The Gentleman

The Gentleman

by Southern Scholar Socks
Superior dress socks, delivered monthly.

Plans as low as

$13.75/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (70)

socks

Mar 13, 2022
Overall
Irene H.
1 Review

Very nice my husband likes diamond socks and flashy socks

Worked out well as a gift subscription

Jul 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephanie M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I bought this as a gift for my brother in law, and he loved it. The subscriptions come in a timely fashion--even early sometimes!--and looks forward to getting them in the mail each month. I got it for him as a Christmas gift, and I like that it gives him joy all year round. I don't think many men enjoy shopping for socks, so it's nice that he has some new quality pairs to add to his collection to add to his professional attire.

Verified Purchase

Nothing Received

May 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kenton G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Order did not arrive. The process for tracking the order is absurd, I'm not interested in spending an hour or more to figure out why you either screwed up or are simply frauds. Either way, expect to see more negative evaluations from me anywhere I can post them.

Verified Purchase
Southern Scholar Socks said...May 17, 2021

Hi Kenton, sorry to hear that your order has yet to arrive and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. As for checking your tracking, all you have to do is login to your account with Cratejoy (the subscription box marketplace on which you purchased our product) and click on the tracking number. Alternatively, you're always welcome to reach out to us and we can look it up for you. I just checked your tracking and it looks like it is set to arrive on Thursday. It looks like you purchased the subscription on the 21st of April, just missing our April cut-off, as stated during signup, putting your first shipment into the first week of May. Your shipment was sent out on May 7th...

A Company That Cares

Jan 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
James C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

CORRECTED REVIEW.
I previously reported a very negative review when in fact it was my own inability to navigate the Southern Scholar Account site to validate my shipments. My review is corrected and I would highly recommend this service.
Not only is the merchandise of top quality, but when the CEO takes a vested interest and contacts you over your concerns you know you are dealing with a company who cares! Kevin you've earned the 5 stars!


I purchased a gift subscription for a friend and when I signed up it said package would be delivered by Christmas. It was delivered on January 7th according to your system. Sort of defeats the purpose of ordering in time for the holiday. I also cannot validate that the recipient even received the advance note via email.

Verified Purchase
Southern Scholar Socks said...Jan 11, 2021

Hi James, and thanks so much for providing your feedback! I took a look at your gift subscription account and, according to the USPS tracking, the first box (the December box) was actually delivered on the 23rd of December and in time for the holidays. The second shipment (the January box) is the shipment which arrived on January 7th. Additionally the gift message was printed out and included in the first box that was delivered on 12/23. Please let me know if you have any questions and I'd be happy to answer them for you. I'll also send you an email to follow up as well.
Best,
Kevin Wohlman
Founder | CEO

Great First Box

Jan 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Charles C.
6 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Got my first sock (January 2020–black with blue polka dots with the Southern Scholar logo at top). Great design. Perfect fit for my size 14 foot. Wore it all day and it was comfortable and didn’t droop down to my ankle like other dress socks.

Verified Purchase
Southern Scholar Socks said...Feb 04, 2020

So glad you enjoyed it, Charles! Some people hesitate when we say our socks fit up to a 14 so glad to hear that you liked the fit!
Best,
Kevin Wohlman
Founder | CEO

High Quality and Versatile

Feb 11, 2019
Overall
Taylor
2 Reviews
5 Pictures
12 Helpful
Subscribed for 24 days

I really liked the first package. The socks are high quality and versatile, and I appreciated the additional information included about the fabric quality. They also included a style inspiration card that is useful. Overall, I'm really impressed with this box!

Verified Purchase

Box is well done but........

Nov 04, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Robert K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

The box was well done, but the socks in my first order were pretty bland. I'm willing to give the box another shot.

Verified Purchase
Southern Scholar Socks said...Nov 04, 2019

Hey Robert,
Sorry to hear that you weren't a fan of the design of your first pair of socks. Keep in mind, we offer a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. So, if you ever receive something you don't love, we'll replace it with something you do. Additionally, I noticed that you gave us 3 stars for quality as well. We rarely experience this, but if you do ever receive a faulty pair with quality issues, please let us know and we are more than happy to replace it or refund you.
Please let us know if there is every anything we can do to make your experience better.
Best,
Kevin Wohlman
Founder | CEO

Great socks and even better service

Aug 08, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sabin B.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I was using a competitor of Southern Scholar for the last few years and was disappointed in the styles and quality so far I am absolutely loving Southern Scholar's styles and you can tell they are much better made. Shipping is always on time and the customer service is outstanding. I highly recommend them.

Southern Scholar Socks - January 2019

Mar 08, 2019
Overall
Jami P.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
44 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Southern Scholar is a premium men's subscription sock club out of Dallas, Texas. Kevin Wohlman founded Southern Scholar just out of college while working in the business world and was tired of the monotonous "shirt, tie, dark socks, dark shoes" uniform that he saw everywhere he looked. An entrepreneur at heart, Kevin saw high quality, high style subscription dress socks for men as an opportunity for gentleman to upgrade their style. Thus, through a lot of research and hard work, Southern Scholar was born 4 and a half years ago!
Southern Scholar's box arrived in very attractive, professional, masculine packaging. The box was small and the perfect size for the pair of socks enclosed. It included the socks, a postcard detailing what sets the socks apart from the competition, a card for laundering and drying instructions and a small business-sized card with a picture of the socks on one side and a style card on the other side with pairing recommendations from their stylists.
The socks this month are called "The B.B. Kings," in honor of the King of the Blues. They are a variety of blue, black and grey stripes and very soft. At the top of both socks, their Southern Scholar label is embroidered, which also adds a touch of class.
What I like about these socks specifically, and the others showcased on the Southern Scholar website in their Look Book section, is that the socks are professional, stylish, comfortable (according to...

Verified Purchase

Super Nice and Cute

May 16, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sean H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

These are seriously cute, GREAT quality, soft lovely. Love these!

Verified Purchase

The best socks I have ever worn

Mar 27, 2019
Overall
Matthew W.
1 Review

I was a bit skeptical at first, but after one wear it is apparent these socks are something special. They get softer with every wash and the fit is impeccable. I cannot recommend these enough to ANYone who wears dress socks.

Hole after first wear

Apr 15, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephanie E.
3 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I have to edit my review as the third pair we received had holes in them the first day my boyfriend wore them! I also reached out about this and inquired about getting a new pair and did not get a response. Really sad as I would have recommended this box but will no longer.

Verified Purchase
Southern Scholar Socks said...Sep 12, 2019

Hi Stephanie,
I truly apologize as it sounds like you got a faulty pair. As always, we are more than happy to replace or refund you for any reason. I do see your message from June 6th was responded to less than an hour later offering you a free replacement pair of your choice. I truly apologize if you did not receive our response. We take great pride in our customer service and product quality. I'll also follow up with you via email again to ensure you see our response and so we can get you taken care of!
Best,
Kevin Wohlman
Founder & CEO

Absolutely awesome socks

Dec 31, 2018
Overall
Joe C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 months

I love these socks they are beyond comfortable!!! The customer service is on par with Disney! They always reply to me in a very timely manner!! I can’t say enough good stuff about the socks or the company!!

Verified Purchase

A great addition to my work wardrobe.

Nov 23, 2018
Overall
Terry C.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I love Southern Scholar’s socks, not only are they great looking, quality socks that add a splash of color to my work clothes, but they include tips on what to wear them with. That is particularly appreciated for busy, color-blind and style-challenged people like myself.

Verified Purchase

Sock of the Month

Nov 23, 2018
Overall
Timm D.
1 Review
2 Helpful

Ingenious, I travel 3 to 4 weeks a month and always get back to a special set of socks. It has been great. For the man in your life give a subscription!

Super satisfied, absolute recommendation

Nov 27, 2018
Overall
Tino B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I’m a subscriber from Germany since a year now and i couldn't ask for more stylish and better quality socks then these. Every month is a surprise but southern scholar never let me down, loving the designs and 5 stars + for the quality as well.

Verified Purchase

Makes it easy to update your sock drawer

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Justin D.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

The socks are comfortable and have good color schemes that go with a lot of different dress pant and shoe combinations.

Verified Purchase

Best gift ever!

Nov 19, 2018
Overall
Meg J.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

The socks are great! My hard-to-buy-for husband has said more than once that the "sock of the month" he's receiving, is one of the best gifts he's ever gotten, so it's honestly worth the price!

Verified Purchase

Good service

Nov 19, 2018
Overall
Beomsuk C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

This product has good quality. I am pretty enjoying seasonal design. When I wear October's socks, I feel Fall season. Also, I like sock's box too. I strongly recommand.

Verified Purchase

Look and feel great!

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Rick C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

Love the colors and the fit is fantastic

Verified Purchase

Quality

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Matt W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

These sock look and feel great

Verified Purchase

Brilliant Socks for Women Too!

Oct 12, 2018
Overall
Bonnie N.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I reached out to Southern Scholar when I was browsing socks and couldn't find a good option for women that was durable and comfortable while still stylish. Kevin immediately got back to me with how I could fit the socks to my feet and the assurance I could send anything back if I didn't love the fit. Fast forward almost a year and my sock collection (and wardrobe as a result) has never been better. I'm constantly complimented by colleagues and friends, and I always look forward to the monthly sock shipment. I can't recommend this designer enough -- both for the great product but also the great service.

Verified Purchase

Better than a Tie

Aug 09, 2018
Overall
Lisa
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

I gave my husband a 6 month subscription for Father’s Day. He loves it! The packaging and presentation of the socks upon opening lets the receiver know these aren’t your run of the mill socks. The quality is top notch and the patterns are stylish yet classic. He has already had several friends asked where he got them. I am certain I will be renewing his subscription for Christmas.

Verified Purchase

Best socks on the market!!

Jun 27, 2018
Overall
Jordan S.
1 Review
1 Helpful

After discovering Southern Scholar socks I have not wanted to wear another pair of dress socks. Hands down the most comfortable/best quality dress socks on the market.

HIGHLY RECCOMEND

Jun 20, 2018
Overall
Julia A.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I gave as a gift to a friend who takes their sock wearing very seriously and he said they’re better than Nordstrom’s socks!
After looking to gift what seemed every sock subscription company out there I am so satisfied with Southern Scholar. I had trouble finding an appropriate design and material for the day to day office, rather than day to day life. I reached out them and asked a question about shipping. I was surprised to see the Founder, Kevin, emailed me back directly. I placed my order on a Friday morning and the socks were delivered that Monday morning. Crazy fast, especially since shipping is free and the price is extremely reasonable for the quality and design. So for anyone looking for a nice gift (ya know for yourself guys, or someone else) whether it’s one order, a few months, or a year long subscription. I HIGHLY recommend Southern Scholar Socks, it is a one man show from design to shipping, social media and emails. Such an awesome brand that I had to share from the customer service aspect, to quality design and style, Kevin is fully invested in his company and it shows!

Verified Purchase