SpearCraft Book Box Young Adult Monthly Box - All sales and renewals from this website are final sale please make note of this before making a purchase is currently sold out!

SpearCraft Book Box Young Adult Monthly Box - All sales and renewals from this website are final sale please make note of this before making a purchase

by SpearCraft Book Box

Awarded Best Book Subscription Boxes in 2019 and 2020 by Oprah Magazine & Most Useful Gifts by CNN.

252 reviews

0Buying Options

Reviews (252)

It was a great read!

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lauren F.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

It was great! But it seemed like a lot of paper and not as much book curated stuff.

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Mar 15, 2021

We are glad you thought it was great! The box included 8 items, the 2 paper items you are referring to were a bookmark from author and a harry potter art print from an artist. These are typical of most book boxes to include. The other items included a soy candle, tea, keychain, a tote bag, a fabric facemask, and a hardcover novel with a signed bookplate and letter from the author. We hope you enjoy your next box as well.

June box

Jul 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ivett A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I got it 3 weeks late so they can make it more political. I deal with whatever is happened out there 24/7 i was looking forward to this not having anything to do with anything going on in our world. Yeah black lives matter but this was unnecessary. Or if they wanted to do it they could have made it a July box instead of making it 3 weeks late

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Dec 01, 2020

Hello, the box had an announced two week shipping delay due to items stuck in customs related to covid in June. We only ended up being 12 days delayed. So I am unsure where you got 3 weeks from. This delay was posted about on our website as well as sent out in multiple emails to our subscribers. We did not hold up the box to make it political, the item you are referring to was an enamel pin from Children of Blood and Bone and was loved by subscribers. We featured that book previously in our boxes. I am not sure why you assume this item was political. This was not even the item that caused the shipping delay. Since you ordered 4...

Book Box

Jun 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristen D.
14 Reviews
15 Pictures
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

First, I want to say that this box has excellent customer service. I had an issue that I wasn't sure would be resolved due to its unusual nature, but they fixed it quickly and with no hassle.
Unfortunately, I did not love the box I got. I was really looking forward to it. I waited to try it because I'd been subscribed to a lot of others and didn't love the previous themes. From Tokyo with Love sounded fun and interesting. And while the book looks great and like something I would have bought otherwise, all the other items (except for the candle, which I love) are really juvenile. I get it, it's YA, so I expected more whimsical things, but the majority of the items are more appropriate for middle schoolers in my opinion. They're very nice in quality, just not anything I'd ever want for myself. On the up side, my 13 year old niece who is obsessed with all things Asian will love it. I just feel like there are so many cool Japanese items that could have been chosen.
Also, the shipping time is kind of ridiculous. I realize a lot of that is not the fault of the people at SpearCraft, but it seems absurd that May's box arrived half way through June.
I would consider resubscribing, but I'm a little hesitant without actually seeing what is in it first.

Verified Purchase
SpearCraft Book Box said...Jun 15, 2021

Thank you for your review. We had a shipment delay the box would normally ship May 31st but the book was late to us. This was posted on our website as well as on social media. Please see our shipping information page to stay updated on when boxes are shipping. Since we ship the last day of each month it is normal to arrive the next month during the 1st week in the US. Our items included were referenced in our theme listing Fandoms include 5 items ALL usable: Kiki's Delivery Service, Sailor Moon, Cherry blossoms , Boba tea inspired item. These are the items you would want to be interested in before ordering. As we do include exactly what...

Not worth the money

Apr 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Catherine S.
1 Review

I decided to try this box out because of the fandoms highlighted in the March box. I am a regular Owlcrate subscriber so that did effect my reaction and thoughts! In this box there was a packet of hot chocolate, cheap wax melts, 2 paper bookmarks, thin socks, magnet, art print, and the book. I dont believe this was worth the money I paid for it. I do believe the magnet was decent quality and I will read the book.

SpearCraft Book Box said...Apr 09, 2021

Thank you for giving our box subscription a try. The brand you mention sends many thousands of boxes while we are a mom and pop shop book box and do not have access to the bulk discounts of larger companies. While every box might not be everyone's cup of tea we do appreciate you trying us out and want to assure you the retail value was there. Cost of the box to customers is $29.99 or less if you have a longer subscription. We included these retail items:
Licensed Disney Frozen socks $5
2 different bookmarks from wonderful artists who run their own bookish businesses $9
4x4 inch large hard magnet $5
Artprint from another great bookish artist $5
Soy wax melts set from another small business...