Named one of the Best Book Subscription Boxes in 2019 and 2020 by Oprah Magazine

Plans as low as $25.00 / month

SpearCraft Book Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Overpriced

Jun 01, 2019
Alicia E.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Over $18 a month for just a book is way overpriced. No reminders when it will renew and then no refunds if you forget to cancel and are charged over $100 for books that your kid doesnt have any interest in reading. My fault for not cancelling right away however all my other subscriptions send reminders.

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Jun 01, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. The book only subscription you are referring to is $13.99 a month and comes with a signed bookplate and a letter from the author. You ordered a 6 month prepaid auto-renewing subscription that brings the book price down to $12.89. The book included is always a new release hardcover valued at $17.99 or $18.99 USD by itself plus you get the authors signature and a personal letter from them. You emailed me after your auto renewing subscription had already gone through and asked to be refunded and go against my store policies that are the same for everyone. I was not contacted and told at all during the 6 month your child was not reading the...

More promo materials than items.

Apr 23, 2017
Tema K.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

Was very disappointed with this box after all the good reviews I had seen. I was expecting high quality items. Instead, I got flimsy jewelry, promo flyers and a magnet. About the only thing that was really of any worth was the book. Will not subscribe again.

Verified Purchase

Book disclaimer

May 24, 2017
Nicole R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

The Cloak and Dagger box was my second box from spearcraft. My first was the April box which was a HUGE disappointment. While the May box was better when it came to the items, the book was still a disappointment. Being a middle school English teacher, I have to be careful with the books I put on my shelves. The April box contained a book with questionable content for my students and was unusable. Again, the May book is unusable for the same reason. If Spearcraft wants to have a homosexual theme to the books in their boxes, that is fine, but they need to put a disclaimer on their boxes if that is the case. They would most likely say that they have 'sneak peaks' to help subscribers decide if they want to skip the box or not, but I checked, NOTHING in their 'sneak peek' would have tipped me off to the content of their May book. This box has been a waste of money. Subscribe at your own risk!

Verified Purchase

Mostly promo materials

Apr 21, 2017
Jenifer Z.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Well, this will teach me to subscribe to a three month package without getting a test box first.
Most of the items in the box are advertisements for books. I don't appreciate paying for a box only to be inundated with promo material. Even he wristband is an ad.
The other contents were disappointing as well, although I do like the Queen Elizabeth I magnet.
Basically, this box contained a book, several promos and ads and a couple poorly made trinkets. I can't recommend it.

Verified Purchase

Not worth the money

Feb 20, 2018
Candice P.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

Most “bookish” items are junk.

Verified Purchase

Books

May 03, 2018
Tayla M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I was so excited to get this box..my books bind looked used and almost ripped! -.- and no bookmarks, looked like they threw it all in..they stuff they put in it was fragile and break able. Mostly ads they put in the box.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options