A Classic Video Game Subscription


Plans as low as $29.99 / month

Retro Game Treasure reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Excellent!!

Apr 08, 2019
Jason S.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I always get something good no matter what. Of course I am not picky either. They have been spot on with my wishlist, they do also state for people that have more rare games on the list might not get them. They have had great communication skills with me. Thanks again retro game treasure!

Verified Purchase

I need to cancel Help!

Jan 07, 2020
Ingela F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I need to cancel my subscription but there are no options to do so? help!

Verified Purchase

Happy with the service

Jan 06, 2019
Mike P.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

My wife got this for me for Christmas and I got my first box at the end of December. Loved it. A variety of games, and no junk. I was able to enter what games I allready had and what systems I wanted games from. I like the ability to tell them what I have and what I don't want (like sports games). Sure, it's a little expensive and I don't think the games I got are worth as much- but I'm a gamer not a seller. I feel this is a great service from people who obviously love games. I have three months and may even stay on and get more. I like the anticipation and suprise every month. I play the games and see myself using the cool treasure box to store controllers and junk. Would recomend this to someone who loves to play games and loves some suprise in their life. Not for people looking to resell or make a buck on games, go to Goodwill for cheap finds, this service is for people who play and want to be introduced to new games they missed by folks who know games.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Box

Dec 04, 2018
Chris D.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

This box exceeded my expectations. I got some great games I hadn't tried before.

Verified Purchase

Custom Games Service, so cool!!

Jun 15, 2018
Dustin S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

So awesome to have a way to get Classic games for the consoles I loved as a kid! You get some pretty neat options on personal settings and you can change them on the fly! Don't listen to the negative guys review, he probably didn't fill out his settings page right and these guys have great customer service!

LOVE IT!

Verified Purchase

Jan 04, 2019
Jenn C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

Wow. My partner loved it. Super excited to get more boxes.

Verified Purchase

Loved everything inside the box!

Oct 30, 2018
Anita P.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

Husband at first had low expectations, but was very surprised by what he received. He was a lot like a kid in a candy store. Will definitely continue his subscription. The games inside were all ones we have never had/or remembered playing them as kids. He loved the box it all came in, it fits the subscription perfectly! Shipping was quick and everything inside was packed perfectly. Thank you guys so much!

Verified Purchase

Great Curation for Adventurous Gamers

Jun 15, 2018
Walter W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

RetroGameTreasure is a great source for curated games for a wide range classic consoles. Gamers who are just starting to build a collection will get the most out of the service, but even experienced collectors can be sent some gems they have missed. Customer service is also very good.

Let's break it down:
Selection -- RGT stocks games ranging from Atari 2600 to Dreamcast/GameCube/PlayStation 2/XBox, including mobile game systems. You have to choose a minimum of 2 systems and 4 game genres, however, so RGT isn't for single-system or single-genre collectors.

Customer Service -- Customer service is excellent. RGT keeps customers informed about shipping and tracking, as well as any shipping hiccups that may occur. Also, in the event that you receive a game that you've indicated you already own (as happened to me once), you are immediately sent a replacement. Everything is handled very professionally. Subscriptions can be paused for a month at a time, or canceled by emailing RGT. Finally, the boxes RGT ships in are very cute.

Curation -- This is the most important part of a service like RGT. Each shipment during my three-month subscription surprised me with one or two gems that I had forgotten about from back in the day. I also received a couple of games off my designated wish list during that time, and only one real miss. I'd call that pretty good! However, you do need to go into this with pretty broad expectations. This is a service to help adventurous gamers explore and...

Verified Purchase

May 28, 2019
Andrew C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very happy with the games that came in. Looking forward to more!

Verified Purchase

Memories in a box!

Jun 15, 2018
Bradley F.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall

I have so many memories of playing my n64 as a kid. Mario Kart with my friends. Exploring Ocarina of Time by myself. Finding all the alternate paths in Star Fox 64. Doing the sniping mission in Mission Impossible 100 times just because what else was I going to do with my time. So when I got my box in and it was filled with Ocarina of Time I almost wept with joy. Sure there's a filler game or two every month but it seems like they always try to put a gem in there. I approve!

Buying Options