Sleuth Kings Master Detective: Monster Madness

by Sleuth Kings
Immerse yourself in the case when you join Lead Detective Sullivan King in this interactive mystery
95 reviews

Plans as low as

$29.95/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (95)

Fun puzzles and interesting stories

Mar 09, 2019
Overall
Robert O.
2 Reviews
7 Helpful

I’ve tried quite a few “mystery boxes” and Sleuth Kings’ definitely at the top. The stories are great and the puzzles are challenging and fun...if you ever need help Sully’s always there for you. The e-mail exchanges with Sullivan are what makes this box unique. We’ve gotten close enough where he doesn’t threaten violence when I call him Nancy Drew. Or Holmes. Or Sugar Britches. 10% of the fun is coming up with absurd nicknames for Sullivan.
If you like single box closure and intriguing stories this ones worth a try. I know I’m hooked. I just need to figure out my plan to work through all the archived cases. 😁

Loved it, so much fun!

Nov 17, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim W.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

My husband and I wanted an activity to do with our fourteen year old son. He loved and we loved it!! It was so much fun figure it out the clues and email the detective. The clues were challenging but not to the point of frustration. It took us two days to solve and we are excitedly waiting for our next case!

Verified Purchase

Excellent Puzzle Box

Oct 09, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel W.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

It's taken me too long to write a review, since I've been subscribed for so long now, but this is my favorite subscription box by far! I always have a great time trying to solve each month's case with family and friends, and the "interactive" element with Sullivan adds a fun immersive twist to the experience. Cases could probably be solved alone, but it's a lot of fun to work with others. I really like that some cases have callbacks to previously encountered characters or events, and that the puzzles and clues are always fresh and different. Sometimes the difficulty of the puzzles can vary from month to month, but there's a good hint system built into the box, and the team behind Sleuth Kings is very helpful and responsive. I was missing something in a box once and the issue was solved quickly and professionally. I also appreciate that if you're on a month-by-month plan you can skip a renewal if needed without otherwise adjusting your subscription. Overall, a fantastic experience that you should try if given the chance!!

Verified Purchase

Mother/Daughter bonding time!

Sep 09, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah G.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

My daughter, Zoey, and I love these boxes from Sleuth King! She wants to be a K9 Police Officer/Detective and these cases are right up her alley! We have a blast trying to figure out the clues. She can't wait for the next box to come!
Sarah

Verified Purchase

Highly recommend!

Nov 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christina A.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Just received my second box. I can’t tell you how fun these are. My husband and I love working through these. They challenge both of us. We will take breaks and then one of us will shout I think I know what to do. Really good bonding time for us.

Verified Purchase

Really fun!

Jan 25, 2019
Overall
Wendy F.
23 Reviews
3 Pictures
35 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

So this was our first mystery subscription and the experience has been terrific. I ordered one case just to try it out first; received the case quickly and Detective Sullivan was always quick with a reply to help when we asked for it. Signed up for the subscription and we completed the second case on our own. So there are varying levels of challenges, which is great to keep things different each time. The packages have been well made, complete, and very detailed. If you are looking for a new activity this is a great subscription to try.

Verified Purchase

Total enjoyment

Sep 18, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Beth
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

Really enjoy these mysteries. I look forward to each month!

Verified Purchase

Shipping

Dec 13, 2020
Overall
Joseph A.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 24 days

Thanks, I didn't realize this was USPS' fault. I'm sorry you've had trouble with a bunch of your shipments, I hope USPS gets that sorted out soon.
Anyway, I deleted my review and will update once I get the box. Thanks for sending a replacement!

Verified Purchase
Sleuth Kings said...Dec 14, 2020

Hi Joseph,
I truly do apologize for the USPS shipping issue. As I mentioned in the email I sent to everyone last week, I've been on the phone with USPS multiple times, emailed with them, and visited the post office where we ship things from. Unfortunately, the information we've been given is that due to COVID and increased holiday shipping volume, USPS is experiencing significant delays. We were told that the packages are likely held up in Columbus, OH but that they hoped to be caught up soon.
I have spoken with USPS since my last update, but they have been unable to provide me with any additional information. I've also submitted information to open an investigation once enough time had passed, but have yet to hear...

Favorite Subscription Box EVER

Sep 19, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alli P.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Sleuth Kings is our absolute favorite subscription box. We look forward to long brunches where we forget all about the food and work to solve a case. It's creative, challenging and engaging. We appreciate that when we struggle, help from Sullivan is just an email away. So much fun!

Verified Purchase

Great Puzzles and Clever Gameplay!

Jul 17, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

This is a unique and very clever game. Since I prefer to play solo, this is the perfect amount of puzzle solving and interaction via emails.
The clues are available and structured so that they won’t ruin the game if you just need a nudge in the right direction.
The bonus materials (emails and mailings) are a nice touch as well. It’s a great blend and range of puzzle types. Very fun!

Verified Purchase

Get Your Sleuthing Cap On!

Sep 08, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patricia G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I just completed Case 024,"Framed", which was the third of three cases given to me as a birthday gift. I am completely hooked! The cases are interesting, the clues are fun , the props that come with the cases are cute, and the puzzles are clever. With the added extra of being able to receive help from "Sullivan King" if I get stuck, I have really enjoyed solving these cases. I get so engrossed that hours will pass as I delve into the clues. I have even purchased cases from the "archives" because I didn't want to wait a month for the next case, and I just signed up for another three month subscription! If you are a mystery buff, amateur crime solver, or just love puzzles, this is the ticket!

Verified Purchase

Fun!

Nov 26, 2018
Overall
Nesa W.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 27 days

This box is so much fun! You get to unleash your inner detective. The customer service is amazing. I highly reccomend

Verified Purchase

Best, most fun mystery solving cases

Jul 10, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laurie L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Love these mysteries to solve. I love these as you have to use all your brain power to get to the final answer. Love that you can get help when you are stuck. These can be done alone or with others. They can take no time to solve or longer if you get into a quandary! Like to take on great cases, this is the game for you. Arrived on time and in perfect shape. Love the extras like a fortune cookie or magic wand. So much fun. So much so, that I have ordered four of these and will finally get them all! Go for these and the price is right,too!

Verified Purchase

So worth it

Sep 23, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Debbie D.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

I've only completed one box but I am already addicted. The puzzles were fun and not too challenging but not too easy. So much fun!!!

Verified Purchase

Interesting puzzles and email mechanics

Jan 22, 2018
Overall
Adam F.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I just finished #4 last night.Overall, I'm very happy with it. So much so that I ordered the previous ones (#1-3) off the site.
The basic premise is you're helping a PI (Sullivan) figure things out by solving a few puzzles. There were 4 or 5 on this one, most of them helping to solve the next. Each one was of a different challenge level. You send an email in for solution using the site, and then all others are handled via responses to emails they send, in the voice of the PI as he does the legwork. There was no delay caused by this, and it was a really clever mechanic with a nice script.
Although this was supposedly a "dark" story due to the death and relationship problems, it felt more like a cosy mystery to me. It took me about 2 hours, but could have been 90 minutes if I weren't sleep deprived.
When I signed up they sent me the most recent one for free, just because. That made a loyal customer immediately. I'll see how this compares to the other mystery subs I signed up for, especially Hunt A Killer.

Verified Purchase

LOVE!!!!!!

Jan 17, 2018
Overall
Rebecca S.
7 Reviews
9 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I wasn't sure how I would feel about this type of box--I haven't spent time doing puzzles or code breaking since elementary school, so I was worried the case and clues might be too hard. I was doing it myself, and did need to ask for some hints--which is actually pretty neat (you email to ask for the hints you need and an email pops back to help you and it's as if you're in a conversation with your detective "boss"). Turns out, it was challenging (some of it so challenging I definitely needed hints, but, again, I don't do this sort of thing regularly) the hints were enough to help me out and it took me a couple of hours to solve the case. I did it while I was putting my my toddlers to bed (they weren't sleepy) so I was interrupted a number of times, but I have to say, I'm THRILLED to find an activity that uses a part of my brain that I don't use regularly (I'm a toddler twin mom) and I'm even happier it's not a video game and I actually had to pull out a pen and paper to solve many of the clues. A really fun way to spend the evening and the puzzle-solving parts of my brain are coming back to life, which is awesome! Thank you! Very well done! I'd recommend it to anyone who's at all curious about it. I'm looking forward to the next case!

Verified Purchase

Looking forward to the next box

Mar 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kelly S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

Great fun for our family to share!

Verified Purchase

New

Nov 02, 2018
Overall
Cathy S.
4 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

The starter envelope was fun. I needed help, as usual, but I think I will like this very much. First box should be here before long.

Verified Purchase

Definitely Top Notch!

Oct 26, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Irene H.
5 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

Found them on FB. Started out with the FREE mystery, then purchased some archived cases and was immediately hooked! I love the uniqueness of Sleuth Kings, their whole concept is very different from the other companies. It's fun "working" with Sullivan to solve the cases, I feel like a real gumshoe. The stories are interesting, the puzzles vary in type and level of challenge, the clues/props are well done, high quality. It's easy to get helpful hints and customer service is outstanding! I also like that you can choose to subscribe to full or mini cases (or both!). I highly recommend Sleuth Kings!

Verified Purchase

Favorite Mystery Box

Sep 08, 2018
Overall
Nikki B.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

Sleuth Kings is my favorite mystery box. I love the concept, especially the email exchange. It’s challenging enough that I need a hint from time to time, but not so difficult that I get frustrated and can’t/don’t “solve the case”.

Verified Purchase

Dec 04, 2018
Overall
Cynthia W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days

We love the puzzles and the optional email assistance. This is great fun!

Verified Purchase

Fun box, very difficult.

Oct 13, 2018
Overall
Josh
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I would consider this box more of a word puzzle game more than anything. It takes a special brain to succeed in this game. I would recommend it for those very good at expert sudoku, expert word games, etc. Much too difficult for my novice brain!

Verified Purchase

Oct 12, 2018
Overall
Catherine C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Sleuth Kings is a great mystery box. The puzzles are a not too hard and not too easy, a good medium! Have lots of fun doing it with family.

Verified Purchase

Sleuth Kings is awesome

Oct 17, 2018
Overall
Robin G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 years

I love the Sleuth Kings boxes. Each box is a different case, and you email the detective as you are solving the case. You are also helping the detective find his missing father. I recommend anyone that wants a really interactive mystery box.

Verified Purchase

So much fun!

Jan 24, 2019
Overall
Danielle S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

This is absolutely my favorite subscription box!! So much fun!! Everyone should subscribe to this box!! Very easy to contact seller as well!!

Verified Purchase