A monthly fantasy and sci-fi book box for young adults!


Plans as low as $15.99 / month

Shelflove Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!

Oct 21, 2019
Reyna L.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

After watching a bunch of youtubers open this box and falling in love with the items I thought I would give a try. I think their products are beautiful and well catered. However, this book box has the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. It took them a month, a MONTH, to fulfill an order I placed with them and then once I got it, it was missing an item. Not once did the customer service team contact me to let me know that their shopify was experiencing problems. I had to contact them to see what the hold up was and I was notified by some guy that they were having difficulty fulfilling orders. I would say you subscribe to this box with the risk of never getting it. I am STILL waiting for the box I purchased.

Verified Purchase
Shelflove Crate said...Oct 23, 2019

Hi Reyna,
First let me say we are taking your review very seriously. We sincerely apologize for the delays you have experienced. To that end we are looking at ways to better streamline our procedures and processes. We value you as a customer and strive to be transparent about keeping our customers informed. We have not met your expectations and again, we are sorry to have fallen short of what you expected from us. Thank you for your patronage and best wishes that we see you again.

Thank you from us at Shelflovecrate.

Seller

nuttin

Sep 04, 2019
Mark J.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Today is 4th September

HAVE yet to receive the crate!!!

Nothing Yet

Feb 07, 2019
Susan B.
1 Review
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I ordered this subscription before Christmas as a gift. Although it says the boxes are shipped on the 20th of the month, it is now February 8th and the recipient has not yet received anything, nor have I received any notification about the shipment. Not very confidence inspiring! I'll wait to see if I get a helpful response from my question to the seller. If not, I'll be requesting cancellation and a full refund. I hope it works out, as the recipient was really looking forward to getting her box.

Verified Purchase

Slow. Others with better service

Feb 18, 2019
Whitney Z.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Terrible. Cancelled subscription before all had arrived. They don't ship until the 20th of each month. They tell you that up front. What they don't say is how long after it has "shipped", it will finally arrive. Ordered first box on 11/23. It arrived 4 days after it shipped. 12/17/18, got an email stating package was on its way. It never arrived. Decided I was not a fan of the lag on ship time and wanted to look at a different company for future subscriptions. Cancelled the subscription so that my card would not be charged again. Got an email stating my prepaid shipments would still come, but none after that. I never got the second shipment and they never sent out my third. Will never do a subscription with so few reviews as a gift for my kids again. Lesson learned. Hopefully I will get my books or my money.

Verified Purchase

Great Curation, Love ShelfloveCrate

Jan 25, 2019
Rebecca W.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

I really enjoyed my first ShelfLove Crate (August 2018, 'Unlikely Heroes', this is an overdue review) I did order it thinking it had a different book than it did but I still really enjoyed the box and I'm looking forward to reading the book. My favourite item is the Groot popsocket! I'd love to see more popsockets in book subscription boxes! The Doctor Who mug is also epic. My whole family loves Doctor Who (though I haven't watched for a long time) and this mug is so big and cozy that it now belongs with the family mugs for everyone to get use out of it. 😊 . I think this company has really great curation and look forward to ordering more boxes from them. You can check out my unboxing flatlay and keep an eye out for the February 'Warrior Woman' unboxing over on my Bookstagram @bookie_becca.

Verified Purchase

Great box

Dec 29, 2018
Sasha C.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

My daughter and I love this box. We wait patiently (most of the time) for this box to come. My daughter has loved all the extras that have come with each box. Keep up the good work!

Verified Purchase

First Box and I'm in LOVE!

Sep 27, 2018
Nevada B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I just unboxed my first Shelflove Crate box (September) and I just adore it! I won't spoil what's inside but everything is so different and the books related are some great reads! I can't wait to dive into this month's book, and next month's box!
>definitely subscribe to this, I sure did<

Thank you to everyone at Shelflove!!!!!

-Nevada 🌿

Verified Purchase

Shelflove SHOOK

Jun 15, 2018
Samantha F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

Every box I get from Shelflovecrate does not disappoint. I like the variety of items: thinking putty/slime, journals, socks and candles. Items are high quality. The selected books are always 3-5 star reads.
You can tell the contents of the box are assembled and packaged with care. Customer service is quick and courteous. Big fan of this box.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Darlene C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

Excellent

Verified Purchase

First box

Jun 15, 2018
Amanda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Great box, love all the goodies and super excited about this book

Verified Purchase

Love It!!!

Jun 15, 2018
Natasha Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

I have received two Shelflove Crates and am still in love with them both. I like bookish textiles and the December and January crates did not disappoint in that regard. The items look great in pictures and the books have been great reads. I don't always read my crate books right away but Shelflove was the exception. Looking forward to more!

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Cadehollowell
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I'm so in love with Septembers box. I'm a big space nerd so this box caught my love right when I openened it. I'm wearing the socks right now. The book sounds so amazing and I love the little pin. Also extra brownie points for the little bag with the quote "May we meet again" on it which is from my favorite tv show. 10/10 recommend.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Laurie D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

This box is absolutely fantastic, you can tell how much thought and love goes into it!

Verified Purchase

October Box

Jun 15, 2018
Felicia S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

OMG! This box! I am ridiculously in love with everything that came in the box! ESPECIALLY the canvas print of Prythian from ACOTAR! This just made this month's box so much better for me! It is absolutely GORGEOUS! And the fact that the book is one that's on my TBR list! SCORE!

The one complaint I have is that they included a print of a quote from the book and spelled 'strength' wrong. But no biggie really. The book and map print totally did it for me!

I will NEVER get rid of my subscription for this book box!

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Verified Purchase

Its a must try!

Jun 15, 2018
Michelle W.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I'm loving Shelflovecrate that are so amazing! Everything i've gotten in the box has been so amazing so far. The books they pick have been such great picks. High quality. Ive gotten two boxes so far. First one was amazing and came with a beautiful wall hanging art. Amazing smelling candle! Stunning tote. They put so much thought and care into these boxes.

Verified Purchase

Buy it now!

Jun 15, 2018
Rebecca K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Shelflovecrate is the best subscription box I’ve ever gotten. I begged my husband for a sub for Christmas. I’ve never been disappointed. Every month gets better!

Verified Purchase

OUTTA THIS WORLD

Jun 15, 2018
Tessa S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

Before I chose a sub box to subscribe to, I did my research. LOTS of research. I checked out different companies, reviews, and maybe stalked a few accounts ;) But it was all worth it because in the end I happened across Shelflove Crate and KNEW it was the sub box for me!! As a sci-fi/fantasy geek (and proud of it), this clearly had everything I hoped for with book choices, themes, fandoms, and merch!! And I have yet to be disappointed in a single box. Believe me, I don't say that lightly. :)

Verified Purchase

The BEST YA Box

Jun 15, 2018
Ashley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Shelflove Crate is my favorite YA box by far. I love every box, every item! You definitely get your money's worth and then some.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Charlie K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Absolutely in love with this crate it showed up quickly and had awesome goodies like a stardust pillow case, star string lights, a pocket mirror, a candel, bath milk, and a few other little goodies. And i loved the theme and i like the book so far. Im super excited to order more crates.

Verified Purchase

Shelf-like

Jul 08, 2019
Nikki S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've only gotten a few boxes from them. I usually get the "book only" option just because I'm picky about merch from any box. They seem to have a good selection of curated items and most seem to be pretty good quality. The boxes I've received, I've enjoyed. Their special edition boxes are always amazing.

Verified Purchase

May 21, 2019
Rachel B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I do not recommend SHelfLove as I have been very disappointed with my ShelfLove subscription. In February 2019 I was signed up for my first box but, due to my own fault, I only received the book [I’d accidentally signed up for book only]. The support staff was very helpful and had that three-month subscription canceled and was signed up for the actual box subscription staring in April. This is where the issues began.
March of 2019 there was an issue with the items; apparently the mugs were broken and they needed a new shipment, hence a delay. Total fine and understandable. Weeks later, when it finally did ship, my tracking was “pre-shipment” for over a week. I emailed and was assured my box would be there soon. Nothing. A few days later I receive a mass email saying the shipper messed up and the boxes were never shipped. Eventually everyone got together and shipped the March box. Received it in April.
April comes. EXACTLY the same issue. My shipment is listed as in “pre-shipment” for over a week. I email and am assured at first that the boxes have shipped and my tracking will update. Received a mass email on April 30th saying there was a “stock error” and items were “held in customs.” The email assured that they were “extremely frustrated at this time, and can assure you we have been working with our new packing facility to prepare to make the move as seamless as possible.” It...

Verified Purchase

Apr 04, 2019
Marguerite W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

We enjoyed each of the boxes we received. Most of the items in each box were interesting and/or unique. We have decided not to renew just due to managing budgets. Unfortunately, it appears there is an automatic renewal and it is not easy to cancel. Hence why I gave it 3 stars. I have sent a note and hope for a quick response.

Verified Purchase