A monthly beef jerky subscription with an attitude!

Plans as low as $14.00 / month

Stick in a Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

No customer service!

Jan 07, 2020
Danielle M.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I do not want to leave a negative review since I have not even received the product, but I have been unable to get anyone from this company to contact me back about a shipping error for a gift subscription I ordered.

I have emailed them directly and contacted them through CrateJoy's messaging system, but have not heard back for weeks. I am hoping they are monitoring these reviews and will reply. My first box was returned to sender and I am now wanting to make sure they have the correct information on file for the upcoming shipment.

Please contact me about correcting the shipping error for my subscription and resending the first box.

Verified Purchase

Repeats in a Bag

Jul 25, 2019
Julie G.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was beyond excited to try Stick in a Box since I had never seen jerky subscription boxes before. I signed up and received my first box. I ordered the smallest box which was two bags of jerky and a meat stick. They came in a polybag with a picture printed on it for the company. Everything was loose and sliding around. When I got into the box and tasted everything, it wasn't my taste. Everything was extremely strong including the peppered jerky. I figured that box just might not have been my taste and others would be better. I let the subscription go for another month and I just received my second bag. I opened it up and right on top was a bag of peppered jerky.Everything was so similar to the last bag. I canceled my subscription and when I got an email from the company asking me to review the bag, I did. I explained how the bags were so similar right down the peppered jerky. After sending in the review I received an email back from the company. The email stated that "with the Lite subscription you don't get as many products as the full box, which would have included the variety you were looking for." The whole point of me purchasing this subscription was to try out different companies and different kinds of jerky. Not to be sent the same types/flavors month after month. I was very frustrated by the comment that I...

Verified Purchase
Stick in a Box said...Nov 27, 2019

Over the past 60+ months of curating beef jerky for literally 1000's of dried meat-eaters (yummy), we’ve learned that we're not always going to be a fit for every jerky lover. As sad as that is to imagine for us, we NEVER have (or NEVER will) pass the blame on to the customer, or try to push them to pay more.

As you can see from this review, we were obviously not a good fit for this customer, which we 100% accept responsibility for. However, by choosing to paraphrase our response to her feedback, along with a slight change in wording, she has given the impression that we're some money-hungry tyrants. I mean, we are hungry, so that's true.

She quoted us as saying, "with...

Terrible service

Jul 25, 2019
Justin H.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Have to give it one star because it's day 40 and no box nor communication from the supplier on a 3 month subscription. IDK how to get a refund from this site but they have till tomorrow to have a box on my dad's door or I dispute charges on my credit card.

Verified Purchase
Stick in a Box said...Nov 19, 2019

This response is intended to address the review publicly, not as a direct response to the customer.

We take 100% responsibility for what happened here and this customer had every right to be upset. Due to a communication issue between our subscription software and shipping software, a small group of customers received their July shipments 16 days later than they should have. We were unaware of the issue until one of the customers initially reached out, it then took us working with Cratejoy to determine which customers were affected. Once we were able to identify the issue, we made sure it was corrected so it wouldn't occur ever again.

This particular customer ordered their subscription on the 16th of June, which means that their first...

Never Recieved Order

Jul 08, 2019
Brooke S.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping

Never received the order that was placed as a gift for a 3 month subscription. Do not buy from this seller.

Verified Purchase
Stick in a Box said...Jul 08, 2019

We've communicated directly to the customer, this response is intended only to publicly address the review.

We ship all subscriptions on the 15th of each month. If you subscribe before the 10th of any month, you'll be included in the current month, guaranteed. After the 10th and before the 15th, we do our absolute best to accommodate anyone who subscribes but can't guarantee it. Our shipment and cut-off dates are on our listing page before subscribing.

This customer ordered their subscription on June 16th, after both our cut-off and shipping date. Their first shipment was scheduled to be sent on July 15th.

I'm truly sorry to make anyone wait to receive a shipment (I mean, who wants to wait for yummy beef jerky?), so we...

Got charged and never received a box

Jun 25, 2018
Emmitt M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

Wanted to send this back to my Dad for Father's Day started going through the signup process and BAM sign up complete before I found out the arriving date would be after father's day. Not the biggest deal as it should only be a day or two late. Cancel my subscription because it's a GIFT BOX which I won't need sent monthly. Carry on with the next few weeks fathers day past no box, no email no nothing. And today in my junk folder; NOT an email from a company, but an email from a rep at the company stating. "We not to send my box out because they saw how quickly I canceled". Do you think they returned my money? NOPE made sure they kept that and didn't send out any jerky. Got a day to call me, before my bank calls you

Verified Purchase
Stick in a Box said...Jun 26, 2018

We've responded back to this customer privately to apologize and correct the matter, so this response is intended to address this situation publicly, not the customer directly.

Most of the time I will send out an initial order without needing to ask for clarification, but in this particular case, I wanted to check with the customer first based on two factors:

1. They had cancelled immediately. This alone wouldn't prevent us from sending out the initial shipment, because some customers do intend to purchase a single month, without wanting to renew.

In some cases, customers also intend to cancel and want a refund without knowing that canceling doesn't automatically refund their initial purchase.

Again, this wasn't the only factor in asking for clarification before sending.

2. The bigger factor was...

Still waiting

Jun 15, 2018
Tammy R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Already been charged twice and haven't seen anything.

Verified Purchase
Stick in a Box said...Jan 23, 2018

Please accept our apologies for this happening. We ship all subscriptions on the 15th of each month and all renewals occur on the 11th. Your original subscription date fell into a window where you missed the shipment for that month, but still appeared in that month's cycle. This is an error in how we set up the subscription period for this product and we're working on fixing it. Again, we're sorry for this experience.

Maybe will ship eventually... I Hope....

Jun 15, 2018
Alicia N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Purchased this subscription in February/March was charged and still have not received my shipment... Have emailed the company twice WITH NO RESPONSE AT ALL!!! I'm very unhappy as it was supposed to be a gift for a friends birthday that was at the end of March. My personal opinion 1 star review is too high...

Verified Purchase

Still waiting also

Jun 15, 2018
Darcy P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I've also already been charged twice and haven't seen anything.

Buying Options