessert (with some getting two!). Secondly, it was delicious. I don't know how many people asked me for the recipe, and I had to keep saying that I would get back to them about it. Lastly, beautiful. The desserts looked almost too good to eat. Thank you! Will definitely be ordering again.

Red Velvet NYC said...May 14, 2019

Thank you so much, Annie! So happy to hear this and can't wait to get you baking with us again soon!

Made my first dessert today!

Aug 30, 2021
Overall
Stacy N.
1 Review

Made my first dessert from my new subscription today!! I received the subscription as a birthday gift and I was so excited. The recipe was easy to follow and took less time because the gathering and measuring of ingredients was already done. They turned out delicious!!! Cupcake was moist and delicious and the frosting was great. Can’t wait to make the next dessert

Great activity with my daughter

Aug 22, 2021
Overall
Kristi R.
1 Review

I loved making the Red Velvet Valentine Cupcakes with my 12-year-old daughter! I was an idiot and forgot to mix in the baking soda/vinegar mixture, but I was able to pour the batter back into the mixer to add it and they turned out great! The end product was delicious!

Can't say enough great things!

Oct 25, 2021
Overall
Lisa P.
1 Review

I purchased the kit for a Christmas present for my 13 year old daughter. I can't say enough about these kits!!! Everything we have made is delicious! The kits literally include everything but the eggs. The ingredients are packaged and labeled in the most adorable containers. We look forward to a new kit every month. We love it!

Loved the box

Oct 12, 2021
Overall
Samantha C.
1 Review

Loved the box, wish the recipe card had measurements so I could remake the kits.

Delicious

Sep 22, 2021
Overall
Amelia L.
1 Review

Another de-li-cious recipe with the snickerdoodle cupcake.

Enjoying the cookies

Oct 02, 2021
Overall
Amelia L.
1 Review

I am really enjoying the Linzer Cookies. The raspberry jam & little dusting of confectioner’s sugar is a delicate sweetness.

Amazing

Sep 29, 2021
Overall
Taylor S.
1 Review

Amazing subscription! Gave to my 11 year old daughter as a gift and she has loved making every recipe! Highly recommend to anyone whose has a child that loves baking!

So fun!

Aug 22, 2021
Overall
Lindsey A.
1 Review

So fun! It was a great experience! Customer service also was amazing!