Scribbler

by Scribbler
The Only Subscription Box for Writers!
168 reviews

Plans as low as

$27.50/ month

Buying Options

Scribbler reviewsReviews

Write a Review
168

Disappointed

Apr 19, 2021
Chezney C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I never received my package after paying for it

Verified Purchase

Complete Garbage

Jan 10, 2021
Jordan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am beyond disappointed with the terrible quality of this subscription box. I purchased this box on November 25, for a one month go, for $43.98 USD ($57.59 CAD) as part of a present for Christmas. I understand that shipping around Christmas is always a gamble, but it should have been here sometime at least in December. My package was delivered January 7, even after receiving a "your item has shipped" notification on December 10. I would give shipping 1 star no matter what the contents of the box were.
On to the box! Again, this box was over $50 CAD. Here is the contents:
-Zebra V301 Fountain pen ($2.99)
-A circular keychain that has a typewriter on it, probably $1.00 if i'm being generous.
-A tiny box of "Zee Zee's" dries fruit, which is $1.99.
-One book, "Spellbreaker" $15.00 at any bookstore and Amazon
-One fabric bag, big enough for about a jug of milk. Could be $7.50? $10.00?
-A small pamphlet with "tips" on writing cliffhangers.
-An invitation to chat with author Elise KOVA, Author of the Air Awakens series.
At most $30 bucks of stuff with half of it being the single book. There is absolutely no value in these boxes whatsoever. The only great thing would be the chat session with the author, which is set on a Tuesday at 12:00 PM. A normal work day during normal work hours. At least we got the box barely in time for us to potentially use the invitation, however...

Verified Purchase

Nice idea, poor curation

Jan 07, 2021
Priya S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Nice idea, but a waste of money for anyone with above average taste in books and writing instruments.

Verified Purchase

Not worth your time or money

Jun 28, 2019
Sharon
1 Review
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased 2 boxes and both of them were very disappointing. One they wont tell you the book choice that the exaggerate about. All I wanted to know was the book choice so I didn't end up having 2 of the same because I wanted to purchase other products from there store. There response was I was a spoil sport. Seems like a bunch of kids work there. Don't waste your money on the monthly box just buy whats in the store that way you get what you want. Also the youtube conference calls are with editor's that push to sell more books for you to buy. Save your money and use your local library for help with writing your book.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Jun 27, 2018
Alex K.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I bought 6 months of this subscription to try it out. I hate it. Literally the best thing about it is the box it comes in, because the box is cute and the right size for shipping books. What comes inside is a YA book (Whyyyyy is it always YA???) and some office supplies. I've seen way cuter office stuff at Staples, so I don't know where they're getting it. This month, the office supply was (wait for it...) a Bic pen. They also give out some "inside" information, which is the same stuff you can find online at authors' blogs and agents' websites. They offer "agent chats" on youtube, but don't waste your time. All they do is lob softball questions at the agent, who answers them in the most generic way possible. But hey, I guess I got six months of useful cardboard boxes out of it.

Verified Purchase

Box is for a preteen not adult

Jan 28, 2019
Jessica M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I wanted to get back into writing and I thought this box would be fun and helpful. From unboxing of past boxes it look like it might be worthwhile. Except reality didn't match. The dry erase board was chipped and looked like something you grab from a 10 cent bin. Same thing for the "notebook". I'm so disappointed. Not a good quantity for the money. The book was new and had a signed plate but nothing I would have bought on my own, but that isn't their fault. I haven't read though the tips book yet but based on the other quality, I'm not holding high hopes that they will be insightful.

Verified Purchase

Save your money

Jun 27, 2018
Elizabeth
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Complete waste of hard-earned dollars. The supposedly "inside" publishing information and "secrets" can be found online for free. The books offered are less expensive elsewhere. The writing trinkets offered are reminiscent of cheap items sold at elementary school book fairs--not for the serious writer. The live chats cover the same questions overall--nothing really new that can't be covered once or located online. And the "exclusive" writing community is exclusive to Facebook...meaning if you choose to use other social platforms like most folks do today, you're throwing away money there, too. Seems to me that the Scribbler founders are doing an excellent job of scamming Crate Joy and scamming their customer base.

Verified Purchase

Cheesy

Sep 26, 2018
Andreea B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

If you want a overpriced book, printed info about the writer that you can access it online for FREE and some tea, you are in the right spot. Besides that I will not call any of these professional advices or reccomandations. Just paid opinions.... not worth the money

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jun 23, 2018
Annie R.
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

I bought this for my 12 year old daughter who enjoys reading and writing. She aspires to be an editor so I thought this box would inspire her. The items left us both disappointed.

Verified Purchase