SpearCraft Book Box Young Adult Monthly Box - All sales and renewals from this website are final sale please make note of this before making a purchase is currently sold out!

SpearCraft Book Box Young Adult Monthly Box - All sales and renewals from this website are final sale please make note of this before making a purchase

by SpearCraft Book Box

Awarded Best Book Subscription Boxes in 2019 and 2020 by Oprah Magazine & Most Useful Gifts by CNN.

252 reviews

0Buying Options

Reviews (252)

Disappointed

Jul 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kelsey M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

The books themselves are great choices, but the bookish items are basically junk that I will be throwing out.

Verified Purchase

Great book, cheap stuff

Aug 25, 2018
Overall
Jordan C.
3 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 24 days

I bought this box as my first book subscription box and I was sorely disappointed. The book itself was hardcover and a great book, but everything else was awful. I had done a lot of research prior to getting the box but I don't know if the company didn't put a lot of thought into the one I got or something because everything was flimsy, cheap, and stuff I would throw away (magnets, pins, etc.). Cancelled my subscription, I'm SO glad I didn't get 3 month. What a disappointment. Especially for $40.

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Aug 27, 2018

Hi there! I am sorry you are disappointed by your box. Our boxes are $29.99 before a coupon code which can bring them to $27 we do not sell a $40 box. The book included by itself is a $17.99 value with a letter from the author and signed bookplate. The items you mentioned pins , magnets, stickers, are all listed in our FAQ as being items we include in our boxes quite regularly. We also included an iron on patch from Harry Potter, handmade Star Wars soap set, magnetic bookmark, exclusive vinyl laptop sticker, matte exclusive button pin, art print from an awesome artist, red queen exclusive bookmark, a themed lip balm, and of course a new hardcover novel with swag....

Poor Customer Service

Sep 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The book choices are great, but the quality of the books and products are not. In addition, the customer service is awful. I received the book Sisters of the Snake, and I didn’t notice until after their 7 day policy that some of the pages were blank. I sent an email as soon as I noticed, and didn’t get a response until almost a month later. They used the excuse that my message went to their spam folder. Poor excuse for customer service. I wouldn’t recommend them at all.

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Sep 10, 2021

We did receive your 1st email to our spam folder and we did reply back to you as soon as we received your 2nd email in our inbox. We sent you a gift card to replace your book even though we asked for photos of the book which is part of our policy and you did not provide them. We do require any issues reported within 7 days of receiving the box with photos this is laid out on our FAQ page. You did not report anything until 2 weeks later, without any photos and we still honored it. Thank you for trying out our subscription box.

Not for Us

Jun 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Finley W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I bought this as a gift for my teenage daughter. I did a 3 month plan. I put a note in my calendar to cancel 3 months after I subscribed. The "March" box (intended to be an Easter gift) arrive in mid-April. The April box arrived on May 8th, and the May box hasn't even shipped. But on June 1st they charged me for a renewal. I tried to reach out and received no reply (it has been a couple of days now). Yes it is written all over the website that they will not refund your money, but I was not expecting to be charged for a renewal when they haven't even shipped her last box. I had no intention of renewing especially because my daughter doesn't love the boxes. We have gotten other book boxes that have gone over better.

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Jun 03, 2021

Thanks for leaving a review, your account renewed because it was not cancelled prior to the renewal date that is listed on your account page. We received your email that you were not happy it renewed however as our website states all subscriptions will renew unless cancelled prior to the renewal date. Our ship date for boxes is always the last day of the month so the April box ships April 30th and arrives in May as you stated. This is also stated on our website as well as on our shipping information page and is how our box works. Since we always ship the last day of the month and renewal is the first day of the month yes you...

Not worth the pricetag

Dec 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Talia M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

For the cost of the box, I was expecting for more or for it to be better. Very disappointed

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Dec 09, 2020

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the theme of the November box. We strive to keep our prices low and maintain our status as the lowest cost book box with items. We see you purchased your subscription at full price $29.99 , we offer pricing as low as $22.50 with our longer membership. Perhaps a longer lower per month rate would be a better fit for you. Each box comes with a $18 hardcover novel and 4-6 goodies/items which makes it a good value for $29.99. Thank you!

a complete disapointment of a box

Feb 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sofia B.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

I am a big reader and I love to try different book subscription boxes and I was excited to try this one after having my eye on it for a while. I purchased a 3 month subscription, thinking that it would be a good overview of what to expect every month. And generally I was disappointed. The book selections were hit or miss for me personally, but always a book I had never even heard of. The items in the box were pretty decent in matching the theme. But what brought the box down in my opinion was the quality of products. The items I received in all 3 of the boxes I purchased were so completely subpar it was shocking. There would be one quality product- a scarf or something- and the rest would (to example some items I received) be a laminated cartoony bookmark or a magnet that had a picture of a movie version of a popular book. I've seen bookmarks and magnets in other book subscription boxes and there is no comparison in terms of the quality. I know this sounds harsh but it felt like the makers were on a budget and shopped for the products in this box from a drugstore or the dollar store. Unacceptable.

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Feb 26, 2021

Hello, we are sad to hear that you were disappointed by the item in your box. We try very hard to please all ages of our subscribers from 11 to 60. The anime themed laminated bookmark was from an artist in India who is very popular on bookstagram. We have never included anything from the dollar store as all of our items are manufactured and mostly exclusives. We are glad you liked the scarf. We appreciate you trying out our subscription and hope you will try again in the future.

wish it was better

Mar 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
John R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

looks better than it is

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Mar 14, 2021

Hello, thank you for trying our subscription product. We have not heard anything from you would you please let us know what your issues were so we can help. Thank you - Laura