Most Rated Tea Subscription from Tea Lovers like you! | Come discover 4 new teas each month!

Plans as low as $9.00 / 1 box every 2 months

Simple Loose Leaf Tea reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not thrilled

Mar 13, 2019
Sarah B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

First off, I'd like to say how responsive the owner was via email. Excellent and fast customer service. He made an excellent tea recommendation for me for the future. I ordered the Herbal box and was excited to try something new as my current herbals are feeling outdated. I was quickly disappointed in the 4 flavors given. Don't get me wrong, the quality seems good, and I liked that each bag gave 2-3 cups of tea as a trial, but 3 out of 4 bags contained Hibiscus. I'm not a fan of the sour hibiscus taste. Also I felt the teas were a bit on the weak side (even when I doubled up) and the flavors weren't quite right for me. It's personal taste, obviously, but compared to the other company I usually buy from, I'll probably go back-similar prices, better flavors (even hibiscus blends that I like), and they have more organic options. I didn't see that any of these were organic. Bummer!

The flavors I received this month were" herbal Pina colada", Spring Relief (peppermint, licorice, hibiscus), Sky @ Sunset (hibiscus, citrus peel, rose), Energized Herbal (ginseng, licorice, hibiscus, St John's wort).
I'm going to try a non-herbal pack next month and give it another go. I really like the loose leaf format. We shall see.

Verified Purchase

Nice box, but contains animal products

Mar 07, 2019
G
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

The teas are almost all really good and interesting. Unfortunately, some of their teas contain animal products and they don't have an option to not include those ones in the subscription box.

Verified Purchase

The tea is great!

Jan 08, 2019
Emily W.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

I’m journeying into using loose-leaf tea to reduce my plastic usage when it comes to my favorite drink. I absolutely LOVED the teas in my first box, and the information card is so helpful, but I was really disappointed to see that each tea came in a little package made of plastic. It seems like there are other more sustainable ways to package! I would 100% bump this rating up to five stars if the packaging was fully, easily reusable/recyclable!

Verified Purchase

Not as strong as im used to.

Mar 18, 2019
Crystal H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I really enjoyed these teas, but I did not find them to be as strong as the teas I buy from my local tea store. I dont find this to be a bad thing because I occasionally over steep and end up with bitter tea! I did not have this problem with my samples.

okay for new tea drinkers

Jun 15, 2018
Mary
5 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

3-4 stars. I'd give 4 stars is this is a gift for a new tea drinker, as it comes with a loved tea diffuser and 4 selections to try. But for someone who's a more experienced tea drinker, who likely won't need the diffuser, the tea was ok. The Aug selection did not have very good variety, 2 herbals (decaf), green tea blend and the only black tea was decaf. Also the black tea was not good quality, it looked like powder/ no visible tea leaves.

Verified Purchase

A little too simple

Jun 15, 2018
Claudia C.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I was expecting a lot more, not so much in the quantity of tea but more so in the quality of the presentation. I already had the tea diffuser they sent me. I picked it up for 50 cents so I guess they did the same. The tea selection wasn't bad but it also wasn't something amazing that I'd be excited to try. Seems like generic tea blends you could pick up anywhere. I'm going to give this one more try for next month & update my review but if nothing changes, I won't be paying for this anymore.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Andrea M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Just got my first box in a three month subscription, it came with an herbal, black, green, and oolong. I'm hoping the next box is better as the only one out of this box that was good was the herbal, the green tasted as though a whole corn had been dried and chopped and labeled as tea.

Verified Purchase
Simple Loose Leaf Tea said...Jan 09, 2018

Hi Andrea, thanks for your comments. The Genmaicha we included in the first box is one we include as it is a green tea that many tea drinkers have not tried. I understand that it is not everyone's "cup of tea". The next box will have several teas that I think you will enjoy based on your enjoyment of the Blood Orange herbal tea. Don't hesitate to reach out to us if there is anything else we can do to help you.

Seller

Jun 15, 2018
Barbara O.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Unique blend but very small quantity. Only enough to make one cup of tea pure pouch. Expected enough for a couple of cups per sample so I could share.

Verified Purchase
Simple Loose Leaf Tea said...Apr 18, 2018

Hi Barbara, Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Each of the tea pouches has 10 grams of tea which should be enough for at least 5 cups of tea, most teas you will be able to brew more than once, getting even more out of each pouch of tea. If you think your pouches ended up being light, let us know at Sales@SimpleLooseLeaf.com and we’ll get you taken care of with some replacement pouches of tea. Thanks, Andrew Flocks

Seller

It was ok

Jun 15, 2018
Cary L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall

I mean.. it wasn't bad. There was one tea that I really liked but the others were just meh. Wouldn't get it again.

Verified Purchase
Simple Loose Leaf Tea said...Mar 05, 2018

Hi Cary, we're sorry to hear that Kristina didn't enjoy her month of our Decaf Tea Box. We'd love to hear which of the teas she enjoyed and what she didn't like about the other three. It would help us to better understand what our customers enjoy. But it is also important to remember that Simple Loose Leaf is ultimately about exploring teas and that, sometimes, finding teas that aren't "Your cup of tea" is as much the journey as finding new favorites. If you have any questions or thoughts please reach out to us at Sales@SimpleLooseLeaf.com.

Seller

Not my cup of tea

Jun 15, 2018
Debra S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

I love tea, and I really wanted to love this box. The bags were a bit smaller than I expected based on the pictures, with .3 oz/10 grams in each bag. There was a handy card explaining the flavor profile of each tea along with brewing instructions. However the instructions on the card said to brew one of the teas for 3-5 min. but the bag said 5-10 min. I tried both and 5-10 min. worked best. The directions also say to use two tsps. per cup, which would yield about 5 cups per bag, but I found that I needed to use more or the tea was really weak. My first box contained Earl Grey, Irish Creme, Summer's Chai, and Atoqua Herbal. Earl Grey is a favorite of mine, but this didn't taste like a traditional Earl Grey. The Irish Creme had Irish Creme "flavoring" in it and tasted like coffee creamer. The chai was different from a traditional chai with the addition of shredded coconut. I don't care for chai teas so its not fair for me to render an opinion on this one. The Atoqua Herbal was my favorite. It's made with cranberries, blueberries, orange and lemon peel, hibiscus, and rose petals. It also has raspberry, orange, and lemon "flavorings" but it doesn't say whether they are natural or artificial. This tea had a slightly medicinal aftertaste that dissipated when I added sweetener. I would order this tisane again. Unfortunately, one out of four is not sufficient...

Verified Purchase

Decent Box

Jun 15, 2018
Jennifer F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I loved the tea but its a bit expensive for the small amount of tea you get, but very flavorful and delicious product.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Jackcollora
1 Review
Overall

Simple Loose Leaf tea has a decent variety, however the quality of tea is somewhat lacking compared to competitor boxes is somewhat lacking. If you want to try a bunch of okay teas this the one for you, but if you want high quality, go elsewhere.

Buying Options