As a former science teacher, I thought these kits were pretty cool for the most part. After a year however, my son was no longer interested in them. Their autorenewal policy is NOT transparent, there is no reminder email sent ( although I received tons of other emails). I cannot cancel after they just charged my credit card for another $235. I will NOT recommend them to another parwnt or teacher, and will in fact ( as I just did) warn people away due to this shameful business practice. Really leaves a bad taste in my mouth.
We have reviewed our system and am showing you did not receive the renewal reminder. We have our team looking into the issue to make sure it does not happen again. Since you did not receive the renewal reminder, we do feel that it is fair for you to receive a full refund for your one year subscription. In the future, please reach out to our customer service team as we would have taken care of this immediately for you, given that you did not receive the email and the mistake was on our end. It is not our intention to take advantage of our customers. That’s why we send out 3 emails explaining how our club works, have a very robust FAQ section on...
Do not buy this. I bought $ 19.99 option for my 9 year old son. Took a while to come. Before it even arrived I received a "reminder email" that it is auto renewing for the next month. When the box arrived, it was just a few pieces of paper and a little bit of plastic. Not worth the money at all. My son was extremely disappointed as well. So, I tried to cancel the subscription for the next delivery right after and they said NO! Why is the auto renewal before the arrival of the prior months box? This is a scam to get as much money out of unsuspecting buyers. DO NOT BUY!
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the Circuits kit which includes lessons about salt water power, conductivity, and circuit building. This has been one of our most popularly reviewed club boxes. As for the renewal issue, we have worked extremely hard to make sure we are very transparent with our renewal processes. If we do not have a hard renewal date, we cannot guarantee the boxes shipping by their specific dates. We do not have the warehouse space to store all of these monthly boxes and order in the exact amount of materials needed to build the kits each month to avoid any excess. Because of this, we send out renewal reminders to our customers that allow you the opportunity...
I ordered this box on December 1st for my son as a Christmas gift to go along with the two other subscription boxes I ordered for my two daughters. Theirs came but this one never showed up. I can't get ahold of the company or cratejoy to inquire as to where it is.
Thanks for your review. I have reviewed your account and am showing that you contacted us about your shipment after hours on Monday, December 23rd and then our office was closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Upon our return, we came across your email and discovered that the package was stopped and we believe the package was damaged during transit. We are having a new package shipped out today for your son. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Our first box came with a broken glass bottle. I contacted the company several times with only an automated email saying they would get back to me, two weeks later and no reply. :( Sadly, I didn't unsubscribe in time so we are expecting a second box to arrive before any remedy for our first.
Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry the kit came damaged. We have them back in stock now and will ship one to you. We'll make sure the the kit is packaged in another box to avoid damage. Please reach out to us if you have any additional questions. Joshua
I ordered this subscription for my seven year old as he is really into science and wanted some new things to do.
Our first box came. It was slime. Slime! We make slime all the time and we can make it way less than what we paid for a subscription. I also had a package that had broken open while in transit. I did my best to scrape up as much as I could from it but it wasn’t (couldn’t be) the full amount! I contacted Customer Service and was promised a new crate to be sent. I never received that crate. They were contacted a second time inquiring about the replacement and no one ever got back to me.
I felt it fair to give it one more month to try...maybe, just maybe, it was a fluke and the next one would be incredible.
Nope. Just got our next box in the mail yesterday. Guess what it was...more slime! This time it was slime noodles tho.
This was a waste of my money! I am certain there must be another subscription science crate that isn’t just slime and has better customer service.
Thanks for sending the information over. I'm sorry that you had issues with our Starter Kit. I've gone ahead and sent an upgrade kit that I believed you will enjoy. Please reach out if you have any additional questions.
Steve Spangler Science
I was expecting something at least a little excited. It was slime.... Something we have don a million times on our own! We were both so disappointed..
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your first Starter kit. We thought customers would enjoy one of best selling products as a sample of what we offer in our most robust kits: STEM Lab or STEM Deluxe. If your child was not challenged enough and wanting more, or something more different, we would recommend upgrading to either Lab or Deluxe.
Became a member on May 11th to buy a STEM deluxe subscription present for a friend's daughter. Received a message that the first item shipped on June 4th. Its now July 22nd ( 7 weeks later) and no sign of the shipment, or the shipment for July.
A new kit has been sent to you for the kit that was not delivered. Please reach out to me directly if you have any questions. Joshua - 800-223-9080 x956
Big waste of money. My first box came with two bottles that mix together to make slime, for $15. I can do that with Elmers glue, baking soda, and eye drops and have a lot more fun doing it. I could have just bought a lot of slime for $15. Watch some youtube videos for homemade experiments and do those with your kids, because this right here is lame.
I am surprised to hear that you did not enjoy our twist on slime. Super Slime is one of our top sellers and customers have been begging us to add it to the monthly subscription service. That's why we thought what better place to add it in than the Starter box!
The Starter series is meant to be an introductory kit that gives families a chance to test the waters and see if your children will enjoy our monthly subscription. Of course, we are going to start you off with some of our best selling products and our Super Slime is not like any other slime. I urge you to give it another chance. When the kids are done making slime, don't forget to leave it...
I am actually cancelling my subsription at my 7 year old grandsons request. His comment was that he did not like the experiments because they were not good. His mother said that she can pull together the items sent in the box for pennies on the dollar versus what is spent for the box. Not worth the money,
I wanted to cancel after the first box. I sent them an email but am still receiving them. Hoping to get my money back...
I received one Spangler Science Kit and never received another. I have not been able to get a refund or further shipments. I could not be more disappointed!
We have reviewed your subscriptions and it looks like Lisa has already been working with you on this issue. We are showing your first two packages have been delivered to the reception desk of the address we have in the system. If the packages are not being delivered correctly, we need to verify the address first. If this address is the correct address, we are happy to start a claim with USPS and reship you a new package. Please follow up with Lisa directly to keep your information private.
I signed up for this club (we did the snack option to start) thinking it would be a fun way to learn about science with my son. We just received our first month's kit, it was a Plus-Plus 70pc tube (target retails for $7.99- I was charged $14.99 for the same thing!). There were no added instructions or guides in how to make this a STEM experience, besides what comes pre-packaged with the toy. So I spent almost twice the cost in wasted extra money to get the same thing I can get at a local store.
We are sorry to hear you are not happy with our STEM Snack kit. The STEM Snack kit is our introductory kit. The products provided in this kit will come from a third-party company as to highlight what other companies offer for STEM. We purposely make this kit very basic for those parents that slowly want to introduce science into their child’s world or see if their child is even interested in science. If you are looking for something with more value, for $5 more you can opt for STEM Lab with will provide you with up to 5 experiments and better instructions. STEM Lab and STEM Deluxe are Steve Spangler created kits, which will provide you with more science...
Sadly, the Steve Spangler Science Club is just a scam.
We anticipated receiving interesting science experiments every month. Instead, we got cheap toys. First it was Magic Sand, which you can buy at Target in the toy aisle. Now this month we got Plus Plus Blocks - no experiment or instructions. We got a toy thrown in a box.
You may think I'm exaggerating but I'm not. Literally what you will receive is a cardboard box with a toy inside it, plus a little brown wrapping paper. That's it.
No wonder they don't give refunds...
We are sorry to hear you are not happy with our STEM Snack kit. Just so you are aware, the STEM Snack is our third party kit where we highlight other companies product. This subscription is intended to be very basic for parents testing to see if their child is interested in science or ease them into their love of science. Our hope is that they will enjoy this kit and want more. In that case, parents would switch their subscription to STEM Lab or STEM Deluxe when their children are ready to go to the next level. STEM Lab and STEM Deluxe are Steve Spangler created kits. If you have not done so already, please contact our customer service...
I was happy with the science projects we got for our grandkids. I even got to do one with them. I was unhappy the other day when I found another purchase, which I did not want. I ordered three projects for a reason. I was planning on ordering more, but will cancel my affiliation with your company once this delivery arrives.
I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your subscription. This is an auto renewing subscription and you did check the box acknowledging the auto renewals and agreed to our terms. In addition, I am showing we sent you a renewal reminder on December 20th, which gave you 9 days to cancel your account before your renewal on December 30th. At this time, I am showing your subscription is still active. Please review our cancellation policy listed under our FAQ - Help Center section of our website. You are welcome to contact us at Support@SpanglerScienceClub.com if you need additional assistance.
It seems they only printed parts of the address on, and left out all important parts like name, street and country. Payed $10 for the item plus $16 in postage mid-may 2017, it was shipped as described 5th of June, and it is now the beginning of august 2017. Did not arrive, and did not get any refund either.
Tracking shows it was returned to sender, and the tracking number does not show up at any of the Norwegian carriers, so it was never even here. Tried sending Spangler Science Club a message via the form on the subscription page, but it does not seem to work.
Other shippings from other sellers have all arrived within two weeks from shipping date, using the same registered address in my profile here. This is the only one that seems to have lost most of the address beween placing the order and having it shipped.