The perfect monthly subscription box for dogs and cats with a personal touch!

Surprise My Pet reviewsReviews

Write a Review

NO BOXES SINCE NOVEMBER OF 2019!!

Oct 26, 2018
Vicki C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been a loyal customer to Surprise my pet since 2015. Everything was fine up until the latter part of 2019. I have not received a box since November!!!! My year long subscription was pre-paid, and still NOTHING!
There is no way to contact the new owners!! No phone number, and they do not respond to emails, or messages or Facebook. I understand it has new owners, but to just ignore everyone is wrong! I want my monies back that were pre-paid for the year long subscription I never received!!!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Nov 02, 2017
Chantellapere
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I opened my box on the top of the table where my cats are not allowed to get on. Well, I opened the box and my cat ran from the other side of the room and jumped on the table (bad girl) then rolled around in the box!! I couldn't believe it! I love that young children, or rather, 'young adults' are the owners of this company and how they donate all the time. Also, the stuff in the box was amazing!! My cats have been going crazy all day. The toys, treats, catnip, just the best of everything! Going to keep my subscription going and cant wait until Dec! You won't be disappointed!

Verified Purchase
Surprise My Pet said...Nov 02, 2017

We cannot tell you how happy we are to make your kitties happy. Thank you so much for the great review. It is feedback like this that keeps us going and has our tails wagging too! Sincerely, Jessica and Tyler

So FUN

Nov 05, 2017
Jenipher S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I sent this to one of my employees as a THANK YOU for all her hard work. She loved it and so did her fur babies! Her kittens were inquisitive and had a great time playing with all the toys! The customer service was outstanding- per my request they shipped right away! Thank you Surprise My Pet!

Verified Purchase
Surprise My Pet said...Nov 05, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words. We always have fun sending gift boxes on behalf of our subscribers. They are sent with such great intentions and received with great appreciation. We made sure to include your letter. Thank you for spreading the word. Sincerely, The Ashmore Family

Never got the gift or the refund

Feb 07, 2020
Sum C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping

My gift receipient never got their box for Xmas. I got an email explaining what had happened, which I tried to be understanding about. I followed the instructions to get my refund, but never got it back. Not even an explanation or acknowledgement to follow up. Do not recommend.

Verified Purchase

Sad

Apr 28, 2016
George D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Totally dissatisfied,
I was going to go to barkbox but thought I’d give this a try WRONG.
I went through Groupon first mistake they screwed up, tried to contact got a email back saying I’d have to deal with SMP. I will say customer service was great and SMP straightened it out.
I’m disappointed in the quality, Jack is a 65 pound pit bull ok to be fair except for KONG and tires he definitely chews them up.
Did I say he is 65 LBS and a pit?
So the box arrives and had a candy bar, popcorn bag, 4 quarter size treats 2 in 2 bags a cloth squeaky bone and felt type sandwich with velcro. Going to cancel and go to BB.
Sorry just not worth the money.

Verified Purchase

My dog loved it !!!

Jan 05, 2017
Lucy M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall

A great dog box !!

Verified Purchase

Ok

Mar 02, 2017
Monica E.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Nothing I can't find at typical pet store. Kinda disappointed but we have 2 more shipments so I hope it improves

Verified Purchase

Our first surprise

May 05, 2017
Dorothy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

We were thrilled at everything in our first box. Pearce immediately chose one of the toys while I unwrapped a treat. He loves it all! The tuffy toys are just what I had hoped for. We couldn't be more please. Can't wait for the next box!!!

Verified Purchase

Great Surprise!!

Apr 26, 2017
Maureen H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Very nice, good quality treats! Toys were awesome!

Verified Purchase

Great Fun For Pets

Nov 20, 2017
Alessandro T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

Very good crate for your pet (we took the large dog one): some nice treats and a couple of sturdy toys.
Only 4 stars because the shipping-cost to italy was 40$, a little to expensive.

Verified Purchase
Surprise My Pet said...Nov 22, 2017

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Happy dogs are what it is all about. We really do wish we could get better rates on our international and Canadian shipping. It is just out of our hands. Can't thank you enough for giving us a try from across the ocean. SMP is World Wide!!

Sincerely,

The Ashmore Family

My Favorite Pet Box!

Oct 14, 2016
Karlie
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I got one initially for my dogs but then when i realized they had boxes for cats i quickly got one. Now EVERYONE in my house is happy and spoiled! The cats absolutely love all the fun stuff that is included in their box! So fun.

Great for cats and young dogs

May 24, 2017
Meghan P.
7 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I received a few boxes for my cat, and everything in the boxes was fantastic. My cat really loved the treats and toys. I then decided to swap over and order for my senior miniature Dachshunds, and I even emailed them to ask to not include hard treats as my pups are older and can't eat them. The box for my dogs had some great toys, but 2 of the 3 treats were WAY too hard for my seniors to have, and I ended up giving them away to my mom who has younger dogs that love to chew and crunch. It's a great service, this just isn't for anyone with senior pups.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

May 01, 2017
Theresa W.
6 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I don't usually leave negative reviews. However this box was not what I expected. I received it for my cats. It contained two little bags of cat treats and a 12 pack of small little cat toys, all of which I could have found and bought at Walmart.

Verified Purchase

The BEST we've tried so far!

Oct 07, 2019
Rick S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've tried a lot of these boxes for pets, and this one by far is the best so far. Lots of attention to detail, and they really over delivered the first few months. I'm converted!

Favorite package to get in the mail

Oct 26, 2018
Kelsey M.
1 Review
Overall

We love our monthly Surpriae My Pet package that comes! The different themes are adorable. The toys are great but our dogs favorite part are the treats they get! I'm excited at the end of every month to get our next box to see what they will get and what the theme will be. The family seems to be very nice and personable as well. They always write a thanks you note on the box!

Love

Feb 04, 2016
Jessica L.
1 Review
Overall

I have tried many of the pet boxes out there and this one tops them all. They include toys and brands new to the market so I almost never get something that i could get anywhere else. The value is also top notch.

Big Bang for My Buck!

Feb 05, 2016
Marcia M.
1 Review
Overall

I love "Surprise My Pet"! The items are sized perfectly for my dog and are always the highest quality. Aggie loves the treats and toys that arrive monthly! She recognizes the box when it arrives and her whole body wiggles with excitement waiting for a new toy or treat. "Surprise My Pet" is the best!

What a wonderful Surprise!

Oct 14, 2016
Stanley
1 Review
Overall

This was sent as a gift to our puppy and it was AMAZING! Tons of toys and treats. One of the toys got torn up, but we know more are coming next month and he sure does love to play hard! I even emailed them about buying an additional toy that my puppy loved and they sent one out right away! WOW!

LOVE THEM

Feb 08, 2016
Patricia
1 Review
Overall

This box is everything our pups EVER wanted! I emailed them about a coupon for a multi dog family and they've us one! Now each of our dogs get their own boxes! !

Definatly a Surprise

Oct 31, 2017
Jessica S.
1 Review
Overall

I have 3 pups and they go through toys and treats super fast. This box was a god send. Great price and i am not even mad that they destroyed some of the toys because we get even more next month. They will have something new to play with and enjoy. I might even get 2 boxes next month so they dont have to share!

Surprise My Pet said...Nov 13, 2017

Thank you so much for the awesome review. Pups have fun destroying ... it is a fact of life so why not give them their guilty pleasure. LOL! First and foremost their tails were wagging and that is what it is all about! Thank you for being part of the SMP family. Sincerely, The Ashmore Family

AMAZING

Oct 31, 2017
Kaitlin A.
1 Review
Overall

I loved this box! I have never tried a subscription box service before and I couldn't be more pleased that I did! It came with 3 toys AND 3 treats WOW. My dog was so excited and I cannot wait to give him more gifts next month!

Surprise My Pet said...Nov 13, 2017

Happy pups and happy pup parents are music to our ears. Send us pictures of them opening the next box and we will share their joy with everyone. Thank you for being part of the SMP family. Sincerely, The Ashmore Family

Beautifully Designed Box set 4 your Pet

Nov 03, 2017
Serena R.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

A very well curated gift box for your furbabies! Duke ( my dog) loved his box! What he got was:
* All Natural Turkey Neck chew - smell was exactly as expected and not pugent at all. He savoured some pieces and devoured other bites!
* Acorn Squash-Sweet Potatoe - organic treat that all 3 dogs! Yup all 3 ate and asked (begged for more) Gone in 1 sitting for 3
* Pumpkin Pie cookie- looked better than the cookies I buy myself at the bakery - WOW- infact as a pet enthusiast I did try a corner! For a dog treat extremely well made/ tasty and Duke loved it- he didnt wanna share!
* Squeaky Plush bone- he didnt lay on it! He wanted it to be his new fetch toy LOL
* Trick or treat toy- worked excellently on a flirt pole for all 3 dogs excerising experiences
Their customer service was prompt to respond - and shipping was quite quick - Im impressed

Surprise My Pet said...Nov 13, 2017

This one of the really fun boxes to put together. Thanksgiving dinner ... to give thanks to our most loyal of companions. Glad you loved it. My dog is still working on that turkey neck every night! Thank you for the great review and for choosing to be part of the SMP family. Sincerely, The Ashmore Family

What a fun box& great value!

Mar 13, 2016
Karissa
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I've tried A LOT of different dog boxes and this one is one of my favorites! The box its self is bright and fun. I really liked the contents. The treats were new to me but my dog loved them both! The toys were very size appropriate which seems to be hit or miss with some other boxes. As an organization, I love that they donate 10% of profits to charities and shelters and that they used products that got their start on Shark Tank! The value of this box is fantastic - almost $50 worth of stuff for just $25!

Buying Options