Immerse yourself in an interactive monthly mystery. Work with our Lead Detective to solve the case.

Plans as low as $14.95 / month

Sleuth Kings reviewsReviews

Write a Review

PG cases

May 14, 2020
Monique B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Liked the PG types of case. I wouldn't mind a murder or kidnapping. 😉

Verified Purchase

Ehh not for us

Jun 24, 2020
Kelsea M.
8 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a great box for the 10-13 age range. Everything is very family friendly. It is really just a puzzle game than a mystery box. The case we received, case 032, was missing a line from the circus flyer, I assume. When we emailed, the hint explained it should say something about Rena the elephant and Blaze the ring master. However, those names were no where on the circus flyer. I assume someone cut off a line or something. That made the mystery impossible to solve on your own without being able to email or cheat. So all in all, we didn't enjoy it. Except when you unscramble one of the words you can spell "Penus" and that made us laugh haha

Update: After the response below, it does seem we were missing a document. We had 4 clues and a yellow crystal ball paper. But like Brandon said, you could email him and get a copy if you realize it is missing. We emailed the stock account and got the answer to the puzzle which made us realize something was missing. But we already had the answer by that point so it wouldn't have mattered much. Also, nothing wrong with being family friendly, just wouldn't recommend it for a date night like the site listing does.

Verified Purchase
Sleuth Kings said...Jun 24, 2020

Hi Kelsea,

I appreciate your feedback - thank you!

We do strive to keep all of our cases family friendly, so they tend to be quirky and often focus on non-violent crime.

In regards to the document issue you mentioned, I think you actually may have been looking at the incorrect document. For the puzzle you referenced, you need to look at multiple documents. The elephant and ringmaster are named on the poster that was included with your case file, not the the flyer.

Of course, if there are ever any issues with the documents - which is pretty rare - I'm always more than happy to send a replacement physical and digital copy as long as I'm contacted about the issue. Unfortunately, I didn't hear from you, so...

Give this one a try...you won't be sorry

May 10, 2020
Donna D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Kinda funny. Kinda campy. Varied puzzles. LOTS of fun! Highly recommend.

Total unique and fun

Feb 07, 2019
Eun C.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I've tried 4 other subscription boxes of the same genre and Sleuth Kings is the only one I decided to stick to. Clever puzzles, great stories, lots of interesting materials to work with.

Verified Purchase

Fun puzzles and interesting stories

Mar 09, 2019
Robert O.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Overall

I’ve tried quite a few “mystery boxes” and Sleuth Kings’ definitely at the top. The stories are great and the puzzles are challenging and fun...if you ever need help Sully’s always there for you. The e-mail exchanges with Sullivan are what makes this box unique. We’ve gotten close enough where he doesn’t threaten violence when I call him Nancy Drew. Or Holmes. Or Sugar Britches. 10% of the fun is coming up with absurd nicknames for Sullivan.

If you like single box closure and intriguing stories this ones worth a try. I know I’m hooked. I just need to figure out my plan to work through all the archived cases. 😁

Loved it, so much fun!

Nov 17, 2019
Kim W.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I wanted an activity to do with our fourteen year old son. He loved and we loved it!! It was so much fun figure it out the clues and email the detective. The clues were challenging but not to the point of frustration. It took us two days to solve and we are excitedly waiting for our next case!

Verified Purchase

Excellent Puzzle Box

Oct 09, 2019
Rachel W.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It's taken me too long to write a review, since I've been subscribed for so long now, but this is my favorite subscription box by far! I always have a great time trying to solve each month's case with family and friends, and the "interactive" element with Sullivan adds a fun immersive twist to the experience. Cases could probably be solved alone, but it's a lot of fun to work with others. I really like that some cases have callbacks to previously encountered characters or events, and that the puzzles and clues are always fresh and different. Sometimes the difficulty of the puzzles can vary from month to month, but there's a good hint system built into the box, and the team behind Sleuth Kings is very helpful and responsive. I was missing something in a box once and the issue was solved quickly and professionally. I also appreciate that if you're on a month-by-month plan you can skip a renewal if needed without otherwise adjusting your subscription. Overall, a fantastic experience that you should try if given the chance!!

Verified Purchase

Mother/Daughter bonding time!

Sep 09, 2019
Sarah G.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My daughter, Zoey, and I love these boxes from Sleuth King! She wants to be a K9 Police Officer/Detective and these cases are right up her alley! We have a blast trying to figure out the clues. She can't wait for the next box to come!

Sarah

Verified Purchase

Really fun!

Jan 25, 2019
Wendy F.
24 Reviews
3 Pictures
30 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

So this was our first mystery subscription and the experience has been terrific. I ordered one case just to try it out first; received the case quickly and Detective Sullivan was always quick with a reply to help when we asked for it. Signed up for the subscription and we completed the second case on our own. So there are varying levels of challenges, which is great to keep things different each time. The packages have been well made, complete, and very detailed. If you are looking for a new activity this is a great subscription to try.

Verified Purchase

Looking forward to the next box

Mar 11, 2020
Kelly S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great fun for our family to share!

Verified Purchase

Highly recommend!

Nov 11, 2019
Christina A.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just received my second box. I can’t tell you how fun these are. My husband and I love working through these. They challenge both of us. We will take breaks and then one of us will shout I think I know what to do. Really good bonding time for us.

Verified Purchase

Definitely Top Notch!

Oct 26, 2019
Irene H.
5 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Found them on FB. Started out with the FREE mystery, then purchased some archived cases and was immediately hooked! I love the uniqueness of Sleuth Kings, their whole concept is very different from the other companies. It's fun "working" with Sullivan to solve the cases, I feel like a real gumshoe. The stories are interesting, the puzzles vary in type and level of challenge, the clues/props are well done, high quality. It's easy to get helpful hints and customer service is outstanding! I also like that you can choose to subscribe to full or mini cases (or both!). I highly recommend Sleuth Kings!

Verified Purchase

So worth it

Sep 23, 2019
Debbie D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality