Skulls Unlimited's BoneBox

by Skulls Unlimited International, Inc.
The perfect monthly gift for bone collectors!
83 reviews

Plans as low as

$24.57/ month

Buying Options

Skulls Unlimited's BoneBox reviewsReviews

Write a Review
83

Look forward to it every month

Feb 17, 2018
Leigh L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I've gotten four of these boxes so far and am looking forward to my next one! I'm interested to see that subscribers don't always seem to get the same things as each other (I received a chinchilla skull this month while others mention skunk skulls). I'm both pleased about this, as I can now hope to get skulls that I've missed in the past, and am also curious to see if we ever end up with doubles or if Skulls Unlimited is keeping track of who has gotten what. Either way, the skulls and other beautiful surprises have been quality additions to my home month after month. Thank you for such a creative and thoughtful subscription box!

Verified Purchase

Unique box

Aug 18, 2018
Lindsay B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Absolutely wonderful box! Worth every penny and more. If you're a bone collector, zoologist, an oddities collector starting out it's a perfect box. The customer service was excellent! Highly recommend this box to anyone.

Verified Purchase

Muskrat and Python, oh my!

Sep 18, 2018
Debby H.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

This is my first skull from you. I collect what I can on the trail. I want to incorporate bones in my plant sculptures that have features. Some are adventures! Anyway, I am so impressed with the selection, my interest in it, and the quality is outstanding. I will treasure these, and send a photo or link when I"m done with them.!!! Keep it up. I'm delighted. And for a good price, too.

Verified Purchase

Really?

Nov 14, 2018
Tara D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

They sent me a mink skull, which is cool and all, but the tag on it said it was worth $34. I can get mink skulls for 12. This is ridiculous and not really worth the money unfortunately

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Dec 14, 2018

Hello! We regret that your experience with our subscription service fell short of your expectations. Please contact customer support at bonebox@skullsunlimited.com so we can try and make things right.

Bones bones bones

Nov 22, 2018
Debby H.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I really love this box, but am taking a break because I"m not keeping up with the monthly and a few I ordered! This IS my favorite box, but I would really like it if they'd offer other payment options besides month-to-month. I Probably would have kept it. They get 5 stars for the product and the way they ship, stock, etc., and a lower star for not offering more flexible payment terms.

Verified Purchase

Love this very much

Aug 23, 2019
Panee N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Waiting for my boxes every month. Absolutely the best.

Verified Purchase

Amazing box

Jan 15, 2020
Danielle T.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality
Curation

I ordered this because I thought it would be a really cool gift for my husband for Christmas. We are both into reptiles and breed bearded dragons. Little did I know the box I got him was going to be a green iguana skull! I used to have a collection of shark's teeth that I lost in a fire, and the secondary bone was a set of sharks teeth! Overall very happy with this box and I am so overjoyed that the items have a personal feel to them even though it was chosen without knowing what they'd be.

Verified Purchase

A great box for bone collectors

Feb 12, 2020
Wynter D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box has really helped me grow my collection. Everything is always in perfect shape and I'm thrilled with the skulls I have gotten

Verified Purchase

Life is a graveyard, and I dig it.

Feb 21, 2020
Caitlin B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received my first box this month and this box is EVERYTHING and has brought me so much joy already. I received my first box this month and was over the moon with its contents. I did a little dance in my kitchen as I opened it up. I posted pictures on my Facebook and so many of my friends were super jealous and wanted to know where I got them from, which is super exciting because I didn't realize that so many others also have a love for bones.
Bone collectors for life!
I love that I have something to look forward every month. Super excited for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Disregard last review

Jan 11, 2018
Stacey B.
4 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I'd like to take back my last review. The company has gone above and beyond to make things right. They were extremely easy to communicate with and I can understand with the blizzard we had and mail being held for 3 days , perhaps the box was crushed in transit. Because of how kind and easy they are to deal with I will be purchasing another box. Accidents happen!

Verified Purchase

Not sure...

Apr 09, 2018
Dany G.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I prepaid for 3 months in hopes to add some cool skulls to my collection.
I started with March's box, turkey skull was pretty cool and it seemed right for the price.
But April? They should have at least sent two if it was going to be that tiny... A squirrel skull is really cool, but $25 for something as big as my toe that costs $6 everywhere else doesn't seem right.
I hope next month's is better.

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Apr 18, 2018

Hello! We regret that your experience with our subscription service fell short of your expectations. Please contact customer support at bonebox@skullsunlimited.com so we can try and make things right.

Box 17 more like box of awesome

Jan 25, 2018
Greg K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

Loved the January box looking forward to Feb. Het yours before you can't

Verified Purchase

Feb 06, 2018
Elisha S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Great way to build up your collection in a short period of time.

Verified Purchase

disappointing

Aug 10, 2020
Alicia S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was excited to get this box But then when I received it I was majorly disappointed I was hoping to receive some interesting pieces. But it was very lackluster a pheasant skull whose lower jaw broke and other items felt so fake.

Verified Purchase

1st box

Dec 26, 2017
Jesse G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My 1st box came with a sharks jaw I like a lot also a mole skull I like but (Hope next month's skull is bigger) got some owl fescis didn't search what they eat but cool idea for some... after all I liked first months but looking forward to next month's :) bigger skull for bigger rating

Verified Purchase

Love the box

Apr 17, 2019
Andrea R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Going to try the next level box

Verified Purchase

Not worth $25

Dec 10, 2018
Jennifer L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I received a bobcat claw, with a $4 price tag, and the pink eraser sized skull of an eastern mole. I absolutely do not feel that I got my money's worth, and am glad I only got the gift option, and not the subscription.

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Dec 14, 2018

Hello! We regret that your experience with our subscription service fell short of your expectations. Please contact customer support at bonebox@skullsunlimited.com so we can try and make things right.

First box review

May 18, 2019
Karan B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first box was good. I liked the mole skull but it was missing its zygomatic bones. Those are really delicate bones on smaller animals so it is understandable that they were broken in the cleaning process.

Verified Purchase

Doesnt compare

Mar 15, 2018
Kathie V.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Being a nature educator I have seen many turkey skulls and this one was too little to account for the price. Not happy with this quality so have canceled subscription. For 25.00 a month I expect better.

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Apr 18, 2018

Hello! We regret that your experience with our subscription service fell short of your expectations. Please contact customer support at bonebox@skullsunlimited.com so we can try and make things right.

Sadly underwhelming

Apr 07, 2018
Ashley B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

This was such a disappointment. I should have payed closer attention to the reviews. I was looking forward to this box for a month only to discover I had paid $25 for something I could literally, not a misuse of the word literally, purchased for under $10. It's really not worth cost of the subscription.

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Apr 18, 2018

Hello! We regret that your experience with our subscription service fell short of your expectations. Please contact customer support at bonebox@skullsunlimited.com so we can try and make things right.

Small

Dec 12, 2018
Julia M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall

Got a bobcat claw. It’s pretty small, almost house cat size (did I get the pinky nail?). Also there was a tiny mole skull. Was hoping for something a little bit bigger. I did like that there were educational cards attached.

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Dec 14, 2018

Hello! We regret that your experience with our subscription service fell short of your expectations. Please contact customer support at bonebox@skullsunlimited.com so we can try and make things right.

Happy at first

Nov 04, 2019
Carolyn D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was a member for about 1 year and 3 months; I started off loving this monthly subscription but when I rolled into my 2nd year; the first 3 months I noticed I was receiving the same items I received during the first 3 months of my 1st year. I ended up extremely disappointed and cancelled my subscription after getting so many of the same skulls I already had... I would renew if there was a guarantee that I wouldn’t get the same stuff again..

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Nov 11, 2019

Hi Carolyn!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We have a 10 box no duplicate guarantee on our basic BoneBox subscription. After that 10th box, you do have the possibility of receiving duplicate species. Some people stay subscribed to use them for comparison pieces, art projects, or for use in the classroom as a teaching tool. Others cancel after the 6th box.
We are working on a new tier of BoneBox and hope to release it early 2020. Thank you for being a subscriber for so long!

Feb 21, 2018
Rudy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Received my first box (February) recently and I'll definitely stay subscribed for more! The skull was very high quality and the additional item was lovely as well!

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Mar 12, 2018
Syrah E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Just opened my bone box from this month and received 2 items you could get on eBay for less than $15. The first box I ordered for a trial seemed really cool. I have a 3 month subscription so hoping next month is better

Verified Purchase
Skulls Unlimited International, Inc. said...Apr 18, 2018

Hello! We regret that your experience with our subscription service fell short of your expectations. Please contact customer support at bonebox@skullsunlimited.com so we can try and make things right.

Not Worth the Price

Apr 10, 2018
Holly B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Decided to try out the box despite the poor reviews...should not have wasted the money. The skull that I received was a squirrel skull, that's worth not even half the box price elsewhere, and two small teeth. Nothing in the box added up to the $25 cost of the box, will not be continuing my subscription.

Verified Purchase